(2008/06) June 2008

Hi TF, actually now that you mention it, I may get the netted cloth rather than the padded version cos it appears cooler. I hope there won't be a need to rock the bb though.. don't want the bb to be too reliant on the rocking motion, but will be looking for something which is washable and can recline at different degrees.

have ur pack ur hospital bag? how many mummy PJ do we need to pack? will hospital provide their clothing for us to wear? After birth, what are we going to wear back home, are ur wearing PJ back or those normal clothing when we are pregnant?

shycloud,
you can get nursing bras from kiddy palace, i think ard $24.90 per piece, but if you do go to United Square, there's a shop name "Moms R Us", the last time i get from them , they are having a 50% on the 2nd piece, the 1st piece is $22, and 2nd piece is $11.50, so its quite worth it, not they are also having promotion, members introduce members until 2nd week of April, as a member, if i refer another person to their store, and eventually if the new shopper purchase up to $200 to become their member, both of us will get a $30 voucher

shinely,

i was taking out my nursing top as well as nursing bras last night to wash, so that i can start to pack my bag this weekend, just in case i m early this time. We discussed abt bringing a "going home" clothes for ourselves n bb on discharge, maybe hv to bring something loose,like maternity wear,and nursing friendly, in case you need to feed bb on your way home, either in car or taxi, but the best is can feed bb in hospital b4 go home

TF, I've not heard that benefit about light motion.. but I've heard that bbs may have probs weaning off rocking motion, and should instead be taught to self-settle. Erm, I did hear that carry bb close (like in a bb carrier) is good for bonding and stimulates the brain though.

Anyone eaten Chinese physician medicine when pregnant? I have actually sprain my hand and they have give me medicine to eat and says is safe for baby. It is really safe cause till now I still dare not eat and my hands is still pain

Hi Sharon
I used to take the liquid medicine but the medicine is meant for my fertility and womb nourishment and the TCM specializes seeing this aspect. For you case, I'm nt sure if the TCM really also handle pregnancy case. However, I knw for sure that you have to check about the alcohol content in the liquid medication cos most of them will have some alcohol element, which we shd nt be taking.

shinely,
my last 1 was Mt Alvernia also, so I am not sure if TMC will provide you with clothes, but think its better to bring our own PJ, at least we know our pj is button down, and nursing friendly, the ladies were saying some hospital provide bb's clothes, but in case it didnt fit well, maybe you can bring your own, 2 different sizes, and for yourself, going home clothes + pj, do you have the list of things to bring in your hospital bag?

Sharon, it's best not to take unless a reputable chinese doctor familiar with pregnancy tells you it is safe.

shinely, all hospitals will provide us with clothes but it will be normal hospital wear. some of them open from the back, so hard to breast feed.

Feifei, Tera
I oso suspected either too heaty or some nerve thingy. Cannot take painkiller. Like elaine said, I think I will go crazy if the pain carries on thru'out the remaining 10 weeks. It is a torture to feel very tired but unable to sleep.

Danryan,
I am taking calcium supplement liao. I only can take chocolate milk. Dun dare to drink now just in case the pain is due to heatiness.

Shinely,
Havent pack bag yet. My bb room is not even up. I will be arranging for delivery of the bb cot and drawer sometime in mid April. My bb room is in a mess now. Bb clothes oso havent wash cos waiting for the drawer.
Bcos I am staying my mum's place for confinement, but intending to go home during weekend, I oso need to pack a bag for staying over at mum's place. I am a procastinator. Only managed to write down the list of things that I should pack but never got down to doing it. ;p
With all the talk that bb will be early and all the scares that some MTBs go thru' I think I need a kick in the butt to start packing liao.

Re: Wearing PJ in hospitals
I am intending to wear cheapo PJ during my stay in TMC. But those that I manage to find (havent buy) all very colourful and got big cartoon prints.. Will we look very funny? Hehe, later I am the only one wearing that, abit pai seh.

BabyJo,
Yours oso those loud, loud, colourful with cartoon print de? Hehe, blush..
Until now, I only managed to find 3/4 de, never see those with long pants de wor.

Zuen,
most of the non expensive pj i can find is either floral or cartoon, those silk ones are so EX, dont bother la, think we will be too busy with newborn to care abt what others will say abt us, and furthermore, only stay in hospital for 2-3days
The long pants type can be foudn in robinsons, the Karmy brand has those pants sets, i remember seeing them when i got my karmy shirt dress pj few weeks ago, can check it out, can call them 1st, so dont have to make a waste trip

babyJo, Fennie,
Hahahaha.. Until now I still havent buy cos I worried that the PJ too loud to wear inside the hospital. But true, nobody really see us and we dun really care.

Fennie, I"ve not been to metro sale but I think if u have big ticket items or if you plan to buy over $100 worth of bulky items, you may want to pop down. Cos I find most stuff easily at 20% off at any baby fair.So unless you are looking specifically for say a certain brand and model of cot, pram, etc, no point going down to Metro sale. But the sale has free delivery for purchases above $100, so if the normal stuff that you want to buy (ie. laundry detergent, etc) exceed $100, you may want to consider going down.

HI,

I just woke up, so tired so slept until afternoon. I had a super backache now, stretch from top to lower. Done some back exercises when i woke up but still not cure. Waiting for it to go off later.

Had blocked nose then yest nite realise i am so blur, forget to take my medicine back.... pengz.

Suddenly realise that time is v fast. Next week i be 32 weeks, and if labour can start anytime from week 37, it means left only 5 weeks only.

did anyone after pee at night or day time down there or bladder got pain? i'm truely concern all this symptoms... scary...
don know is it becos due to bb weight or not..

Zu En,

Possible tat it is due to gum infection? If so, just need to rinse with the dentist water and can cure liao. I ever got similar prob.

liew,

Yes if i try to "ren" too long w/o going to toilet, after i realise my bladder feel a bit pain but will go off later.

ellysia,
you had block nose? must be very had for u to turn in.. remember drink more water and keep resting! ya, you're right... today also my 33weeks also. we left few weeks to standby.. now, we must be more careful eating, resting and walking.

liew, ask your doctor about this. it may be urinary tract infection. Esp if you have discharge, more likely. I don't experience this but last time, I had some discharge, doctor asked if any pain when I pee, I said no. In the end, it was just normal cos my discharge was clear.

cactus,

I will try to eat more fruits lor, forget to bring medicine back means cannot eat medicine over the weekend..sigh.

zuen,
Its okie de lor, me also bot some hello kitty PJ to wear during my stay =)..

All,
just bk frm my checkup...BB is 2kg at 32wks now =)..My next appt will be 3wks later...Gyane asked me to cont to eat the med which will bring down contractions...ask me to rest well lor... My bb's head went up again...gynae ask me do some exercise to let bb's head turn down...hee

I also bot the plastic sheets to lay on the bed in case leakage or wat lor, went Giant to buy the Mamy poko diapers too since e offer til 10th Apr...

Ellysia,
drink lots of water ya...Just now the dieitan spoke to me, gave me a list of wat not to eat etc...felt so miserable at that moment..like preggi so xinku liao, still hv alot of things cannot eat...tink i really gana depression...Heard frm my frenz that last trim can get depression easily de...

Ellysia, maybe if you xin ku, can go pharmacy and get medicine? the same type? If cannot get, and if can tahan, then take more water, soups and diluted fruit juice and rest lots!! Whenever I have flu, I usually don't take medicine.. just apply ice pack to forehead and drink alot of water. will defintely recover in 3 days one. it works!

feifei,

I ored got so depressed last few days then i tok a lot of strange things to my hb.

Yest nite i dreamt of bb again, he was hugging me and look so cute. This morn i feel so much better after the dream.

sharon,

Pls dun take the chinese medicine unless u are v sure. Cos my colleague took chinese medicine and she tinks it cause her pre-term labour.

actually onward this week, i started to eat more meals. i'd notice my baby need more nutrician as last time and didn't know may one of these day bb will out also..mrn wake up feeling giddy don know maybe i'm not taking enough vit's and food.i believe our bb now need more food to grow at last tri. so i try my best to eat more calcium protein food.. my stomach getting heavy as last few weeks.

liew,

my stomach also heavier. so much heavy tat i walk slower and i can feel the weight on my legs when i sit.

also my tummy become bigger and some people even tot i am going to give birth anytime. My maternity tops, some ored cannot fit in liao. I have to wear some ugly ones bec they are longer and can fit in.

ellysia,
same as me! 2 days ago i just dreamz of myself labour my bb gal liao... funny thoughts... after i told my mum abt dreamz, my mum said my bb will labour on time instead early! hee

Yest i came across one of the past HR emails kept in some common folder and realise tat any MC taken 1 mth time preceding Maternity leave will be considered as maternity leave, unless it is of other illness and non-related.

Tat means if gynae gave me any MC before ML, it may be counted as ML?.. gosh.

I guess in this case unless gynae gave me hospitalsation leave for home rest then i can use it, else it will be pointless if she gave me MC for home rest.

ellysia,
ya lor.. one of my colleagues also just bk from outstation. he said one mth only nvr see me but stomach so much different. i'm so happy that everyone mentioned abt my stomach getting bigger. bb now really enjoy growing and more active than usual... last nite i even touch her foot or knee if im not wrong. very strong feeling.

Good for you girls since people are saying your tummy look bigger. For me, opposite story.....alot of them were asking me, u gave birth liao? You sure you going to be in your 8 mths? How come your tummy so small since this is your 3rd bb?? Did you eat??? walao....

babyjo,
i used to very skinny type. so now my stomach looks Huge! hahaha... ppl said i walk like elephant now...