(2008/06) June 2008

Felicia : the anti stretch mark oil cost me abt $64 or $65 at the airport Duty free. not sure if Sasa is cheaper though ...

Crystal : thanks so much !!! wld be good for reference later when/if we plan to have another kid ! keekeee

Veniz : i c ... i also lost weight during first 4 mths due to severe vomitting !!! grrr ...
i think i read in the past pages abt elaine still vomitting currently right , hang on in there elaine !
totally understand your situation on MC ... i took my "entitlement" of leave days last yr (what with taking the #1 for jabs, playgroups, trials, etc ...) and guess what, my coll commented that i was very often away !!! it's really difficult to balance being a good worker and a wife/mother !!

Coconut : can get from NTUC or cold storage, it's the small thai coconut, abt $1 i think !!!
drink once a week from 36 week onwards.

Veniz,

Another good thing of eating more protein than carbo is bec' protein take longer to digest in our body and our body dun feel hungry so fast. So in a way we dun take so much carbo and thus gain less fats.

babycupid,

I remember u are also under Dr Wong right? How much is the delivery charges she charged? So far the clinic haven't ask me for any delivery deposit or any costing yet.

Hey Roxy : Cordlife is having a talk this Sat at Camden and TMC - and there is a sign on promo for that day. i dont have the Cordlife no. on hand right now, but if you google it, it'd show up and you can call them for more info

K Ong and felicia,

I tink tat time i buy from Sasa around $68-$69, can't remember exact cost.

Original cost at Robinsons is around $70++.

K Ong, ya lor, we women really have to suffer. Told a junior about us women having to go through child birth and multiple responsibilities yesterday, he told me its due to god's punishment for women back leading to Eve's wrong doings (eating the forbidden fruit). Hee, was quite a nice chat on religion although I am a free thinker.

Yesterday when having my running nose, my hb still scolded me for talking too much and not doing anything. Hey, I am bearing his 2nd child, have to fetch #1 home from MIL hse, and just rest awhile asking him to take care of #1 for he still had to complaint. He easy job, just donate sperm to me and make me go through such period, not to mentioned, I will always be the one to take leave to take care children if they sick. So MCP.

Yest i woke up and saw someting tat look like stretch mark but it appear at one side tat i usu dun apply any oil there.

This morning i woke up and i am so tired even though yest i sleep around 10pm. I am so tired, whole night keep turning left, right, centre and non-stop.. like doing aerobics at night.. so tired.

Morning girls.

Just had breakfast with hubby and feeling stuffed! Maybe I over-ate, feeling kind of bloated now. TF, yah, think I need to do the exercise Mrs Wong taught, hehe.

Roxy,
Are you FBI member? My gynae gave me both Stemcord and Cordlife brochures but told me that Cordlife has discount for FBI members. So most likely I will go for Cordlife.

Crystal/K Ong,
I will update my gynae fees in the yahoo database tonight.

Veniz,

Sometimes guy can be quite insenstitive..

Yest i also tink pregnancy so hard.. then suddenly i have this doubt and fear of delivery and taking care of bb, i told hb i am v scared dunno whether i can be a good mother or not. Then i dunno why we must have kids and wat good is kids to us.. really dun have the reason.

crystal,

I had update my gynae package cost in the yahoogroups ored. Will update other costs once i had them.

morning ladies!

wah, so angry this morning. I was talking a train from jurong east mrt. then it was very crowded. I managed to board the train but was standing at the door. then there's this lady (late 20s or early 30s) kept pushing me. I was very angry and turned my head to stare at her. she told me to move in. can't she see I'm stuck at the door already? I was so angry that I told her back, I can't move in. But she was listening to music and had ear phones on. I doubt she can hear me. then she pushed her way in and saw my tummy. but she did not care. and stared at my tummy as if it's my fault that I'm pregnant!

so angry leh. so uncivlised! and she was well dressed some more!!!!!

and the next stop, some pple alighted. so I moved in slightly. and another inconsiderate lady used her LV bag to push me. wah, LV bag very big ar!!!!!!

wat a morning for me..........

Ellysia : ahh ok, so Duty free is slightly cheaper

If you girls want, my hubby is coming back next Fri, can ask him to buy for you.

Veniz : aiyo !! you mean he actually said that ?!!! he must have been joking right ???? I mean ... i dont mind the 10 mths of pregnancy and child birth cuz i think it's worth going thru that to have kids, but it def helps if people ard you are more understanding (ie, colls to be more understanding if you are really sick and cant make it to work, or relatives to help out at home, etc)
plus, it also helps to keep positive abt it all !!

hahaaa, i like the way you put it, the MEN have such an easy job right ??? :pPPP
the least they can do now is to HELP out !!!
At least your hubby is home with you, mine has been away for 2 mths !!! i've been so stressed with home and work and #1 lately

Ellysia :dont worry too much
motherhood somehow will come naturally when baby is here

Tera : so nice ! can have brekkie with hubby

Alethea,
i believe that Dr yeo busy with many patients bah.. well well, he actually quite very friendly and concern our baby too. just that sometimes he rushing for operation downstair so that he neglect a bit us loh. if he really that bad why then still got so many ppl come to him?
regards abt the anenatal package price we paid last time is 500 dollar (excluding medication and lab test) i found it reasonable and not that expensive bah... while deposit delivery i paid is 650 dollar (excluding gst) i find it reasonable also. well, i believe thats not much different compare to other gynae. so you do not need to worry so much. if you do really need to change gynae now, i believe you'll spend more money as usual. trust me.

K Ong,

I can understand.. tat time my hb went to Taiwan to attend seminar for only 1 week, i ored cannot tahan liao. Somemore our house only me and hb staying so if he is not around, i can get v lonely at times.

So sometimes i tot if bb gets older liao maybe can accompany me if hb is not at home. But dunno will i end up even more busy with bb around..

I am worried bec' i had phobia of having kids prior to this and manage to persuade myself to have but still worried.

morning ladies

When doc do the scanning....bb is in the correct position....and already head down.....yup...a few mths ago can see and doc said and confirm bb gerl....alamak....news already spread lioa....in fact every check up we did the scanning wo...

when got the news me and hubby didn't talk at all till we reached the maid agency....

for my check up fee....each check up i paid $50 inclusive of scanning & medication....

K Ong,
Hehe, brekkie with hubby only on tuesdays cos the other weekdays, our timing does not permit.
Woah, ur hubby has been away for quite long! Like Ellysia, when hubby was away for abt a week, I was also v miserable, hehe.

Ellysia,
Don't worry too much for now. Just take things one step at a time. I'm sure u will do fine as a mummy cos can hear you have been reading up and doing all the right things to prepare for this pregnancy. Jia you ok? Another 1.5 to 2 mths more to go...

K ong & Ellysia,

Guys do tend to be insensitive, especially those spoilt by their mothers. Anyway, I was angry, but just dun talk to him for a while. He also can't get use to me being too quiet coz when i quiet, it means I am angry and he will ask lots of stupid questions to test my voice tone.

In fact, I do prefer my hb not around, or outstation. So that I can have more freedom. He always limit my ways of doing things and the way I 'gossip' with pple on phone. I very bad wifey, haha.

iamsnow, cool down. Are you hurt by that LV bag? Some LV bags can be quite hard and hope she did not push you much. Nowadays MRTs are always crowded and govt still want more pple to take public transports and inject more foreigners into SG.

zuen
i have not do the shopping yet for my bb....almost hand on stuff from my both sons....but thought after yesterday check up can do some shopping a lil bit for the bb but now....wait lor till the next scan/check up.

Liew: well, it is not so much about the fees that we paid,yes it is not much different from other gynaes. The part that i am worried about is the neglect and the part where he doesnt want to do the ultrasound or is rather occupied with other stuff while we are consulting him that bothers me. Well, most importantly, is the delivery.. hmm.. will decide after consideration again.

Ellysia: Thanks for the reply. It's impt to feel confident abt the gynae. It's true.

tera
ya lor i thought of dat too....coz every check up doc do the scanning ma....on 30th apr is the last check up b4 change to 2 wks check up

further more yesterday came to clinic at 2pm....but hor me queue no 7.....doc came in abt 330pm by the time my turn is at 415pm

iamsnow,

This morning i oso encounter one uncle trying to snatch seat with me. I was standing right in front of the door when train arrived and when door open he quickly rush in to snatch the seat which is on my side. But luckily there's few more seats, so i dont bother to argue with him but i gave him a stare. I think he realised i'm preggie after that.
Next time, pls use ur bag to protect ur tummy, i always do that else kana elbow by oth bag or ppl feel pain leh.

Alethea, depends on individual lah. Btw, he is a doc who dun gv automatically upgrade frm 4 bedded to 2 bedded. Whereas other gynae can. We nearly change gynae near to my due date for c section, in the end we choose to stay on for my #2.

So #3 we decide to change gynae instead. Yes, he will collect $650 deposit + $500 Anetnal fee + $800 (2 bedded deposit upon admission) + $XXX upon discharge (depend on any complication and balance after deduction of medisave). If medisave din cover, u have to pay cash at his clinic for those outstanding doctor fee when u visit him

So far, i din even pay any deposit for my current gynae except the $550 antenal fee. When im sick i only pay medication fee. The very last time was $8 dollar only for cough + flu medicine

was MIA yesterday cos had medical appointment. At 28 weeks, I put on 10 kg from pre preg till now... bb doing okay at 1kg. Average size doctor said.
Bb has been head down since 24 weeks.. hopefully he stays in that position till EDD.

Next appointment doing routine growth scan and hopefully can get a 3D picture of bb's face. Bb is still looking upwards.

Alethea,
Maybe have a talk with hubby and see how u want to proceed. If $ is not really an issue and u really dun feel comfortable with him, maybe can consider switching? I think it's impt to be comfortable + have confidence in ur gynae. Just my 2 cents worth la.

Dan,

I tink gynae can't be 100% sure?

My gynae will check the gender every scan and she will double confirm that it is a boy. So far, she seen 3 times ored and confirm it is a boy liao.

Alethea,just read through the posts that I missed these couple of days. I agree that it's important to feel comfortable with your doctor. Cos when you are in labour or when you need to make decisions, you need to have complete faith in your doctor and trust that he has your interests at heart.

Dan, when your doctor scans your bb for growth, he will take the femur length (length of his leg) together with other measurements for the estimated weight. When he looks at the femur bone, it is easy for him to spot the genitalia then.

Ale,

I believe we shd feel comfortable with our gynae and confident abt wat he/she said and he/she skills. Can't really listen to wat others say, just trust yourself.

My thinking is usu i dun bother so much abt the cost of gynae and delivery bec' i believe gynae confidence and skills more impt.

Ellysia,

My gynae din not scan bb sex for me since the details scan oledi said is ger. The sonographer was very confirmed is ger, so during normal visit we din ask gynae to scan bb sex again oso.

Felicia and iamsnow,

I usu use my both hands to cover my tummy. If only 1 hand is free, i use 1 hand then use bag or buttock to squeeze people out/in.

Felicia,

I dunno lor, my gynae will check during every scan since the detailed scan, and she will confirm the gender again. Tink she is cautious.

So far i feel comfy with my gynae, anything i will ask her one.. sometimes she will forget abt somethings but i ask her liao she will remember.. then now i tink she remember me more bec' i email to her on queries whenever i had problems and not sure whether i need to go see her or not.

The only thing i dun like is the clinic, they usu will bar calls to gynae. Got 1-2 nurse quite lazy one, when i call they will tell me to call back another day. But got another 1-2 nurse are good ones, must know which one is good.

TF and zuen,

Braxton hicks i encounted is tighten, loosen, tighten, loosen. Just like wat i understand from the pre-natal class.

TF,

Thanks for your info.
I'll be goin to Malacca this week, maybe i'll check the price at Sasa in Malacca, if cheaper might brought from there. Else, maybe get my hubby's bro buy for me when he's back from Germany.

Felicia,

During my 16th week, my gynae said 80% boy. Then during detailed scan (20th week), which was done my by gynae, she said confirmed boy. Then during my 24th week, she joked and said ok, let's see if Tristan (name we intending to give) has become Tricia?!! When we heard that, my hubby and I were mortified cos already started buying bb things mah. But then it remained a boy. hehe. During my 27th week, no more scanning for gender liao.

I just attended a short team briefing, cos my project is getting completion soon next month and we have to handle many phone calls from there, boss insist to put my name & contact.. dunno whether i can cope or not cos may have 400+ owners call me.. then i tell him i dunno when i will take maternity leave bec' have to check with my gynae first.

I scare next mth i will be over stress and end up over tired. Hope my gynae can give me extra leave to rest at home. Worst come to worst, maybe i really have to take maternity leave in advance liao, because i dun tink boss will allow me to take annual leave. Then i dun tink i can extend my maternity leave also, because boss will still need me to come back to help my other colleague who is also going on maternity soon.

Most likely i get the clarins firming from Sasa, lazy to hunt around for cheaper price. a few dollars difference anyway.

Tera,

Before my DS, gynae only said 'maybe is ger', then during DS, as it was stated in the report as girl, then my gynae din scan it anymore. Every check up, he'll measure head, weight, see heartbeat etc but not on sex loh. Anyhow, i had oledi brought all bb ger things, all pinky color.

ellysia,

My boss oso give me some projects to be completed before i go for my ML. Though she's not that pushy, but i found it stress me up at this moment when i'm started to feel tired easily and mind cannot think properly.

Then just this morning was talking to my IT ppl on the projects that need their IT help, i almost vomit blood talking to them. So, now i dont want to think of it anymore, just wait for my lunch hr to come.

ellysia/cactus
previous mths check up doc confirm bb gerl....don't know y yesterday he told me looks like boy....but still 'ambigues' not sure....yes doc took bb measurement head, stomach, leg, last is the dat part lor

Dan, by 20weeks, it should be quite clear whether boy or gal. Maybe your doctor's machine is not that clear or the bb is not in a good position during checkups. Hopefully you will get a clearer picture as the pregnancy progresses...

Hi babyjo,

I'm going for a growth scan at 32 weeks. It's supposed to be routine, according to my doctor. He said the growth of the bb, plus amount of fluid, plus position of placenta will be noted during this scan. If bb is facing upwards, it's a good time to do 3D scan cos bb looks most like human after this time.

felicia
Both the stretch mark n firming oil are at same price. Airport is $64 (Excludg GST). Actually i remember the last time whn Morraine bgt fr Sasa n i compared the price wif airport, difference by $5 or less, provided the Sasa promo is still the same.