(2008/06) June 2008

TF,

yes the test need to fast overnight, then early in the morn u take the test, then drink 1 orange juice then wait for 2 hrs and take the test again. The test is blood sample being drawn out.

I got blue black after nurse draw my blood, cos there are 2 holes so 2 blue black. Quite ugly.

ellysia n feifei,
no wonder both of u need to wait for the result lah..cos draw blood n send to lab..mine not..juz prick the finger then immediately got reading liao..i hate to draw blood..always get blue black 1..

Morr
Wat size r u after? Erhh..i tink i saw pink, brown, blue, n yes the model put on the turquoise wnt..hee. If u after the size 1, chances is high. N if u desperately wnt to get, try calling Katong Isetan n see if they can reserve n i go n collect for u. Best i can do for u, my friend

Feifei, Ellysia
So really both your cases are blood being drawn out n not just the pricking wif machine? Ops, so nw leaves mine wif a qn mark. Whether draw or prick. aiyo

feifei,

U can probably cont yr wholemeal bread as i understand tat the wholemeal bread helps in gestational diabetes.

Too much Carbo has to be avoid, the reason being carbo unburn will be dissolve as sugar in yr blood tats why.

Now u can understand my feelings.. me also feel so xin ku, how come preggy cannot eat.. before preggy have to control cos scare fat, then now preggy also have to control.. v sianz.

do u remember the posting i type on recommended food.. u can view the attachment i put at our yahoo grp on gestational diabetes, it got recommend wat food to eat and wat not to eat.

The worst lot is ice-cream, cakes, pastries, carbonated drinks (coke/7-up/lemontea/milo etc), sauces (tomato sauce/chilli sauce). Any drinks sold outside at 7-eleven, even fruit juice has added sugar. As our normal food ored have sugar, need to cut down added sugar then will be ok.

Food sold at hawker centre can be quite sweet, e.g.

1) Roost meat rice - a lot of sweet sauces used on the meat. U can opt for less sauce or no sauce.

2) Hokkien mee/chao kway teow - a lot of sugar inside but u dunno cos it in the sauces.

3) Cai fan - some meat has sugar but u dun know, the hawker usu cook with sugar/soy sauce.

4) Indian food/curry - a lot of sugar inside UNSEEN.. bec i cook curry at home last time, i know how much sugar used in curry.

Star
Yes, they do sell the kits in Guardian or Chinatown medical hall. My in-law owns one n he does it regularly. Smtx he always ask me to test mine just for fun n i hate the pricking. U nd to also buy the consumable pricking needle n has expiry too.

TF,

the glucose test is draw blood. Prick is for those who ored dignosed got gestational diabetes and put on a diet tats why need to prick and do their own glucose test at home.

feifei and TF,

After they draw 2 tubes of blood, me feel dizzy tat afternoon when i go back to office. Cos i got meeting tat day so i didn't rest at home i go back office..

TF,

why crystal go so early? I tot it only open at 11am? Me was still thinkin to go after lunch, as nothing much to eat at expo side leh. Maybe if go earlier, then might bump into u all. hehe....

Krispy,

Not compulsory. I was asked to take the test bec' i failed urine test twice at clinic checkup and my bb weight and my own weight shoot up too fast during 1 mth. So although my family has no diabetes history, i have to do the test.

I guess mainly is bec' i take a lot of sweet stuff before doing urine test at clinic. I usually eat fast food and drink ice-lemon tea, coke, barley almost everyday or at least 3 times a week. Then my meals are sinful food like hokkien noodles, chicken rice, western food, fastfood macdonalds, KFC, Indian food curry, Laksa, Korean BBQ. I like to eat strong taste food usually.

And worst is tat time i eaten around 6 cornettos over 1-2 weeks time, also eat bak gua and CNY goodies.

My mum keep telling me to control, i dunno eat so many sinful food will have effect one.. guess if next time preggy will take more caution liao.

Felicia
She'll be there wif hubby for breakfast..haha. There's a food court there though. Nt so much afraid nthg to eat, more on no seat to eat..heehee. I tot if i rch there, i spend 2 hrs (since car park for 1st 2 hrs is worth it) then leave for lunch outside.

Morr
Ask them hw abt the manuquin (duno hw to spell) wearing one, issit size 1, provided u dun mind it.

Zu En,

I asked my colleague liao. tat time she just walk in A&E KKH and tell them she got no gynae, waterbag burst liao and need to deliver. Then select the ward and got subsidy liao. The subsidy is peg to the ward, no need to go through polyclinic.

Ellysia, Zuen
That's an easy one. Cos they'll have to ward her n deliver the baby. For cases like high BP n baby at risk, etc. and yet water bag nt burst, will they be able to walk into KKH n say, i want to deliver cos my baby in danger? Or maybe can tell them at A&E tat you detect no heartbeat/movt. And fr there they send u to FAU for scan 1st. Cos in KKH, the Delivery Suite, FAU and ADC room are all on the same level. I do see some mothers already warded (in the patient outfit), end up at ADC for scans too if they dun deliver yet going thru difficulty.

I agree with TF. And if you don't plan to go through polyclinic first, you need to be able to tell KKH staff your medical history with as much necessary detail as possible. Theoretically can go through A&E but the doctors there may not be able to react in time to your needs, esp if inadequate info (lab test results, ultrasound pictures, reports).. things that are normally found in our case file.

Also, a very small percentage of women actually have water bag bursting as the first sign of labour. Most women experience contractions first.

TF,

I guess can tell them cannot detect bb movements..
becos usu like tat they will treat the case more seriously.

If emergency need to go straight to A&E, have to say some emergency reasons.

If not emergency, can still go through Polyclinic i tink.

But no matter which way, as long as ward is choosen with subsidize one, it will be subsidize. And i tink no fixed gynae will be selected unless like your case whereby they take it as more serious.

My colleague case is waterbag burst at week 28.

<font color="ff0000">Ladies.. u all wanna meet up for lunch again in RP area?

Anyone keen?

How about say 17th April (Thurs)?

morraine,

April??

I am ok to meet for lunch anyday provided no company lunch talk tat day.

Going to Beppu again? Heee :p since tat day, i haven't gone there cos my lunch mates dun want eat restaurant want to save money le.

Muffin
There was a lady there measuring herself n buying. Hope she was nt after the size3, then u can hv the last piece. Else try Tampines.

Felicia
Ya, I oso tot if go later, will be finding carpark problem too. So difficult to judge when will b crowded, when nt.

Zuen
Alternatively is that u see how yr BP is for the next few weeks, if whether u can do your own BP at home. If its nt improving, maybe u start walking the Poly way to get your record in first, but you can also at same time keep your Pte gynae visit ongoing so later u can have both choices. Tat was wat Cactus did too. If u wnt the subsidy n pte rates in KKH, let me knw, can forward to u.

Zuen,

Agree with TF, i also tink tat is one way, go polyclinic and get yr record there.

U can also discuss with yr gynae, if need to change to KKH they usu dun mind advicing u how to proceed with getting the subsidy one.

Morr
I think they duno wat is turquoise color..haha.. its the aqua greenish rite? Tat was wat the mannequin wearing..keke

Zuen
BTW, if u really in great pain n want to ward, go straight to Level 2, "Delivery Suite" at Woman's side hoh, tat was wat i've checked. Dun go merry go round to A&amp;E, then wait for someone attend to u, etc..

I think instead of saying cannot feel bb movements, better idea is to say in great pain, if water bag never burst. I think it's possible not to have gynae at 28 weeks... since polyclinics see pregnant women up to 32 weeks. but if tell A&amp;E dun have gynae at 36 weeks, it's a bit funny.

TF,

Yaloh, very hard to judge ppl mindset. But if too crowded, is very hard to finish within 2 hrs leh. Squezing sure a problem. Just pray hard is not crowded. hehe...

I called up Katong branch, left with pink for my size. Its to pinkish for me, hiaz. Maybe I will wait for GSS, they might have promotions then. Thanks for the offer TF.

<font color="ff0000">ellysia*

wow so fast arh!!

TF*

*faint* but the way she answered me was like as if she knew leh.. she told me only pink, grey and stripes one left

tera*

dinner arh.. have to see the rest? coz i tot everyone wanted to rush home after work so did not suggest dinner

muffin*

same feel.. pink is out for me

morraine,

I eat korean food and end of this mth they shifting to goldenshoe liao. Some stalls ored missing. Mac has no more other outlets, they put a notice to go to nearest outlet at boat quay.

Dinner me also can, as long as i pre-arrange with my hb. Prefer weekday cos weekend can be v busy sometimes.

Ellysia
I luv to eat korean claypot rice with the veg n egg in the middle one. Any recommendations for a good stall? I saw one at vivocity, food republic, wonder if that is good.

morr,
wkdays nite i can also..hehe..

muffin,
there's this korean restaurant in chinatown called togi..the bimbimbab there is nice..in fact their korean food is nice..it's a small place opened by this korean lady..business very gd..

<font color="ff0000">bizz*

hee how about lunch time?

ok ladies.. i go off already.. enjoy the long weekend ladies!!!

*waves*</font>

bimbimbab selling at Tiong Bahru Kopitiam only $4.80, cheapest I have seen so far, and its the stone heavy bowl &amp; not plastic bowl

Fennie,
That's cheap. The korean stall at Millenia Walk Koufu is selling their Yu Ge Jang (beef soup with toufu) at $6.90 lor. So I think the bibimbab also not cheap.

I'm working near Suntec area, Millenia Tower to be exact. How abt yourself? Still at work? Not going off yet?

Tera,

I am working in the same office as my hubby, he owns the interior design business, waiting for him to come back to office to check on some drawings before we can go.My office is next to liang court, on river valley road

Yes the bimbimbab is cheap and taste the same like the others i have tried

Yeah, still here, Fennie

My usual working hours is till 7pm. 9.30am to 6.30pm. Actually, if I make an effort to come in earlier, I can leave earlier but just cannot wake up earlier. :p

OKies, leaving now..u have a good long weekend ya?

TF,
where are you collecting from? I called Katong and they told me that they only have pink for sz 3. You mean tampines also have stock?