(2008/06) June 2008

Ellysia, I have some maternity tops left over from my purchase 4 yrs back. But some changed colours, so I only have a couple left. I bought 3 pants this time round, but for tops, I just bought those tunic tops (wide long types, which was and I think still is in fashion now) to wear as I thought of wearing them after I gave birth. Maybe that few times when taking trains, I was wearing the black tunic top, guess black always make pple look slim, that's where the problem lays.

I'm just wondering if it's necessary to go find a PD after bb is born. I'm sure those necessary vaccinations can be done at a GP clinic. It's not going to be convenient and will be costly going to a PD...

Ya Ellysia, it can come back. They say my hb one is call 'Eng' in hokkien, can go away if taken traditional herb soup, but hor, he took the soups but still no cure. Just hope it will not come back (he told me his doc who did the operation said this time round the op will be sucessful in full removal as they found a sucessful way to completely cure it). See how it goes, otherwise, next time I have to take care not two but three children (including him lor).

Veniz -

I totally agree with u!
Last week when I boarded the train from Yishun to CTH, I wait and wait and finally an empty seat at Novena. I am so glad as I was feeling dizzy that morning.

As I was about to happily sit down, a man tell me to give up my seat to another pregnant lady, whose tummy is much bigger then mine! I got angry and answered him back, "I also pregnant!"

Feeling embarassed, he hide behind his newspaper and continue reading.

Just becos that day I am not wearing one of those maternity top.

cactus, its not necessary. normal vaccinations can be done in GP clinics or polyclinics. But sometimes it is just that if babies are sick, seeing a PD may be better.

I have relatives who bring their babies to polyclinics for the vaccines as they are subsidised rates, and some who go to PD if their kids/ babies are sick, etc. Its really up to individuals.

Ellysia,
Yah, I think the Group B Strep test is done vaginally (at least according to the brochure given by my gynae).

Cactus,
I was also quite surprised by the PD thing. But if I am not wrong, the PD is to check on bb first few days after birth. In fact, I'm not sure if it is a must, but coll who just delivered said she had a PD check on her bb at Mt A so I guess it's quite standard? Thereafter (after u have been discharged), if u want to see GP for jabs, I believe it should be ok also.

I'm just wondering what is the value add of a PD... if the medicines are the same. My nephew is currently seeing a PD for normal flu and fever. but I realised his medicine is nothing special. It's the same that my hb's cousin is taking - hb's cousin sees a GP. Maybe poeple go to PD cos it is covered by their company, or for a peace of mind.

Oh no star, seems like we have to wear maternity clothes when taking the trains. I better save my maternity clothes for the days I will be taking trains. But hor, that time I wore my polo tee with bulging tummy, those pple dun even want to give me a seat. Haiz, I think, most important is we self defence ourselves by protecting tummies in trains as most pple nowadays are very rough.

Tera, not really. The doctor who checks on a baby after birth is called a neonatologist. They are not PDs. PDs see babies who are over 1 month old. Neonatologists look after premature bbs, and bbs less than 1 month old.

After bb is born, definately must be seen by neonatologist.. esp for all the tests. but I"m not sure what the value add is to see a PD though....

Cactus,
Oh I see, thanks for the clarification.
Coincidentally, the PD whom hubby and I have selected is a neonatologist (saw that that is part of her medical credentials) so I guess shld be an ok choice.

No worries, Tera. I just wanted to understand what's the importance of a PD... cos I think neonatologist is very important, but not so much for a PD. It's good to have someone who si both a PD and a neonatologist. at least, can follow up right from birth.

hi girls...
how is every1 doing today?

had a good lunch... now feeling the after effects of sleepiness... :p and my girl is now having a round of hiccups! she can hv hiccups up to 2-3 times a day...

zuen...
good to know u r on leave today... have a good rest today...

had been real bz these 2 days..customer juz came over to my office to do some testing..finally finish liao..super tired now..hehe..hvnt got time to read all ur msgs..

cactus,
ask u ah..u said u bought the mattress from JL rite?? u remember the measurement of the mattress?? i saw 1 in BHG..it's quite firm..but not very big..n it cost $95 lor wif 1yr warranty..dunno wanna buy anot leh..

Bizznow, I cannot remember the measurement of the mattress..but it is a standard cot size (I think there are 2 standard cot sizes though).I bought mine from JL at $29 leh... I'm quite sure it is different cos mine dun have warranty. no brand even. cheap cheap one... I bought 2 pieces. Mine is very firm. If I kneel on the floor with one knee, I can't even feel the floor surface. That's why I think mine was a pretty good buy. Dun know whether lasting or not... but I'm prepared to change if it gets dirtied by bb. cos inexperienced mom mah..

soyabean,

My boy usu have hiccups at least once per day.
Usu around 1-2 times only.

Veniz,

I usu will protect my tummy with 1 hand, even if no one is knocking around but as long as got crowd, i will do so in case anyone just bump in sudd.

cactus,
so it's the standard cot size 1 lah..cos i was thinking shld i juz get those normal size mattress for single bed or a small 1..since bb will grow 1 mah..might as well buy 1 n dun need to keep changing..haha..

hi bizznow, initially I thought of buying normal size mattress, but decided to get a cot sized mattress (although I'm not using cot) cos I think a bb will be more comfortable and secure in a smaller mattress.. and I believe the mattress cannot last bb until beyond 2 years old.. cos definately will have milk, slivia, urine stain. no kidding.... I'm keeping my fingers crossed these 2 cot sized mattresses can last till bb is 2 years old, then I'll change to a normal size mattress.

Hi ellysia,Have u bought the disposables panties?i noe mothercare got sell big size ones..As 4 myself i cant buy those watson panties as my buttocks & thigh damm big so must buy american size...

cactus,
wat u say make sense leh..maybe i shld buy 2 also lor..cos i thinking of letting my bb sleep in the electronic yao lan..so got to put a mattress below as well for safety reasons..

Jus know my gulcose sugar result, mine is 139 just pass only..cos if mine is 140, will hv to to check my sugar level b4 and after meal liao...Phew...but I still hv to be caerful of wat i eat lor..hiaz, stressed man like that..

Ellysia,muffin,
How was ur test?

actually there are high end mattresses like simmons which come with waterproof surface but not cheap. close to $1k, I think. My colleague was telling me about it. my thinking is no point buying that type of mattress to last forever. since bb still small, i dun mind buying 2 small cot sized mattresses.. small and easy to store away the spare.

hi feifei,
urs quite high leh..try to cut down ur carbo n sugar intake lor..mine is 91 only..so normal.. but still must monitor lah..cos i put on weight damnn fast leh..doc worried..

cactus,
true hor..think i shall get 1 dat is more portable 1..can bring to my in-laws place also like dat..

jesslyn

I bot whole stack from NTUC, XL size waistline 40-44 so shd be fine. thks for letting me know!

Sharon,

hiccups is rhymeic feeling, meaning it is continuos and same pace and repeative.

Zu En,

Oh ya, my gynae said hiccups is considered 1 movement by bb, not multiple times.

feifei,

My results is 115. So shd be quite safe.

Seems like yr results is considered high risk. Better cut down on yr sugar liao. If u cut down yr sugar, u body insulin dun have to work so hard to dissolve the sugar and less strain on yr body.

Maybe my 1 mth highly controlled diet really help. U can try my method.

After i change my diet, now if i eat sugary stuff i find it too sweet. I guess my taste bud has been changed too. Yest i ate 1 chocolate roll, really sinful.

So far this mth only eat 1 ice-cream bot from ice-cream man, those $1 type.

Zuen, she had quite complications due to blood flow, i tink and was hospitalised from week 25.. tink at wk 28, they decided can take the babies out.. yes she is very sad to lose one but am glad to have one... I think she's in KK... coz I guess 10k is considered cheap

hi jesslyn.. nope baby kingdom and hypermart quite expensive and no discount at all for bb cots etc.. find baby fairs more worth it..

sharon.. hiccups are quite cute.. u feel these soft thudding at ur stomach area, like heartbeat but much slower and it's very regular.. like once every 1 or 2 seconds and last for a few minutes... i feel them once a day. I asked my gynae before, he said it's perfectly normal for bb to have hiccups and not to worry..

feifei, wat's the usual result for the glucose test? I Tink ellysia and my test were ok. Muffin's one wasnt so ideal and she went to see diabetes specialist...

When u take the blood test for sugar level, did u have to take 2 intervals of test, with the 2nd test 2 hrs later? Cos y'day i went n they told me to take since my mum has diabetes but bcos i didnt fast, so wait for next appt wh by then i'm in 31 week. I was scheduled for the 8:30am, then 2 hrs later another test for glucose

Yes.. TF, dat's the test me, ellysia and muffin went through... no food and drinks after 12midnite the previous nite.. then take blood and urine at 830, drink 1 orange juice, take again 1 hr later and then again another hr later.. in between no food, drinks and toilet.. i took it coz my dad has diabetes.. test cost abt $45

bizznow,
wow, urs so low hor...haiz, mine so high..tink I ate too much potato, ice-cream in my 1st and 2nd trim...

Ellysia,
i see, ya lor, thts y high risk..hiaz...me hv to cut down liao..hiaz..

somemone was telling me to reduce my carbo intake wor..but rice is my main meal lor, and wholemeal bread also..hmm..Now i dun even dare to drink Anmum milk liao...

cos my next appt with gynae is 2wks time, so this 2 wks wan to cut down n change diet and see how my weight goes for my next appt..

Normally for BF, I eat 3 slices of wholemeal bread with ham and reduce fat cheese and a cup of tea, sometimes with HL milk.

Lunch, 1 packet of vegetable rice, 1meat, 1vege and 1 egg..Plus 2 oranges

Tea-break, 2-3 slices of biscuits with plain water..

Dinner, sometimes noodles, sometimes beehoon, sometimes guo tiao, sometimes porridge or rice with fish, vege..sometimes MIL cook fish porridge..

Actually I find my diet ok leh, except that i hv to stop taking potatoes and sweets stuff like ice-cream, fast food =(...

Was tinking also duno how to change my diet liao..so sad...like wan to cry liao cos preggi already bery xinku, now can't even eat those things i like..hiaz...

Roxy
so they draw our blood 3 times? or only 1st one is draw blood.

Morr
Just back fr Isetan Katong n the Pusik they have size 1 (4pcs left) n size 3 (1 pc left). also depleting.

Roxy, Ellysia & Muffin,
Is it compulsory to take the blood test for sugar level after a certain week? So far, my gynae hasn't mentioned that to me before.

Btw, I've been feeling bb move regularly since after lunch. So relieved. :D I guess she finally woke up.

Thanks everyone for your concern.

TF.. not draw blood.. just prick the finger only to take a little bit of blood then test the sugar level using those small handheld machines diabetics use... so it's not painful at all
Initially I also thot draw blood.. can faint haha but luckily only prick fingers 3 times...

Krispy.. not compulsory, unless the sugar level in your urine tests are high.. mine was ok each visit but coz my dad is diabetic,so they abit KS, thought better take.. you need to inform your gynae if any of your family members has diabetes as they are worried about gestational diabetes... glad to hear your little princess is ok now

tf,
mine also same as roxy..but i only take blood twice..once b4 the orange juice..the other time is 2hrs after the orange juice..

feifei,
control lor..n i think sometimes it's how our body works leh..i take a lot of potato chips n junk food also during my 1st trimester..so got to control lor..

Roxy
Oh ok. :p Thanks for the assurance. Else I faint too. Hate draw blood n needles. Pricking already, my legs go soft liao.

Felicia
Crystal will be at Expo 2mrw abt 10++, i may be there abt 11++

feifei,
ur diet plan like mine lor..which i think like not a lot hor..but the weight juz keep going up n up..i told my gynae i control liao leh..so he said as long as i got control ok lor..juz make sure dun increase too much within a mth..the normal weight increase within a mth is only 2kg..n i exceeded by 1kg..super sian.. i feel so demoralise after looking in the mirror n seeing some of the photos i had taken recently..wah lau..super FAT..

Roxy,
Ya lor, mine is high risk already..haiz...regretted taking so much sweet stuffs...but can't resist lor..

Krispy,
Not compulsory de...My urine test was normal, only when my weight starts to go up alot, then gynae wants to cfm lor...

tf,
the result shld be immediately 1..but mine is lah..i dunno how come feifei n ellysia got to wait until later then know lor..cos the device they use to poke ur finger for the blood can do the reading immediately 1..

TF, i got to know result immediately... tink result was 4plus before orange juice, then 6 plus 1hr later, then 7 plus another hr later... usually after that gynae will see you and let you know the result...

feifei.. I also take alot of sweet stuffs, trying to curb down too esp when i put on 12kg liao.. luckily my previous visit my gynae never nag at me again for putting on too much weight :p

krispy,
yah..not compulsory 1..i was like feifei lor..urine test ok..but weight suddenly shot up..so he worried..wanna check n see if i got diabetes anot..i shot up by 5kg dat time within a mth leh..

<font color="ff0000">TF*

thanks for looking out for me but den hor.. Isetan Katong too far for me
u saw the turqouise colour?</font>

bizznow,
ya lor, tinking hard how to change my diet now ...

cheerup ger, we jiayou together lor...hiaz..

Mine is not a machine to poke finger wor, mine is draw 2 TUBES of blood lor..hiaz..

TF,
Bery fast de, cos need to draw twice for the blood...I let them draw on both my hands so not so pain lor..

I only know my result one day after cos they need to send to lab test wor..

sometimes I pekchek until i hungry then dun wan to eat lor, but the hunger feeling is terrible..