(2008/06) June 2008

Hi Cactus
Yes, I think so, after running thru the list in the dbase. Yap, doc says baby is growing very well in his heart so far, gd heart
His Pulmonary Artery n Aorta are of gd size 6.1 : 5.1, blood flow are normal. Was nice to knw cos everyday talking to boy to show his best for nurses, doctors, daddy n mummy. So far seems like immediate surgery may nt be critical, more on later stage, seeing hw he progress.

TF,
Yay, glad to hear your bb's doing well!
Then u must praise him tonight for listening to you. My hubby has been saying the "he's busy" part to bb (as taught by Mrs Wong) and the 2 of us will stifle our laughter cos cannot let bb know it's not true. Hehe.

feifei,
paisay ah..was having a long meeting juz now..basically she use oil n ginger to scrub my body parts then massage lor..she's a malay aunty..

My bro may b going to U.S some time in April. Initially i tot of ordering big baby items n get him to bring back. But changing my mind n will buy big items aft baby birth. So in meantime, i'm considering if there's any small items tat we need n yet cheaper to order in bulk fr U.S tat we can share, I'm opening this option for all of us. Let me knw if any, eg. creams, education materials, etc..

I know medela accessories and milk storage bags are cheaper in the US...but I'm not sure if I will be buying yet. want to see how the PIS works first.

Thanks TF...i'll check my yahoo mail again..

Great to hear u hv a healthy bb...wah u 27wks already 1.22kg..then why my doc say mine is big ..chey..me oni 1.1kg at 27wks leh...still ask me to watch diet...chey....

anyway..gotta go...u kp smiling...

Rizty
Ya loh, so dun too alarm. In fact, i gain ard 9kg todate (but i underweight prior to pregnancy, ie. 43kg). Some more, only reach 27 weeks only on Thursday, nt today, so early part of W27.

I had been sleeping thruout the whole day from morning after taking the medicine from doctor. Just wake up 2 hrs ago. No appetite at all and only had 3-4 slices of bread the whole day. Now still hvin headache though running nose had stop.

Just now called up my gynae when my temperature shot up to 38degree. As he had closed for the day, so will be goin down to his clinic tomolo morning. But now, seem like the temperature go down a bit.

i think someone is asking for stem cord, rite? Per year you'll need to pay $250 (exclude GST). As for 1st time payment will be around $600 up to $1k plus, depend on on gynae. So, either u check with ur gynae 1st whether he'll charge u xtra for the process or you can get the quote from Stemcord.
If u interested, let me know then i can be ur referal as i'll get some disc on my next annual payment and you'll be getting some disc as well. No obligations. No worry!

Does anyone know how to get in touch with User Nickname 1) Baby Cupid , 2) Roxy as I like to find out from them the post natal massage ladies they engaged before, thanks, is there a way to leave a message or search for these 2 user, anyone know how?

morraine,
I reached isetan at 10+ only left with sz 1 and only 4 packs!!! I din buy anything in the end and walk to taka babyfair to buy more stuff.

ellysia,
I went to see the dietician today. She advised me not to take 3in1 drinks. No sugary drinks, or coke. If I want to drink, must be be diet coke/pepsi etc. Like that I rather not drink. hahaha. Foodwise, she said I am ok, just not enough protein. Oh, and no cakes and pastries.

Hi gers,
I am waiting for my hb to pick me up to go see bb. Hehe. My doc better dun attend to anymore emergency delivery. ;p

Cactus,
I oso get dizzy spells very often. In fact, I get it more in the 2nd trimester than 1st trimester, which puzzled me. It will hit me at about 5+, 6+pm and will go away with dinner and rest. I was so worried that I might faint one day or things will get worse as I enter 3rd trimester. Didnt check why I get those dizzy spells since it is not that bad. I have been faithfully taking my iron pills. Amazingly, I was feeling ok these few days. Hmm...

Zuen
I was arranged to see a diabete specialist and a dietician as my OGTT (glucose test) was borderline. Was also asked by the diabete specialist to do the prick test 2x weekly, 7x a day to record down my glucose level.

HI all,

I am back from my checkup.

Scan at gynae clinic showed that baby is moving. However as the umbilical cord is near the baby neck, gynae suggested we go up to 4th floor for detailed scan to check the blood flow.

As I am last min slot in (no appt), the detailed scan sect inform tat we have to wait around 45mins. So i go back to clinic and do a CGT test to monitor baby heartbeat for 45mins. After tat, i went back to the detailed scan sect and do a detailed scan.

Detailed scan indicate that the umbilical cord is just around my bb neck but not tight and blood flow is ok. Though it is a bit worrying but seems ok. CGT heartbeat test also indicate heartbeat normal. Gynae told me to monitor baby movements everyday, though she say normally monitoring movements start from 32 weeks.

Gynae also said if baby is found to be destress, have to immediately hospitalise and C-sect liao. I hear liao v worried, then realise i haven't even packed my hospital bag and stuff!..

Anyway the whole checkup at both places took 2 hours. I went back to clinic at 5pm and tot one of the lady is Mog but i guess apparently mog's appt is 5.30pm :p

Baby give us a scare today, guess i dare not scold him liao.. also must pack my hospital bag soon just in case. phew.

TF,

Nope, when i say my bb is big size, it is when he is 940g @ 24 weeks. The last checkup @ 28.5 weeks is 1.3KG and is indicated as normal weight

Zu En and Cactus,

Do u go hungry for too long? Or not enough blood sugar?

Cos if too hungry, will feel fainting. Its normal. Also, dun overwork or walk too long, have some rest in btw, or u will feel fainting.

Once in a while especially when i am hungry and didn't eat in time, i will feel fainting. At times when i climb stairs and i didn't rest in btw, also feel fainting. I asked gynae and she said it is normal to feel fainting sometimes.

muffin,

Yah tats is wat i read from articles. U take care okay, better control yr diet. Becos after giving birth, u still need to do the glucose test again to determine whether yr blood sugar has gone to normal.

Gestational diabetes if untreated can lead to premature birth, baby getting too big size and problem of giving birth, baby having too low insulin when giving birth. Some mothers will have higher risk of getting diabetes after giving birth, esp for those who didn't treat it well during pregnancy.

piyoz,

It is a v worried day for me and hb. Since yest we have been so worried that both of us cannot sleep well.

I am now 29 weeks.

When gynae said if anyting wrong will need to c-sect, give me a scare lor. But all the nurses are v helpful and not much queue at TMC today. Even if so, all these tests took around 2 hrs liao.

We spent $48 for the emergency appt with my gynae, $155 for the scan test at TMC 4th floor, $50 for the CGT test at my gynae clinic.

This pregnancy really give me worries. First trim i got spotting for 3 mths, then later 2nd trim worry abt blood sugar, baby weight then now this movement incident. Haiz.

Fennie
Alternatively u can contact Roxy hp in the Yahoo Database base, where the Mother's info is. They have email too.

Ellysia
Dun panic yah, relax
Knw hw u feel. There were few times last week when baby kept kicking me, i wanted to scold but hold back cos i told myself its a blessing tat he's kicking. Also, i really tink they can feel if u keep talking to him. Sayang him more and ask him to unloop himself slowly ya.

Felicia
When sick, drink more warm water n sleep more will help alot to recover too. Your flu may be just sign of low immune tat u nd to recuperate more. Take care

Ellysia, I reached the clinic around 5:45pm and then I went down to Delifrance to grab some snack coz the nurse told me still gotta wait for 2 more patients (abt 1 hr). I am wearing a pink top today if you happen to see me, hehehe
Glad that your boy is fine, just relax and he'll be fine. I guess it's a good idea to pack the hospital bag just in case.

My baby is 1.047 kg @ week 28. Gynae says still small size lei, and still ask me to eat more, I already put on another 3kg this month. Guess my baby doesn't absorb so much. Her head turn down and face my backside today, so can't see face today.

Mog,

Didn't see u, i left earlier.

1KG is a bit small but not much difference. If u want to eat more can but avoid sugary stuff

Drink more HL milk and nutrisoy, i tink can increase bb weight. Also eat more meat.

Felicia,
Take care, hope u get well soon.

Ellysia,
Sure sounds like a worrying day for u and hubby. *hug hug* At least now know bb is fine, so just keep on monitoring. Have a good rest tonight.

morraine,
Tks for the contact =)..

Ellysia,
Glad that ur bb is okie...talk to him ya...
Tink hv to start packing ur hospital bag liao, at least standby...

TF,
True lor, bb movements is wat we can monitor lor..

Felicia,
Hope u are feeling better now...

Muffin,
must watch ur diet lor, now bcos of bb so no choice de...Me going for my sugar blood test tmr..scare scare...

Ellysia, Dr Wong keep asking me to eat more, which I am already eating a lot. Haiz, but the weight goes to me not baby, maybe I try drink more milk and hopefully I won't puke.

ellysia,

stay positive. Tell bb be guai guai..... many mummies tell me it helps to talk to bb in tummy. Do you have to bed rest at home? Or can go back to work?

tmc wait for 4th floor scan is always very long. even with appt, I have to wait around 30++ for my turn. but you are right, the nurses are always so helpful.

mog,

can try eating durians or more red meat.... heard many people say it helps gain bb weight.

aye, but I try for my #1.... was eating BK mushroom swiss quite often for the double beef patties..... end up bb also didn't really gain weight fast........

Hi gers,
Went for my scan last night.. No good news wor.
My BP is still climbing, but I admit that I was super kan cheong. Measured 140/90 and bb's weight very low, only 820g at 27th week. Doc says that normal should be 1kg now. Sob, sob, boo, boo. Doc suspected that I might be developing a pregnancy complication, high bp + poor bb growth. Due to high bp, blood cannot flow normally to bb. I will be closely monitored from now on. My next visit is 2 weeks down the road.
If really complication, doc will have to monitor and take out bb when he realises that keeping the bb inside the womb will harm the bb/ me. In that situation, likely to be a pre-matured bb, low-weight bb and will have to stay in ICU for a long time. We are quite worried about the medical bills.
Advised to be as stress-free as possible and to rest well, especially when I go into my 32 ~ 34 weeks. I have quite a no. of leave, so intending to take some leave to rest at home during that time. Haiz. Cant do anything now, can only ask bb to grow faster and try to relax. If I really develop pregnancy complications, muct oso monitor my bb's movement closely. Doc advised taking time to do 3 checks, in the morning, mid-day & night. Asked yourself if the bb is doing alright. If not, must monitor a few hours and if things dun improve, go to A&E. I think all of us can try.

Oh, btw, I only put on 0.8kg since 4 weeks ago. Must be the stomach flu.

Ellysia,
You worried bb too big, I worry she too small. My journey has been super tough too.

TF/ Tera,

Thanks. This morning wake up with sore throat and bit headache but is much better than yesterday. Now waiting for my hubby bak from work to bring me to my gynae clinic, hopefully dont had to wait for long.

ZuEn/ Ellysia,
We all had been worry a lot since our pregnancy. When i got sick days back, i felt bb not much movement oso and keep shaking my tummy asking my bb to move a bit. Thats when i decide to called my gynae to meet him today as bb movement was very mild. Then yesterday nite, my bb started to move actively till i keep going to toilet to relieve. Anyhow, i will stil goin to c my gynae today to put my mind at ease.
So, dont worry so much, juz keep monitor, anything unusual, called ur gynae.

Ellysia,
Thks, but if they are not online like you ladies, there is no way i can pm them right?

Tinyfeet,
I will try look into the yahoo database and see if I can find Roxy & Baby Cupid. I have gotten another lady LIZ from Sue, whom she has been using for all her 3 Pregnancy, and have lost 15-20kg each time , after the massage, and still doing confinement, have not gone back to work, so i think I may book her, just thought of asking Roxy cos she does baby massage, heard from my mil that baby massage is good.

fennie,

pm will send email to their email account. They'll be able to response faster cos no need to check forum.

can pm them whether online or not.

Good morning ladies,

Zuen & Ellysia, do monitor closely from now on. Understand your fears but then, most impt is to pray everything is going to be fine, and any funny thing, check with gynae.

Felicia, glad you are better now.

Mogu, I am like you, cannot eat much, and now my tummy still looks small. Yesterday night was in train on way home, nobody wanted to give me a seat (nothing new) and two ladies who snatched seats infront of me still loudly debating whether I am preggie or not. Lucky I got down earlier than them. Try to eat as much as you can, otherwise, eat quality healthy food and not in quantity. I am trying to find healthy food as I kept having those junkies.

Ah mor, yesterday at isetan, the staff told me someone reserved a last pc of the pupsik sling at cashier counter. Asked if I can take a look at it she says no, coz under reservation. She also mentioned this is a limited brought in brand so stock limited, not sure if any more stock coming. Went over to Tangs and also 'shunbian' help you find, they dun have. Sorry about it.

Tinyfeet,

Thanks, I have checked out the database and just sent them an email, hopefully they will check their emails and reply soon.

Gers,

Do not be so alarmed even when gynae told you the baby is too small, as they are just taking measurements of their head & stomach circumference, and then give you an estimated weight, so that may not be the actual weight of the baby. For my #1, gynae also told me my baby too small according to the measurements he got , but when my baby was born, he was 3.34kg, but still look small in size, smaller is easier to give birth than a bigger baby, so dont worry, and, its true that talking to your unborn is very effective, according to the Shichida method, a cheerful mummy will give birth to a cheerful baby, and they warned us not to quarrel with anyone at all, as it may effect your unborn, and if you see anybody quarrel, pls excuse yourself. You can also try imagine that you are seeing a blue flower for eg, then tell you unborn that mummy is seeing a beautiful blue flower and I'm sure you are seeing it as well, if you see it, kick 3 times, something like that to make sure you are communicating with your baby and your baby respond. This was what the Shichida ppl shared at the seminar, not sure how effective and if it will happen to everyone, but just try it.

6 Characteristics of a Well-Developed Baby:-
Calm, always smiling
Seldom Agitated
Does not wake up crying at night
sociable with different people
Absorbs information very well
Strong right brain ability

Potential of the Right Brain:-
Multiple Language Mastery
High-speed learning
photographic memory
Rapid Calculation ability
High IQ Level (140pts)
Rich Creativity
Sharp sensory ability

There is a programme on TV 5 every monday night @ 730pm - 8pm,about the shichida method & how the children benefits from the method, check it out

A foetus and a baby have amazing genius abilities. These are the right brain abilities. The right brain is active during the foetal period and from zero to three years old.

The right brain works in the sub-conscious state. It has been considered that a foetus and a baby have no intelligence because they do not know languages. But it has been discovered that they are able to communicate not through words but by using their intuitive senses, memory and image ability.

Fennie, do you let your 8yo son attend shichida method enrichment classes? I have seen some kids who attended this classes have fabulous memories and know more, but the fees are really very high, not to mention, we have to teach our kids at home everyday as well.

Hi Piyoz,

Yup the detailed scan section usu have to wait quite long. But the sonographer and nurses at TMC are generally quite nice.

Zu En,

Looks like its also a worrying day for u. Take good care and monitor yr bb regularly. 800+g at 27 weeks is really small. If i am not wrong, my colleague who got complication and has to c-sect at 27 weeks also deliver her boy around 800+g weight and in ICU for around 2 mths i tink. She has no choice but to switch to KKH as ICU is v ex. Her hospital bag etc are not packed but most of the things she bot ored.

I guess I have to start preparing my hospital bag just in case.. maybe everyone shd do so too.. just in case of anyting.

Veniz,
I just heard about Shichida during the First Mum's Congress I attended last saturday, and find their Prenatal Educated interesting, its $295 for 2 lessons & suitable for pregnant women from 2-7 months.

According to them, prenatal is more effective.

No, my 8yr old is not attending Shichida, like you said, its expensive, and maybe too late to start him now, most kids start at 2-3yrs old or even earlier.

I played alot of Mozart to him during my 1st pregnancy and I think that helps, cos he is a smart boy, feedbacks from his teachers, he manages his school work well, and I dont buy him assessment , just make sure he finishes his homework.I also sent him to learn Phonics since he was 4 yrs old and I think it helped him greatly, cos he is able to read quite well before entering school.