(2008/06) June 2008

cactus - Hi there! Seldom see you around in the nite time leh.

Aiyo, i kena some prob with Mt A wireless network. my intended msg cannot be published.

Popped my littleprince on 15-June at 1622hrs via Natural epi(assisted). He weighs 3.02kg, 49cm...

Will be gg home tml... will share my birth story and pics later ok!

Those that are going to pop soon, Jia you!

veniz,
wow, u are still very active in this thread!
thanks for the advice on NUK teats. just that i've bought all avent bottles so hope i dun have to switch. but i guess if bb takes to NUK better, then also bo bian, will have to change.

Here's a recipe from MIM website:

PAPAYA SOUP

1 white fish tail or fish bones or fish meat ~ about 1kg
100g raw peanuts ~ 1 handful?
(I use black beans now because the pediatrician advised me to avoid peanuts due to my baby's mild eczema)
1 raw or half-ripe papaya, about 1kg - cut into cubes/wedges
1 piece tangerine peel
4 slices old ginger
1.5litres boiling water
2 Tablespoons oil

Heat oil & fry ginger slices, then fry fish in oil until brown.

Then put all ingredients into the slow cooker and simmer for about 2 to 3 hrs - generally until the soup smells really fragrant

MLP. Congrats. U make it zhun zhun on 15th, yr EDD!!

Felicia, my birth week was 38
Thanks so much

Tera, currently, the nurses at kkh bottle feed my bb wif NUK tits. When i'm there, i still manage to latch on n bb suckle well. So no probm in nipple confusion.

My mum finally back.. phew.
Ya my bb has some colic, we been giving him colic drops. But he still like to stay awake during certain hours esp nite time.

I tink cos me didn't sleep yest nite so MS is v low, then dunno why bb keep wanting more milk. Me try to pump today on one breast - the one tat has lower ms, got 50ml from 40mins pump. hopefully can supplement the nite feeds cos i tink nite time MS is lower.

I find tat bb suction seem to be faster than pump.. i pump 40mins can only empty half of the milk.. but i latch bb 20mins can empty liao.

Veniz,

My hb heard tat giving water to bb is not good so he determined not go give any sugar water also.. haiz.

Tera,

My bb takes pigeon teats, i have NUK but are big bottles. I tink whichever teats seem to be same actually.

To avoid nipple confusion, u can also latch first then feed bottle. as long as u didn't latch too infrequent (at least few times a day), bb shdn't forget how to latch.

Huggy, aiyo, who says must lie down everytime during confinement? I also sit while bf baby, only sometimes lie down. It is best to rest by lying down and sleep but I am those who cannot sit still one, have to walk around, even help with laundry (first few days of confinement as CL not familiar yet) and help take care my #1. In fact, I sit, post then do other stuff then come back check posts and post again lor. Got hooked on liao.

MLP, glad you doing very fine, hope to see your little prince photos soon.

Tera, I am active coz I come in when baby sleeping and hb not in front computer.

One thing to share about teats, my cousin inlaw that time had her dd when I had my ds. She bf till when she wanted to wean off by using avent bottles she was unable to. Baby kept crying for milk and does not drink from avent, weight dropped a lot. A week later, I sort of thought that Nuk and our nipples are about the same when suckle, I brought one nuk bottle and teat to her. From then on, her baby drank eagerly and she was really relieved. This is only FYI lar, does not apply to all babies but do test on your Lucas first in case last min you hv to find NUK products.

cactus,

If yr bb at station O, yr gynae will be able to feel bb head when he do VE. My gynae said she can feel my bb head during the last 2 weeks VE.

Dun walk too fast now tat yr bb head is very low.

Juliet,

wat i do is when i need to warm up milk or do someting before attending to crying bb, i will tell my bb to wait.. sometimes when we repeat the word many times he seem to understand. U can maybe try toking to yr bb.

Alternatively if u are watching bb closely, normally when they wake up will make some noise before crying. U can attend to him before he cry. when he lick his lips, he may be hungry.

Ellysia, when your son latch on, does he stay awake throughout the whole feed? My gal will sleep within 5 mins but still suckle. Occasionally have to wake her up to continue.

About water, I was told it is no good for newborn a few yrs ago, but still, babies have to take some water otherwise they will be dehydrated. While still in hosp, my gal let out gas with blood. nurse told us its due to dehydration since my milk flow not kicked in yet and got us to give her some water. In fact, just thought of this, when I was in hosp when having #1, due to low milk flow, nurses told me I can supp baby with glucose water which they gave he so I can rest in middle of night. So glucose water = sugar water and should be safe if taken in small quantity.

Veniz,

if my bb is tired, he will fall asleep while sucking n i have to constantly tickle his cheeks to wake him up. If he is not tired, he will say wake with eyes open, then finally sleep while sucking. however usu if he is hungry, he will not fall asleep. Sometimes, he will push away my nipple but still refuse to go to sleep. When i try to make him suck again, he will close his lips tightly and shake his head.

I was told if we bf, there is no need to give water as bm has water. But if give FM, can supplement with water but PD say the FM nowadays no need water.

veniz, regards on avent btl, I notice that their nipples are very big. whenever my girl drink sure will leak milk all over. think avent nipples only suitable when bb is older or bb open very big mouth.

Ellysia, Yu Zhe so cute. Mine auto will sleep one, so her bf time with me sometimes its 1 hour. But good bonding with me lar. The other problem is, she never looks at me in eyes one, but when her daddy talk to her up close, she will listen and looks at him in his eyes. I think she is going to be another daddy's kiddo.

In fact, yes, it was mentioned that BM dun need supp with water coz its watery enough. FM also, but still, I will still give my gal some as she is ok taking a bit of water. Last time I use to stick to the book, no water for #1, but then he kept having constipation, so I never give a chance from then on.

Woah, u ladies so "onz" at nite also arh these days!

Hi Ellysia, yup, Prisc sms me she posted it in the forum liao... =) But I still miss ya ladies so must come in n say Hi and update those details tat i missed out.

Roooller, my confinement starts officially tml when I'm home! Gonna miss the room service (by calling the nurses here). haha...

TF: Ya lor... zhun zhun but just happen my gynae ask me to admit on nite of 14-June. Father's day gift to my hb. haha....

My bottom hurts cos my episotomy cut quite alot to near anus there. Am still taking painkiller to help relieve. anyone encountered tis? anything to help relieve sore bottom? Does those normal swimming float helps? PLS HELP!!!

Have been on total BF here in Mt A. Quite tiring... but fulfilling nonetheless.

Fennie also in Mt A. Visited her just now. She is fine! Baby was sleeping when i popped by.

Veniz, yeh, mainly must keep massaging n break all the ducts in our breasts n the milk flow will come. Yes, the Electric pump is noisy, like u say, donkey sound. Usu i do it in the room. My kind hubby will do all the sterilization n brg to the room for me. When hubby in room slpg, i go kitchen to do since also nd to sterilize.

MLP, yeh, none of us kenna the 15th, except u
Hey, i agree tat staying in hospital is gd. I also extended another day since just press bell can get nurse in. Some more got nurse to do sterilisation, etc.. for us..:p

ellysia,veniz,
so gd... u guys can latch so long. I latch half an hr feel pek cheq already cause bb keep falling asleep n feel that she drink little milk. usually I latch her on only when she cry for milk when time is not up yet but only for 15mins. when latching there's something she very naughty! when she's sucking, she actually push her head away from my breast like want to pull off my nipple!

mlp,
my gynae also cut n cut twice. I think near anus cause I could feel the stiches at my anus. nv dare to use a mirror to see.
i nv use any float just slowly sit or lay bed if possible. but my anus do appear piles n when sitting will feel the pain. but it disappear within 2nd wk. pain will go off too.

TF, my hb got ask e if wanna extend one more nite cos he see me quite shag with visits fm relatives (besides the usual bf,meals, etc). but gotta pay another $400 more. so tot save $ n go home to rest. MIL n her maid will do confinement for me. think really need their support to take care of bb for stuff like changing diapers n bath. hopefully i just bf will do for the 1st wk while wound still recovering.

Sharon, i don noe if i got piles bo. but i have the wanna poo-poo feeling but not strong enuf to wanna go toilet. nurse say tml will inject the liquid to help clear vowels tml b4 gg home. hope tis will soothe it. I shall have to give it some time to heal. hopefully like urs will b ok by 2nd week. =)

just finished bf so log in here. gg to concuss liao. nitez!

MLP

Hospital think will give you something to wash the wound one... its procanol... its very good... must apply diligently...

Welcome to motherhood...hee... remember to rest more to establish your ms...

I was scolded by nurse at hospital when i bring baby in and out of nursery cos many relative come....

She say dun over stimulate the baby else at night cannot sleep and i need to rest more to establish ms...

Hope this helps...

Felicia, thanks for updating my info in the chart. Me still in the waiting game. Coming Thurs will be my 39 weeks liao, baby still so comfortable in my tummy. Thought 1st pregnancy, baby will come out nearer to EDD, now 2nd pregnancy also like tat.

Congrats to those mummies who have popped.

<font color="aa00aa">Morning ladies, i'm having my breakfast in front of my laptop. haha....
Sure when doing confinement, no this luxury liao, my mil 100% stamp &amp; chop ask me to lie down.
My #1 is watching her Tom &amp; Jerry VCD, tats why i can happily chatting here. hehehe....

Looks like lot of mummies is expert in BFing liao, so by my time, sure i can get many many advise fr you gals. </font>

Felicia
Hope tat I can BF tis time too. Didn't manage to BF for my #1 coz not enuff milk.
Told my MIL tat if I can BF tis time then I will have to cut down my intake on ginger liao, dunno she will be unhappy for not.

Announcement. Nicole born in Gleneagles, elective c-section, Jun 12, afternoon, 3.27kg, 50cm.
God, she likes to suck nipple.
btw, how long shall u pump to express, 5 min each time? do not last more than 30 min? I use PIS
btw, how much volume is enough for baby each feed?

Hi gers,
Good morning.
My bb is so cranky this morning.. Haiz, duno wat she wants.

Ellysia,
Ya, bb's sucking power is better than pump. I realised that when I expressed, my nipple hurts more than when I breastfeed. Anyway, I feel like I am either breastfeeding or expressing. Haha. I oso realised that my BM ss decreasing. I keep worrying that my bb not enuff, so am keeping a close tab on teh soiled diapers.

Felicia,
I oso taking my bfast in front of the comp, hehe.

Re: Breastfeeding helpline
I tried emailing and calling but no response leh. Anybody noes how long do they take to revert?

Re: Sterilisation pill
I heard that there is such a thing right? Must start planning liao. I am gg back to work in 1 months' time. Any idea?

I have to say c-section is better than I thought, epidural is the key. But the bill is big, that is part my HB to take care

MLP
ask your MIL to boil red dates with longans and gou ji zi

That is what my CL give mi leh... Maybe your MIL want you to remove all the wind in your body...

Think have to tell her that we breastfeeding cannot eat too much else baby will have jaundice...