(2008/06) June 2008

Ellyisa,
I did lor...but cos yest at hospital, me only reach home at 3pm, breast already harden...u can imagine the pain lor...today whole day use super hot towel to massage and press, now not so hard, but still engorged and armpit lumps still there...Tmr going to look for LC at TMC..

TF is back *Hi*

Came back from my CTG checkup. Everything normal, heatbeat abt 140-150 range wif occasional 160. Actually i also duno wat it means but the nurse kept saying very good n lively baby, unlike some very sleepy. Only very minor Contraction detect. Cervix nt dilated. Then when home, was making Ondeh Ondeh n very satisfied wif the outcome. Nw snacking it. Been craving all the kueh or anything to do wif Glutinuous Rice.

Zuen, hee..cos y'day whole day out and sleep by 12am, so got to sleep thru' out w/o need to catch mosquito. Lucky, else tis morning have to wake up early for checkup. So nw trying nt to nap so tonite can slp better.

Elaine, Happy to hear your results. Maybe increase your milk, meat n protein intake. For all u knw, the weight will gain back (like Tera's case) n all the unnecessary wori ward off.

Priscilla, Apple juice or apple is good. I read in Baby center it also helps to improve baby respiratory. I going to take 1 green apple everyday nw.

Soyabean, tho u have low pain tolerance. Looks like your pain is being spread over last few weeks w/o u feeling tat bad. So by time u going to deliver, you dilate fast enough tat u dun even nd epi. Tat's gd sign.

Cactus, u r right. Even for Single bed, KKH dun even charge $75 for the partner to stay in. Aft this experience, I wouldnt mind continuing wif KKH for my next one even if I go pte in future. I like the shopping facilities at KKH too, compare to TMC, very bare.

MLP, ya i think this daddy will do anythg for his son. Ha, when i showed him the photos i've taken for myself, he say he will take for his son next time. I say what, only your son, nw ask u take for me u so lazy. Mention your son, u so enthusiastic. Looks like only fatherhood does wonders.

Tera, how much salary are you paying your myanmar maid? christian or buddhist? Can speak English and/or chinese? I'm contemplating myanmar/indon maid.

<font color="aa00aa">ladies, i'm struggling with my appraisal now. So can only come in a while KPO around.

Tera, the problem is our office air ventilation, not good, everytime one collegue fall sick, sure continue one follow by another one.
Ur maid sure can leh, cook for herself only. Wat kind of language you spoke to her?</font>

jesslyn...
ML? no leh will start on 2nd wk on june...got work to clear...cannot go in peace..

tera...
ya i hope i dun need to induce...since the fluid level is sufficient.

rooller, my doctor will always check bb's heartrate at every visit. he will automatically tell me what it's like... I think doctors just make sure the heart rate is decreasing as the bb grows.. cos bigger more mature bb, stronger heart. like how adults have more efficient hearts than bbs.

came across online articles saying if bb hasn't engaged by week 38, normally our doctors will check to see if our pelvis is too small to accomodate the bb... and another article said that rate of c-section increases with late engagement.

just came back from gynae check up.. 3cm dilated liao
.. gynae said my cervix quite soft already.. but still must see when bb wanna comeout lah.. can be anytime or can be few days or on due date.. so depends
anyway, just get ready

cactus,
mine didnt say anything at all.
only during my last chkup, i ask him how, he didnt tell me any indication also.
just say, can deliver anytime no prob.

aprilmum,
how many weeks are u now?
i'm hitting 38 weeks this week.
so far, gynae only do the usual scan

elaine,
The jab super painful,right?? My tears started flowing uncontrollable when they gave me the jab. I only took 1, not enuff time for the 2nd one. Bb too eager to come out. Dun worry, already crossed the 2kg mark..

ellysia,
Actually BM ss establishes quite early wor. Can let bb latch on and then express out to store? Then maybe can continue to give bb BM via bottle after you go for your eye treatment. Or mayb bcos Lil ZuEn is taking v.little milk, so I still got alot spare..

Re: Hb staying overnight at hospital
When I was transferred to the 6-bedded ward in NUH (opted for subsidised ward cos bb needed NICU), one of the ladies' hb stayed with her in the night cos she might deliver anytime. The nurse did highlight to me that hb should not stay bcos it is a ladies' ward. They simply draw all the curtains and didnt make any noise. The nurses oso never say anything. Tat lady went to the delivery suite at 3am the same night. But bcos it is a 6-bedded ward, no luxery wor, that hb prob not very comfortable. Hehe. Not sire if the hb stayed the 2nd night cos I was discharged. So I guessed certain hospitals are less strict?

Cactus
Is there a table that we can see at what week, what should baby heart-rate be? Yap, my baby is super active at every sound. Maybe train from my father's daily loud voice n my in-law family. When i go back to in-law side, he can practically kick me everywhere whenever the members come together to talk.
Really, so its the service tat is nt gd in KKH 1 bedded? Why? In terms of? Yea, they have 2 deluxe room, 1 on each wing. Nt bad in exchange for the Single at TMC.

Ellysia, your season parking story is really funny. I also agree that you have the most false contraction. Hope when the real one come, u r nt thinkg tat it's still false. But i guess if the real one come, u will have a fast delivery since your body has been adjusting.

Feifei, if u really need help on the b/f'g part, u can also contact Mrs Wong, nt sure did she distribute her namecard in ur session? Tat's wat she encouraged.

Felicia,
Haha, ya loh, she win already. Hubby and I spoke to her in simple English leh. We said - "We go and buy food to cook, tomorrow you cook lunch for us." Furthermore, she chose the ingredients herself. But seems like it's lost on her. :p

Cactus,
We are paying her $320 every month. She's Buddhist and can speak/understand simple English. But sometimes got to repeat a few times then she gets what we are trying to say. Generally hardworking but a little bit slow maybe cos she's new.

TF,
Yeah, 150 - 160 is good. Cos the last time I did mine, it was around 140+ for 10 min and then the nurse told me to turn from side to side to wake up the baby and from then on, bb's heartrate went up to 150 plus which according to doctor is good, cos 140 plus means baby was probably sleeping.

Tera,
thks, sometimes its hard, bcso you are working for someone close to you, you wanted to rest, but worried that he cannot cope when I am not there, so i think i will try to finish things fast, so i can rest at home in peace

Hi aprilmun just mention abt u....keke tat gd for you without induce ...nw ur turn to pray for me as tmlr my check up hopefully like you auto dilate...haha...i excited for you ley...As u noe 3of us u,feifei &amp; me same baby weight ...nw u can prepare ur things &amp; get ready to cheong....

Cactus, thanks the KKH service
Hey, so your baby heart-rate is better since at 34 weeks, he's 135, meaning as baby grow, heart mature n should be slower. But yet, I'm confuse when Tera's side want it higher... me blur here. Nd enlightenment

TF, don't worry too much about bb's heart rate. It's not indicative or anything. really. as a general rule, the more mature any body organ, the more efficient it is. Therefore, the more mature a heart, the more efficient it is. An older bb'bs heart won't need to pump so many times per minute to pump blood throughout the bb's body. different bb's blood volume differs. as long as the bb's heart rate drops steadily as the bb matures, it is good enough.
But during labour, if bb's heart rate drops drastically during a contraction, it means bb may be in distress and that's not a good thing. cos my bb's heartrate appears to be on the low side, hopefully my doctor will exercise discretion and won't insist that bb is in distress if bb's heart rate drops below the norm during a contraction.

cactus and jesslyn,

me excited also .. i recheck again my hosp bag just now.. and called my mom liao, told her if at night need to go hosp.. need to ask my bro come over with her and bring my elder girl to their place with my helper.

roooller,

i'm entering wk 39 liao.. gynae said.. abt the labouring time.. so just get ready

jesslyn,

no worry.. tomorrow mayb your gynae will tell you, your cervix also dilated liao..
where will you deliver bb liao huh?? MAH??

aprilmum... you gg to deliver SOON?? Hey, wait for me ley... I tot I got company liao... sob sob...

anyway, all the best and smooth delivery to you...

im experiencing rashes on my tummy, hand and legs..dunno whether issit heat rash...super itchy
quite serious leh

anyone having the same prb?

Cactus
Ok, Thanks for the assurance at this stage. Oh, by then really hv to leave in the expert hands during delivery. I tink we will be too painful to even look at the machine, compared to what i did today. :p

shycloud, I used to have some rash on my tummy, but not anymore. never had any rash on my hands or legs though. you want to ask your doctor? could it be an infection or something?

yeah.. just trust in our doctors. but if we have doubts, should always raise it. we don't want to regret. cos in our lives, preggie only a couple of times, compared with them.. deliver a couple of babies every day...

hiya
me back from lunch. after lunch had some cramps, so went to swensens icecream eat ice-cream and rest.
then rain come
so waited for rain
in the end bot an umbrella from ntuc
walk to DVD shop to rent DVD
then walk back..
so has been walking for nearly 2 hours, v good exercise.

cactus...
my silly gynae will comment that " It's like tat, what can i do"...duh...i guess its part and parcel of pregnancy...plus it only surface again this few weeks...i reckon its the weather...but after applying baby oil it kinda heal...but is back again...can see the rashes on my tummy...super obvious and damn ugly lor...sigh!

cactus,

The reason why shycloud gynae suggest induce is bec' if bb weight does not increase tat may indicate that placenta has aged and bb is not absorbing well, thus may as well induce out so tat bb can grow with milk rather than from the placenta. Tat is why bb weight from week 37 will be closely monitored.

shycloud,

wat u have rashes may be wat my colleague experience, her rashes spread from tummy to hand etc. Get cream from yr gynae. it is mostly due to hormones.

TF,

I been "trained" on the contractions part ored tat i roughly can gauge whether i will need epidural or not ored.

I suspect it is bec i used to have bad menses cramps so maybe tats why my cervix hard to dilate? But my hb said it is ridiculous lol.

shycloud,

The rashes is no cure, but will go away once give birth.

zu en

tats wat i am considering.. hee hopefully it works.

aprilmum

good for u! so finally u are ready to go, so u waiting for contractions to kick in? Do yr gynae say must induce if u cross the EDD date?

Ellysia
Maybe actually u have nt have the real contraction over the last few weeks, if ur gynae had put u on CTG. More on cramps cos of your uterus (like u mentioned usu mense cramp). I was like u when have mense n if i eat slightest cooling/cold stuff, i can creepy or drastic cramp cos my uterus nt warm enuf. Like Sunday, I had Chinese carrot cake (been avoiding thru' out preggie cos too cooling for me), i feel the creepy cramp coming aft i eat. So nw i have to b careful n still hold my coconut till week 38. When i eat cold(ice) dessert, I have to warm it in my mouth than swallow. If nt too cold for my uterus to take it. Maybe this experience was since pre-preggie i've always encounter so in this pregnancy i tend to be very careful wif cold stuff, else I will get false hope like u, tinking my cramp is the coming contraction. LOL

ellysia,

yes.. if over EDD.. need to induce liao due to bb size. yes.. i am like "waiting for contraction" at home.. hahaha..

can i know.. i got the pain pain feeling, awhile awhile type.. and the pain is like a hard ball in my tummy.. is that contraction kicking in?? it is like 10-15 mins one kick.. hmmm.. or am i think too much?? false alarm!!

Aprilmum,
Think the next will be you or wanna wait longer hehehe...Today I am having stupid contractions again.. now monitoring.. about 10mins apart but only last 1hr like this.. False alarm again. BUT sometime who knows esp #2 liao.. Hehehe #2 will be alot faster and U also must fast too. At least your contingency planning is done. My case same like yours, if last min now gg to pop, will get my mum to take over my gal lo. As long water bag don't burst wont be so messy
I never experience water bag burst at home..

Ellysia,
For #1, normally will extreme gan chiong and always experience irregular contractions too. Sometime who knows suddenly you have dilate alot when you next visit your gynae and ur date is drawing near! Wow... wonder this week who will be pop other than Bon Jovi

Aprilmum,
Hard ball feeling? Do u feel like bb is pushing down or feeling to poo? Or when you walk the pain will go away? IF walk, soothing the tummy pain wont go away can be contractions liao. Cos I experience that and gynae told me these are contractions. It will get nearer and more intense. When reach 5min each interval must hit hospital liao... Hmm are we both experiencing it now? Mine just stopped... last for 30secs bah i think, roughly estd lo. Then is 10min interval...

hmm.. everytime my gynae take bb heartbeat.. it always ard 120-130++ leh.. not 140-150+.. n my gynae said its normal..

this thurs i doin the ctg machine..

<font color="aa00aa">aprilmum, actually i always had the feeling like wat your describe since about 1-2wks ago. Hard ball moving in tummy and i got feeling of poo poo leh. But i always tot the hard ball is the baby movement.
Dont think is contraction kua, i nvr try to time leh.</font>

Sometimes its really so hard to differentiate true or false alarm and still have to bother time it.. Hai why not just give us a straight signal

Re: Contractions
For my case, my contractions were not atregular intervals wor. When I started feeling the pain, they come and go for about 10 over secs each time and the interval range from 4 to 10 mins. After 1.5hr, the interval and contractions duration still not regular, then suddenly waterbag burst liao. Heng I aly in hospital, else sure v. messy de. After the water bag burst, then the contractions star getting regular. Didnt take note of how long each contraction is, cos concentrate too hard on tahaning the pain liao, haha.

hey ladies, back fm my Wk 37&amp;2days checkup. I actually gained 2kg in ONE week! Dr was shocked and asked what did I eat? Cos I ate alot of durians. Luckily, when he scanned bb, bb weight is still average. around 2.9~3kg. Phew! Of course that means the additional weight is piled on me lah. but at leasst I'm relieved bb is not too big... if not, later hard to deliver.

He said bb's head is very low liao. Might be delivering within these 2 weeks. Hubby was veri kan chiong. But I told him i shld be more kanchiong wat since I'm the one delivering. =P
Imagine we were so excited n kan chiong until walk in the wrong direction after we come out fm clinic. LOL....

TF: Ya, must remind ur hubby that u r very important ok! Not only ur son. hehe... So he anytime will fly back when u gg into labour arh?

Aprilmum: Woah! U r gonna pop anytime! so excited for u too...

Hi ZuEn,
I think maybe not all mummies wil experience regular contractions ba and depends on individual too... Think regular is after water bag burst lo.

MLP,
Wow maybe u gain the weight from those durians? But bb weight not bad at 37wk! By the time near ur EDD sure hit 3kg
Can start packing hospital bag and stand by liao

TF,

Hmm dun tink so. Cos I have been having the same cooling stuff like cold drinks and ice-cream since 2nd trim but only encounter it recently since week 37. And most of the time the contractions came in the night or before meals. Doesn't seems to be related with any stuff i ate.

I have ored describe the cramps to my gynae and she tinks they are the contractions tat can help open cervix.

The only false cramps tat are not contractions are those cramps tat does not have cyclical movements. e.g it can be a cramp tat is a dull ache but does not goes for 30 secs and diminish, then repeat again.

MLP, he already book the airtics to return on 13 June nite (EDD 15-18 Jun). So should be quite in time for delivery. His Gan Cheong is wat if baby pop earlier, then he has to change flight n fly. If he is nt having mtg in another country, not so bad. But if he is, then really his nightmare to fly back. And he has one more mtg in Japan on 10-11 June.
Ha, ur hubby also gan cheong huh.. 1st time dad syndrome. On our wedding, my hubby already so gan cheong tat he forget to put his corsages when he came to pick me. So I wonder wat abt tis time :p