(2008/06) June 2008

ellysia,
ya, i also will early start my maternity leave also. our gynae will give us a letter before we start our maternity leave. cos our hr need that letter too..

cactus...
i love fave stuff.
i hv been buying from them... all sorts of dried fruits... my mum and sis love them too.

ellysia...
reali dun understand why ur boss like dat... so unreasonable... hug hug...

Hi gers,
Thanks for all the encouragement. Yeah, was quite demoralised after the visit yday. Worse after talking to my mum. Sob, sob.. She kept insisting that it must be bcos of my diet. All I can do now is to eat healthily and try not to overstress myself lor. I am oso quite worried that my boss cannot understand and is unhappy if I cannot meet dateline or need to go on leave to rest. But at the end of the day, I guessed work comes second.

Ellysia,
Ya, 820g is small for 27th week. From the way that my BP had been climbing, I think it is the BP that contributes to it. The only thing that I can take comfort now is that the situation is not that bad that I have to take the bb out now. Doc will monitor and advise accordingly. If things turn worse in the future, we will really have to think about switching to KKH. It will cost us alot of $$ to put bb in ICU for 1 month in TMC.

Re: Durian
I told my mum to not insist that I eat durian to increase bb's weight cos it is not proven. I told her that I dun want to end up not increasing bb's weight, then my blood sugar shoot up. -.o"

<font color="ff0000">TF*

ha ha if i were to drag over the weekend.. for sure i will not recall a single thing already..

zuen*

my SIL oso due to high BP so she had to deliver her boy earlier which is @ week 38 but both baby and mummy are well so need not worry
&amp; ya pls go easy on durian.. not a good way out</font>

zuen...
hugs... yes... work comes second... if things dun work out, can always find another job... but baby is flesh and blood. maybe u can find things to do outside of office hours that will keep u occupied and happy... pick up a hobby, or watch some nice shows etc...

one thing... if u ever feel dizzy all of a sudden... pls call your gynae immed. cos it cld be your high BP. and this can be dangerous for bb. i know of someone who was at full-term, then felt dizzy all of a sudden one night... then few hrs later had cramps and rush to hosp, but it was too late... baby has died... as a result of the high BP, baby cldnt breathe...

i oso dun believe in eating durian to beef baby up. my mum actuali told me that durian's meat is actuali "poisonous" and may even cause baby to hv skin problems after born.

ZuEn,try not be too bothered by what your mom says. I'm sure she's saying all this out of worry and concern for you and the bb. i think best is take everything in moderation. If pple say dun eat, try not to eat though.. dun want them to nag cos not good for you also. (Hugs!)

<font color="119911">ladies, just to add some smiles to ur faces
i just happen to see some of my ger's old pics &amp; here is one candid one.. check out wats on her head.. no prizes for guessing right though *wink*

1306615.jpg

zuen,

I delivered my #1 early at 37 weeks, due to high bp too. was induced.

I feel that BP very hard to control. The more I want to relax, the more tensed up I get every time my gynae measures my BP.

Guess like what you said, try to be less stressed.

Ah mor, your gal so cute leh.

Piyoz, your 'roti john' description really good. Actually I like to eat roti johns, now, hmm...... maybe not.

Fennie, I had let my #1 attend phonics class but pulled him out as the teacher is no good. With me preggie and hubby biz with work and pt studies, its difficult for us to find a phonic class near my MIL hse. He is attending nursery enrichment class which his teacher told me she incorporated phonics in the classes, so for time being, we just monitor how he is doing before I check out for more classes for him.

morraine
so cute yr bb gerl....mayb she thought a shower cap...hahahha

zuen
my SIL had BP twice b4 she delivered her 1st son...had to stay hospital twice a few days to keep track on her BP....but when her bb was fine and healthy when he was born...

<font color="ff0000">veniz*

this pic is very old already.. she is barely a yr old when this pic was taken.. my ger looks real diff from day one till now.. at times when i gazed thru the pics.. im like.. WOW!!

danryan*

nope i lied to her tat it was a hat! hahaha</font>

morraine,

U mean gynae can give hospitalisation leave even though we are staying at home?

liew,

When will gynae gave us the letter? The letter will state when we need to take rest?

morraine,

know what you mean. I've this frame with a space for photo for baby for each month for his first year. I was just compiling his photos and choosing his best for each month.

Their faces look different every month. Only when I take them out and compare, then I realise how much my boy has grown.

TF,
phew...go thru all the bb stuff liao. sure i do need some disciplin to get things done. i ve packed a couple of bags for u. hb intend to ve breakfast ard expo on fri am, so is 10+ alrite wif u? can sms me back lah if more convi.

Ellysia,
now more "an xin" rite? dun worri, yur bb will be fine, but like doc said, jus keep monitoring lar.

Morr,
dun tell me the "thing" on little ash's head is disposable panties? look like it to me....lol...

<font color="ff0000">ellysia*

yesh! i got close to 3 weeks of HL prior to my EDD for my #1 coz im just being plain lazy and wanted to play mj and shop around before delivery *lol*</font>

Veniz,

I tot got maternity types one. I bot disposable panties before for travel use. But usu they are quite small size, i dunno can squeeze in after giving birth.

Piyoz,

I have bot madame from Kiddy Palace ored. But i tink i buy too many, i also bot Kotex ones. So yest i mix the brands and bring different type of pads in hospital bag, cos in case one brand no good can use the other brand.

<font color="ff0000">piyoz*

ya ya she looks so alien when she was just a few hours old when i look at the shots which hubby took inside the delivery ward!

crystal*

nope! but u are pretty close.. its pull up pants diaper!! ha ha ha</font>

morraine,

WAH u get so long leave? yr gynae gave u?

U ask yr gynae one or he give u?

Cos i ask my gynae before, she say normally people just take 1 week in advance rest. I dunno should i ask her or wat.

crystal,

Now more an xin cos bb got move this morning and he seem to resume back his normal hyper kicks since yest we came back from gynae clinic.

Zu EN,

i tot durians increase cholestral level??

Since yr BP is ored high, better dun eat durians cos dunno wat effect leh.

Ways to lower BP,

U can eat bitterguard, celery, low salt &amp; low fat food. Fish oil is also rumoured to lower BP.

ya he gave me willingly.. i did not force him ha ha.. he always very open to giving HL or MC coz he always think preggy woman must rest more!! so maybe u can sound ur gynae out but telling him/her u are getting heavier towards the end den very tired to go to work n etc?</font>

ah mor, ya, your gal (as in the msn photo) looks so sweet now. Like her eyes, every adoring. Oh btw, told my hb I want 2 call my galgal Vivienne, he never say anything, so it means its a positive nod from him. So happy.

Ellysia, oh, I thought you can use the normal different size of cotton disposable ones, which if find soft enough for me, not so 'papery' feeling. I cannot use maternity types coz I no buttocks even though I plump.

ZuEn,
i was informed tat the Anmum milk can help bb gain wtg too. would u like to try it? i ve some sample milk sachets from my hospital which i can pass to u if u like cos i cant take them - lactose intolence. for your HBP, check wif yur gynae if u can take celery juice? my dad has HBP for years too &amp; his doc ask him to take tat as a healthier alternative to keep the BP in check. if u ok to take, then can try lar. let me know...in the meantime, do take care yeah...

aiyo her eyes when she was stil an infant.. was so miserably small lor den we were like.. hmmm me and hubby though not big eyed but oso not so small ones lor.. but luckily the eye 'grew' in size! *phew*

Cool! so Ang Di Di will have a Vivienne mei mei!

morraine,

Its a good idea.

Maybe i wait until next appt in April then i ask. If she can give me HL, then i can rest at home up to 2 weeks in advance liao. Cos i have colleagues who give birth 2 weeks in advance, so play safe a bit will be good.

My gynae is v open to give MC one, she always offer. But i dunno about HL bec' by right shd stay at hospital then counted as HL.

I need to take advance leave bec' work here getting too stress up, then also a lot of last min thing not done, can use the time at home to read up how to use steriliser etc etc.

Veniz,

me cannot, my buttock is ored big before pregnancy now bigger plus thighs etc.

U know where got sell maternity disposable panties?

go try for it!
den u can dun waste ur MC nor ur AL.. HL does not mean have to stay at hospital den can be issued.. this one is for sure.. i checked before.. so far whenever i go to visit my gynae, i wil take HL oso even for one day instead of MC and i dun need to waste my AL oso for the check up

u mite wanna try places which sells maternity wear for maternity disposable panties or maybe even kiddy palace? if i drop by sometime this week, i help u see see look look.. </font>

Hello
Cum across this so might as well post:

Singapore Expo Car Park Charges
- Rates apply from Monday to Sunday including public holidays
i) 7am - 5pm
First two hours = $2.14
Subsequence 1/2 hr = $1.07

ii) 5pm - 7am
Per entry = $2.14
Subject to a maximum of $12.84 per day.

Ellysia, Maternity disposable panties can get from watsons or guardian. some bigger supermarket like NTUC may sell also (near pads section) Hopsital will provide you with one, so just bring one or two extras to hospital can liao. I suggest you buy one pack first, if size ok, then buy a few more packs to stock up at home.

Ah Mor, haha, ya, that noti Ang DiDi will have this V meimei lor. Tonight will ask him to change his name back to actual one, otherwise will tell him call Ang Gorgor liao (shakes head).
I like Ashley's eyes' shape. 'Fong yen' look. sweet.

morraine,

I didn't see in Kiddy Palace.

Eh.. so yr gynae need to issue u paper for hospitalisation leave then counted? Do u give yr company in advance?

Wat i mean is those 3 weeks u take in advance of yr EDD u use HL, yr gynae gave me HL paper for 3 weeks then u give HR in advance?

Morraine,
I am worried that the high BP leads to low blood flow to bb as such bb cant grow well. Normally, the mummy's BP will resume back to normal after delivery. It is a matter of how to pull thru' until full term. Once the doc detect that the bb is not getting enuff, he will take the bb out. So right now, will just monitor and hope that bb grows. One day inside the womb = one more day of chance to grow. Unless she not growing liao, then keep inside oso no use.

Soyabean,
Ya, that's why I was very worried when I was plagued by dizzy spell awhile ago. I am a Thala minor too, so I cant tell if the dizziness is bcos of low iron or high BP. Sulk.. If BP too high, mummy will be at risk of fits/ stroke &amp; coma. I oso not gg to eat durian hust to increase weight. I guess moderation is the best.

Piyoz,
That's exactly how I feel. The moment I am at the clinic to take BP, it shoots up together with my pulse rate. -.o" I dun feel very stress leh, but I guess some stress are quite invisible. Moreover, work stress is unavoidable.

Re: High BP during pregnancy
That's an article in the papers today (Mind your Body). The mummy developed high BP 200/100 during her 30th week and needs to be hospitalised. The doc took out the bb at 32 weeks bcos bb not growing anymore. The bb only 1.25kg then wor. Stayed in ICU for 2 months but survived. The bb is 4 years old today.
I read le duno to be happie or sad.. -.o"

wahahah.. Ang Gor Gor leh.. tel him this name not so stylo la.. D is nicer la!!

oh ya ladies.. please prepare more maternity pads to ur hospital hor coz i recalled i brought only one pack there tat time and i belong to those type who changes pads very frequent so ending up using up my packet real soon and guess wat.. the hospital charges real ex for one packet and yesh u can get from the pharmacy at the hospital region but its stil ex!! therefore i had to ask my gfrens to buy for me outside before they came by to visit me.. so lesson learnt!</font>

i just called back office telling them im on HL lor den when i delivered, i called again to tel them i delivered so the ML started from the day i delivered
and the HL is just like a normal pc of MC just tat instead of ticking Medical Leave on the MC, my gynae ticked the Hospitalisation Leave box and i did not manage to give my co the MC till i returned after my 3 months of ML.. hee.. and when i gave them upon my return, they were like.. erm dun need laioz lor.. haha and nope i did not take 3 weeks in one shot coz we will be seeing our gynae very frequent towards the EDD period so therefore i took one week each time i see him den renew as the weeks goes by

Ellysia
Yap, HL does nt nd to be in hospital. But hor, judging fr yr niao boss, when u going for HL hor, u start hinting your pregnancy difficulty (the consistent one) so tat when u take, the reason tie in closely. Also say same thing to yr colleague. Else if u look super normal, yr boss tot u did it on purpose, knwing him/her.

Ellysia,
All the food that you mentioned all sound inedible to me, haha. I am trying to cut down on salt and sugar le. Will check with the doc during my next apptm.

Crystal,
Thanks for offering. I can only take chocolate milk, power form = no no. Will vomit. ;p I think I sound like a difficult mummy. Doc havent confirm the reason for low bb's weight. If it is bcos of my high BP, I dun think the milk will help. Will find out more during the next visit.

<font color="ff0000">zuen*

for my SIL, her BP went down only slightly after delivery till now.. dun worry now.. really.. it wil not help aid the matter and u shld probably control ur diet slightly den..

anyway baby's weight usually will increase tremendously towards the 3rd tri or so.. so just sit back and relax!

ellysia*

the moral of the story is.. bring more and being kiasu wun hurt!!

Ellysia, you try neighbourhood/ major shopping centres' watsons or guardians (bigger store). Those in Raffles place hor, I always cannot find much stuff one. Have to search around. I buy mine from NTUC as when going there on marketing trips. Till date I haven't stock up all as I don't really go marketing at NTUC much.

morraine,

OIC. Cos for ML my office procedure is i need to fill up a form instead of normal leave when we apply electronically.

When my gynae gave me MC for appt, i also just go to her clinic then tell office i take MC for tat day le.

When did yr gynae suggest HL? Cos i dun want to end up if my gynae didn't give HL then i have to quickly apply leave/ML v last minute.

Veniz,

OK i go AMK NTUC find see got or not.

Zu En,

The food i describe also seems inedible to me.

Cos my hb just checked his BP at office checkup and realise v high BP, recently i just change his diet. He took celery drink, cooked celery and bitterguard at Cai Fan. Maybe u can try tat.

morraine,
Ya, I oso noe shouldnt worry, but the issue is nudging me non-stop since last night. Although I went to bed early, woke up feeling tired. I think it is stressing me out subconsciously. Now can only eat and sleep well and hope that BP = normal &amp; bb has grown more during the next visit.
Talking about pads, I havent pack my hospital bag. Since I am in the higher risk category, I think I better do so soon. -.o"

Ellysia,
Originally, I intend to work until the last day. My boss aly openly tell me to take oni 2.5 mths of ML at one go. Now.. I dun dare to tell her that I might have complications. I told my other colleagues though. Will take one step as it comes. So difficult to handle bosses hor.

morraine,

OIC
Heee.

Ok i try ask on next appt @ Apr since its nearer.

Cos i sense my boss recently try to pile more work on me so tat i can do more before i go on ML, then he want me to clear my current o/s tasks before ML, but most of such o/s task require input from others or pending other people processing. Keep asking me to chase them this and that.

Zu En,

Agree!! Bosses not so symphaetic towards us preggy.

Worst case scenario, take HL or MC to rest at home if need. Just take and go liao.

Me also panic liao, better start pack my bag too. A lot of things haven't buy le.

<font color="ff0000">zuen*

ya just pack ur bag first coz whether u are in the high risk category or not.. its wise to be prepared oso
resting and sleeping more indeed will help in baby growth as advised by my gynae so even though u cannot sleep but lying down to watch tv or reading book oso counts..

ellysia*

*heh* ya ya.. since ur boss so %$&amp;&amp;$%&amp;^ den dun bother to think so much for him!</font>

morraine,

Yup! At first i tink got to prepare to handover work etc then got to tell my colleagues wat o/s work etc. Then later i tink v hard to predict then i dun want to end up rushing to hospital from office, everything so gan cheong. But if take ML too early, also not good bec' will shorten the period at home with bb. Then office sure dun let me extend ML with annual leave one.

i'm bak from my gynae's visit. Today was really a bad day for me. Hubby's car broke down when we are goin to the clinic, ended up had to call the cab. Then while waiting for the cab, i puked my breakfast.
At clinic, waited for an hour before my turn and my gynae assured me that my illness wont caused any problem to my bb. During the scan, my gynae commented that my bb weight is 'very average' at 746gm. I'm into wk27 tomorrow. So, i know he means my bb is very small but he din said much after that , just give me 2 days MC and asked me to rest well.
So, ZuEn, dont worry so much about ur bb weight, my bb is even smaller, just hopefully by 3rd trimester, our bb can catch up the weight with oths.
And i din gain any weight at all since the visit a mth ago, which caught me by surprised. Maybe i was sick this 2 days and dont eat much.

ok, i'm goin to take a rest again. Chat later.

morraine,
I think I have every reason to sleep and rest at home now. Housework can go to hb. But strangely, I feel great recently wor. Even managed to vacuum and mop floor last weekend.

Ellysia,
We are shifting to a new premises and it is estimated that it would be done when I am on ML. So, I am expected to pack up before I go for my ML and my colleagues will do the shifting for me. Looks like I should start packing up soon and put things in boxes since I duno when I might deliver or induce.

Felicia,
Take care, take care. Must rest well. I oso oni put on 0.8kg since 4 weeks ago. I am 27 weeks and 2 days yday and my bb weighs 820g and my doc says that it is a small bb wor. Smaller than average. Average should be about 1kg now. Big bbs can even go up to 1.2kg. Hb &amp; I all quite big size, so our bb shouldnt be too small size if she takes after us. Thanks for your encouragement anyway.. I am worrying myself silly. Jia you!