(2008/06) June 2008

grace...
u r welcome... we are all here to encourage one another, arent we? my #1 overdue oso... and i actuali started my leave 2 weeks prior to my edd then... imagine the rotting at home and waiting. so i can understand wat u r going thru.

soyabean: Yes, every morning the first thing i do when i reach my working pl is to login to the forum.
it good to chat with all of you. Cause sometime if you tell others they may not understand, especially most of my friend haven give birth yet. Those have children one usually dun have msn..

so this is your second one?

Felicia, Yeah thanks. Cos i'm a Milk Pail..hee..

Grace, yeh, maybe u also looking forward to relax n activate your ML. So when bb nt out, u get depress. gd tat u start ML n hv some nice time for yourself b4 bb arrive soon. Pamper yourself ya.

<font color="aa00aa">cactus, i think i'll monitor on my leaking 1st coz this 2 days seems like not much wetness happen liao.
Hopefully everything ok till my next check up on next wed.</font>

grace...
TF is right... maybe u shld take the chance to do some stuff b4 baby comes e.g. go for a nice manicure/pedicure... which reminds me... i shld get a pedi done soon too... toenails are getting long! =p
and yup... this is my #2... i plan to start my leave on the week of 16th jun, a week b4 my edd. but now that i'm already 3cm dilated... i oso dunno when i shld start taking leave man... i dun wan to waste my leave and end up like wat i went thru for #1. haha...

<font color="aa00aa">TF, I cannot take milk tats why i'm more happy if someone can 'utilise' the voucher. I just rec' it yesterday and wanna quickly give it away since the expiry claim date is end of June.
Will get my hubby to post out to you tomolo.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">cactus, do u had any idea or read up in somewhere mentioning tat dilation happen only on the day of labour? Is there such possibility?</font>

Grace, yah. good idea to start your ML. cos I think most docs would like to induce overdue mothers about week 41 or latest 10 days after week 40. crossing my fingers you won't be one of them though.

Felicia, I don't recall anything specifically on this. but I know if it is an induced labour, it may not have any dilation at all. most natural labours would have some degree of dilation already (but cnanot be sure if ALL natural labours would have some degree of dilation).

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">soyabean.. pedi&amp; mani without nail polish? my toe nails oso long.. planning for pedi but husband help me cut liao.. so still pondering.. ;p</font></font>

soyabean, grace, don't paint your nails if you do mani cos you may be asked to remove them in labour ward. your oxygen levels may need o be monitored esp if prologned labour or c-section, and nurses would want to see if your nail beds are blue.

ladies, am logging off already! end of work day. talk more to you tomorrow morning. have appointment with doctor in the afternoon.

cactus...
oops... jus read that u said MANI... haha...

ioio...
my toenails have never gone without colors. i am a pedi freak. :p

feifei - For my #1, I BF directly every hour. Only after the 3rd month, I had some time to rest. It really depends on the baby leh. I BF my #1 till 8 months and stopped coz he has teeth and bites me till I bleed. Keep up the good work!
Swaddling works for some babies only. For my #1, nothing worked except cuddling.

soyabean - Wah, chicken chop...yummy!!!

TF - Yup, only for 2 weeks or so. But never mind lah...SAHM, SAHM lor. If your w/bag is leaking or you are not sure, please contact your obgyn hor. Better to be safe. Sometimes the leak maybe our urine or even our white discharge.

ioio - Thanks for updating the chart.

Grace - Yup, hang in there! Pamper yourself and get lots of ME time now. Once baby is out, its always baby first, hubby 2nd and you last...he!he!

<font color="aa00aa">cactus, ok. Thanks. But induced wont had dilation? Then how to deliver? Do you mean those induced w/o dilation and ended up c-sec?

TF, i got my raspberry tea liao. Actually intended to drink tonite but my MIL oredy boiled barley drink for me, so can only drink tmr.</font>

Felicia, sometimes, if no dilation, will induce still. no choice. if bb not engaged yet, high chance will have c-section. w/o dilation may not have such high risk of c-section though. danger is early epidural may increase risk of c-section. early epidural = less than 3 cm. best time to get epidural is when at least 4 cm. but not all doctors subscribe to this. not all moms report this. for tensed up and anxious moms, or moms facing long labours, better get epi early.

Felicia, i tried. Just like any tea taste.

JP, yap will take note on your care n concern. True, still nthgs beats the love n attention tat u can gv #1 being SAHM.

Tera, no worries. Was just sweet talk the cashier n wink at her, so she ok :p

Hiya,

sorry was unable to reply promptly as before heee.. cos have to sleep, rest, eat, feed bb. a lot of things to do. Luckily hb took leave for this week to help out cos my mum has forgotten many stuff and her ways are old ways.

RE: epidural

A lot of people say epidural does not give the urge to push. I must say this is not true for my case lor. Cos my gynae has intended to give me low dosage for pushing part, so i can feel the urge and some pain, but at least it make the pain bearable.

As for epidural delay dilation, i dun tink this is true as my dilation did increase after epidural as compared to before epidural, though not a lot. Before epidural, it took 5 hours to reach 0.5cm dilation. After epidural, it took 8 hours to reach 4cm dilation.

cactus,

My bb shd be facing my back, i.e. the good position. But i dunno why i got this severe backache contractions during labour.

TF,

If yr water bag is leaking, u must go see gynae. Dun delay as bacteria can go in.

<font color="aa00aa">btw today i just went back to TMC for post-natal checkup with my gynae as well as bb checkup with PD.

The queue is quite long for the PD but the nurses try to slot in earlier for us. However, bb is not v co-operative as he poo immediately once we reach clinic. Then after cleaning the poo, he wants milk again though he has eaten 1 hour ago (but he only eat half dosage tat time). So end up we wasted time in the PD clinic.

Then went to see my gynae and she told me my wound is longer bec' of my bb head size and forceps. Told my gynae abt the horrible water retention at my feet but was told tat it is normal and i have to wait for weeks for it to clear itself. Engorgement of breasts, my gynae also say i have to bear with it for 2 weeks or so and there is no medicine unless it reduce the supply.

Only way is to pump and feed regularly.. so i get my bb to latch on for nearly 1 hour plus, he wake up and sleep and wake up and sleep, so many pauses in btw.. sometimes i nearly fall asleep feeding him.

But coming to like him a lot now.. heee. Btw i finally sit on swimming float, its much better now.

and i neg with my mum to allow me to drink some plain water bec' nurse said i am dehydrated thus not enuff milk supply for bb.</font>

Btw cactus, i tink the da fong ai herbs not v useful.. actually i dun find it smelly lah.. but i find it not much use.. the ginger bath is much better, found tat it help to expel the wind.

and yes..now i do believe in keeping the wind out.. bec i find myself much weaker recently, if got a little bit of wind and dought i will sneeze or shiver.. but then if no wind i will sweat like having a shower..

babycupid,

I tink the worst side effects is i have numbness in my legs for 24 hrs in hosp.. much longer than other patients.

As for backache, i still dunno but i having backache sometimes at the area where i had backache during labour but it is not the area of epidural injection..

then i am having backache also at the area where i slouch while doing bf.. dun tink due to epi but likely due to bf posture.

Even with the side effects, i can't survive without epidural though...

And the point is.. just want to advise 1st time mothers if any of u cannot tahan the pain pls dun try to dong without epidural then give yrself a hard time and no strength at the end to push. At least with epidural i can still sleep in btw to regain some energy.

Mog,

only if i lay down at same position too long w/o moving. cos now i can only sleep at 1 direction so will get backache at the tail bone.

yeah. is there any update for the expo? maybe dropping by to see anything to buy. lucky my mum allow me to go cause during my confinement I have been going out to bring bb to polyclinic for at least 5 times.

Congrats to those who have given birth. Welcome to the motherhood...

To mummies who had delivered,
Me very stressed... No milk at all, day 4 liao. baby Floyce got to take FM in order nt to go hungry. I'd been pumping to stimulate milk flow. Only see droplets of Colorustrum... Baby Floyce very very impatient, doesn't latch well and only enjoy sucking on my nipples. Moreover, she's having jaunice but we've rented the UV machine to have her under the light 24/7.

Pain both up and down there...

Any mummies having problems like me? No milk supply? What do you do? Pls advise. TIA..

To mummies who have yet to delivered,
Pls get all yr things ready... dun be like me... come back hm, then look for milk bottles, read instruction manuals...
Nt much time to rest. Partly due to no CL ard.. Only mum and MIL helping during daytime. Luckily I've got a very very understanding hubby who's helping out now... I really can't imagine hw I can cope without him next week...

I really peifu those mummies who can cope well, esp. 1st baby... I need all yr encouragements from you all...

grace,
mrn all...you are not alone grace, i'm overdue also. today its 3 days late liao... what to do?

well, yesterday i went for gynae check up. he ask me for CTG test agin due to overdue and my cervix still not open at all yet. then my gynae said my bb heart beat looks sleepy and he want to play safe so he admit me to stay at hospital for observation! scary rite? was wondering what happen to my little gal.. ok, then after changing and done another CTG test(under TMC hospital) the result is up and down and quite smoothly then they send me for ultra scan for 100% check whether my bb healthy or not...
all this test come out the result is good and bb still doing well, Amniotic Fluid still enough for bb at this moment, blood floor well for bb and etc...

luckily my bb is healthy! but then... I'M BIT FRUSTRATED... cos it's my gynae make me depression during yesterday when he said to me need to admit at hospital for lots of observation!

Hi Jessica,

Just t0 share, I'm a june 07 mummy, not to worry so much abt ur milk supply, dun just concentrate on pumping, just latch ur bb on whenever she's hungry, then milk will come in.
Most importantly, u must have plenty of rest, and drink lots of water and eat lots of fish, "wu yu" is good.

For my #1, me also keep pumping, din latch on that frequent, end up partial and before he's 3 months old is already totally on formula.

As for my #2, me take advice from my sis, latch and latch totally, till week 6-8, when supply more established, then me start to pump and store my milk, up till now, I'm still breastfeeding my gal.

All the best, jia you.

Hi Jessica,

Just t share, I'm a june 07 mummy, not to worry so much abt ur milk supply, dun just concentratte on pumping, just latch ur bb on whenever she's hungry, then milk will come in.
Most importantly, u must have plenty of rest, and drink lots of water and eat lots of fish, "wu yu" is good.

For my #1, me also keep pumping, din latch on that frequent, end up partial and before he's 3 months old is already totally on formula.

As for my #2, me take advice from my sis, latch and latch totally, till week 6-8, when supply more established, then me start to pump and store my milk, up till now, I'm still breastfeeding my gal.

All the best, jia you.

grace,
i'm also under depression too.. especially, yesterday i stay at hospital for so many lab test. finally i discharge liao... when bk home i more depression cos for my bb still not yet dilated at all!
my gynae ask me to go for induce for coming monday. my bb weight now already 3387g. he also worry if too late labour my bb will grow more bigger!

<font color="aa00aa">morning gers!
TF will most prob be delivering today!!!

sms from TF this morning @ 5:58hrs "I'm admitted to Delivery suite at 5:30am n will monitor for contractn. If nt will nd induce if no dilatn. Waterbag burst liao."

@ 6:39hrs "2:30 water flow so shower, makan n book in. Yoh, on IV plug pain ya. 1-2cm dilate. waitg game."

Latest news is tat TF is oni 1.5cm diliated &amp; KKH will put medi to induce her. her water still flowing...

Will keep u gers updated as soon as I hear more from TF!

ps: heard from TF tat Tera may be inducing today as well.

TF / Tera,
Jia You gers!!! we r all behind u all the way!!!</font>

Ellysia,

re: epidural.

It is true that epidural may help some mothers relax esp if the mother is very tensed (can actually stop dilation and labour from progressing) or if labour is very long, epidural helps to conserve energy. But I don't think epidural speeds up labour by itself, cos actually once we are in active labour (after 4cm), our dilation will increase about 1cm per hour on an average. bu tbecause most doctors only give epidural after 4cm in normal cases, it may be mistaken that epidural actually speeds up labour. most doctors only give epidural after 4cm dilation cos that's when we are in active labour, dilation will normally speed up and negate the slowing down effect of epidural. Most pple who take epiudral before 3cm (first time mommies) tend to take more than 1 dose of epidural. Doctors will recommend emergency c-section if dilation is more than 1cm per 2 hours (with epidural) or more than 1cm per 1 hour (without epidural) if mother is already beyond 4cm. That's the standard procotol now, although some doctors may not follow it that strictly.This is in recognition that epidural does slow down dilation.

My SIL took epidural at 3cm, took 3 doses before her bb was born.

<font color="aa00aa">crystal, me just got TF's sms too. So xcited for her now.

Tera, i got the thermometer from Drugstore, total cost will be less than $100.Wat time is ur visit to hosp? All the best.</font>

<font color="blue">morn ladies,
it was a bz bz day for me yday..so didnt hv chance to logon..

congrats to elaine n danryan..have a gd rest yah..

liew,
i think dr yeo just wanna play safe lah..dat's y ask u to admit to hospital n check lor..i realise he's those type dat prefers to be safe than sorry... did he mentioned when he wanna induce u?? </font>

so exciting!! more mommies popping!! I had a feeling TF's waterbag was going to rupture when she was telling us about the leak yesterday...