(2008/06) June 2008

Iamsnow...aiyo, so cute.. yes, must post some more pics. In fact, those mummies tat pop liao can keep posting more pics to motivate us here leh.

Juliet, CONGRATS n Welcome Jake!

Tera, I wish you congrats J&J&J..with me the 3rd J...haha..

Cactus, you like baking right? Have you heard of Phoon Huat?

good morning. I'm a mummy from the April thread. I stored my baby's cord blood with StemCord and have a $150 Voucher to give away. If you're also thinking of banking your baby's cord blood and keen to have the voucher, do PM me.

This is my baby's birth announcement page:http://www.babiesonline.com/babies/d/danajoysim/ Feel Free to visit and leave a comment!

TF, yes! I get stuff from Phoon Huat! There's a huge branch at Sembawang MRT station but cos I live in the east, I normally go to the Simei one. Cheap and good variety!

ioio,
125/85 is normal wor. when preggy, my bp is easily 140+/90+. when I was admited, my hb said that my bp shoots to 180/120. But I was oso very gan cheong den. Whenever I gan cheong, my bp will shoot. Hehe..

Mog,
thanks. Ya looking forward to bringing her home, yet gan cheong at the same time. Hehe..

<font color="aa00aa">Mogudog, thanks. After lunch, my headache was gone , but now seems like got mild contractions. So envy you can rest at home now. But frankly speaking even i'm at home, not really can rest coz my ger sure sticked to me.

cactus/ soyabean, i'm facing almost the same problem with my mil. She has been quite a good mil so far but she dont had any education at all. So her most 'powerful' language is Hakka, tats why some of her mandarin was mixture of translate from hakka plus mandarin which i find is bad for my girl whom is learning to talk now.
So, sometimes i keep remind my hubby to correct my mil wording when spoke to my girl. But i think my hubby din lor. So far there's once i corrected my mil, but i'm not sure if i offended her , but i feel bad lor. On the oth hand, i cannot let my girl learn the wrong pronuciation.

So, sometimes i not even sure wanna correct my mil or not. Really in dilemma.</font>

Felicia,
I noe wat you mean. My mum helps my SIL to take care of my 2 nieces and she will take care of my bb too. My mum cant speaks english, but she tries with wrong pronuciation. I think my elder niece gets affected, so I can expect the same to happen to my younger niece &amp; my bb in the future. well, my mum meant well, so it is quite difficult for us to correct her too.

ioio, cactus n tera
hee..today is MIL's or PIL's day... interesting to read. I also headache on who to take care if i really wnt to go to work.

Cactus, Tot today u have checkup right?

felicia...
same sentiments... my mil speaks chinese as direct translation from hokkien which is so totally wrong. so thankfully, my mum is the one taking care of my boy. in fact, when in the midst of sorting out caretaking for #2, my hb suggested mil. she turned us down (to much of my relief) and so we hv to resort to engaging a maid so that my mum will be able to cope.

for me, my relationship wif my mil has been ok, until my son came along. alot of tension during confinement which i can say permanently strained our relationship. it isnt totally terok, but it hasnt been the same. and there are other family issues as well which caused the strain... more than 4 yrs of stories, so cant be listed here... :p

Cactus, I just got to knw it when surf internet y'day. If i knw earlier, i could have spend my time going for the baking classes, now so close to EDD. Just nw i just went to the Bedok outlet to get the Konnyaku power. Going to try. Wow if i really SAHM n wif my own kitchen, u knw wat will i do every nw n then nw that i knw Phoon Huat classes are so reasonable.

<font color="aa00aa">ZuEn, yalor, we know they mean well, and they had try their best. We cant blame them for not havin education, coz their generation is 'zhong nan qin nu'and my mil oso came from poor family. And they had been speaking in this way for 50-60yrs, oso cant expect them to change overnite.

So, only chance for my girl to learn proper language speaking will only when i send her to childcare, but even there some children might influence her as well.</font>

TF, Hakkas talk very loudly huh? my In laws speak Hokkien at home, also very loud and rude, cum TV volume blasting away, dun say my son will be deaf, I that few mins sitting in front TV also becoming deaf. They better, they know I will lower down volume, after they increase it, they will keep the remote controls by their sides, not near me.

Have you seen a stroller tat is when folder, very small (almost like carrying a hook umbrella over shoulder) n light? I been trying to spot the brand n manage to see Carrxxxx, quite a long name at the side of stroller n I think under Combi.
Anyone knw wat is the brand and model for tat stroller?

<font color="aa00aa">TF, my mil is hakka and FIL is hokkien. My FIL talk softly actually , but MIL talk can consider loud lor especially when she talked in Hakka with her sisters. I cant even understand wat they are talking, only occasionaly heard my name. hahaha....</font>

Veniz, haha, b4 my hubby introduce me to his parents last time, he already warn me. So when meet, he also very scared cos he afraid i get freak out. Heard cos in the village back in China, they live on mountainous area, so they nd to shout to one another. Ha, if my PIL TV loud, my hubby will sure ask them soften. Hubby is like King in the hse there. When he himself watch, he on loud, after he finish watching, he put soft or ask them soften it..haha.

TF,
The way you describe your hb as king so funny..
My hb oso like king at home. Nobody dares to disturb him unnecessarily. His younger bro is the direct opposite of him. So my MIL is much closer to the younger bro.

TF, I've seen those before but forget the brand. that type of stroller is called umbrella stroller. maybe you can call the shops to ask?

hello all! i've not read thru' the posts...think starmoon/cynthia have announced that jake was born last nite! in the end hv to do w/ epi...coz after 3 hrs of contractions, only dilate by another 1cm...wah lau, cannot take it..so i gave up n took epi...after that, relax! shiok...keke

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">zuen.. my BP can shoot up real high when i c certain doc one.. i got the white coat syndrome at times but this gynae i think i dun hv this reaction with him.. he says my bp still ok but must monitor if it shoot up higher..
</font></font>

<font color="aa00aa">cactus, can understand my hubby's situation lor,(coz sometimes he need me to correct him oso, influence by his mom, i think) tats why i din really force him to correct my mil, just when he heard my mil spoken wrong pronuciation to my ger, he just need to repeat the sentence to my girl in a correct pronuciation.

But i think my hubby had been listening to his mum language for so long, since as a child,tat he himself might not realised is wrong. </font>

cactus, ya, i'll nt put colourg. Can dun put Citrus acid too?

Zuen, Cos hubby eldest son n grandson some more. So paternal grandmother spoilt him. My MIL always tell me hw the grandmother can even scold my MIL if the grandson nt taken care properly. So she walk thru tat path. Nw tis baby going to be same, eldest son n grandson, so MIL say she Guo Lai Ren, will nt treat me like hw she was treated...haha

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">hi juliet.. congrat!! no prob on whether epi lah.. so long as both mother and child are safe.. ;p</font></font>

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">cactus.. tt's wat i am worried oso.. if all the wrong input will ended up with wrong output.. </font></font>

Cactus, hee, i ask cos I 4got to buy the Citrus Acid so tot can escape..haha..looks like i've to go dwn n get agn cos need to harden the jelly right.

TF, I forget why need to get citric acid but I remember cannot leave out.. hehe! Actually if troublesome to get from poon huat, you can get from NTUC. I saw it before. redman brand also.

<font color="aa00aa">hi gers,
wow so many archive pages since i last came in...hard to catch up ley...

bb had fallen ill, part of which i ve to give thanks to my MIL credit for it. so after 2 days, hb n me brought bb to PD last nite n she was diagonsis wif mild reflux symptions. now bb on medication n today is better oreadi. reai load off my mind liao. had been in teather hooks last 2 days n nites...good news is tat bb has put on wtg, she is now 2.95kg oreadi cos last wk she oni 2.67kg.

btw, i m now back to my pre-preg wtg of 53kg liao. many thanks to sleepless nites + BF-ing...hahahhaaa....okie, so no jamu massages for me liao.

Juliet/Bonjovi,
Congrats on the birth of your Mickeys!!! *Grin* Remember to post photos of Jake &amp; Kyler here soon,okie?

Ellysia,
tell u wat...Msn us who delivered liao lar..cos we cant be delivering again so soon, rite? LOL....</font>

TF, alternatively, if you have lemon or lime or oranges at home, you can try get away without citric acid.
Just squeeze some juice into the jellies.. and cross your fingers.

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">cactus.. precisely.. actally it's b4 3 years old that determine the child's life.. i believe it's important to be proactive rather than reactive when it's comes to a child behaviour, mindset..etc.. but wat's headache is the no. of hrs that we hv for the child is limited for a working parents and thus it maybe hard to corrected the long hrs of influences by the environment.. </font></font>

TF, I'll cross my toes for you!!

ioio, true. it is really not easy loh. I believe that grandparents' role should be limted to just playing with our kids.. but no choice.. I have to depend on my dad..

I'm so sad. bb back in hospital as her jaundice lvl gone up to 316 today. wonder how many days does she need to stay. now I'm already missing her.

Congrats Jesslyn n juliet!!!

crystal, yr bb is so cute!!

im back frm wk35 check-up liao. bb @ 2.5kg. doc din do VE, jus got another CTG done. next visit is next wk. bb head is on my right side facin left. e same position as 2wks ago. hmmm.... let her be comfortably inside til 40wks bah!

Wondering why we cannot take citric acid mah? makeing jellies is just for fun or we need to eat? pls advice, as problem the heading tread on this topic.

<font color="aa00aa">cactus, about correcting hubby's pronuciation, reminded me during my uni' times, tats where i met my hubby, most of our group friends cannot understand wat my hubby(at tat time we only friend) is talking coz he's like eating up all the words plus his special pronuciation. But funny lor, i can understand lor, and most of the time i need to be 'translator' to repeat again. So, is really fated!

My hubby himself know tat he's not really able to teach my ger the right pronuciation, tats why when i mentioned to him about sending my girl for some weekend enrichment class , he's ok with it. So, i think this is the only way to teach my girl the correct language as myself is not tat good oso.</font>

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">crystal.. so envy... ;p how i wish i hv already popped..</font></font>

ioio, i 2nd you on wat u say b4 3 years old. And true, always feel torn on the hw much time we can gv to our child b4 3 if we work. Kids really nd the attention n warm during that stage n learn faster then. After 6 years, they shut off, then we start forcing them to learn which is actually all our fault.

Cactus, u r funny!! hee..

Shinely, can take citric acid. I tink u read wrongly. We were discussing if can exclude cos i forgot to buy.

TF, at least your hubby warned you about his parents. Mine, when we were dating, chating on phoneline, at least once a week I can listen thru the phone that his dearest sis will be having a 'hokkien drama shouting' with her parents, very shocking. I always make fun of him 'Today TV got hokkien show meh?'. Then also, if his family (mostly sis and mum) wanted to use phone, during that few mins will keep pick the handsets in their room, up and down several times to give us signals. Hate it man. Now, lucky never stay with them in that small noisy overheated dark house.

Iamsnow, your baby very cute, lots of hair and crystal, Gwen looks very sweet leh. Both so serene looking when sleeping.

Zuen, Shuana has very pretty and big eyes with sharpe chin, her double eyelids also very nice, thick thick one. Dunno how my gal will look like.