(2008/06) June 2008

morr,
Poor u, sorry to hear about the food poisoning. I ever got food posioning before but not when pregnant and it was a horrible experience. Do take care and rest well!

Morraine
Hug hug, oh no. Sorry to hear the pain u suffer. Hope no more mama going thru this.

Y'day n today didnt hear fr Ellysia. She ok?

Kelcqi
Yes i also started on the Fu Chok + Barley +Gingko at home since aft my 3 mths, Cos Fu Chok for fair skin n Gingko for brain. Beside this, I will also cook the Qing Ting style (white fungus+Red dates+longan+lily bulb) cos white fungus has lots of proteins.

yeah.. the blue black is caused by the blood leaking out of the puncture site. It's actually more ugly than harmful, so most pple just apply pressure to stop the blood from ozooing out..

talking about blood, HSA just sent me sms saying O+ blood type in very low supply. I had been donating blood regularly till I realised I was pregnant. Feel very sad that I cannot donate. hopefully after bb is born, I can find time to continue donating...

Morraine : oh dear, so sorry to hear abt what you went thru !! So did u finally pinpoint what food it was ??? GlenE bill seems pretty reasonable, i was hospitalised for 2 days in Dec severe vomitting, and my bill was 2.7K !!! After claiming medisave, still need to pay 1.7 K in cash

almost half of it was my Gynae's visiting charges, which medisave doesn't cover (apparently) - dunno didnt really check cuz was not in the mood, and hubby did all the admission and discharge forms.
Do rest well now !!!

Cactus
Huh, nt go in delivery room can deliver liao, still nd to put drip needles? And some more will blue black? Erhh...hate to hear all these needles process. Wat else to expect? Aiyo..

K Ong, I'm quite surprised to learn medisave doesn't cover doctor's fees.. I thought medisave should cover everything, subject to a certain limit (limit quite low lah so unless we stay in B2 or C class ward in govt hosp, confirm must pay quite alot in $....

Felicia,
Hb & I overslept today, so late for work.. Thus never post in the morning. Hehe. Since already late, hb & I took our own sweet time to go for breakfast then come to work. Lol.

Morraine,
Aiyo. Must take care wor.

Feifei,
Dun tired yourself out. Take your time to do the handover. I bet will feel very stress once you step into the office. Take care ya.

Kelcai,
Ya, I oso think that your friend is a pte paying patient. If emergency, I will walk into givt hospital A&E and asked for their subsidised ward. Although no luxury, at least it can save the pocket.

Danryan,
When are you starting your ML? 1st week of Aug is probably barely 2 months from your date of delivery?

Re: Braxton Hicks
I think I experienced that last night. The whole tummy hardens and loosens at intervals. Pretty uncomfortable, especially when I was walking when it happens. All of a sudden, my tummy felt so heavy and I wanted to use my hands to help carry it. But it is actually quite small and I couldnt do that, haha. Oh ya, everybody that I see commented that my tummy is small, especially in comparison with my colleague who is 36 weeks preggy. Hers is like a big ball attached to her small frame body. Sob.

Cactus,
I have always tried to donate blood but only succeeded once. I am always turned away bcos of the low iron count. I Thala minor..

cactus : me too ... if i recall correctly, it is up to 300 per day or something like that, and doc fee on top of the ward charges cannot be claimed - or so my hubby told me, i didnt verify this, cuz he was quite happy paying for the bill - heehe, so didnt bother finding out more.
but for discussion's sake, i feel that doc fee sld be covered as long as you have sufficient balance in your medisave.

<font color="ff6000">tera &amp; TF

tks for ur concern

K Ong

WOW den its ex wor.. but medisave can claim wor.. mine is claimed over my overall bill including gynae side one oso leh.. u wanna double check?

from wat i understand yesterday, they wil check the medisave account balance when u pay the bill, up to $900 can be claimed for our bill it seems per day or dunno wat and mine is able to deduct $450 straight</font>

zuen
i took only 2 mths ML....but after 1st mth usually i come back to off for while only abt 2 hrs then go back lor...the 3rd mth boss will pay double my salary...no replacement.

ZuEn, you better not donate anymore esp now that you know you are Thal minor. I just feel sad that there are pple in need of blood..and I can't do much about it.

K Ong, actually medisave also our hard earned $... sigh. I think some ladies are covered by company benefits or personal insurance which covers these things including maternity related.

Ya, i always think Medisave are our hard-earn $ too so why contented that when medisave can claim. Unless we say we can claim MediSHIELD.

What i meant is that we shd be happy if we r claiming from insurance, nt from our Cash in CPF. In S'pore, most H&amp;S insurance do not cover Maternity, except AIG has one and Prudential n NTUC has but is co-payment, i think. And these maternity insurance must have 3 mths waiting period.

Danryan,
I already lamenting when my boss allows me to take ML for only 2.5mths straight and you are only taking 2mths. If I have the choice, I would want to take 3mths at one time cos I think the time with bb will be very precious. After I return to work, my mum will be the main caregiver and we won't have that much time to spend with bb.

Cactus,
I had been turned away so many times that I dun even bother gg for those blood donation drive liao. I only managed to donate blood once in my life.

Its ok Cactus
As usual, just discussion to protect our $ ..keke. In case, for benefit of some who may confuse wif Medisave (our cash) n Medishield (insurance).

Morriane,

She was put into delivery in case of Labour. Cos CTG machine shows her contractions was at interval of every 2 mins. So 24 hrs in delivery suite, I think thats the killer part.

What kinda jabs they give you instead of the steriod jabs? I had 2 steriod jabs, wah, my whole butt so numb and had difficulty walking after the jabs.

TF, Catcus,

can share with me the recipe for the dessert? What kinda beancurd skin I need to get? Dun wanna depend on my MIL to cook lah. My hubby said MIL knows how to cook, ask her cook for me. But everytime she only tell us to tabao that dessert for her. She lazy to cook even though she knows. Rather DIY. She wanna eat just eat then...

Catcus, I dunno I read from where. Ginko nuts helps in memory but not very gd for preggies cos they can be poisonous if taken alot. Some mummies from other threads told me best is limit to less than 5 each time. And Ginko nuts for men, I heard it reduce fertility if taken alot also. Let me go do some research and update u ladies.

HI all,

I am so busy yesterday and this morning for work.

But i am also not feeling well. Yest due to too stress work, i had a bad BH contractions yest nite. I had to rest at bed to wait for it to soften down.

Now, i feel the contractions again, and it is a bit painful. No appetite to eat lunch also, feel want to vomit. Then these few days i have slight flu, yest nite sneeze and cannot sleep well. I tink i go see doc later on flu and take tmr MC.

Ellysia,
Take care ya. Dun stress, dun stress. We are very vulnerable now. Stress not good for bb and I tot too much stress can trigger contractions wor.

I v chiam.. boss keep throwing work to me to do..
Yest i tink v sian, i do so much work then dunno worth or not, like putting my body to risk. Then today my colleague still preach and tell me tat i shd present my proposal better etc etc, when i am the one who help her to do tat bec' she said she is too busy and overburden with work.

ZuEn,

No wonder so quiet this morning. In fact i came bit late today as well, coz hubby drove me to work, so dont need to come so early.

Kelcqi,
For gingko nut, you need to clear the 'heart' in the middle, so it wont be poisonous. And as far as i know, we are not supposed to take more than 10pieces per day. Cant remember wat is the side effect if taken more. Need to dig up my old old chinese medicine book. hehe....
So, conclusion, everything must eat moderate.
Luckily, my mil is willing to cook this dessert for me, so i dont had to crack and dig up the 'heart' of the gingko nut, which i find very 'ma fan'. But this dessert is good for preggie woman loh.

ellysia,

I'm not much better than you. This whole morning i was busy checking how to do net meeting with our counterpart in Australia, as my boss wanna me to teached the new staffs there how to use some system.
Then now, i'm stressed up as i need to prepare all the training material and so on and apply for loan equipment for the net meeting session. Aiyo, seems like all this out of my scope and now preggie with big tummy, really sian to do all this, but no choice leh. *sigh*

kelcqi,
I was also at the delivery suite lor, cost alot alot there lor...

Hv u started to drink barley water?

All,
now i hv this contractions, me abit hesitant to start drinking the barley water leh, scare might trigger bb to come out faster...how huh?

Ellysia,
poor ger, sayang....dun stressed urself too much ya...Now we are the most fragile..any stress also can trigger contractions de...Its really no joke de...

Felicia,
do u tink i can drink this dessert?

Need some advise here. Saw a spree on Medela Advanced PIS pump. Total amt is SGD489/= include shipping charges. Need converter at $15, so Total will be $504 for the set.
But there's no warranty as it was imported directly from USA, however can xchange one to one when tested is was spoilt during collection.

Does it worth to purchase from this spree? Need all your opinion as was bit tempted to join but then warranty part, i'm bit worry.

feifei,

the dessert was bit 'liang' coz got barley inside. In my opinion, if you afraid is too cooling, maybe you can add little bit of barley only and drink maybe 1-2 small bowls only to test out how ur body react to it.

Felicia, I do'nt think you should buy leh. cos incase use a while, then spoil? no warranty? Actually PIS Advanced is sold in Singapore at about $660-$680 with free gifts. So if you buy from USA, it is savings of about $180. If you plan to breast feed for 6 months, it is savings for $30/month just for this pregnancy alone. No point leh. Personally, I will buy locally for peace of mind for 6 months - PIS Advanced's warranty is for 1 year. I bought it at about $660 with a free zacy pillow - Isetan sale.

Felicia,
good idea also hor...cos now b ody really too hot liao... somemore I low blood, mil cook red bean soup for me lor...

After that incident on mon, i hv started to pack my hospital bag liao, cos in case bb comes out early...now me kinda of gan cheong liao, wan to start preparing everything..

All,
hv u all bot the plastic sheets to lay on ur bed or car in case water bag leaks?

Kelcqi,

for 6 servings of dessert, I use 500gm gingko nuts (shell them, soak them to remove skin, then remove the "heart"), 1 big handful of barley, 4 sheets of beancurd skin (can buy from any chinese medical shop.. tell them it is for dessert,. must pre soak until light yellow in colour) and some rock sugar to taste.

First, boil the gingko nuts, then when about 80% soft, add barley, and cook till barley and gingko nuts almost 100% cook, then add beancurd sheets and cook until disintegrated somewhat. Then add rock sugar to sweeten it.

I use pressure cooker to cook, so gingko nuts, cook at 10 minutes full pressure, then add barley, cook for another 7 minutes full pressure, then release pressure. Add beancurd sheets and heat up (no need pressure, or at most 1 minute at full pressure if not beancurd sheets will dissolve), then add rock sugar to dissolve when removed from heat.

I find that the above proportions make 6 servings. As for the water, just add to what you feel comfy. But note.. more water means more rock sugar must be added. usually I just cook about half ingredients, half water in a cup. should have 6 cups.

Ellysia and Felicia,
Must really listen to your body. Dun over-exert yourselves. This mth of April is also going to be quite a busy month for me and my mgr is those v "on" kind. I think some times he forgets I'm pregnant.

Feifei, I think no need to buy plastic sheets lah.. cos waterbag won't suddenly leak.. I think it is contractions first, then waterbag will leak sometime after that. contractions cause the waterbag to expand and become smaller and this causes the waterbag to burst. I plan to carry pads with me and always have an extra pair of pants in office (dark coloured).

liew,

Yes on and off stomach tightening. Yest nite last around 30mins.

Just now 15mins soften liao, then i eat lunch and then come back a bit but not so bad.

I got really breatheless during contractions.

Forgot to add about PIS Advnaced. I did consider buying from website (from USA) sometime back, but held back cos I saw a notice on that website which said it cannot be used with the converter, unlike PIS Original. So maybe should do more research.

cactus,

Thanks for your inputs. I was bit worry on the warranty part as well. In fact i want to buy the pump only after delivery , confirmed able to BF, as afraid waste $$ wait cannot BF. Moreover, currently i had one manual and one battery pump for standby.
But is human nature when saw sometime cheaper will tends to get tempted. haha.....
Now, with GSS coming soon, maybe can looksie looksie 1st.

cactus,
ya hor....but now when my HL ends, will be end of this mth, by then i will be in my 35wk, hope bb dun come out so early...if not really no need to go work liao, can start my ML straight away..

Felicia, what I am told by my colleagues is a good electric dual pump will help establish supply esp if have difficulty helping bb latch on. In fact, my boss expressed milk with PIS traveller for all her 3 kids for the 1st 3 weeks of their lifes cos they were all born with severe jaundice and she couldn't breastfeed immediately. she continued breastfeeding up to at least 11 months old.

My understanding is only 3% to 5% of women really cannot breastfeed. others actually can.

cactus,

For the converter part, you can buy from Sim Lim square and saw a thread on mummies mentioning this. Ultimately you can buy original converter from Medela office but more expensive, i think cost about SGD80+.
Now, the question is how comfortable we are to purchase direct from USA?!

fei fei, I'm actually hoping my bb comes out at 36 weeks.. hehe.
No earlier than that. actually it's a good thing things like Gingko nuts can bring on labour... ahha. I will prob keep on eating ginkgo nuts from week 35 onwards!! Dun kow if have other side effects though.

felicia and cactus..
I tried liao.. haiz, it's only applicable for shipping to US address.. now contemplating whether can ask drugstore to ship to my cousin who is based in US and get her to courier back via vpost or something... shun bian courier Iphone also :p? any idea how much a parcel like PIS advanced will cost to courier back from US to Sing?

cactus,

I'm concern on breastfeed issue coz i failed to BF during my #1, but i attribute it to my poor diet due confinement. My BM was quite lot during the 1st week aft delivery but subsequently it reduce and stopped after 2 weeks.
During tat 1st 2 weeks, i always feel vomitting whenever i saw my food as my mil cooked only pork for me. She was not good at confinement food and she also no experienced cooking for a c-sec mummy like me. So, i lost lot of weight during that period, so i assume this is the reason why i failed my BF.
Tats why i'm bit afraid history might repeats again though this round i decide to call for catering and even prepare my own list of confinement food.

Yes felicia.. same person but need to transfer $ to her account first, duno can trust or not boh
perhaps can do it ourselves?

from drugstore, says only shoulder bag option available.. how come she got backpack?