(2008/06) June 2008

shycloud, it is a harmless infection that we may have but if we have it, bb may be infected when bb passes through the birth canal. in such a case, if we have the infection, we need to be admitted to hosp once labour starts (cannot delay) and need to be given IV antibiotics when in hosp.

yup.. my frend gave birth in mt A.. she got this infection thruout her whole preg.. and when in labour.. the nurse forgot to put the antibiotic for her! and her bb got the virus.. infected his lungs.. and icu for 1 mth! bery dangerous..

no grace,

during then, my hse not ready, i'm stayg w IL.
but IL's cooking, er ... so had it at my parent's pl.
then didnt hv a good experience even at my own parent's place.
so thought this round just order tingkat, n see who free to come over n help me bath bb, else just do it myself lor

cactus..
i see...ahh..learn new thing today!!! thanks

i wonder my EDD will be delayed cos i rem when EDD was calculated tat time was based on the last menses date...but doesnt seem to be much accurate cos the conceived period is 2 weeks after that...

anyone can advise?

hi MTB,

sorry to barge in. I have a BN tin of Similac Mum 700g for sale, collection @ AMK, expiry 2009.

Pls PM me if u keen. Thanks

crystal,

Better dun loiter too long bec' if u loiter too long and scarry dilate liao, may be too late for c-sect.

shycloud,

EDD is only an estimation, hard to predict the real date one.

babycupid,

She also checked for me b4 but tat time found out got infection mah, so i also dunno why this time seems like she didn't check too. Maybe i ask her again on next visit.

grace,

Yr hb know how to cook confinement dishes meh? Cos it is better to eat nutritional confinement dishes. Last time my mum confinement she does mostly on her own but got 1 helper help with washing but cooking is done by my dad and is normal food only, so my mum tink her health deterioate cos of poor confinement.

babycupid,

Maybe check with her again.

Btw do u notice tat she rebond her hair? look more younger and nicer hee.

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">sharon.. i oso has this Q.. can rebond and color hair while breastfeed? really cannot tahan my dumb dumb round round look liao... ;p hope can oso slim down asap after giving birth..</font></font>

sharon,
try not so early cos especially we just give birth will drop hair aslo. maybe after 3 mth then do lor..

<font color="aa00aa">ladies, hair losing wont start immediately after delivery. Normally it'll start after 3 mths, so if u do rebonding or coloring during or before 3 mths, pls dont blame it on ur hairdresser hor.

Btw, to prevent losing too much hair, you can continue with ur pregnancy supplement and reduce the doses slowly. This is was i done during my #1 and my hair drop was quite mild actually.</font>

I went to highlight my hair just before the 1st month celebration. Should be ok. Cant comment on rebonding as I never did it before.

hi veniz
No prob

hi grace
Hmm ur hubby sounds very brave, but from personal experiences of all my friends who gave birth before... u will not be able to handle the confinement alone without ur mother or MIL help, esp since both of u all are first timers and not even ordering confinement food.. dun mean to be a wet blanket but better prepare some numbers u can call for help/ confinement tingkat. Initially both my MIL n mother volunteered to help us with confinement but as we didnt want to tire them out, we got a CL. Imagine with MIL and mum help, both of them already will be super tired, somemore you dun have any help or maid... so be mentally prepared ah

I tink do hair should be ok after 1 month? I also intend to do something abt this ugly mess of hair I have right now...

Hi lengleng,
read somewhere that your bb's yet to turn down.. mine too
wanna suggest that you try going down on your 4s.. read that it helps in bringing bb down south...

Hi grace and roxyz,
I also plan to do my hair nearing or after 1month.. can't tahan my hair! Dun thk there would be any prob..can bf still! I did that with my 1st 1

Pai sey har, suddenly din come in to congrats ppl. Bcos busy settling my maid issue again. Haiz......caught red handed stealing my MIL facial product. Agency came all the way to my hse to fetch her back....now waiting for a new maid to arrive.

Starmoon, CONGRATS! ur prince so cute

Veniz, i will collect the cream from TF next monday then will transfer the payment to you

<font color="aa00aa">grace, i agreed with roxy tat doing own confinement without much help is really a bad choice especially 1st time mum.

During my #1, i was out of no choice and had to do own confinement for the last 2 weeks of the 1st month. It was last mins situation where my mom whom was supposed help me during confinement need to do operation, and i couldnt get a CL at tat moment and my mil can only help out for the 1st 2 weeks as she's working oso.

And as it was a sudden decision and my mil had no experienced in doing confinement, i suffered from it but at least there's someone help on washing and bathing my bb. Then the following 2 weeks i had to bath my baby when my mil gone bak to work. I cooked myself for a week and finally give up and order confinement food for a week.

To me it was really a bad experienced and i suffer mild depression due to it. My health oso deteriorate after that.
So, pls consider/plan carefully if you really want to do own confinement.</font>

hi gOOd morning ladies,

shycloud,
i'm just wondering whether u were walking pass e medical shop near our hse yesterday at ard 9.30am cos on e way to send my son to playgroup i saw a pregn woman.... n immediately i thought of u but dont dare to call u... isit u??

For hair rebonding and hair colouring, is it really ok tat we do during breastfeeding?

I understand tat if we do colour, we can ask the saloon not to colour the roots so tat its safer.

Hi, I'm due on 14 Jun, this is my 2nd child. Found it hard to follow this forum, cos there are so many posts everyday. I'm quite happy to have baby stay inside for as long as possible, cos I personally find pregnancy was the easiest part, taking care of baby was 10 times more exhausting. Most of my friends who have babies agree with me. When I had my 1st child, I was impatient for him to come out soon cos I also had a lot of regular contractions in last 4 wks. In the end, he was late, came out at 40wks + 3dys at 3.5kg, natural (so girls, don't worry too much abt baby being too big, I managed to deliver my 3.5kg boy!). My Dr didn't want to induce until past due date because he said it's better for baby to be born more well developed, less jaundice etc (my son had v mild jaundice only).

Grace,
I had my first child while in USA, no help apart from my hubby for first 6 months until we came back to Singapore. Hubby did exactly what your hubby is thinking of doing. He cooked in the morning before leaving the house, come back and help me bathe baby. He didn't really cook traditional confinement food, just make sure everyday got nutritious soup and food (his cooking quite good, does your hubby normally cook?). I was ok with it because I don't really like those chinese herbs and don't really believe in following confinement practices.

It was very tough for both of us, but possible if you don't have too high expectations and don't feel resentful when you're v tired. E.g. Hubby slept in a different room at night so that he could still work the next day, I did all the "night duty" alone and it was really exhausting. I also had v v sore nipples for 1st 2-3 weeks. Everytime he latch was excruciating, so had to do alternate pumping for 1st 2 weeks even at night, which meant I also had to wash and sterilize bottles and pump after putting baby back to sleep. Basically, I barely slept at night in the first few months.

I don't want to scare you, but it's not easy to be a 1st time mum &amp; dad, you don't want to end up with post-natal blues or quarreling with hubby over baby.

Morning.

Grace, Fennie, Pris &amp; Roooller, I had email you a PDF file of the 'Bathing for Baby' from TMC Childcare Book, please check your email and let me know if you do not receive it. I will post this in our June08 Yahoo Forum later.

Felicia, actually, I came in to read the posts before you posted this morning. Haha, you are no 1 in posting this morn.

BabyD, welcome. You have same EDD as me.

babyD,

agree with you.. taking care of bb is 10 times more exhausting than pregnancy.. i been thru!!
So now, you're having your 2nd one?

felicia,

same here.. hahaha.. become my routine schedule too.. once i on comp.. will direct login here to read posts and to post msg here .. hehehe..

Wow, this thread has been moving very fast...

babyD, I thoroughly agree with you, taking care of bb is definitely tougher than pregnancy, plus, I am quite apprehensive of the loss of time in which I can spend with my elder child.

Grace, I also made do without CL during my first child, but was lucky that I had my mum in to cook for me for a month and a part-time cleaner to come in once a week. I will do the washing and general house cleaning but had to downgrade the level of clealiness standard. And had to bathe baby from first day, breastfeed throughout day and nite. Hb slept in a different room cos need to work the following day, and studying at nite. It is quite a tough period, but at least my mum was there. Plus point is that it is extremely satisfying to know that I can handle all these as a first time mum and also consequently, my boy is extremely close to me. Of course, there are times when it is so exhausting but seeing the little face was really worth it.