(2008/06) June 2008

Yest i bot the underpad from guardian pharmacy, less than $10 i tink around $5 for 10 pieces. I bring one piece to office, intend to put at office chair just in case.

I just applied my ML, shd be on leave after vesak day. Hope won't waste my ML.

liew,

same mentally always not prepared one. My gynae ask me how, have i prepare my bag or not. i say prepare liao but mentally always not prepare. she smile heeeeee...

I told my bb to start come out preferably this weekend when both me and hb are at home. Though my colleague say like tat will waste 1 day cos vesak day is public hol.

To all,

Btw public hol if we are admitted will hospital be short staff?

Ellysia, I dun know about private hospitals but in govt hospitals, weekends & public holidays mornings have close to full strength but weekday nights, weekends & public holidays after 1pm have skeletal strength.

I read from the net menses pain and sharp pain at the bottom is a way our body prepares for labour. braxton hicks may feel like cramps to some ladies. I've been experiencing increasing cramps lately too. but only at 34 weeks.

ellysia,
think regardless PH or not, hospital staff would be roster for duty, so shd not be under-staff, think u ve no cause for worry on tat day lar.

yes, but e-c-sec will cost more than planned c-sec mah...

The menses like cramps is also contractions. My gynae told me if each pain is around 30 sec and in btw each pain is 5min, and this condition prolong more than 1 hr, i have to go to her clinic or the hospital.

I understand tat this will help to dilate if it is real contraction.

Btw i have a severe one last week, it is so severe pain that i cannot talk even when hb ask me how i am, then i clench my teeth tightly. The pain only lasted 30min but each pain is 5min gap. Then i have to go to bed to rest, cos so pain that i feel v giddy also.

Then my mum told me the real contraction is more painful that the "drilled" ones.

After tat incident, i tink i really have to use epidural. Tink my pain threshold is really low or i v sensitive to pain.

Sharon,

Yes just applied to commence next week. It will be 2 weeks before my EDD.

Yes 1st child.

The date is what my gynae recommend to me, though it also can't be exactly accurate too but i dun tink i can work until i pop.

Hi Aprilmum,
I taking raspberry leaf tea about 2weeks ago lo. Only drink once a day if not max 2 time a day. I didnt get that teapot. I have a tea maker which i bought from carrefour last time

Looks like alot mummies are in stand by mode! Keep us updated yeah

Cactus,
U r right. Normally that kind of pain u mentioning is the bb is pressing against the pelvic opening and standing by. Sometime it can last for 2-3weeks before popping... don worry even if U are 34weeks now. Try reduce walking if it helps and restrict activities

Recently my rashes on tummy get more itchy, even when i put on calamine lotion, still feel itchy...
now my tummy so ugly cos got rashes scars.. sob sob.

mine pain yd jus cause me to feel very nauseous. this am till now, still feel like wanting to throw up but i know basically there is nothing to vomit cos i didnt even ve my bfast yet, how to throw up. but hate tis feeling...

ellysia,
take care yeah.

Btw on the last scan, show tat my bb is in btw the anterior position and posterior position. He is facing sideways, so dunno will turn to which direction. Previously he is anterior position. So looks like even after engaged, the bb can still turn anterior or posterior.

Hi Felicia, You mentioned that you are a member of cordlife. If you do referee, there is a discount for the new sign up rite? Can you kindly advice more on this again? I have a friend interested, but not sure if you want to help or not. Thanks.

ellysia,
you going to start ur MTL on next week? ya right la.. u shd rest liao cos ur bb is ready for anytime. well, we all now getting prepare everything for our bb now... smooth...

Ellysia,
my EDD near urs and I still wondering when to start my maternity leave. Up to now my BB is still high right below my bust have not engage yet..

btw, ur rashes make ur tummy to be red and have patches right? Y don't get ur gynae to let u have the rashes cream i applied? I apply for a week and it totally cure.

ellysia,
try control urself to scracthing ur tummy. last week my tummy also came out few stretch mark liao. so sad... thats why i applied more cream on my tummy now. since u got rashes now.. try stop apply ur stretch mark cream but apply rashes cream for reduce the rashes. ur case same as my sister..

cactus,

OIC. Yes my gynae told me it is due to stretching tummy tats why got rashes. So unbearable at times!

liew and sharon,

Yesh i have to stop using the stretch mark oil but to use calamine to stop the rashes itching.. but gynae told me not to use any other cream unless GP recommend or if not then i use calamine as it is more mild.

I have been using calamine lotion for some weeks but recently few days, seem like it cannot stop the itch liao

Sharon,

Do ask yr gynae to recommend u a date, tell him/her you want to take advance ML but dunno which date, ask to recommend. Cos gynae will know best whether how fast our bb is going to come out.

Normally people just take 1 week advance ML. Originally i am taking from 26 May but from recent scan, i decided to take earlier and gynae also recommend so i just take the risk. at most waste 1-2weeks ML.

Cactus,
Same thoughts.. I also don mind bb popping out after 36 37 weeks lo.. though now I am only in 35weeks+ already feeling impatient of the wait and tiring even though #2 liao. Sometime also blurr blurr and cant recall how is the real contractions like. Just try to relax and try not to think of it and when it comes just do it!

Ellysia, I know the itchy is terribly unbearable... sigh. Actually, if you had previously used any moisturizer for your skin (before pregnancy), you may want to try it together with calamine. Cos as I understand it, calamine reduces itchiness and rash but it doesn't moisturize.I think so far, I'm quite lucky cos no stretch marks and mininal rash... thanks to body shop's body butter...cheap some more.

If you are planning to take 12 weeksa t a go, it's okay to risk wasting 1-2 weeks ML. I'm taking 8 weeks only... hehe... that's why working up till delivery.

sharon,
same as me lo... all below our belly ball down... plus we hardly see the stretch mark rite? so now i'm more concern and apply that area thicker than last time. hope can reduce the stretch mark.

Wow, Cynthia, you can forget your previous contraction pains feeling huh? My mum still can tell me she rem hers years ago. She wanted me go c-sect so with the fixed date, she can arrange to take leave from work to help me, but I stubborn, going VBAC so she can't do any arrangement till I give birth lor.

I can't tell whether i have stretch marks or not! cos now tummy got rashes, so messy i can't tell.

cactus,

Yesh i am taking 1 shot 12 weeks. But HR tell me the computation is 2 months and 4 weeks, not exactly 3 months.

Somehow they compute for me, it will be 20 May to 15 August and i come back on 18 August, whereby I will lugi by 1 day. I dunno why the computation is not straight 3 months but is 2mths and 4 weeks.

Ellysia, yeah.. the computation depends on HR policy too. Like my office s 5.5 work week, so the 3rd month is actually 22 days!
It is actually 2 calendar months (company paid) and the 3rd month is only 4 weeks (govt paid) but the number of days within the 4 weeks depends on your company policy. If yours is 5 day work week, it is 20 days. if it is 5.5 day work week, it is 22 days.

cynthia
me too now wk35+ this friday then will be wk36

cactus
my boss already told me to take 8weeks ML...so have to wait till pop....thought going to take earlier on 26may onwards

Erm, the thing about taking ML 2 months + 2 months + 4 weeks is public holidays don't count.. so we lugi if our ML falls within the 2 + 4 weeks. But think for most of us, it's okay... cos deepvali is the next ph on a weekday (after vesak day on 19 May).

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">there are also people who popped like laying egg like that.. so easy that they cant remember...

ellysia.. actually 12 weeks is not exactly 3 months..</font></font>

Danryan, taking the last month separately may be good and bad at the same time.
I'm taking my 3rd month separately. quite happy to do it.

cactus,

OIC mine is a 5 day week.

I can't take last mth separately bec' here normally my dept people dun. Also i am afraid if i come and take my last mth separately, my boss will arrow me with too much work for me to take my 4 weeks in peace.

We are hit by 2 public hols right, Deepavali and national day.

Ellysia, depending on when your bb arrives.. National Day is not an issue cos it falls on a Saturday. But Deepavali is now on a MOnday (sometime in Oct). so you may not lugi at all!

cactus,

heeee. good at least we do not hit end of the year, tat is probably the worst bec got many hols!

Btw i just put the underpad at my office chair, i hope colleague see liao won't laugh at me! LOL me v KS hor.

ellysia
the best is contraction comes first then the waterbag break in the hospital...

hehe...as long ppl know wat u r writing its ok ma...

My lunch is 1-2pm, so have to wait.

Dunno wat to eat later, lunch mates are ditching me soon i tink.. cos they makan with others liao most likely cos i am going on ML they also have to find some others to eat too.

Veniz,
Hehehe sometime was figuring actually feelings is how cos really don want to think of the pain which been experience. So when it comes I will just treat it comes &amp; react accordingly. I think somehow this is call psyco myself not to think and let natural take its course
No one will like contractions feeling i guess... Only like the feeling of holding little life again cool!

For my case last time is contractions den water bag break by gynae lo. V V Intense contractions starts when water bag been break..

Ellysia,
If only show, normal pad will do. Just rember maintain hygience n change necessary

Cactus>> I also using Body Shop cocoa butter! find it cheap n good too! haha...I hope my current stick(which is my 2nd stick) can last till I give birth.

Btw, how does the calculation of ML works? I'm taking one shot 3months. Goes by 12 weeks issit??? PH also included arh? Think I will kena the National Day only....

My EDD is 15-June and I intend to start my ML on 9-June. So when do I get back to work?

I am contemplating working till last day, dunno whether any mommy here is planning the same thing? I have not handover my job duties, dunno who to hand over yet as my boss still acting blur.