(2008/06) June 2008

Fennie,

My mom and mil forbid me to buy any hard sole shoe for my #1 when she's less than one yr old.

My friend's mil scold my friend for letting her bb wore those soft sole type shoes coz she said it look like shoe type then cannot wear. So, before 1 yr can only wear socks.

For hair, i only shave my ger's hair when she's full mth tat time. We din shave at 4mths.

Cactus : booties from mothercare are soo cute !!
i used those as well as jack and lily for my #1 when she was abt 11mths and learning how to walk. But from 13 mths onwards, i put her in clarks - first steps i think it's called. It's pricy abt 50 plus from Taka, but well worth it, cuz the soles are very comfortable and soft and the shoe is light, which is great when they start walking. I tried Osh cosh (sp ??) which was BAD, cuz the sole was so stiff and my girl kept tripping over.
She outgrew her first pair of clarks at abt 18 mths, and i bought her 2 more pairs to alternate when we go out now.

cactus,

Normally our generation dont really care about the pantang but most of the problem is we had old generation at our home loh, tats where the prob arises.

roxy,
thks ah..then like dat maybe i wont go to the sales liao..but see how lah..maybe i will change my mind..hehe..

regarding soft shoes, just learnt from a colleague ont he way just now that it's better to let kids learn to walk barefoot... shoes only when stable...

Felicia,
I oso.. I feel so shiok when the aircon is on and the fan blowing at me. Then my hb buried deep in the blanket. He oso happie that nobody fight with him over the blanket. ;p

Danryan,
You are my hero. I think I will freak out when I feel the contractions.. Sure gan cheong spider de. My friend was in a cab to the delivery ward and the taxi driver was so gan cheong. Keep reminding her to tahan and not give birth in his car. Haha.

Feifei,
Your boss ok with your long period of MIA? Though I noe cannot avoid de, bb more impt, no point risking bb for work. Just thinking about how my boss will jump if that happens to me. Till now, I havent tell her that I might have pregnancy complication (high BP), waiting for the next visit to see wat the doc say. My boss even jokingly tell my 36 weeks preggy colleague to quickly go give birth, so that our ML wun crash..

anyone experience joint pain, i got it on my fingers .. both hands!! this started abt 3 weeks ago, have yet to have a chance to ask my gynae. think it started when i start to take calcium pills.

Zu-en,

Yaloh, If any emergency before ur EDD, or at least before 35wks, better go Gov hospital to cut cost. But hor, one mummy from May thread went KKH, her bill 1k per day. Same thing, contractions.

Roxy, Catcus,
Now stay at home to rest loh. You ladies also have to take care leh. Actually dunno where I heard it from, someone said coconut water & sex can induce labour. Forget where I read it from liao. I totally refrain from everything now. But still have temptations like Felicia to take cold drinks. But once I feel tummy turns cold, I stop immediately...

Those with sweet tooth, good news for everyone. I heard from one thread, they recommend Fu Jok Tong Shui(Ginko with barely). Said to make baby's skin very nice at birth. I only got to know it recently. DUnno now issit too late to take already... Some mummies swear by the dessert, even my cousin. She said after taking that, her 2 gal's skin very nice...

<font color="ff6000">morning ladies..

just a short update for my MIA period, i was hospitalised in GlenE for close to 2 days for suspected food poisoning
I had real bad cramps and contractions on Tues morning ard 6am+ den i tahan till 10am den i went to my gynae's clinic and was given CTG &amp; 2 jabs &amp; ate 4 kinds of medicine thru out the whole day but my pain stil did not go away!! hence got to admit to be on drip
discharged yesterday already and feeling much much better now! gynae suspected it was food posioning when he said he gave me the jabs to relieve the contractions but it did not worked on me.. and the pain i was telling him abt, the area was nearer to my gastric area

kelcqi

if ur fren was admitted to Govt hospital and have to pay ard 1K per day its ex leh!! my bill came up to onli S$862+ &amp; after S$450 medisave deductions den its onli cash payment of S$400+ and as usual i took 2 bedder..</font>

How come nobody at work yet?
Just taken my breakfast. Today hubby drove me to work, so feel very good as dont had to squeeze in MRT. hehe....

<font color="ff6000">felicia

haiz.. isit?

yeah given HL to rest at home till mon den back for check up with gynae den he wil advise if he lets me rest further or not

cactus,

about infant shoes,when my ger is learning to walk w/o support, i let her wear those non slip soft sole shoes. After she stabilise in walking i change her to bit hard sole shoes. Beside the sole of the shoes, we need to consider the weight of the shoes as well as it'll affect children walking oso.

Morraine,

Just yesterday or a day before , Kelcqi and feifei told us they had bad contradictions and feifei was hospitalised due to it. But of course, theirs is not food poisoning.
Aiyo, i think we all must be careful with our eating habit, and rest well.

Morning ladies...

ZuEn,
My boss also can't do anything lor, but heng he is also a father so he understands =)...But i will be goin gbk office on mon to handover =D..

Lynda,
Hi there, i hv been experiencing this since my 6th mths, i ever asked my gynae and was told its poor blood circulation...try to exercise ur fingers more..

Kelcqi,
Ya lor, i also herd that the dessert is good cos its cooling de..after 8mths can drink liao de =D..

Morraine,
oh dear...how u feeling now?better? that day my contractions also near my gastric area and then downwards lor..so scary lor...Ya lor, u are the 3rd one liao, me, kelcqi and u lor..

Me also given 30days HL to rest at home..was told to bedrest..

<font color="ff6000">feifei

aiyo so meaning mine and urs abt the same leh.. its real intense pain rite!! luckily its OVER!!

hmmm no wonder my gynae told me to rest til mon den bac to see him and see if he wants me to rest further...

u better take care of urself too!!</font>

Morraine,
Ya lor,i gotten 2 steriod jabs also, so pain leh..now still taking the med to prevent contractions....U taking any med?

<font color="ff6000">nope no medication since the 4 medicines at the clinic coz gynae said i need not have any.. my 2 jabs were not steriod jabs though.. </font>

i see....u also must take care hor...

me going bk for my checkup tmr lor...realised that my tummy seems to hv grown bigger aft the jab...hmm...

<font color="ff6000">dun worry sure will!! i was oso busy talking to my lil fella since tat day oso claiming.. mummy wants u to be a JUNE baby!! *lol*</font>

I'm from the Feb 08 MTBs thread... I have the following for sale...

1) PIS Advanced

I bought my PIS Advanced on 20th Feb 2008, only use for a month plus. It's as good as new. Never use the backpack before, zips are still wrapped. The set also comes with an equipment that can convert it to manual pump, it is not used at all.

I'll be throwing in the following items if you get from me.

- 1 box of Medela disposable bra pads (30pcs)
- 1 box of Medela breastmilk bags (20pcs)
- 1 Nuk latex vented teat (0-6months)
- 1 tube of Medela PureLan 100 (ony used 2-3 times, as good as brand new)
- 1 $10 voucher valid till 20 May 2008 (min purchase of $50)

2) Pigeon Manual Breastpump (brand new)

3) 2 boxes of Pigeon Disposable Breastpad (36+6pcs)

4) Pigeon Silicone Nipple Shield (brand new)

5) Pigeon Nipple Puller (brand new)

6) Pigeon Breast Care Gel (brand new)

7) Pigeon Body and Stretch Mark Cream (brand new)

8) New Mama Bottom Spray (brand new)

9) Klorane powder shampoo (brand new)

Email me at [email protected] if anyone is interested. Thanks.

Morning Ladies

Morraine
Is it bcos of the food u eat???Hope u are much better now....do take care....feifei too.

zuen
thanks for dat....hopefully my 3rd pregnancy delivery will be the same as previous 2.

morraine
i sometime did feel pain like gastric when trying to stand or when lying have to get up slowly or else i can feel it too....then after a while it will gone....

yerterday nite felt pain at my V part...like on &amp; off abt 10 mins.

kelcqi, I think your friend paid $1k/day at KKH cos she was a private patient. If no polyclinic referral, or choose doctor, it is at private rates.. same as private hosp. That's why alot of pple prefer private hosp.

as for the beancurd skin gingko nut dessert, think it's good for everyone cos gingko nuts help to boost memory. If possible try to eat more. So far I've only eaten it 3 times though.. I prefer to cook it myself. Much cheaper and I know what goes in to it. I can cook 6 servings with just $3 worth of raw materials. Much more gingko nuts too (half kg). Very worth it!

Felicia, thanks for sharing about infant shoes. I think I prob won't start so soon.. maybe about 1 year old.. when the child is more confident walking on the feet. :p

Morraine, so sorry to hear about your food poisoning incident. Do you know what food caused it? Hope you are feeling better soon.

<font color="ff6000">danryan

oic den u be careful sometimes urs is muscle stretched.. mine is like bad contractions NON STOP!!!

cactus

i oso dunno..
feeling much better now after 5 bags of drips in the hospital!!</font>

ellysia,
hb n me ve our own plc but while he is away, he "long bang" me at my MIL's plc. he dun like me to stay at hm on my own.

tera,
yup. luckily he is back tomolo, if not i reai bu ta han also....so sianz....

I remember crying silently when I had a IV line placed in my vein last year.. very very painful. The doctor couldn't use the vein at the back of my hand cos my veins are too small, so he had to poke into our at my elbow... the needle had to go very very deep. I thought it would be like taking blood.. not hurt that much, but I was so wrong.

weather not so good now....have to drink more water....myself is not a gd water drinker....these few days have a very dry lip...

boss just told when is my ML and told me to come back 1st wk of August he have to go outstation

<font color="ff6000">erm not really its more of painkiller thingy they claimed.. den they did not allowed me to eat den end up show me the menu to choose for soups and drinks onli!! sob!!

ya they could not find my vein oso on my left hand which is the usual hand for drip den ended up on my right hand so imagine im a right handed so its so out of the way!!</font>

morraine, you really poor thing leh... I can imagine it's very hard to do things with your right hand if it's connected to the IV line. But I think the pain of putting a line there is less than putting it in deeper at the elbow...

last time I also cannot eat... can only drink clear soups! Meaning, no meat, no veg, no oil. nothing. just very very clear soups!

eh, morraine, put iv line at back of the hand, pain or not? Or just a bit more painful than blood taking at the elbow? I don't know what will happen when I'm due to deliver.. cos I'm told the iv guage will be larger.. and it will prob go into my elbow too.... sigh. I'm quite scared. Thinking of asking for local anaesthetic before putting it in.

<font color="ff6000">ya lor.. haiz.. den my neighbour was like eating and slurping her soup away!! haiz..

pain la!! its more painful den anything else!! if during delivery im not sure but i had tat time coz mine was induced delivery

ai yoh.. okay lah. I think I will ask for local anaesthetic. I figured a stinging pain for a couple of seconds is better than the pain of putting iv line in. I heard for iv line, it's the smallest that they put in (22 or 24 or 26 guage.. forget liao) . For deliveries, they put in a 18 guage needle.. So I asked why, someone told me it's incase we need blood during delivery.. so bigger cross section needle more efficient at getting blood into our bodies.

morraine, that timeI was warded, not that bad.. no one constantly to tempt me with food, but the nurses got it wrong once and offered me the full menu!!! So I had a chance to order full meal before being told I could only order soups!

talked about the drip, i remember during my 1st pregnancy as i'm on c-sec, so i was put on drip as well. After discharge the scar take quite sometime only healed and during the 1st week, it was blue black and hurt when pressed on it.

morraine,

i remember you dont gained much for this pregnancy, rite? Then now with all this, you sure lost some weight again. Aiyo, you must eat well now and take care leh.

<font color="ff6000">felicia

hmmm the staff nurse did tel me have to add pressure on the punctured wound when she removed the needle and it wil cause pain but its better den not doing so and end up the wound will be blue black and oso swell..

yeah as of yesterday i gained close to 6kg already &amp; baby's weight is about 1.6kg, i was real hungry after i discharged yesterday and ate alot during dinner.. *lol*</font>