(2008/06) June 2008

Ellysia,
ya lor, really...tink my depression increasing liao...cos yest quarel with my hb, cos he said now i on HL , cannot go out lor, must rest at home...even lunch n dinner also MIL cook and bring over for us...

I felt so depressed, told him i dun wan to be a jailbird...so end up i cried myself to sleep yest..

Just now at my gynae there, my MIL was asking gynae how come suddenly i hv contractions, is it i walk too much or overowrk, gynae say not really..Contractions can be trigger anyhow de...no main definiation...so gynae ask my mil she must be bery worried...know wat my MIl said, she siad, Of cos lor, married so long then hv this bb...I was like *!@#$% then i quickly shout bk, we only started trying last yr, 2nd mth striked already bery fast liao lor...in my heart I was tinking, all this whilke u know we hv a 1yr plan of er ren shi jie b4 trying for bb mah, only married for 2yrs, so all along she tot i hv prob thats y did not hv any bb...the more i tink, the more fedup...

I realised now i becomes bery sensitive leh, really lor..hiaz...

Oh ya, my weight went down 0.9kg..guess Anmum is really bery fattening lor...i switch to drink HL milk and did not take any ice cream for these 3wks...

feifei,
anmum is bery fattening.. my sis n frends already warned me not to drink b4 hand le.. my sis gained 20+ kgs all thanks to anmum.. and the weight of the bb is lighter than the 2nd birth with 10 kgs gained without anmum..

gynae said actually HL is good enuff.. ur bb now 2kgs liao ar.. how abt when u in 28wks? I wanna see hw much it gained..

feifei,

Ya emotional more vulnerable also.

Btw i also have contractions over the last 2 days. My mum also keep asking me is it bec of any reason.

I realise if i become too stress up or aggitated, my contractions worsen.

So, do relax and keep a calm mind.

Yest nite i still had some mild contractions and stomach feel hard. In the end wat i do is i play soothing mozart for my bb and he became calm! the tummy become more relax also.

So now i tink is bec of work stress + sometimes i quarrel with my mum cause tension and thus may aggivate the contractions. I tink i must really try to relax at work and dun bother so much.. if cannot finish just let it be liao. have to place bb in priority over work.

Recently i heard drinking those milk powder for pregnancy/breastfeeding can cause a lot of weight gain. So at first i want to buy for breastfeeding, now i tink twice.

Ellysia, try to rest more if u can. Too much contractions can cause preterm labour one. No joke. My gynae told me if possible try to lie down as much as possible, cos when u stand or sit, the gravity pull plus body tension, can cause alot of stress to our tummy, esp alot of weight over there...

hi TF,
thanks for adding me again but i really cant find ur email in all my hotmail folders.... think my hotmail got problem. anyway can u try adding me in my yahoo email again, email add is [email protected]

thank you very much.

talking abt MC/HL/ML,
i'm working in stat board n my co policy is in e yr u are taking ML all MC plus HL cannot exceed 30days orelse e exceeding days will be counted as ML. So for those who needs to take HL/MC must check with ur HR.

ZuEn,
u also still got 10wks to go ah... i really cant tahan e pain at nite and e heaviness of tummy. Hopefully i can tahan until 12 June cos i already told my gynea i wanna induce on tat date....cos is my hubby's birthday so if baby comes out earlier hubby will be very disappointed.

hey gals...
rem tat time there were discussions on sleeping on the left side...but i realised i feel so much comfortable lying on my back...issit ok to do it? cos i know the pressure will be on our back...will our bb feel uncomfortable?

Ellysia,
ya lor, now we really hv to have a relaxed mind and calm feeling lor...haiz...

Yup, gynae says my bb average size wor...

Kelcqi,

Ya i notice that when i had contractions, lie down will cause the tummy to soften back.

feifei,

wat week u are at now?

shycloud,

I also lie on my back.

Elaine
Done

Have u bgt baby bath-tub? Tho' no hurry, but wondering which is a gd buy. Saw the branded ones at over $30 but thot baby will outgrow that size if too small. Wat is practical?

Elaine, just want to share that there is a higher chance of emerg c-section if you induce.

Shycloud, lying on our backs may cause certain major ateries to be pressed down by weight of tummy. If we don't feel dizzy, then it's okay to lie on back. These days, I sleep mostly on back. sometimes on th eleft.

TF,

I ored bot my bb bathtub and it is $80, cos its a whole set with expansion and got a board to let bb lie w/o falling down etc.

cactus and elaine,

Yest nite when i slept on my back, i feel a bit dizzy. so i lie down on my side then ok liao.

anyway, it is hard to keep 1 position throughout sleep, sure all directions will have.

Ellysia
No lah, i wont go for so exp.

Cactus
Hehe.. i didnt knw wedding dowry got bath tub, i tot got the pee pee bowl. Yah, i tinking of the cheapo type too, maybe wif the bottom to remove water. But nt sure if water will leak b4 while bathing.

hello!
how are mummies doing?

wah... so many of u in your 30plus weeks already.... guess i am one of the later ones.... i'm oni in my 28th week... my next checkup i wed. i wonder how baby has grown.

TF...
i will be using the bathtub i got from my mum when during guodali for my wedding. my son oso used the tub... so i guess the same will go for his sister. its those cheena red tub with "long-feng" design... =p

hi cactus,
actually induce e gynae also got check whether cervix dilate or not if never dilate also cannot induce. My 1st boy was induce n e whole labour took me less than 5hrs. i did heard of ppl saying induce labour will take longer but like wat e gynae says it still depends on e thickness of e cervix, if cervix is thin than we will dilate faster if cervix is thick even normal labour without induce will end up longer.

feifei...
i'm doing ok... but starting to feel the strains of 3rd tri...
starting to hv a bit of water retention already... legs oso feel pain and tired at the end of everyday...

fennie...
i see... that's still earlier than me by a bit... hehe....

i oso having probs finding a nice sleeping position nowadays. i hv started sleeping on the side and then use a pillow to "support" the tummy... its slightly more comfy....

Shycloud,

As long as you don't experience breathless and backache when u sleep on your back, it should be fine. Anyway, sleeping on our sides puts less pressure on our back also. I read an article in a magazine, not pregnancy mag but they said those always getting backaches can hug a bloster at sleep to help balance the pressure on our back. I'm using it liao, but still back pain.
But my gynae still encourage me to sleep on my left cos he said it's better for the blood flow to baby plus dunno what other reasons, I cannot remember liao...

Sometimes I fall asleep on my left, but wake up in breathlessness cos I dunno how come I turned in my sleep.

Soyabean, Catcus,
Me also will be using the orbi Red tube during wedding to bath baby but I bot a non-slip mat to put below. I scare next time hubby buay zha dunno how to bath baby and baby slipped off his hands. Haha... Another thing is my hubby also pantang. He said those bathtubs used during Guo Da Li is meant for good luck, use it to bath baby, baby healthier. Dunno where he get his logic from. -_-"

Fennie
I did see the Ikea, did they have the stubs at bottom? Can't recall.

Water Retention:
Older folks usu say when our legs are swollen wif water retention near the EDD, it's the sign of delivery soon, true?

Ellysia,

Yah, I notice the method of lying down works when I had contractions also. But I heard if real contractions come, even we lie down also useless.

Some mummies swore by another method that works is to talk to baby. But personally when contractions come, I don't have the mood to talk to baby anymore.

Any mummies here finds that it's harder to take warm drinks nowadays? I notice that nowadays when I take warm or hot drinks, suddenly I feel very bloated and alot of gases like trapped in my chest and throat area. The feeling feels like burping but the gas just refused to come out.

TF,
I just met with a friend who is 36weeks for lunch jsut now. She is having quite bad water retention, she told me she only got it abt a week ago. So I think usu gets worse near EDD.

Cactus and Kelcqi,
I'm also using the red bathtub which was given as part of my dowry, hehe.

Tera,

I also heard nearer to EDD will have water retention. Anyone of you went for Pre-natal massage? My colleague said it works for her.

I told my hubby some gynaes will encourage or ask the hubby to cut the cord when the baby comes out. He said so disgusting. Then I told him in less than 2 months I'm gonna give birth liao, suddenly both of us realized so far my pregnancy coming to an end soon. Kan Jiong...

Kelcqi,

I had a lot of gases in my tummy. GP gave me a medcine to reduce the gas.

My hb also say disgusting to cut the cord lor.. he say most likely he ask the nurse to cut instead.

Fennie

Tera
Ya, so far the water retention seems true.

Red bath tub: So this bath tub tradition is usu given by the female side parents or the male side?

Pampers Premium:
I've been hearing abt Pampers Premium. But when i look at the supermkt shelf, always find Active Baby and the Dry ones. Is there really a Pampers Premium or it means Active Baby (yellow packing)?

Ellysia,
Have a good rest!
So nice, hubby take leave to accompany u is it?

TF,
The red tub given by female side then will have other things like a sewing kit, a pair of lamps etc. All got symbolise something one but cannot really rem what, hehe. But I think also depends on dialect group since not everyone has that?

Elaine, I see. If your doctor checks, then it's okay. I've heard stories where doctor don't check. Just induce but of course have medical reason (ie. water level low)

Soyabean, I remember our EDDs are quite close. I'm at 28 weeks 5 days now. At 28 weeks, bb was 1kg.

Kelcqi, Tera, guess I"m not the only one using the red bathtub! I didn't buy non slip mat. Just planning to use towal to lay at the bottom..

TF, the red bath tub was given by my parents to me when we got married...

Tera's right. alot of things depend on the dialect group. I'm hokkien and the only child, so my parents tried to give me everything during the wedding... they gave me the tub, a pair of mugs, bedroom slippers, lamps, sewing kit, cosmetics, cotton wool and buds and tissue paper, new clothes, new towels, make up sets, jewelry, shoes, even underwear(!), nightwear, specs, watch, bedsheets pillows and bolster, and a cheque to make up for whatever my parents left out to give...

cactus...
hey... i'm abt 28 weeks 5 days too...
my edd is 23 jun...

kelcqi
wat ur hubby said abt the reb tub is so cute... hehe...