(2008/06) June 2008

liew,
i thot durian wil make bb big leh. my colleague treat durian puffs frm goodwood 2wks ago n i feel guilty after eatin 1. in e end, i forced them finish up my other durian goodies. kekeke.

felicia,
i aso eat fast food whenever got e mood. well, my mood is at least once a wk.
cos Mac n KFC is jus 1min drive frm my hme!!! impossible to gif them a missed. hahahaha

cactus,
that's what i heard too, that durian will cause bb to be big. so far, have only eaten durian twice during pregnancy. the craving is really strong at times.
already told my hubby that i will endure and make up for it at the durian buffet at goodwood park in july! hee.

mrswrx, no need to feel sorry lah. we're all free to post our comments on forum mah. can agree or disagree with each other on same topic mah.

morraine
Abt HFMD...my 2nd son got this last year then my 1st son cannot attend his nursery class till his bro is ok....

on my 1st preggy....i ate alot of durian when i went to my MIL hse at Pahang which is freshly from the tree....but hor when i gave birth my son, he only 2.45kilo heheheheh in fact i am the one who put on weight abt 20kilo hahahahha

cactus, felicia,
yes i am durian lover. But i heard all my senior and bosses told me eat durian will make bb stronger and not easily fall sick wor..

Morraine:
Thread moved too fast.. Pai eh for the late reply.

Is it? Cos i saw another popular measurement for baby cot too. 28"x42". So i'm not sure which one is more common. Mine (28"x52") or this one.

Tera:
Welcome back!

My sis is also in HK now with her hubby but she called me to say that got bird flu now and 3 kids were dead. So my sis and her hubby dun dare to go crowded places or eat at roadside stalls. They have been eating at fast food places which they felt are safer..

So things were ok when you were there?

Tera
Welcome back. Any good buys fr HKG? How's trip? See you 2mrw, so excited to go nw for the class.

Cactus
Ya, the worst thing is when i went for my detailed scan, the file was nt ready sent to the Fetal Assessment dept (even after 18 hrs). Then can hear 2 depts blaming each other for nt sending/receiving the file. So I abit scared liao when come my delivery day, how else blurr can the visiting doctors be.

liew, I think everything eat in moderation. my understanding is durian is high in sugar, and diabetes and gout patients should not take it at all. Maybe you want to google the nutritional value of durian before eating it or deciding how much to eat? but I still feel everything in moderation is best loh.

TF, I think KKH's admin staff really cannot make it. but I believe the doctors there are still professional. The visiting doctors should be ex-KKH doctors right?

Cactus
Sori, I mean duty doctors for delivery if i dun go pte. Actually like nw the Medical Officer so far has nt ask me if i nd supplements, etc.. Lucky i stock up fr my prev gynae. Next week is my next appt, i see wat this different medical officer say.

liew,

wah! durian party, somemore!Agreed with cactus, tat everything in moderation is best. But sometime really cannot resist the temptation.

Worst part is my mil and hubby try to tempted me when they eat the durians. Ended up i eat more than what i intended as my mil said cannot not eat when feel like eating as bb will drool when born.

angel_z,
Yah, when I was there, kept reading in their local papers the report of the strange flu which killed 3 school children. Apparently, the medical team are not sure if it's bird flu or a repeat of SARS. Guess cos we were already there in HK, we can only reassure ourselves that the cases happened in Tuen Mun which according to hubby, was quite far from where we were staying at Causeway Bay. :p We ate mainly in those "cha chan teng" (tea house) and the places that we went to, we still see a lot of ppl on the streets so the situation din seem so bad. As such, I think ur sis and bro-in-law need not worry too much.

TF,
Haha, was going to tell u more tmr when we meet!
It was a good trip, v good weather and I walked a lot in those 4 days cos of the places we visited eg Disneyland and also walks to/within MTR stations. Also, needed to be careful cos some of the MTR rides were v crowded. And oh, I realised not many preggies in HK, either that or they dun go out. :p According to my HK fren, the birth rate in HK is rather low. And so, I got quite a few curious stares at my tummy. Hmm...

As for shopping, sad to say, din buy much except for 2 rompers, a polo t-shirt and a palm-size mickey mouse (hope to place in hosp basket for easy recognition of bb) at disneyland. Most of the bb stuff's price is comparable with SGP so no point lugging it back.

TF,

actually, it is not necessary to take supplements during pregnancy. only if we feel kia su, or if we are not eating well. most doctors, esp in private practice, ask us to buy supplements cos they earn $ from us. They buy cheap, sell to us at a profit. I think the best is to do research and know what you ought to expect. if a medical officer suggests somethign which you cannot agree with, or if the medical officer fails to advice you on something, just raise it up to him/her. after all, doctors are also human. they don't know everything. Just my 2 cents' worth.

Fennie,

A healthy weight gain if you are average weight before pregnancy, will be 10-12KG throughout whole pregnancy.

If u are overweight before pregnancy, u have to gain less during pregnancy, and vice-versa for underweight.

Cactus
Actually i nt a believer of supplements until pregnancy, bo pian, cos i knw i wont eat balance food or maybe dun eat enuf. Yap, i agree abt doctors being human too. Some are Theory Extremist, some are Kiasu Extremist, etc.. very much depend on their personality type too. So can't blame them cos everything in life is just a judgment n opinion

cactus,

If a pregnant women is eating a well-balanced diet everyday, maybe supplements won't be needed. But for most people who are working and sometimes cannot have enough balanced diet, supplements will be needed.

I believe in supplements. Over sometime when i didn't take supplements, it caused me problems such as legs pain (not enuff strength) which is associated with lack of calcium. So i still tink taking natal supplements is impt.

My gynae ask me if i am taking supplements diligently and she feel pleased that i have eaten them regularly.

Among the supplements given, the nurse told me the multi-vit is the least impt. The calcium pills are impt to me bec i dun tink i can possibly eat 1200mg calcium per day through natural diet. Fish oil i believe is impt esp at 3rd trim stage when bb brain is developing.

Anyone going down to isetan on the 17 March to buy the pursik? I am thinking of getting one, $29.90 quite worth since its retailing for $42+. I saw the MIM brand also selling for $42+ and hotsling at $69+. Any review so far?

mrswrx and Tera,

When my bb gain a lot of weight in 1 mth, my gynae also suspect i eat durian, ask me whether i got eat or not. Hee but i didn't lah. So i believe durian do increase bb weight.

morraine/ danryan,

Any method to prevent HFMD? I'm quite worry with this as i plan to let my ger enrol to childcare after my confinement and i heard HFMD spread very fast at childcare.

Felicia
Only method is not to let ur kid interact with those who have it. Wash hands and disinfect toys. But sometimes difficult, some parents are bo chap, some din know until school calls them that their kids are sick. Part and parcel of school and CC.

<font color="ff0000">muffin*

im interested oso! think its easier to handle compared to MIM sling..

felicia*

ya its hard to prevent.. it depends alot on the childcare centre's cleaniess level and the parents themselves</font>

Cactus
Haha... I truly agree wif u tat they also knw hw to sweet talk or say wat u wnt to hear too. Actually S'pore doc nt easy too, anything wrong, suing starts. So nw they talk safe language, ending up, no language-- meaning equal to nt saying.

Felicia
No injection from wat I know.

Fennie
I will answer ur pm here ok, its a place for sharing so everyone can get more information. Pupsik is like a baby pouch carrier. Maybe you would like to check this website.
http://www.pupsikstudio.com/index.php

Morraine
Looks nice and easy to handle right? The problem is that I already have an ergo carrier, juz that I dun really like it as I find it v manly. Have to justify to my HB.

bizzsnow,

I have higher metabolism rate before pregnancy and i get hungry v easily. My weight has been the same since secondary school, only sometimes slightly increase 1KG then reduce 1KG. Even at times when i dun exercise. For me, my weight gain mostly will come from junk food if any.

Felicia,

Our digestion reduce after 9pm everyday. So anything u eat after 9pm will be absorb v slowly and thus not recommended to eat stuff after 9pm as u gain weight v easily if u take supper often.

But it is not wise to be hungry during pregnancy. So if u are hungry after 9pm, suggest either u sleep early, or you eat healthy biscuits (low salt/low fat) or wholemeal bread in small portions or drink a glass of milk. Fries consumed during supper will be hard to digest and thus can accumulate to fats.

I'm wondering if pupsik provides adequate back support. But it's a very good deal! And looks really comfortable!

I'm actually thinking of buying the baby chair for feeding. That's the weekday sale item of the following week though. does anyone have feedback on that?

<font color="ff0000">cactus*

the baby chair for feeding, i think can buy later.. its still too early unless u have sufficient storage place though
for me we used the ikea one and its good enuff and my ger is using it till now or at times she will sit inside her bumbo on top of our dining chair when she dines with us at the dining table</font>

Thanks for the feedback, morraine. I think your gal is very "guai1"! Cos my nephew hates being into that ikea chair. He refuses to be strapped down... In the end, he's fallen off the high chair twice already! that's why I'm thinking of something low...

Felicia,

Actually u know why i eat so much tat time and gain 3KG over 1 mth?

Cos many of my colleagues keep saying my tummy is v small and i need to eat more etc so that my bb can grow well. Then some colleagues even tell me that i need to eat for 2 person and my weight gain is too little and not healthy.

So in the end i eat so much that i gain 3KG over 1 mth and my bb overweight by 1 week's weight. Gynae asked me wat i eat over the past mth and commented that it is not healthy to eat for 2. In fact, we shd eat normally and if hungry we eat small snacks.

So in the end i regretted influenced by colleagues. Now i dun care if anyone say my tummy is small or wat. I will just tell them my bb weight is normal and in fact is on the high side, so there is no need for me to eat for 2 at the moment.

liew -

thus i tink the durian issue- whether it is good for bb or not, dun believe yr colleagues totally.. so far i dun tink there is any scientific evidence yet so dun eat durian just tinking it will benefit the bb. In fact i tink eating too much durians will increase the cholestral level and is actually not v healthy.

I also dun believe having a big bb is considered v healthy bb cos if too big - may lead to obesity in future and health probs. I had a guy classmate who has been obese from young and he had high blood pressure and heart problem at young age 20.

<font color="ff0000">cactus*

no lor.. there are times when she simply refuse to sit inside but we will enforce it on her as in no sitting down inside den no meals.. kids have to be trained so if u strap them down since day one.. they wil not say reject so much coz they oso kind of used to it.. the thing about them not being happy of being strapped down is coz they cannot move around which is one NO NO thing for my ger during meal time.. so to so called 'trick' her to sit down thruout the meal time, we let her self feed herself with small amt of food den we feed her the main portion coz in this way, she can learn to use the cutlery and oso learn to feed herself and yet sit down thruout one meal.. they just want to be like adults.. trust me.. *lol*</font>

cactus,

I recall tat my gynae ever ask me if i need any supplements - e.g. calcium before she prescribe for me - during the beg of 2nd trim.

For me i know my calcium is not enuff bec' i take v little calcium food/diet before pregnancy. Fish oil bec i dun like fish so much and also i feel nausea when too strong fish smell, so i tink fish oil is impt for me.

I tink u really take a good effort to eat enuff for balanced diet since u dun take supplements.

But from wat i understand recently, the required amt of calcium and fish DHA is much more than the prescribed supplements, which means we have to eat additional on top of the supplements. For e.g. calcium pills give 600mg but recommended is 1200mg so need to take extra.

morraine,
I believe that kids need to be trained to sit during meal and when safety issues are concerned. My hb and I are very strict with our gal regarding car seats. No matter how she cry when young, we will not let her out of her car seat. My hb says no negotiation. For me, seating down and eat is also a must. Cant stand seeing those maids chasing their little 'masters' to stuff food into their mouth. Oops, no offence to anyone ok, juz my view.

Hi Muffin,

The Pupsik looks similar to the Baby Sling from MIM, but it is much cheaper now, because of the sale price, tempting to get one, but just not sure how is it compare to Baby Sling, where to buy again pls?

Fennie
You can get it at Isetan weekday special. 17-21 Mar. I am not too sure if you need a Isetan card to purchase but it states that there is no further Isetan Card discount.

Muffin,
I think the difference between Baby Sling &amp; Pupsik is that Baby Sling is one size fits all, but Pupsik comes in 4 different sizes.
So are you getting 1 next week? which isetan, does the one at orchard scotts has?i heard you ladies talked about isetan sale yday, so the pupsik is only available from 17-21st March, am I right?thanks

JP,

My boy sensitive nose, so no air-con for him. Thanks for the suggestion though. His temp starting to drop. Doc said just got to let him slowly recover.

TF,
ohhh, didn't know you ladies started yahoo group already. I just signed up =)

Ellysia,
your baby of very good weight =) don't worry, babies borned big doesn't mean they will grow up fat. Most of them shed their weight when they start running around. Good birth weight babies much easier to care for. My #1 borned 2.78kg.... healthy but considered small. Remember he was so fragile at the beginning.... so scared to carry him.

cactus,
My #1 using the ikea high chair. Found it very good personally. we don't strap him down with the strap provided, but cos the chair is quite deep, he's very secure inside. He doesn't like the bumbo chair very much, will push himself out once his legs can touch the floor. Ikea high chair, he can't get out... legs will be just swinging in the air, which he enjoys anyway.

mrswrx,
my gynae mentioned the weight is just an estimation. plus minus 100g or more. So maybe our babies actually same weight.