(2008/06) June 2008

Ellysia, the 12 days/mense every two weeks thingy was during my 1st menses - early 20s age period. Now is 10days/mense every three weeks lor. I spent also a lot $$ on seeing doctors about this, coz quite different from others mah, and my mum always scold me for a born spender. haha. Ellysia, just hope your boss keeps his mouth shut on your munchings.

Danryan, I also drank coffee ocassionally, but recently willpower not there thus will tend to crave every day now.

Aprilmum, Ah mor is trying to organise one on Apr 17 for lunch, if not will be dinner. Still yet to continue on this topic here.

felicia,
i jus double check wif my MIL, she said if the fruit stalls there dun ve, ask the veg stalls cos normally e veg stalls will ve the unripe papayas. but i cant take the soup lar cos according to my MIL, wif c-sec, i cant take fish so soon. so maybe i eat the papayas as they r? c how 1st lor....

coconut

i started in wk 34 in my first pregnancy, this time, i start earlier.. cos i am very very warm!! and i heard my friend said, coconut drinks can clear "dirty things" from our body. Is't true??

Felicia,
True lor, u are right. If he really want to cheat, he stay in West Coast will still make effort to go Geylang.

My area there really a lot, got geylang and behind is Joo Chiat. Sometimes, drive past can see them standing around waiting for clients, then I always tell hubby to see. :p Okok, we must not think too much.

me going for lunch @ 12noon, then will go to national library to return books due liao....

my hb so far never ask me to luv2 during my preg...and never ask also he ever DIY or not hhehehehe...

cya all later...

happy lunching

hi aprilmum, I dun know if coconut makes bb cleaner. that's what people say. but I like drinking coconut water and eating the flesh. Since young, would drink already.
I did experience cramping during 1st trimester (about 8 weeks or so) when I take coconut.. so I stopped. Same type of cramping when I ate watermelon. Now I can eat watermelon, no cramping, nothing.

Veniz,

I see. must be really a torment to u.
For me i have menses cramps usually on 1st day of menses, can be so painful tat i fainted due to pain.

For me i all along is 7 days, since puberty. But flow has reduce throughout the years so i am a bit worried.

Tera and felicia,

Dun need to tink too much on tat matter lor. U haven't seen those at Amsterdam night life. Some men dun like such service bec' they can't do with strange women tat they dun know. Even if they see a lot of porn doesn't mean they will do it.

Ellysia,
i also duno leh..plus my piles giving me probs again..haiz..

tera,
hee...just told my bb to give mummy a few kicks to let me know she is doing ok inside, now got her kicks liao..Phew...hee...sayang her now =)..

As for coconut drink, tink normally starts drinking frm last trim de hor...hmm..

felicia,
my frenz din tell me hv side effeft on the supplement wor..hmm..

feifei,

My piles also giving me problem..last time not so bad.. then now everytime after go toilet, my whole bottom will feel swollen.

U can try to shake yr tummy and see if yr bb move. I see my gynae does it when she want to test if my bb will move.

I didn't know fenugreek got side effects. wat side effects?

Coffee and Pregnancy: A Bad Mix?

Can I Have My Morning Cup o' Joe While Pregnant? By Amos Grunebaum, MD

Aug. 6, 2001 -- Caffeine's effect on pregnancy is one of the most researched of all health subjects. Most studies have shown that it's safe to drink coffee during pregnancy as long as you're consuming less than three cups, or the equivalent of 300 milligrams of caffeine, a day.

But a cup is not always a cup -- 8 ounces -- and you may actually be consuming much more than the typical 150 mg of caffeine per serving.

In preparation for writing this column, I went to my kitchen and took out several cups that are used in our household for drinking coffee. I filled the cups to about one inch below the top and measured the amount of fluid in each one. To my surprise, an average cup actually held 12 ounces, or 1-1/2 cups of fluid, and the larger ones contained 16 ounces.

So one cup of coffee could pack in more than 300 mg of caffeine, depending on its size and how it's brewed. A tall single "grande," for example, could easily contain more than the recommended maximum of 300 mg a day.

And, of course, caffeine is also an ingredient in many other beverages, such as colas, cocoa, and chocolate milk. Check out this comparison of the caffeine content in different kinds of drinks to see what you might be getting in an average day.

As far as its effect on pregnancy, several studies in humans have associated caffeine use of more than 300 mg per day with a decrease in fertility and an increase in the rate of miscarriage or low birth-weight babies. Most doctors therefore recommend that you not drink more than one to two cups of coffee a day when you're pregnant or trying to get pregnant.

Many doctors take that a step further and recommend that pregnant women and women considering pregnancy eliminate caffeine from their diets. If you're concerned, your best bet is to stop consuming caffeine entirely while trying to conceive or during pregnancy. But if you really need your daily fix, one or two regular cups of coffee are OK -- as long as you measure your cups correctly and keep your total caffeine consumption at 300 mg or less per day.

Ellysia,
For me, when i go bian bian, or wee wee, my piles will come o out...esp after i bain bian, then its so sore lor..i applied the cream but not much use...seems like piles hv veins so sometimes made my tummy dun feel well...hiaz..

Crystal,

Thanks for ur info. Ya, if i ended up c-sec, cannot take fish so soon oso. But not sure if just take unripe papaya soup will help or not leh.

Veniz,
Before 1st pregnancy, my cycle is around 23-25days and last for a week, with heavy flow for 2-3days. So, for those days i'll need nite use pad even during day time. So, like you i spend lot on the pads oso. But hor, aft 1st pregnancy, my cycle was delay to 28days, though still heavy flow leh.

Coffee: during 1st trimester, i totally stop taking any, but once reached 2nd trimester, i continue my daily intake, really very hard to quit.

ellysia,

Not too sure how true is the side effect for fenugreek lah, just saw comment from mummy that she gained weight aft taking it. Tats why i'm asking here, if anyone know more about it.

Ellysia, Felicia, it was a torment last time about my frequent and heavy menses. Imagine sitting in class, worry whether will stain my uniform or not, then even wear black or dark pants/skirts, scare will stain the seats. Lucky now not so bad. Like Felicia, after #1, now not so heavy and shorter by a few days.

About coffee, our those kopitiams' glass type can be counted as two cups liao lor. Actually I stopped liao, but a day in last mth, I took 3 cups, thus its back to haunt me. No choice, been a coffee drinker since 4yrs old.

Veniz,

About coffee, my hubby was bit concern over this coz my ger is quite fair despite i'm dark tone skin. Then as tis pregnancy my coffee consumption is more than my 1st pregnancy, my hb afraid my bb minnie will like me, he scare later when bigger, our #2 will blamed us. What a 'good logic' he give me! Tats why he keep asking me to eat more bird nest.
In fact i think as long as we drink moderate, shldnt pose any big problem loh.

re:coffee
i used to take 1 cup every morn..but now cut liao..hardly drink..sometimes whole week also wont drink..hehe..

Felicia, not to worry lar, I think it may not be related to coffee. During my #1, I ocassionally drink coffee, dun even drink soyabean milk and drank little bit birdnest, but then, my boy turns out to be fair (maybe coz me and hb fair skin). Now this gal, I drank more soyabean milk, eat ginko barley dessert, drank slight more birdnest than last time, but of coz more coffee/teh-o, so crossing fingers on her skin type. Dun think too much ya, coz there are lots of things we will be imagining before we see the 'end product'.

don't worry about coffee = dark skin bb. It's all in the genes. sometimes, if both parents are dark, bb may still be fair cos follow grandparents - skip a generation. I think the only 2 bad things about coffee is it's a stimulant so if we drink, bb may be hyperactive inside us too. And during early pregnancy until about 20 weeks, best is to drink less or dun drink at all, cos higher risk of miscarrying. But all these are just risks. doesn't mean if we drink, sure will miscarry. My SIL drinks the tarik twice a day... no probs when she was pregnant with her #1.

Ellysia,

About Rustic Nirvana Massages, currently my mgr's wife gave birth, so she got a complimentary voucher in the 'My Baby' mag from hospital goodie bag. She passed to me. This voucher states there is a complimentary pre or post-natal massage at $18* and below mentioned top up $20* for full session of pre-natal massage at 60mins. When I called to enquired, the lady told me normally, pre-natal massage is of 60min, and I may not have to top up. Can discuss with me when I go down for it. I already make appt with them (on waiting list next monday, if not will take 9th April for it). You check if you have this complimentary card or not.

After my massage will update you and on any packages they do have. Seems like their business not bad (I am going to BoonLayWay Tradehub21's outlet) as they are fully booked on most weekday evenings.

Veniz,

In fact i think bb skin tone is more to genes, food wise the most can only help to make the skin feel smooth, not much on tone loh.
I told my hubby why worry, if bb inherited my genes more, then i'll juz told my kid is good to be like mummy coz daddy still loves me thou i'm dark skin. hahaha....

Veniz,

Be prepared to be physco by the rustic nirvana ppl to signed up their package on the spot after your trial. Normally they'll so-called 'force' you to sign their package on the spot else you'll lose the special promotion. But if their massages is good, worth to consider lah.
The only problem for such places is their 'forcing' which i dont like loh.

i think i very jia lat leh..nowadays once back from lunch hor..i feel sleepy the moment i sit down lor..n start to doze off..super terrible..dunno is it cos of the weather or cos going to enter 3rd trimester liao..dat's y feel tired easily..

Felicia, no worries. I had braved through those nasty pple from City Spa before. Made me sign 10 sessions package, i signed only 5, nevermind. Facial time, asked me buy this and that, told me no hardmask done during the sessions (concurrently I go for this facial wash @ $15 inclusive of hardmask). Went for massage, also ganna no relax (Spa provided sessions suppose to be relaxing one mah). Then hard sell, later I forgo my last two sessions. Really fedup with them. This time round, I older and wiser. Will tell them I think about it.

bizznow, subsequently, you will feel more tired, regardless of before or after meals.

bizz and felicia,
that makes 3 of us. just came back from lunch and my eyelids are super heavy. i so want to sleep now!

ellysia,
thanks for the article. actually, my GP did tell me not to take caffeine at all during the whole pregnancy. i asked her if decaf is ok, she said decaf will still have caffeine. *pengz* like veniz, i also find it hard to resist. so i try to drink it only on alternate days.

hi...just came back from lunch & national library...so hot outside...

my 2nd preg i also drink coffer but my son skin fair follow my SIL.....

Veniz,

Last time i went to trial for spa with my friend at body contours, then was dumb dumb signed up their 10+ 2foc facial. We went for spa trial but signed facial, funny rite? Anyhow, after 2 facial sessions, they started selling me products, which i reject then they physco me to top up my facial with eyes mask, blah blah.....
Ended up i spent almost 2k just for the facial which i forgo that 2 FOC, coz every visit they sure asked me to sign this, sign tat.

Tera,

My eye lid is half open now, how? I found nowadays i always not enuf sleep despite i had 7-8hrs of sleep everyday leh. Then recently, i always wake up at 1-2am for my washroom time.

Hi, i m MTB in june.
would like some advice from u all.
anyone like me have rashes and itch ?
i start to have it since 2 months till now.
i don't have this prob for my 1st bb.

Tera, yeah.. decaf still have caffeine. it is just "reduced" amounts of caffeine... :p Your GP sounds very cautious.

I'm really sleepy too.. these days, sleep before 10pm... wake up after 8am.. still sleepy throughout the day...

hi san, I have some rash and ich around my tummy. think it's cos tummy is expanding. noticed it a couple of weeks ago. I just apply moisturizer. so far so good.

cactus, for the rashes any recommended moisturizer to use? My friend got rashes not only on tummy, also other areas. She smsed me told me her gynae get her to use steriod cream on affected area. But from what I understood before, it is best to avoid applying steriod products while we are pregnant.

cactus & felicia,
same same same, haha.
I slept around 10plus last night and woke up at 8.30am (but woke up twice to go bathroom) but I am still v sleepy now.

cactus,
yah, i think it's cos she (the GP) just gave birth a couple of mths ago so she's prolly v cautious abt pregnancy.

felicia,
u need toothpicks or scotch-tape? hehe. to keep the eyelids open. worse thing is my boss is sitting directly in front of me and can see me through a window pane. so i die die also cannot fall asleep. i think i will go toilet and snooze a bit later. :p

Tera,

me was thinking of toothpicks just now. hahaha....
Or i'm goin to make 'fake eyes' and paste on my eyes. muahaha....

I'm goin to take a walk walk oso....

Hi Veniz, I'm using shea/olive/passion fruit body butter from The Body Shop.Initially was to try avoid stretch marks. Now applying it more to avoid the rash and itch. the rash I have is not alot of rash.. just small red spots in random places on my tummy. not a huge cluster.. but just random and the occassional. It helps alot. I think we can't use steriod products when pregnant.. but maybe your friend's gynae is weighing pros and cons.. (ie. unbearable itch better use medicated cream). I think any moisturizer is okay but do check the ingredients to make sure nothing harmful in them. I've only checked the above mentioned body butters sold by The Body Shop. After bb is born, I'll be using Mothercare/Pigeon brand body and breast care lotion..cos these are bb safe.. in case bb comes into contact with the lotion, then puts into mouth...esp when I'm breastfeeding.

my rash and itch is all over the baby

i try ca lotion but no use. now my skin got black scar after the rash healed at some part. not healed one is very red. if no cure, have to wait till baby born , then see my skin doctor.

Tera, I go to toilet at least once a night... most of the time, twice... once between 1130pm to 2am, another time between 330am to 530am... and that's even if I dun drink or eat much during dinner... good thing is I fall asleep very easily. light sleeper but easy sleeper too.

by 9pm i on my bed watching the Channel 8 Chinese Drama finished at 10pm, read book before feeling sleepy....wakes up at 7am everyday....at 8 sent my son to kindergarten....then go to work.

Cactus, thanks for the info. Will pass it to my friend. She was using the Palmers' tummy lotion for mths till recently all the rashes came out and spread to her body areas. Her doc is one of the recommended gynae in KKH, told her its safe, and I told her use only a little bit.

About sleeping at night, I will keep waiting up to look at my son who is sleeping next to me. Why, coz he always squeeze into my place, then I will wake up and tell him to move over to the huge empty space.

Danryan, the 9pm Channel 8 drama like quite nice hor? So long didn't watch so authentic SG dramas. But hor, at 9pm, I have to accompany my son go bed, so will have to miss it.

feifei,

Mine is a lump.
When u have constipation, u shouldn't push too hard bec' it will made the piles even worst. And also, the piles will make u feel like u haven't finish yr business. Then u keep pushing and pushing but nothing cos business ored end, but the piles make u confused. Then end up u will make the piles more swollen and thus more painful.

This is wat my mum said, she teach me not to push too hard else the piles will worsen and confuse tat still got business not complete.

cactus,
Good thing u are an easy sleeper cos all this getting up to go toilet can be pretty disruptive to our sleep.
I rem during my 1st tri, I usu cannot get back to sleep for about an hour once I wake up to go toilet. Thank goodness now it's ok.