(2008/06) June 2008

<font color="aa00aa">i used Omron thermometer for my #1.
Recently i joined a spree to buy Braun thermometer for standby, i'm very kiasu.</font>

Pls try to refrain from sleeping on your back!! cos in that position, you will be lying on a main artery which supplies oxygen to the baby, and restricting its proper flow and sufficient oxygen to babby. Some mummies also find this position causing breathlessness.

hi iamsnow,
yeah, I got it there last night. hubby decided to splurge a little and bought the prepacked ones, $18 per squarish pack. Some Cat mountain king thingy lah. but NICE.
A little bitter and the meat creamy. better than tikam and buy those with shell $20 for 3 but not nice lor. Still got another pack at home, tonight can eat again. hahaha

Hi Fennie/ feifei/ felicia
yah, after my first, we mainly relied on withdrawal... but it wasnt easy for me to get pregnant too. So still not so bad. but I also understand that right after delivery, we are very fertile up to 3 months. So intial phrase, maybe have to use condom and withdrawal bah.

I understand the new improved IUD (shaped like a T) is good in sense that they help to ease menstrual flow. but I also heard that older generations, the top horizontal parts at which the "T" touches the womb, tends to eat into the womb wall. hence if next pregnancy the embryo end up in the hole of the womb wall, it is not viable.

Felicia, think my girl will love her didi. cos she has been patting him (thru my tummy) and speaking to him. She also says when we bring him go tour, if he is scared of custom officers (dun ask me why) she will sayang him. hahaha. If I give birth in the morning then I am not worried.

Hi Zuen
Dun squeeze into your old working shoes lah, very uncomfy. Buy those cheap ones to last till end of pregnancy lor. If really no choice, see can wear sandals?

You might wish to bu your womb and qi during your confinement. Some people have difficulties getting pregnant initially but subsequent ok.
Dun worry too much.

hello mummies
back from gyne visit... got some depressing news to share.. Did my detailed growth scan... baby is having some growth restriction

Somehow all the growth is channeled to his head/brain instead of his body... so his head is showing 39wk but body only showing wk32 (not growing) though I am wk35 now. Gynae says not to worry (how can we not worry?!!??) as his amniotic fluid level and blood flow to placenta etc all ok. He says I likely to c-sect between 15-20 May and est baby will be small bb at 2.5kg then but can pump him up with milk. Now just praying to God and leave everything to Him. Bb is now 2.25kg

saw the brand " safety 1st" forehead thermometer @ JL a week ago when they are having 20%, price b4 less was $60+, didnt buy, cos not sure if its good, and already overshot budget this month, so have to wait for next month, bought braun the last time for #1, and it was became faulty quite quickly, and went to the manufacturer in tagore lane area, they said cheaper to get a new one, cos spare parts are costly

hello girls!

how's everyone doing? just came back from a heavy lunch and feel like zzzzing soon.

morr,
did u get the thermometer from spree? also it's necessary to get one right? it's one of those items which i have not bought yet. a bit put off by the high price. :p i intend to get those put in ear one.

ellysia,
I am also getting some rashes (small little red bumps) on my tummy. they can get very itchy. and the stretch marks cream seems to make it worse.

zuen,
my feet are swollen as well. some shoes cannot wear liao.

Fennie,
i personally don't like the safety 1st forehead thermometer. i tried. the tip is made of rubber. not very easy to slide across the forehead. also, i tested a few times and it gave me different readings. not sure is it because I don't know how to use preoperly. i guess up to individual preference.

morr,
u not on msn? how much did u buy for the kodomo detergent ar? i mean the price after discount.

roxy,
*Hugz* Your worry is natural but since the gynae said that the amniotic fluid level and blood flow are ok, try not to dwell on it too much. It's just 2 more weeks to 15th may, things will be ok! When will u be seeing doc again?

roxy,
when i had my last check up at 32weeks3days, my bb head is right for 32weeks, but his stomach shows 30weeks's bb, i was also worried, cos his weight was 1.85kg for 32weeks, gynae showed me the chart n said he was 50 percentile, and told me he is average and not to be worried, had the same experience for my #1, gynae also said he is underweight based on the measurements, but he turned out to be big, at 41weeks2 days, he was 3.34kg,so if everything else is ok, like heartbeat, you really shouldnt be too worried, cos the measurements are just a guide to calculate the weight, you bb may weight more in actual

<font color="ff6000">roxy

dun worry.. 2.5kf is perfectly fine
my #1 was oso 2.55Kg when i delivered her
now she is so ba ba lor
so take it easy and enjoy the remaining 3 weeks??? wow u mite b the first to get to see the lil one in this thread!!

tera

nope mine was a gift from my dear fren
yeah its highly recommended to get those ear one which is similar to PD usage coz kids tend to move abt so the normal thermometer mite be a bit hard to gauge an accurate reading and moreover a thermometer at home is always very handy.. its a must buy item if u were to ask me.. </font>

<font color="ff6000">iamsnow

im logging off forum soon oso coz i going for my check up so today on leave lor

its $8.05 before 15% and 5%</font>

<font color="119911">*waves* to all.. im heading for my check up! Have a great day ahead everyone!</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Linda, is good that your ger will be sayang ur lil boy. But i think urs is more bigger than my ger so can understand more, whereas mine still occasionally will show jealousy. So, i'll need to be more careful in showing my love when my bb comes.</font>

Tera,
like you, i find pricing is an issue, thats why havent got any thermometer yet

iamsnow,
thks for the feedback, i didnt buy it as I am not sure if its good

if you ladies are looking for comfy shoes, can try Pedal Works, ever since I started wearing their shoes, i stopped buying other brands, and until now I am still wearing the same pair of heels i wore b4 i got pregnant, and still feels comfortable

morr,
so sweet of ur fren!
thanks for the info, okie, will start sourcing for one soon, think i saw a osim one at kiddy palace selling at 78. might get that one cos braun is like 130. your braun one, so far so good?

morr,
haha, just saw u are leaving soon, ok bye! keep us posted of ur check-up.

fennie,
Exp hor? I also quite heart-pain to buy but it seems like a necessity so i guess no choice. :p

Tera,
ya,was asking hb, then he also think shld get 1, but then when i told him the price, he asked how come so expensive? see if your colleague or friends ask if you need anything, then get them to share as a bb gift to you lor, my bro did ask if i need anything, but i hv not told him what i want yet

<font color="aa00aa">Tera, agreed with morraine tat thermometer is a must buy item when had baby at home. I find those ear type thermo is very handy and useful too.

Roxy,
Can understand ur worry, but now most importantly , you had to start prepared for your c-sec. And since ur bb is now at 2.25kg, shldnt be a big problem to deliver in another 2 weeks.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">kodomo detergent :- Last weekend, i was at Chinatown and so i stop at Swatson and brought the detergent bottle type at $14.90 (if i remember correctly). I think this is the cheapest so far as Ntuc is selling at $16+.
Oso brought some refill packs.</font>

Felicia,
Thanks for the advice, will go get it soon. U mentioned there's a spree for Braun one, is it still on? Any idea?

Fennie,
Yah, that's an option, but have told my friends to get me acar seat, hehe. Maybe u can tell ur bro to get u that?

<font color="blue">tera,
i also didnt buy the thermometer mrs wong selling..my hb said a bit exp..although it's cute lah..but not worth the price leh..we rather get something dat is more worthwhile lor..

ooh yah..a gentle reminder to all those who bought the wipes from mrs wong..she said those are oredi sterilise.. dont need to wash them b4 use..n the wraps and towels must be washed twice b4 using..this way it will prevent the furs to come off.. </font>

thermometers - Just to share... I am using braun, which model I dunno, but adults and kids also can. however, 2 weeks ago, my girl had high fever. We measure 39.4 max at home. 4 days later we bought her to hospital, she was measured at 39.8
Then I realised they used one with a smaller insert (the part that goes into the ear). A few degrees can make a LOT of diff.

bizz,
but the thermometer that mrs wong is selling is for measuring the bath water temp right? i dun intend to get it cos find it quite exp (tho it's quite cute lah) and not a must. i want to get those for measuring bb's temp.

bizzsnow,

I am using those small facial wipes cos i understand can use that.

What kind of sterilise guaze u get? Cos i also heard tat but i dunno wat is the gauze and how it look like.

morraine,

Yes i got those normal underarm ones. But i intend to use those ear one when bb turn 3 months old. Cos pre-natal class suggest to use underarm ones for infant below 3 mths.

Tera,

Yes i have stop using stretch mark oil on the rashes area. Maybe u can stop using the cream too, as i find that the oil will make the rashes more itchy.

Dan,

I also find sleep sideways will be painful at times if accidentally over lean and hurt BB.
So unavoidable to sleep on back..haiz.

Felicia,
Thanks for the link!
The braun one is quite reasonably-priced. Then again, should have asked friend to get it for me when she was in the states..the drugstore says out of stock wor. Just smsed my bro - he says he will help me get one but he's not able to tell me the brand but my neices are using it now and so far so good. Shall try that out.

Ellysia,
Yeah, I have stopped applying stretch mark cream on those itchy area.

<font color="e4287c">Ellysia,</font>
<font color="e4287c">Better stop using any cream. Try apply on Johnson baby oil. Maybe I get home and check out the name of the rashes cream and let u know. Not sure can just buy from pharmacy cause when I purchase, they confiscate my gynae’s letter of purchase.</font>

<font color="e4287c">Zuen,</font>
<font color="e4287c">Difficult also have to try. Lucky u manage to get ur #1. My cousin n his wife no matter how hard they try they just can’t a bb and in the end they went to adopt a child. Yes, I have stop smoking ever since I tested positive. But by the time I was already 2mths preg. Hope when bb is out she will be fine. My HB is still smoking. To stop a smoker is difficult I can tell u. Lucky I manage to stop immediately as I have told myself not to smoke as it will harm BB. I even threatened HB to stop smoking otherwise once I give birth I will go back smoking. This method also no use haha. Lets wait for BB to come out n see how ba… He also say will stop when BB is out. We'll see…</font>

i only have tummy itch if i wear pants with stretchable string. Other than that i don't scratch but rubbing much better so don't have any stretch mark after birth....

Woah, just on thermometers so much thingy. I intend to get a normal underarm one. is it sufficient? Which brand is good for underarm one? and roughly how much it cost huh?

<font color="aa00aa">Tera, yup, is OOS now tats why the organiser now is putting it on hold till the stock arrive. Anyhow, i'm not in need as this one shall be a standby in case the one i'm using now spoilt.

mylittleprince, for me i prefer to use the ear scan type as when bb is sick, they tends to get irritated easily and is not easy to calm them and take the measurement. So, if using ear scan, is much more convenient as the result is show within minutes.</font>

<font color="blue">ellysia,
i dunno can use facial wipes leh..since she said use sterilise gauze then i buy lor..eerrrh..how it looks like ah..basically it's like those gauze dat we use for bandage..like u noe if we go dentist n pull out ur tooth..they stuff the gauze to ur wound to stop bleeding..it's dat type..not sure u noe wat i mean.. hehe..

hi fennie, tera, morraine, felicia and feifei
Thanks for your concern
Gynae also told us not to be too worried but I find difference of 7wks between body and head quite worrying.. Last visit 2 weeks ago was only 3 weeks difference. I'll be seeing gynae again next Wed.. in the meantime, gynae said nothing we can do but he will monitor growth very closely for me and I must take note of bb movements... he will see me 1 more time after my next Wed visit then will prob c-sect liao. So I guess next week he might give me a c-sect date. 15-20 May is only 2.5 - 3 weeks away... so fast! Will continue praying and leave everything to Abba

Hi MTBs,

How many packs of diapers did u get for your baby? I haven't buy yet and not sure how many packs i need. Any idea? should i get newborn or S size instead? Any idea where to get it cheap?

Btw I have an extra brand new Fisher price rainforest mobile bought from AAT for sale. Not sure how much is overall charges as shipping charges havent billed me yet (still arguing with CGW regarding that) but cost of mobile currently now is about S$31 excluding shipping charges... if anyone interested please let me know (collection in Jurong) If not I will try to sell it away under other thread.. thanks!!

<font color="aa00aa">mylittleprince, i dint use it on my ger when she's still a newborn. I brought the thermometer only when she's had mild fever about 5-6mths. But from what i know when bb is still small, is better to use forehead thermometer or forehead strip thermometer coz infant's ear might be too small for the ear scan.
I know now got a kind of thermometer called Cadi which can be use for ear and forehead. How reliable i'm not too sure as i din use it.</font>

lehcar,
i bought 2 pkts of mamy poko NB which i am not sure if it's too much. i think u can standby 1 pkt first and get ur hubby to buy if u need more. i got mine from Giant.

lehcar,
i got different brands as i do not know what my new bb will like, brands includes mamy poko, fitti, drypers &amp; huggies, all newborn or S size, got them when there is sale , at different time

fennie
u bought so many kind of pampers huh??? BB grows very fast leh....but depends on the bb growth lah hehehe...think size S should be ok for keep stock

mylilprince,

I'm using ear scan for my #1. Temp can be taken within seconds. Very good for babies who can't keep still.

lehcar,
I intend to buy one pack S size. Not getting NB size. Cos hospital will be giving leftover one pack. Plus I'll use cloth diapers at home. Will only need disposables when bring bb out to see doctor. My #1 couldn't even finish his one pack of S size. he outgrow it very quickly.

danryan,
i got mostly the small pack ones, like 26pcs kind, for drypers, fitti &amp; huggies, hehe, didnt buy alot la, bcos i calculated if 8-10 pieces each day, i would need about 300pcs for the 1st month, now only got about 200+ pieces, will ask friends to give size M if they ask what gift i want, bcos i think will not have time to go out to shop after bb born, but the last time, already out shopping with bb when he was 12days old

<font color="aa00aa"> I come across this Fish and Papaya soup recipe, i know some mummies is asking about it, so tot to share it here.

Fish &amp; Papaya Soup
Here's the recipe :
200gm green (unripe) papaya
1 no. fish head or bone eg. Carp, Snakehead, Seabream, Pomfret or Kurau fillet
1 slice ginger

Method :
1. Scale and clean fish
2. Simmer together with pieces of papaya and ginger for 4 hours or till soft and appearance milky in colour
3. Remove bones before serving

Btw,i saw got mummy (from oth forum) mentioning tat TMC cafe got sold this soup and can be take away. Anyone had any idea? </font>

fennie

...right now i haven't go shopping for diapers, bottles, wipes n all most everything....see how this wednesday checkup if i get to know my bb gender then i go lil bit of shopping....

<font color="0000ff">Dan,

Why dun u get those unisex colours then safer? dun have to wait for the gender confirmation.

bizzsnow,

I got it, thks, maybe i go guardian take a look.

mylittleprince,

I got mine at $15, v cheap. Brand is Omron, i bot at Kiddy Palace. Those normal underarm types.

I only intend to get ear scan thermometer when BB turn few months old so tat his ear is bigger for scan.

roxy,

dun worry, it be fine after BB born, feed him more and he will go on correct weight

Sharon,

I emailed my gynae ask her wat cream i can apply, cos my next visit is almost 2 weeks and her appt is so full, tink if push forward may need to pay extra charges and also wait v long.

I see if my gynae got reply or not, in the mean time if u still have tat cream can take pix of the box?