(2008/06) June 2008

Thanks iamsnow!

iamsnow & Danryan,
my frend's agency in hougang green oso 288 with unlimited replacement.. indo w/o exp is $320.. $60 course fee included in agent fees.. den 1st payment all in all is ard 2.8k..

Crystal, sure sure, just add her in. I just hope that next time she will not jump up and say she wants to stay in my hse, which is even more convenience for her to go to her workplace!

Crystal and danryan, Jurong east also rained a bit, I guess will be bigger rain later. Ah mor, take note, hope you have brought umbrella to work today.

Fennie, baby bonus, i just open an account for my DD and then keep the $$ in to let govnt top up every year till max. I haven't even go and do the necessary maternity leave preparation (eg submit notification form to co, etc). Just waiting for my extra help to come in next mth before I do all necessary documentation.

crystal,

Nope me didn't take any 3D ones. We seen 3D samples but tink still not v clear, prefer to see in person hee.

liew,

If i sleep too much on right side, sometimes i feel faintish and i guess cos not enuff blood flow. But no choice cos my bb will kick me/wriggle if i sleep on left side. Cos he lean towards left side.

Fennie,

Nope i am working in ppty developer firm. But i have done my renovation in year 2005 and cos i done a lot of research on ID before i confirm with my ID, i know quite a fair bit.

Danryan,
will the baby bonus website keep changing?which site you go to?

Veniz,
I thought you only submit some forms to hospital when you go for delivery, then the hospital will do necessary things, didnt noe i have to open an account now, must check with the bank then

Danryan, I think no, have to wait till baby is born. I yet to check it out, but rem that for 2nd and 3rd child, have to open an account for them, and if we never use the paid out BB bonus, keep the full sum in the account, govt will top till max. if we draw out the $$, they will not pay us in subsequent yrs. Its something like that. Lets see anyone here can advice more before I check it out within next few weeks. Sorry, can't help much at the moment.

cactus,
if i'm not wrong. the bb bonus is ard 3k. 3k will divide to 4 times to received the money. so meaning we will received ard 750dollar each half year.

I have actually wrote email to ask about Baby Bonus. The following are answers from MCYS:-

1) The Baby Bonus consist of 2 Parts,
the cash gift and co-savings in the CDA.

A child who is eligible for the Baby Bonus
scheme as the second birth order will receive a cash gift of up to $3,000
and co-savings up to a maximum of $6,000 in the CDA. The cash gift is
intended to help parents defray the initial cost of caring for the child
and they may use it for the child's expenses such as for purchase of
diapers or milk powder.

2) The Government will match up to a maximum of $6,000 for a second
child during the period when the CDA is valid - from the day when it is
opened until 31 December in the year the child turns 6 years old. The
Government will also match the parents' contributions in the following
month. For example, if a parent saves in Mar 08, the Government will match
the savings around the third week of Apr 08.

Parents may use the funds in the Children Development Account (CDA)
for payment at Approved Institutions (AIs) regardless of the source of the
funds. Hence, for example if you have saved $3,000 in
the CDA and the Government matches the $3,000, you may use the total of
$6,000 to pay for the expenses incurred.

As for #3 & #4 birth order, the co-savings which Government will match is up to $9K or $18K, have to check with the baby bonus website, didnt take note as i will be having #2.

For those of you who are thinking of Cordlife, the CDA account money can be use to pay for the enrolment & the annual storage of cord blood, as stated in the Cordlife enrolment form.

You are welcome, Cactus. #1 is indeed very straight forward. I was caught in full detail awareness 4 yrs back due to that I was about to give birth when Govt implement this hurray scheme + extra ML to us. Its only the #2 onwards a bit tricky and I need to go through that slowly.

<font color="ff0000">wat abt the bb bonus thing?

for #1 child, we will get cash S$3K which will be given to u every half a yr and each pay out is S$750 and all u have to do is fill up a form which is sent to u den u fill up ur account no for the money to be credited.. so simple..

for #2 child, will oso get cash S$3K and same payout time as above and everything same just tat u have additional S$6K dollar to dollar match for the CDA account which is u need to open with OCBC or SCB which is under the name of ur kid and u as trustee den u have up to 6 yrs to place S$6K max into the account and the government will match dollar to a dollar ie. u place S$3K den u wil have S$6K inside coz government gives equivalent to u and this money cannot be withdrawn out at all

HTH

yes the CDA account we cannot withdrawn only for child education like now me using my 2nd child CDA account to pay my 1st son school fees

<font color="ff0000">danryan*

yesh separate CDA account for #2 and #3 and #4

ellysia*

no need so urgent, u can do it at ur own time and pace just tat ur money wun come in so fast nia lor.. haha.. u have to still bring it to ur respective bank for endorsement to get one chop den can... </font>

ellysia,
i think so.. i'm heard fromm ppl too. they said when register delivery hospital then while can register for bb bonus also. (1st floor?)

morraine,
you mean when we received the form from hospital then we still have to go down to the bank for chop then submit again to the hospital again?

http://fcd.ecitizen.gov.sg/GovernmentPaidMaternityLeave

Government-Paid Maternity Leave

To allow working mothers, including self-employed mothers, to have more time to recover from childbirth and care for their newborn, Maternity Leave was extended from 8 to 12 weeks with effect from 1 October 2004 for all births.

For Employed Mothers

If there is mutual agreement between the mother and her employer, the additional 4 weeks of maternity leave may be taken flexibly over a period of 6 months from the birth of the child. Otherwise, the additional 4 weeks of leave must be taken as a block immediately after the first 8 weeks.

For the first 2 confinements, the first 8 weeks of maternity leave will continue to be paid by the employer. The additional 4 weeks, capped at $10,000 (including CPF contributions), will be funded by the Government. For the third and fourth confinements, the Government will fund the full 12 weeks of salary, capped at $30,000 (including CPF contributions). The employer should continue to pay the mother for the duration of the maternity leave and then claim reimbursement from the Government.

For Self-Employed Mothers

Self-employed mothers are eligible for reimbursement of the last 4 weeks of leave for the first 2 confinements and the full 12 weeks for the third and fourth confinements. The amount of reimbursement is capped at $10,000 for the first 2 confinements and $30,000 for the third and fourth confinements.

Eligibility Criteria

To claim Government reimbursement of maternity leave, a mother must meet the following criteria:

a) her child must be a Singapore citizen;
b)

she has fewer than 4 other living children (excludes adopted and step children) at the time of confinement;
c) she is lawfully married to the child's father; and
d) she has served her employer for at least 180 days before the birth of the child*.

*If the mother is self-employed, she must have been engaged in the business, trade, profession or vocation for at least 180 days before the birth of her child and she has lost income as a result of not engaging in her business, trade, profession or vocation during the maternity leave period.

For children born on or after 1 March 2007, if the mother does not meet the criterion (a) and/or (c) at the time of confinement, but meets them within six months of the child's birth, she will be eligible for the remaining Government-Paid Maternity Leave from the date she meets all the criteria. She will not be eligible for the maternity leave that has lapsed and the remaining maternity leave entitlement must be taken before the child turns 6 months old.

For children born between 31 May 2006 and 28 February 2007, the mother will be eligible for the remaining Government-Paid Maternity Leave only upon obtaining the employer's consent.

When To Submit Claims?

Claim for reimbursement by employers and self-employed mothers must be submitted within 3 months after the end of the maternity leave period (including leave that is taken flexibly). Late claims may be assessed on a case-by-case basis.

Enquiries and Information

For enquiries on the eligibility criteria above, please call the Government-Paid Maternity Leave hotline at 1800 227 1188 code 2.

The Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports (MCYS) works closely with the Ministry of Manpower on Employment Act issues pertaining to the Government-Paid Maternity Leave Scheme.

Adoption Leave

The Adoption Leave is 4 weeks of flexible leave for adoptive mothers to care for adopted newborn children aged 6 months and below. The Government will reimburse employers up to 4 weeks of salary, capped at $10,000 (including CPF contributions), if they voluntarily grant leave to married, widowed or divorced female employees who have an adopted citizen child aged six months or younger. Self-employed mothers are also eligible.

In order to enable more adoptive mothers to qualify for Adoption Leave, the point at which they can apply for Adoption Leave has been brought forward. This took effect on 10 March 2005.

For a local born child, an adoptive mother can now apply for Adoption Leave when the Court appoints the Director of Social Welfare as guardian in adoption. For a foreign born child, an adoptive mother can now apply for Adoption Leave when issued with a Dependant’s Pass by MCYS. Parents of foreign born children would have to obtain Singapore citizenship for the child within 6 months of the adoption order being granted.

All adoptive mothers shall consume their Adoption Leave flexibly or in a continuous block over a period of 6 months from the birth of the child. Claim for reimbursement by employers and self-employed mothers must be submitted within 3 months after the end of the Adoption Leave period (including leave that is taken flexibly). Late claim may be assessed on a case-by-case basis.

Ellysia, once in a while eat liver is okay. I also eat a bit once in a while. Cos the Vit A toxicity levels is actually very very high. It's like a couple of hundred times over the Vit A RDA... just have to beware to not to take liver in consecutive days... cos not sure how quickly Vit A is flushed out from our system.

Actually, all these things... also hard to tell. pple can ignore or be ignorant about all these things. in the end, their kids turn out normal. Others care about this, care about that.. their kids turn out abnormal. important is to know our threshold for risk and make an informed choice. I have friends who would take raw eggs and sashimi despite being pregnant. I'm terribly kiasi loh... scared. If my child is abnormal, at least, I feel less guilty.... just my way of thinking.

<font color="ff0000">dun need after u have got the endorsement from the bank den jus sent out on ur side.. tats it den wait for money to come in.. they wil write to u

mor,

Ya yr infor is more clear than website leh. hee.

cactus,

Yup i have the same feeling, more kiasu lor.

Actually we are here mostly bec' we are more kiasu and gan cheong type.. else we won't be looking at forum liao. I have colleague who prefer not to know anything abt pregnancy when she is preggy. strange thinking.

mor,
thats right, your explaination is very clear, i was so confused when i look at the baby bonus website for the 1st time, thats y i wrote email to them to ask, thks for sharing

liew,

I read the bb bonus website, i tink we can register at the hospital straight if we bring along our bank book for verification. No need go bank unless we didn't bring bank book.

Fennie,

I also tink so. She dun want to go pre-natal course, everything dun want to know. She say she prefer not to know then she won't be scared. She didn't read up.. then i ask her how to take care of bb later, she say just let her mum take care liao dun have to know so much.. pengz.

Ellysia, wow!! Your colleague is really amazing! I thought I was bad enough not wanting to go for classes.. but at least, I bother to read up...

morraine,

oic.. since they prefer posb acct, most likely use my hb one since mine is use for giro purpose..moreover my hb is paying for bb stuff so let him get the $ better.

cactus,

Ya lor.. she dun want to read up when i suggest. she say she is scared, prefer not to know. I tink watever info she has, it is from word of mouth through colleagues and friends liao.

Seriously, i tink it is impt to read up bec' dun want to know later then regret.

Ellysia, sometimes, only hearing from colleagues and friends may not be good. I feel need to hear from pple, hear from professionals, read from books. THat's the best. cos pregnancy only occurs to a woman a couple of times at most in her entire lifetime.. most of us here would be pregnant on an average of 2 times, 3 times.. that's all... adn every pregnancy is unique..

ladies, remember to bring your receipts from your clinic and submit them when check in to hospital to claim the $450 from givernment

<font color="ff0000">ellysia*

oic

liew*

if u want den u bring the bank book ba.. im not very very sure on this just tat im very sure abt getting bank's endorsement coz i did tat for my #1

<font color="ff0000">fennie*

check this with ur gynae clinic coz for my gynane clinic, i dun have to do anything, its all done for me already

fennie,
too many receipt liao... think i will bring all receipt,cpf statement and bank book when check in to hospital. cos i'm sure i will feeling lost during chck in..... maybe too excited for bb liao...:p

liew,
can start putting all into a clear folder, than put it into the hospital bag, in case give birth earlier, or cannot remember where to find everything, some preggies tend to forget things