(2008/06) June 2008

HI cynthia and aprilmum,

ya wat i experience is same.. it doesn't go away when i rest or walk or change position. But mine has become irregular OR does not lasted more than 1 hour. Sometimes it ended around 45mins or 30mins. I just had one attack just now, 15mins interval and lasted for around 40mins.

Ellysia
Interesting. U r even an expert in describing contractions vs cramps nw. By the time my turn come, if i'm confuse, can consult u already

Every Tues night @ 8:30, CNA will show "Big Daddy". Meant to inspire daddy hw to participate on childcare at home. Today shows Mrs Wong (fr TMC) showing a daddy hw to burp n massage the baby n hw to bottle feed baby to reduce stomach wind.

TF,

ya bec i had them and i ask gynae cos wasn't sure which are signs of labour. gynae is v nice she explained to me few times ored... in fact every visit she will repeat again and again.

Contractions are menses cramp like feeling. Its the same thing. But pattern is not menses cramp. Menses cramp can be a dull pain tat probably is a morning (in my case last time when i had my menses). But contractions is a very painful menses cramp feeling tat is around 30-45secs together with breatheless and feeling to poo poo, then disappear (and u feel relieve) for maybe 10 or 15mins, then come again, then disappear. a pattern. But the pain is almost the same as menses cramp pain or more painful.

I notice tat my contractions pain are getting more and more painful nowadays whenever it come. Initially was equivalent to menses cramps pain. Now is getting more and more painful tat sometimes i have to sit down and can't tok and feel so breatheless. Tats why i tink i will need epidural bec if this gonna repeat so many times over a short interval i tink i cannot tahan.

The worst contractions are those in the night ones cos i be woke up by the pain and can't sleep no matter wat angle i turn.

ok... finally come online. PLs update my girl info. she's ivory. weight at 3.05. length 49. sad to say she have jaundice only discharge today. tml got to bring her to polyclinic to check on the lvl. hopefully it will not be above 300 otherwise got to admit hospital.

re: bm
currently my breast felt pain on both sides. no matter how I express or bb suck, the pain is still there. somemore my nipple bleed. what should I go about to get rid of the pain? I did messaging also no use.

hi sharon,

so currently u need to sun bathe yr gal?

maybe a hot towel can help? or do u need to see a lactation consultant to massage?

Ellysia, Thanks. Understand liao. Ya, your gynae is really patient in educating. I can imagine fr the talk she gave. Like wat someone mentioned, I also got feeling u maybe dilated by your next appt. Ya, I tink Mrs Wong is a National icon for this field.

Fennie
After 2day's 9pm show on Channel 8, I regret I cried in the previous episode. Cheah, tat sob sob was just his dreams..haha

TF,

I dun wanna have the hope tat it is dilated cos those contractions i felt since last checkup aren't consistent and long enuff.

anyway, if i am to go on induce, i will hope to be dilated so i can ask for drip and epidural straight. Cos if not dilated and go on induce, it will be harder and more painful. if ored dilated then go on induce will be much easier. tats wat i tink.

ellysia,
I got no chance to sun her leh. bought her hm was in afternoon n my mum says morning sun will be better. tml morning got to bring her to polyclinic Liao. today keep hoping she pee n poo alot to let the gems out. where can I get a lactation consultant?

Hihi ladies,

Back from Gynae. The past few days been going through contractions. Esp in the morning. Like Menses cramp. I haven sleep well for 3 nites le... Feeling so tired yet I have no wish to deliver soon yet. Feifei already discharge when she went TMC the same day as me. Me still here. I think I really might be the last one on May thread to pop...

Ioio, can help me update. Thanks a million!
Baby Name: Erica
Baby's weight: 3.4kg
Mummy's weight: Same

Can't siam from the cervix check, now already 1cm. But my gynae's cervix check is confirm 1000xs less painful! My gynae wanted to put me on drip on Thurs cos he heard of my contractions. Then I begged with him say can do it on EDD??? If I can, I seriously don't want baby to have same bday as FIL. Hubby ard, I don't dare to say is suay... I only said like that baby no special day to herself liao.

He said earlier get it over and done with the better. Then I told him tickets for Nania on Thurs booked liao. He started laughing and say get DVD lah. I said DVD watch not shoik one. No special effect, the sound effect cannot compare to movies. Then he laughed at me and say okok. We let baby decide on her own birthday. If she's still not out on Sat. He'll see me again on Sat and he'll have to burst my waterbag and put me on drip this weekend liao. Cannot escape liao...

Then go out, the nurses laughed and said "Huh, you still coming back on Sat ah? Haha... Your package really fully maximised it liao..." Another nurse told me to pump up on my Iron these few days and I said constipation leh. Then hubby's house toilet squating toilet. Hubby so angry with me. He said I throw his face. Waliao. Blame it on his mum mah, if they nv lock up the toilet, nv cramp the toilet bowl, would I have slipped and fall that time. Be it careless or what, like I said, public toilet sometimes is even more user friendly than my house one loh. Bloody hell. I hate my PIL's inconsideration. Not like they nv gone through pregnancy!

Anyway I super pissed over the incident! I still don't think this is my fault. Somemore I've voiced it out a few times and no changes had been made. And when I asked for permission to use the toilet, my MIL can still ask me why I need to use. What can I say??? I'll nv apologise for this! The people who should be sorry is my in laws loh. Sometimes I wondered, if tt time I really fall and lose the baby or baby come out premature, will they blame it on me also? The more I think, the more furious I get! Seriously, I think they don't deserve to be my baby's grandparents!

hi Kelcqi, me oso cant sleep well for many nites; so i catch my lost sleep during the daytime. i think bcos nearer to edd liao, dat's y got more and more prob (contractions, turning, bb kicking harder etc...) with sleeping bah. try to catch up with your lost sleep if possible.

wah your PIL locked up the toilet seat for themselves to use only - very selfish ley. in fact preggy should not squat one did they know or not? i feel so bad for you, but just hang on, after delivery u will not be at the mercy them liao. cool down, get too angry oso no good for u and bb ley.

can't sleep.. wake up at 5am my normal time to pee then bladder dun feel good so i am here to check out the forum.. later then catch nap i guess.

Sharon,

U can get lactation consultant through yr hospital. check the website they shd have some helpline.

morn sun is better yr mum is right. U may not need to bring her out if u have a good window, just place her near the window for some time and it be fine. U can also get a sunscreen or something to cover her eyes while bathing.

Kelcqi,

So u been staying at TMC now?
As for the date tat yr bb born, even if same day as yr FIL it won't be same year and same hour, so won't be anyting bad. Thus dun have to worry so much.

Squat toilet is better not to use during pregnancy esp doing big biz. small biz is fine just awhile. Cos it will make the placenta low.
However at last trim near delivery may help bring labour forward?..

I also want to watch Nardia..if this weekend bb haven't come out may hope to see the show. Cos the book is my fav book when young.

<font color="aa00aa">Morning ladies!

Since last week, i always woke up at 5.20-5.30am, which my normal wake up timing shld be 5.50am. So suffer, cant even let me sleep few more mins. *sigh*

Ellysia, from the way your describe contractions, i think i had oso, but i nvr realised it was actually contractions, coz is irregular and for short period, and the pain to me still bearable. Just hopefully i'm dilating oso. hehe...</font>

Felicia,

heeee..

ya if it is irregular, its really hard to know its contractions. in fact initally i didnt know until i told gynae i had cramps and she ask more details, then i knew its contractions. I tot contractions is more like BH initally.

My normal peeing time during pregnancy become 5am. then i usu wake up 7plus for work. but seems like my clock is more tuned to 5am than 7plus.

good morning!! i'm still at home
.. nothing "serious" happen yesterday night

Ellysia, Cynthia, Liew, jesslyn

how are you all?

Cynthia,

when your gynae checked that you are 3cm dilated?? how many days you waiting at home liao?? I plan to walk more today, wanna go shopping awhile with my bro later in the afternoon .. hope to excersice a bit cos i really dun hope end up with induce birth on my EDD.

Need an outlet for my grouses.
Was sent to labour ward for CTG monitoring last nite after my routine weekly checkup. Whatever signs that is there for labour, I had them all.
Baby low weight, baby not much movement throughout the day, blood stain discharge continuously for 4 days, very regular BH contraction at interval of 8-10 minutes for many hours plus cervix dilate to 2cm.
Luckily false alarm. My naughty baby did not move much throughout the whole day but decided to be active only upon reaching the hospital. Sigh... I wonder how much trials I had to go thro' this pregnancy. From low placenta to the trepitation of waiting for the amniocentesis results. And the fall straight straight on the tummy when I slipped while bathing my elder boy.

Gotta clear all my pending work now. No one to handover, just hope for the best.

Aprilmum,
Gynae didnt do VE for me.. He is sort of that type avoid doing unless really necessary. He only say oh bb engaged liao and the pain i experience is contractions and #2 sure dilated very early by 37weeks. Later I be seeing him 11am appt. Going to tell him my concern about whether dilated or not and see if he can do the VE for me.. I don want to go hospital and yet not dilated and have to waste my time and long labour (which can be tiring &amp; worrying too).
Since monday he told me to stand by lo and saying can burst water bag 1st June. So later see if he able to answer to my concern.

Sometimes wonder been preg is own business or WHOLE FAMILY business. My edd is 18june and I was thinking to hold on and wait till next week see how it goes.. even pain still on off persist now la. Somehow wish bb to be inside longer and try gain as much as possible lo though 1st june I be 37weeksplus bah. BUT seem HB and MY MUM n PIL saying 1st june can go go... haiz.. si beh sian!

Kelcqi,
so sorry that your PIL are like that! Can you ask your hubby to ask your PIL to let you use the sitting toilet? else really v xinku

Cactus,
I agree that preg is not easy. can see so many mummies' worries and physical pains here. and my tailbone still hurts!

nss,
Don worry okie and try relax. The more tense &amp; stress you be the more you may affect bb. So just try let things easy and I believe bb inside know mummie is doing all the best for her and struggling too. Just try your best to complete all the work and go popping. Enjoy the moment when you carry bb in ur arms is the most undescrible moment! We all here supporting you yeah. ANytime just drop in and all hear lending listening ear

morning gals...
took half day yest to cut my hair... now my hair is quite short! :p

TF...
i hope no matter wat, my labour will be short enuf so that i wldnt suffer from pain for too long.

aprilmum...
wow... 3cm dilated too... u may be earlier than me! :p

nss...
at least now u r assured that bb is doing ok...

sharon...
maybe u wanna seek help from a LC. baby cld be not latching well, and hence causing pain. do u hv nipple cream? do apply them to ease the pain.

Cactus,
I have not heard about the even month better than odd month thing.

do you know where I can get a donut cushion? was reading the internet on tailbone pain and was suggested to get 1 of those to sit on to minimise the pain. think the cushion has a hole in the centre.

Hi gers,
Good morning.. looks like many MTBs are suffering from lack of sleep ya. I tot I m the oni pone to wake up in the middle of the nite (to express milk). Jia you, jia you. Better catch up on sleep whenever possible hor. When bb comes, really no time to sleep then.

Sharon,
I understand that if bb latch on the you suffer from bleeding or crack nipples, it could mean that the position is not right. When I started expressing, I oso suffered from bleeding nipple (one side niah), so much so that I was scared to express. I still suffered from sore nipples at times when I express. I realised that nipple cream helps alot for me wor. U tried nipple cream?

<font color="blue">morn ladies,
me back fr gynae yday.. finally get to noe my bb's weight liao..now 2.7kg @ wk35 n 5days..hehe..but doc suspect it cld be bigger than dat cos he said the measurement r not so accurate..currently bb still hvnt engage..i think looking at this weight..my bb shld be @ least 3kg when i edd.. doc said he's not gonna do VE for me until i admitted..cos he said sometimes y ppl do VE is cos they wanna induce the bb.. which i definitely dun 1 lah..hehe..

kelcqi,
so poor thing..if can try to get ur hb talk to them n let u use the sitting toilet lah..it's really very mah fan to squat lor..

just fyi kk do have postnatal home care. it's $155 nett for 3 sessions, abt 2hrs per session.

they will provide baby bathing and techniques on baby feeding. also advice on personal hygiene, diet and nutrition etc.

if you are interested, u may contact 65574974/65574953

aprilmum...
yes its me... :p hv u been feeling contractions? cos i hv oni been getting menses cramps on and off and BHs, i oso didnt know that i dilated so much already until i went for checkup.

<font color="aa00aa">cactus, i remember got one mummy oso mentioned about this odd and even mth thingy, but cant remember is whom. Anyhow, i nvr heard this before. Only know got ppl said if baby born premature at 7mths, tat baby will had good life.</font>

TF: Wah, must grab hubby to watch the CNA program. =) Yeah, 1st time dad symdrone. it kinda bonds the couple together yah? I took out a storybook and ask hb to read to bb last nite. Woah, his tone goes up and down, very expressive lei. he seldom like tat one so I was surprised but happy nonetheless. cos usually i'm the one reading to bb. hehe...

Ellysia: Ur contraction explaination really useful for 1st time mummies!

Cynthia: Ur hb, mum and PIL are excited to see ur baby lah! Take it positively yah. Cos anyway, baby is full term liao. Popping between now and EDD is fine. don worry too much. =) Ur bb will give u the signal once he/her is ready!

Ladies, I feel super tired this morning although i didn't sleep very late. Feel back aching thou. Guess this is the cause. do u have this also?

bizznow...
since bb not yet engaged, i guess ur gynae is quite sensible in deciding not to do a VE. i think for 1st-time mummies, bb tend to engage later, quite common. cos if i dun rembr wrongly, my #1 engage oni near labour time.

soyabean,

after the VE .. is there any blood come out together with the discharge?? cos i'm having a little bit now.. wondering is't because my gynea "hurt" my V and hence got a bit blood.

me too.. i also surprised that im 3cm dilated. currently, no contraction at all.. yesterday yes.. at night, not really sleep well.. cos got a bit suan suan pain like taht.. now ok liao

soyabean,
my mum also ask me go for haircut. she said when doing confinement sure very hot nia~

bizz,
i'm started my MTL since monday.. super bore at home. i left 6 days to my EDD.... gan jeong!

<font color="blue">soyabean,
yah lor..actually i quite scared he do VE for me leh..cos i scared pain n very "gao wei"...now all i can do is to wait n wait..dunno when bb wants to engage..hehe..he told me when bb engage liao i will feel my upper tummy lighter..but the pelvic area heavier n i can breathe more easily..so i shall look out for those symptoms..hehe..

Good morning mummies
I think many mummies have popped already, have not gone through the many archives that I missed yet.

Went for my checkup yday and have not so good news. Bb is small according to doctor and there was no growth from the last checkup and in fact there was a drop of weight.

Gonna do the blood flow scan tmr and see doctor again. If bb is not absorbing from me anymore then doctor says have to take her out earlier. I am at my 37 weeks now.

So worrying...

liew,

i'm still very fine now.. no pain!! hahaha.. just a bit tummy like harden harden feeling only.. am drinking coconut juice now.. hehe.. wanna get cold drinks before delviery

aprilmum...
no... i didnt hv blood after the VE. but when i had my #1, i used to hv some light spotting after every VE check oso.

now my hubby gets excited whenever i seem to be in any "pain"... :p

liew...
hehe... i hv always kept a bob. but this cut is more than a bob... hehe... looks abit ugly... but i dun care at this moment... cos i intend to grow it back after confinement... and i hv 3 mths to do dat... =p and yes... june will be a very HOT mth....

<font color="blue">liew,
u so fast on ML liao ah?? u @ home alone or wat?? boring then come to forum lor..sure got ppl chat wif u 1..hehe.. so now how heavy is ur bb?? dr yeo got ask u to do detailed scan anot?? </font>

morning mummies
Seems like not much popping this`week as compared to last week where there's much popping

sharon, ur case sounds bad.. pls go see a LC.. if not, it will deter you from expressing or bf-ing bb

kelcqi, u r using squatting toilet ah? poor ger.. ask hubby to speak to in-laws to let u use their toilet? squatting no gd for u now...

wow zuen you are very determined.. i always switch on my alarm middle of nite to express milk but end up always cannot wake up... today 9 hrs sleep throughout never express milk, oops guilty mummy...

btw, can check wif u all, how long after csect can we do massage? coz i managed to book auntie su for massage next mon... but it's only 2.5wks after my csect then... thks!

For the PIS Advanced, do we need to wash the valves (long tubes) coz I know those tubes cannot be sterilised... but if wash after every pump, will we spoil the tubes?

<font color="blue">roxy,
i think u can check wif aunty su whether u can do massage oredi anot leh..u got tell her when u did ur c-sect anot??if u told her n she still accept ur booking then i think shld be oko..eh..btw hor..how much i owe u?? hehe..still dun 1 2 let me noe ah?? </font>

<font color="blue">soyabean,
ooh..thks for the info ah.. now i oredi start to feel a bit pain @ the pelvic area liao lor..dunno if do exercise can help to relieve the pain anot leh.. </font>

<font color="aa00aa">roxy,for c-sec, normally is after 3week only doing massage. Maybe u can tell Aunty Su, i'm sure she's very experienced to know where to massage and where not to massage de.

As for the tube, do u mean the look like straw tube? I remember the saleslady at FFY told me it cannot be sterilise, let the water tap running thru the hole of the tube will do.</font>

bizz,
detailed scan? was thought we done when 20 weeks last time?

i'm now already 39weeks. next tues my due date.. so i rest lor