(2008/06) June 2008

feifei
i've been drinking warm barley freshly from coffeeshop almost everyday during lunch....sometimes i bought 2 bottles YEOS Lemon Barley also from 7/11....cold one

ellysia
yes i also will fell tummy tightening every nite when lying down....on & off too....

roxy,

Yup, i'm oso thinking about the trust issue. I send her email asking about warranty and she reply can one to one xchange is spoilt when i do collection. So, i was wondering how come she had xtra stocks?

Just went to toilet, have a bit of LS. Bowels really funny.

Just now dunno contractions painful is it due to stomachache + contractions come together.

Felicia,

On the breast pump issue, since it is so expensive, better buy from a reputable source. Dun bec' of the small savings then if anyting spoil, it is $500++ gone. Like wat cactus say, get the discounted price from local market, say around $600++.

ellysia.. you are right.. so far has there been any feedback of the pump breaking down ah? If not advisable to buy from US, i prob stick to buying Ameda then...

felicia.. wow, she even has 1-1 exchanges ah.. i asked my hubby to email his US cousin liao, see what she says.. if you interested, update you once i get her reply..

ellysia,

Agreed that is an expensive item, tats why must consider carefully before make any decision.

Roxy,
Do consider the warranty part? Coz if the pump does not carry international warranty, then we might ended up paying more if the pump spoilt leh.

roxy,

PIS seems reliable and i haven't heard of breakdown within warranty period. But i dunno abt using US brand one in sg.

on the topic of breastfeeding, I feel our attitude must be positive. don't be too upset, stressed or depressed. women in 3rd world countries are capable of producing milk, so I'm sure we can also produce milk no matter how badly we eat. But if we are upset, angry, depressed, anxious, stressed, that will definately affect milk supply.

PIS is made in 2 countries, USA and Switzerland. ALso, there are man ydifferent models of PIS Advanced since it was launched in 2004. Differnet models manufactured over different periods of time from different countries may perform differently.

cactus,

So, there's medication to established milk supply? O.. nvr heard it before coz all this while only know got pills to stop it. Maybe will check with my gynae on it as well in case, if needed.

Feifei, Kelcqi, Cactus
BTW, the barley to use is the smaller seed type. Dun buy the big seed type or the hen brand. The bigger seed type is more liang. Clarified wif the medical hall. For Gingko, it does have side effect on blood. I think is it will cause profuse bleeding if taken in large quantity for a normal person. So usu i only take 5 pieces in my dessert n have this once or twice a month, shd b ok.

cactus,

So do you mean actually we can get the tablet from our normal doctor also, dont need to go thru gynae?
But any idea will it cause any side effect?

Felicia, actually if you are keen, you can ask the lactation consultant about it after you deliver if you have problems with supply. If not, then you can ask your doctor when you return for the follow up check up after the delivery.

but is there any side effects for taking the tablet to boost the milk supply..? they said drink more soup during confinement/ eat crocodile meat den will haf more milk supply.. avoid liver.. liver will reduce milk supply..

babycupid,

Liver will reduce milk supply? I taken quite a lot during my #1 confinement leh, coz this was supposed to be one of the confinement food mah.

Just back from doctor. Went to see company doc and take 1 day MC for tmr.

cactus,

I not sure whether blood grp determine chance of jaundice.

Both me and my mum and my bro are same blood grp, but me born got jaundice and my bro dun have. Me and hb same blood grp so bb likely to have same blood grp but i am not so sure abt whether less chance of jaundice or not.

Felicia,
do you mean you didnt really bf your #1 when you were not feeling well that time?because supply is due to demand, so if you feed bb regularly, the supply will be there. i successfully bf my #1 solely on bm for 6 months, then another 4 months, with formula substitute as I had to go back to work, you can also seek breastfeeding mothers support group for help, not sure what is their website though

I was also fed-up when my mil kept saying that bb crying, is it because you dont have milk, i bo chap what she said, and continue to bf my #1, and glad I succeeded, so must not be discourage if there is negative contributions around you during your 1st weeks of breastfeeding

I went to the JL sale at the EXPO earlier today, they have quite alot of kids n bb's stuff,also have the pureen brand maternity pads selling at $6.35/pack of 20pcs, thought it was quite cheap, as i remembered seeing at kiddy palace was $7+

felicia,
not sure oso leh.. cos my colick jus came back from maternity.. den she told me she got no supply of milk.. and the gynae told her not to take liver.. but she took alot.. cos as wat u said its part of the confinement food.. dunno hw true..

Babycupid,
er, liver, i nvr have any liver during my confinement for #1, but still got milk supply, so doesnt apply to me, but i did eat fish cook with papaya, always heard papaya good for developing breast during puberty right?

Fennie,

My bb was able to latch on quite well initially and i even can pump out exceed milk after tat to keep in fridge, but after nearly 2 weeks, i realised my supply was reducing and totally can stop after that.
And i realised my weight reduce 5-6kgs within a week from the day i discharge from hospital. I'm not sure if this weight reducing is normal or not and whether it had affected my BM as well.

liver is very high in iron.. maybe that's why it is part of confinement food.. but there are other substitutes like spinach, beef, and red dates too.

Here's another link on ABO incompatibility, Ellysia.

midwife_3pw6%2C00.html,http://parenting.ivillage.com/pregnancy/pcomplications/0,,midwife_3pw6,00.html

cactus,

Both my mum and my MIL and my hb not really v encouraging on breastfeeding. My MIL fail to bf and then later give up in bf totally for all her kids. My mum give up bf and straightaway give formula. Both of them thinks that bf is v difficult and ma fan. My hb also tink dun force on bf, if cannot give formula milk. Only i myself want to try bf for 6mths bec' i have a lot of colleagues done it successfully.

actually i tink the hardest obstacle is to bf every 2-3hrs interval at a 24 hour clock, while keeping sane and not overly tired. It be the hardest part.

cactus,

thks for yr article, v informative.

Me and hb same blood grp, both A blood grp. so bb shd be also A right?

cactus,

I dunno if u remember home econs but i remember i read in home econs in sec 1 textbook tat breastfeeding will help in prevent of cancer for both mum and bb.

I also consider to express but my colleague say if we sleep in a 5hrs row, we may get breastfull/engorge later.

Both my MIL and mum are full time housewife. My MIL said she got try the hospital pumps before but somehow my hb reject breastmilk but she is not sure whether it is the latching method or because she gave formula milk in hospital.

My mum is bec' she heard horror stories of bb biting mum nipple etc so she worried then get medicine to stop breastmilk.

I did not really feel my baby movement for the whole day.. But some time i feel a heart beat feeling from my stomach... Is this consider a kick also.. can any experience mummies out there to advice me? ]

icegal,

It is a feeling tat keep beating constantly with a beat?

If so, it could be hiccups. Gynae said hiccup is considered as 1 movement, not multiple movement.

Felicia,

Lucky you! The heart in the middle of the Ginko is black black one issit?

Feifei, how much u spend at the delivery suite? Heard they charge by dunno mins or hr one rite?

I've been drinking barely since 1st trimester. Nothing to drink, plus I always have sore throat and UTI, so drank quite abit of barely. They said barely cleanse the body also.

Catcus, thanks for the info. Me try to find the ingredients tml. If we cook too long, the beancurds will dissolve totally issit?

I think when the reason why we cannot take Ginko during pregnancy is like what Felicia said, we need to take out the heart of the ginko issit?

I dun like the taste of Ginko actually. I always throw away the ginko and eat only the beancurd n barely. Dunno I throw away like that, will still have the benefits for baby or not...

Re: Medela PIS, If I remember correctly, if anything wrong when we get from Oversea, we service it in Sg is 50 bucks or 150 bucks.

Re: Liver during confinement. That time I met up with my CL, she told me first 12-14 days after delivery, totally cannot touch liver. Cos we need let our body's blood be cleanse before we can take in any "bu".

Hi Ellysia,

That means the beat is considered one movement per day? cause gynae say that one day, a bb should have at least 10 movements....

By the way, i think i just reach 3rd trimster.. Is it means that the bigger u are, the baby movement is lesser?

Ellysia, Yeah.. I think your bb should be A.
I didn't take home economics leh... don't know about cancer prevention but I've heard something like that outside. Yeah.. so maybe breastfeeding is good for us too. Lowers our risk of cancer. You are right about 5 hours in a row will cause engorgement... sigh..

Kelcqi,
Yes, if you cook the beancurd too long, it will dissolve totally. so must watch over. Cos I use pressure cooker so usually I don't cook this with pressure. just cook it normally. But I need to cook the nuts with pressure, if not, will take a very long time. Barley will also take time too.
You can get all the ingredients from ZTP or Hock Hua medical shop.

I dun know if ginkgo is safer if we take out the heart but I always take out the heart. It may not be always black. I always poke it out with a tooth pick. It can be beige/yellow, green or black.

Icegal, when bb grows bigger and not much space for bb to move around, movements will be less already. About 32 weeks onwards this will happen.

Oh.. to add on to my post, not every woman will feel fewer kicks from 32 weeks onwards. depends on how much space there is inside (ie. also depends on bb's size).

Kelcqi,

Ya, the 'heart' is a bit black in color. Normally my mil will sure a toothpick to poke it out. Anyhow, we cannot take too much of gingko per day oso, just eat moderate will do.

Felicia,
I c,i remembered encountering blood while expressing milk, also other problems, and i called the hospital lactation nurse to check, i also express and keep in freezer if bb missed the feed, to maintain the supply, maybe you wanna ask if there is a lactation nurse you can seek help if you needed to ask abt bf

Kelcqi,

2 weekends ago, I bought the dessert ingredients from ZTP.

There are ZTP shops all around singapore.

I paid $3 for 1kg of gingko nuts, $1 for rock sugar, $0.80 (or $0.60?) cents for pack of barley (small type) and about $1.80 (forget how much) for 1 pack of beancurd sheets.

I used 1kg of nuts, 1/2 pack of rock sugar, 1/8 pack of barley and 8 beancurd sheets for about 12 cup servings of dessert. Hope this is a useful guage for you.

Felicia,
I just went downstairs to get my tea snacks, hehe. Then becos I was very very hungry so was in a hurry to get out of the shop to come back office and eat. Just as nearing the door, I actually slipped forward but luckily managed to hold onto door handle and steady myself. Heng ah.

Ellysia,
Your bb could be O blood group also. Cos A is made up of A and O. So when your blood joined tog with hubby's A and O, you can end up with OO which is O blood group. Hope I'm not confusing you but just in case your bb is O and u wonder why.

Ellysia, sorry! Tera and Felicia are correct!! I didn't study biology, but it makes sense. I forget my mom is B, my dad is AB.. I'm O!!! Haha!!I'm definately their child!! :p I was born with jaundice.. under phototherapy for 2 weeks.. sigh.

Tera,

aiyo, becareful loh! Nowadays when i'm walkin, i'm quite cautious coz during my 1st pregnancy i fall twice on staircase. 1st fall was within my 1st 3 mths and i was quite worry coz my bum feel pain and even keep checking if got blood flow out.(afraid miscarriage). haha......
So, when i'm havin #2 i try to avoid staircase, got probia.
Lucky you managed to hold on the door!