(2008/06) June 2008

<font color="aa00aa">Leng Leng, not in junk mail box leh.
Ya, is the VIA bottle which is plastic type can only used 4 times. As for the milk bottles is was not plastic, i know can used for long term.
But according to Connie, the TMC nurse asked her to get plastic bottle i/o glass bottles as glass bottle cannot used for long term.
Tats where i got confusion.</font>

Congrats to mog and fennie!

Veniz,
my wound is better. but my v area bone still hurts sometimes when i walk or when i lift my legs, similar to pre-pregnancy days. wonder when it will go away.

wow, ur massage very pro! i heard the steaming is impt. mine coming tomr.

pris,
ur PD is at east shore? mine too. which pd u seeing? am seeing mine on wed.

hi all...
hvnt seen cactus today? has she gone to pop?

sigh... i'm having bfg probs... my girl is having jaundice and sleep most of the time. and she dun feed much. and her latching still not up to standard. so been pumping to stimulate ss. not sure if i hv overdone it. my breasts get engorged in 2 hrs and keep leaking. now my nipples are so sore, and the left side even bled from the pumping.

<font color="aa00aa">crystal, ur lil gwen had oredy celebrated her full month, whereas mine still staying comfortably inside my tummy. hehe....

soyabean, i know cactus got gynae's appointment today. But not sure if she had pop. Maybe had to wait till later see if she online and update us.</font>

Tera
My PD is in Siglap Centre... only go East Shore for Lab Test for blood only... cos near my place...

you also staying in the east???

Veinz,
got pix to share how u do the steaming?
use rice cooker?
sound interesting ...

Priscilla,
keep us updated ur bb's reading

Connie,
w sugar?
can bb drink that?
how's ur bb's jaundice reading?

Pris, I have an old unused baby sling from Bbay, which was free gift to me when I subscribed to Motherhood in 2004. Didnt use it that time coz its in pink and my #1 is son. It is similar to the MIM type. I am thinking if I should get this 'Beco' from cozybaby.com or not coz seems good. Thinking if i go market or bring baby back home from nanny's hse on Tue &amp; Thurs evening via MRT (hb on night classes) then it is a good investment. But, stroller is a must also, coz when baby is bigger and heavier, you cannot tahan his weight. I wanted Aprica/combi stroller but then we got a 30% disc from mothercare so my hb got the Maclaren Techno XT instead. Seems like difficult to open, and if I go shopping alone with her, I have to find easy accessible places to shop liao.

Tera, at least your wound better. Me still like having some pains below. Now with my binder on, the stress of binder near vagina makes my pee area and that wound near anal a bit painful. I am sure its becoz I am not used to it thus feel pain. Hope it will get well soon. Haha, for your massage, you can get a bit painful tomorrow 1st session. After that may be better lor, just be prepared coz I was in a bit pain just now.

Roooller, no pix lar. What my massage lady does was she put some herbs with water, use the rice cooker to boil it. then place those potty seat ring stand (for those invalid use one, not children type but more like adult one, but stool height) over the rice cooker. After my massage, I will just sit on the potty ring, let the steam evaporate out of the ring to my body by sitting a bit near rear of the ring. She wrapped a cloth over me to let me sweat. Very simple lor but she said good coz sweat out the water from body.

TF, I will go backwards and read your post, dun need to repost to me lar, thanks a lot. For my single medela pump, do you find it noisy? I have to find room to pump out if everyone is at home, haiz, hate the noise.

mrswrx, no prob lar. You go enjoy with friends first on your last few days of freedom. I will try to persuade my hb bring me go NTUC again later, need to get stuff.

Babycupid, now then realised that we popped same day and same hotel. You popped wat time and which room you staying? Aiya, got your msn but no hp otherwise can visit you also.

roooller, ya lor, heehee, like we can do it at home ourselves leh, just get those small cooker and a stool with a big hole in centre, haha. Too bad that time I was unable to convince my hb to get a foc steam bathtub my friend's mum giving away (we havent got our flat then) otherwise, after confinement I can do jacuzine (forget spelling) at home. Actually after confinement (around after 40days), we can go for steam bath and other body massages liao. I cant wait for mine, coz I signed up package during my preg 8mth but yet to use it.

Tera, your breast pump is medela PIS isit? Anyone using Ameda?

Hi all, long time never join this thread, can't keep up with the pace. Now, seems to slow down a bit liao

Hi Felicia,
Can fit me into the chart also? I am also in the waiting game now.
EDD: 27 June 2008
Hospital: TMC
weight: 3.3kg at Week 38

Girls,

Am not sure about others but when I was BFing #1, I latch him on and then pump. So, the glass bottles were quite useful for me as DH will feed #1 during the nite shift via milk bottles so that I could rest. So, the frozen BM will be drank by #1 within 1 week or so. But, I also have seen FTWM who bought the Avent brand storage bags with the little clips and it worked well for them. So, I guess it depends on the individual.

roooller - Did you try the MIM website? I saw that they have the Elite Silk Carrier (Washable) leh. Check out their website and see.

<font color="aa00aa">Welcome Huggy! Oredy update your details in my record. Will posted the chart when got more updates news from oth mummies.
Btw, whom is your gynae?</font>

Girls,

One of my friends joined the Breastfeeding Mothers' Support Group and they have a hotline. So, can call them if we are not sure about BM thingy.

breastfeeding.org.sg/common-concerns-when-storing-human-milk-by-cindy-scott-duke

Huggy, my massage lady name is Rose. She charges $450.00 for 7days of massage, each session one hour or so. Her contact no is 68469227.

Baby waking up now, got to go prepare feeding. Ciao!

Veniz,
Yeah, I'm using Medela PIS. So far so good.

How long must u keep ur binder on? Till the next massage? Ok, thanks for the warning. I will be mentally prepared, hehe. As much as I look forward to be able to have a slimmer tummy after the massage, i also a bit sian cos bottom and boobs still very sore. Dun think i can enjoy the massage much.

JP,
I have been latching on and then pump as well. I have a quick qn - i guess ur #1 did not have any issues with nipple confusion? i have yet to introduce the bottle, been doing cup feeds but it's a matter of time i switch to bottle cos cup feeds is quite troublesome.

soya,
my nipples are as sore as sore can be after all the latching and pumping. also, milk supply is still picking up, not say a lot but am going to perservere till things stablised. hang in there ok? jia you!!

pris,
oic. my bb also did his IEM test at the east shore lab.
yeah, staying in the east - haig road. east shore is abt 10 min away by car so quite convenient. u staying east too ya?

Tera - Actually, my #1 was quite particular about the teat being used. He only willing to accept the Latex NUK teats. He did not like the silicone ones. I guess you just have to try it out and see what your precious one prefers. Good luck!

Thanks Veinz for the info.

Felicia, thanks for keeping me in. My gynae is Dr Lawrence Ang.

We have about the same EDD and my baby has no sign of coming out, not engage yet. So, might see you in the TMC. Maybe we can exchange hp#

Baby Hiccup:
Heard from old ppl that hiccup has no harm to baby, but a sign of bb taking in the nutrition, more hiccup = grow bigger faster. (Not sure true or not)

Baby sling:
Bought the MIM silk baby sling from March's expo motherhood fair for $45 (it is called sarong carrier)

Tera - Good luck!
Are you going back to work soon? Is that why you are concern? Some mummies will wait till their tots are about 1 month old before they try bottle feeding. It really depends on the mummy lor.

hihi ladies...

roooller...
baby jaundice level only 157 and doc say dunno convert to what is 9.2 so its ok...

Tera
I stay at aljunied... so husband drive there is quite convenient lor...

JP,
Am going back to work after another 2 more months. I guess cos my fren was telling me that with bottle, u can still feed the baby even if he/she is asleep but with cup, u can't. Also, I find cup feeding very challenging cos his hands are always threatening to overturn the cup. Not easy. My hubby's better at it than me. :p Luckily, my CL is also good with the cup so i guess can afford to wait till bb's 1 mth old.

aiyo... think i too stress out liao... Cant even pump out 100ml liao.. now only 60ml from both sides.. like dried up like tat... My breast never feel full one lor always soft one...

Anybody knows how to cook the green papaya soup??? want to try and see how...

Kaoz... eat fish also no use lor....

Ladies, copy and paste from some articles (hope it helps)

One important fact of using glass bottle:

Don't use glass bottles if you are going to store the milk for less than 24 hours, because some of the white blood cells will adhere to the glass, but not to plastic. But the white blood cells will detach after 24 hours (although not 100%).

However, glass bottles or containers are best for freezing breast milk because it offers the most protection from contamination. The second choice is clear, hard plastic, and the last choice is the cloudy hard plastic containers.

<font color="blue">pris,
my mum said cook green papaya soup wif fish bone..she said she saw from tv on sat nite.. i hv the recipe i think..it was given by mrs wong during the prenatal class..but i got to go home n search..if can find then i will post the recipe here lor.. dun get so stress out..relax.. </font>

roooller, are you the one who told me mumsfairy having 10% off during June on their pumps and kits? You got the ultimate kit rite? I am thinking of that leh. Are the pumps silent or very low vol noise level? I hate the donkey sound of my single pump coz when pump in room with either my kids or hb sleeping, real noisy lor.

Tera, so PIS works well for you rite? Too exp for me since I closed my factory liao. Hope you can do wonders with your set. For the binder, after my steam, she did not wrap herbs on tummy coz already got the steam and massage firming oil liao. She just use cloth to tie round my tummy, and told me to tahan till tomorrow morning. As just now the bind got loose, I top up with my own binder which I got from TMC Pharma to support.

Pris, for green papaya soup, you get fish bones (my hb bought fish heads). My style of cooking is 1st: boil water with one thumb size of ginger. Then when water boiled, put in the cleanly washed fish, boiled for around 10mins, throw thickly sliced (around 1/4 green papaya) some red dates and kou qi zhi in and boil for another 20mins. Quite easy to cook lar, but others may have better way to cook it. I drink it every lunch, may increase my intake if I can swallow more food.

Tera, we wanted to give Vivienne the cup, even bought some from pharm before we left for home on discharge day, later at home, my hb realised that Vivi may be too hungry if we do not supplement formula, we took out our NUK teats and bottles to let her use. So far, she can latch on me and also use the bottles coz our nipple and nuk teats are about the same shape when baby suckles. If you are using NUK, then no harm trying, coz my two kids do not get confused by the two type of nipples. HTHs.

hi pris,

at least you both sides have 60ml.....mine less than 5ml....much much more pathetic than you...
i eat green papaya soup, take fenugreek also no use....
haiz....

Buttercup,
fenugreek capsules, how many did u take a day?

Should take 3 caps, 3 times a day,
try to drink more liquid,
2L for ourselves, 1L for BM

Hi all, I am back home with baby Jaret just today. And unable to follow the thread. Just managed to come online cos sent hb and mum out to do some marketing ;)
Baby Jaret comes out 14 Jun 08, 3kg and 51cm at birth, natural without epidural, checked in Mt A at 8am, delivered at 10.30am.
Felicia, thanks for helping update the chart. Felicia, LengLeng and all mommies with have not pop, jia you.
Will update my birthstory at a later date. Thnks all mommies for all the best wishes.

Buttecup,
Dun be discouraged ya..my MS also droppin gthough i eating fenugeek, 3pills, 3times aday..hiaz....

Priscillia,
Try fenugeek...

congrats to mummies who pop!

my maid givin me probl at my final wk of freedom. she cried non-stop since i wake up tis mornin... told me her child sick in phili then she desperately wana go hme. then agent told her onli if she can clear e loan then she can go back. seems like her hb cant find e $$ to repay e loan, so she no choice gotta stay here.
but i dun wana take e risk of her stayin wif me cos my bb is arrivin n i dun wan her to cry everytime she c my bb..+ she told me she cant concentrate to work now and cant sleep in e nite.
i so scare she got depression n wil harm my bb.
so i told my agent i wana send her back to them n get them to transfer her so she can finish her work in sg to repay e loan instead of keeping her with me @ my hm.... i dun wana take any risk. so scare she wil be reminded of her child if she c my bb soon.

mummmies,
nw i need confinement auntie liao. any recommendation or any 1 finish confinement n can pass me yr auntie soon? i might be inducin tis fri...so might need CL frm next wk onwards. cos my mum said i wun be able to handle e bb in e nite.

appreciate yr help! thks.

Yesterday nite is torment..
my mum n bro had something on so they need to go back. Then my bb refuse to sleep from 3am to 11am. Me struggle with him throughout, doze while carrying bb. BB if not carry will cry..

then dunno why yest nite low milk supply, bb drink until no milk and get frustrated. in the end early morn i give him 20ml of FM but he still refuse to sleep. Haiz.

Ellysia,
Maybe your bb has colic. Did you try put him in the stroller and push forward and backward, or bring him for a ride in the car?