(2008/06) June 2008

mrswrx,
Can you check if there's camphor in the backache cream that the doc gave? I heard camphor is dangerous to bb and had been tahan-ing with my backache, putting my precious yoko, yoko away. ;p

Jp,
My bb will be call Shauna, which is supposed to mean "God is gracious". Hb & I flipped the entire bb name book and finally saw this name that we both agreed on.

Cactus
thanks. ok, will enquire hospital direct, n really hope to change to A if later baby can redirect agn. Ya, I was taken aback on seeing the patients ard me in KKH on my 1st visit. In fact, b4 my Q was a pregnant prisoner escoted by police. These r all the different faces of life. Already felt the lady who takes calls to change appt date very rude.

Ellysia
Thanks. Will try

JP
We found one, but still nt confirm. My hubby name it after his working Company name and just put a M in front. ha..ha..

Mrswrx
Huh, u dare to explore all these vaccination tho its safe. I wldnt if i can avoid.

All,
me back from gynae checkup..Put on 3.3kg this mth...BB put on 1.1kg @29wks..

Ellysia,
I also hv to go for the suger blood test next wk cos gynae worry that I might hv high blood cos put on 3kg these 2 mths...So next wed I hv to take the test...haiz..

Next mth onwards is 3wks appt once...

My boy down with viral infection. Fever till 39 degrees.... today already day 3, temp still flunctuating =(

baby sick... I always very stressed!!!

piyoz
my both sons just recovered from fever too 40deg...doc insert tablet into his anus to cut down the temperature...almost a wk then the temp subside...medication finished but still not ok so took repeat medication at the same clinic

saw my little one last fri =) 750g at 23 weeks. This #2, I anyhow eat, didn't really pay attention to my diet... end up baby grew quite well.

#1.... my diet so healthy, no caffeine, so sinful junk food, still end up very small.

zuen,
ok, i check later. thks. yoko yoko safe ah??

tf,
cos previously i was down wif food posion, LS, flu n fever. took long time to recover n hospitalize aso. + flu bug loves me alot, i heard its safe for preggy to get flu vacc. took e jab @ gynae, shld be safe bah.. i wun dare to take if at GP, got bad experience wif GP since preggy.

danryan,

oh no.... your boys must feel terrible. Good thing they ok now.

My boy 39 degrees only, he already blur blur. Whole face burning red. he's only prescribed fever mixture. Now getting harder to feed him the medication.... he already recognise it's medicine, will always kick up a fuss every time he sees the bottle or the sringe

mrswrx - As long as BB is fine, we mummies are happy liao!

Zuen - It does take some time to start the communication. After repeating several days, BB will know the codes *wink* That' a nice name!

TF - Wah, your DH so loyal to his co ah? But as long as both of you are happy with it, that's what counts!

feifei - I love going for check-up as its my chance to see BB. Yup, the 3rd trimester is where we will pile on the weight...BB growing mah!

piyoz - Aiyoh, know how you feel. Sending over lots of quick healing vibes!!! One thing that works for my boy when he has fever - put him in the air-con room with temp of 25 degrees C to bring down fever.

This message is a repeat for those who miss reading.

You can now DIY (do-it-yourself) the latest update of your contacts n baby's info in the Yahoo. Just follow the link below and go to "Database":
http://asia.groups.yahoo.com/group/June08_Motherhood/

To navigate around, click the menu on the left:
Message - For email msg to all members
File - Files tat you want all to view
Photo - Create a folder for your name to archive any photos for members
Links - Share any useful weblinks
Database - Please update your details and your baby's info for the latest
Members - These are members who are in the Yahoo.group
Calendar - To input any upcoming events / reminders for benefit of all members

Look forward to your contributions and hope this serves as a useful site for all of us w/o losing any info. Let me know your email if you have not join so i can invite u. Thanks

piyoz,
yr bb grew faster than mine compare tat we r close in EDD. tdy bb weighs 665g @ wk24. yrs wk23 already 750g. kekeke. i aso nvr care abt diet. eat watever i wan, but wil try to include vege if possible.

Mrswrx,

Heh, so nice you ladies meet up? Yesterday I saw 2 mums standing there chatting and their little bb in front of them in those carrier. So funny. One bb was scratching the other bb and the bb like so gong gong let the other bb scratch.

feifei,
do u mean if put on too much weight within a mth might due to sugar problem?
Aiyo, cham! Coz i had put on 2.5kg so far from my previous check up which is 3 weeks ago. Moreover i had eaten some durians over the last weekend. I think is time for me to watch my diet as well.

TF - OIC...ha!ha!...still have to time!

feifei - No worries lah! Just listen to your obgyn lah...they know best! When I had my #1, I weighed 73kg before I pop. Imagine me before PG was 49kg....pengsan!!!

piyoz/JP
My eldest son didn't go to school abt 6 days....after all are ok now including me n my hubby....my youngest sis called me dat his son also down wif fever since last friday....school holiday been staying home...

today had homemade tuna sandwich n tau suan for lunch....don't feel like eating heavy coz my mum cook everyday for dinner

Danryan - So lucky, have mom to cook everyday. Me cook everyday for family. BTW, are you a SAHM? What's the age gap between your 2 sons? My #1 is 20 months now...already showing signs of jealousy for #2.

JP
Me FTWM...mom stays wif me n look after my both sons which is Danial going to be 5yrs on 25th October & Raiyan 3yrs on 30th Aug....the 3rd due on 12june

Felicia,
Me ate 2 durian puffs also , and some cakes..mayb thats e reason y I put on 3.3kg this month??! Cos for last and this mth, i put on 3kg each so gynae abit worried..

JP,
Now i am 70.3kg liao..before pregnancy was 57kg..hiaz...

hey ellysia,
congrats on the result..so no need to worry so much liao lor.. hehe..

hey morraine,
u can try ordering from pine garden cakes in amk ave 10..their cakes are nice.. got orange truffle n lychee martini..super yummy.. u can go to their website to check it out.. http://www.pgcake.com

Danryan - You know, sometimes I wish I was a FTWM. As they say, the grass is always greener on the other side...ha!ha! However, since we are going to close shop after #2 (1 boy, 1 girl), once I ensure that #2 is independent enough, I will go back to the work force. Hopefully its not too late...haiz!

JP
Either bb boy or gerl...i still close shop at 3....now thank God i get a bb gerl....but not sure want to have ligation or not.

ellysia
congrats on yr result
my #2 preggy i have to drink the orange juice also but result ok...

<font color="ff0000">bizz*

thanks! i ordered my wedding cake from them

danryan*

aiya my ger oso has slight fever now den HFMD is back in action.. wondering i shld let her go back to school on mon or not first..

about HFMD.. once u have it before, u will not have it again isit? anyone noes?</font>

ooh morraine,
u did ah?? nice rite..my fren ordered hers from there also.. 3 layers..damn nice..i fell in luv with their cakes after dat..tdy i going there to collect 2 bday cakes..yeah..gonna hv my favourite lychee martini again..

Girls...

DH and I just discussed on the hospital bag which we have to pack 1 month before I pop.

I found this list from flowerpod.com.sg very useful.

Standard List Of Things To Pack In Hospital Bag For Day Of Delivery:

Documents To Bring:

1. antenatal checkup card
2. ATM cards (?)
3. gynae's letter (if any)
4. NRIC of husband &amp; wife
5. outpatient appointment card

Items For Mother:

1. disposable breast pads --- to absorb leaking colostrum.
2. disposable cotton panties.
3. elastic hair band --- to tie up hair.
4. face towel.
5. going-home dress --- to wear on day of discharge (a full dress is easier to wear and is more comfortable, particularly if you happened to undergo an emergency caeseran delivery).
6. hair comb or brush.
7. maternity pads --- to absorb heavy postpartum blood flow.
8. mobile phone and its charger!
9. nipple shields --- to protect sore or cracked nipples while breastfeeding.
10. nursing bra --- to use with disposable breast pads.
11. socks --- to keep feet warm.
12. spare plastic bags --- to store soiled/wet clothes &amp; towels.
13. spectacles with case --- if you are short-sighted, but leave your contact lens at home.
14. tissue papers --- bring the soft-pack travel-size type (eg. NTUC/PASEO brand).
15. toiletries --- eg. shampoo, soap, facial cleanser, toothbrush, toothpaste, etc.

Items For Baby:

1. baby blanket or wrap towel --- to wrap baby when going home.
2. booties.
3. mittens.
4. newborn cotton vest.
5. newborn-size disposable diaper.

*** Hospital May Provide The Following: do check with your hospital beforehand, or from the start of your 3rd trimester.

1. baby clothes.
2. baby diapers.
3. baby wrap blanket/towel.
4. bath towels --- in case you need to shower, simply request from the nurse.
5. disposable panties.
6. maternity pads.

*** If you do not want to use what your hospital provides, you can bring your own.

<font color="ff0000">bizz*

yeap
coz my mom stay pretty near them and our Guo Da Li cakes oso from them coz they lent us the traditional carriers and etc

Thks to all mummies for encouragement on my test result

Felicia and feifei,

There is once i gain a total of 3KG over 1 month time. Gynae is worried. Tat mth how do i gain so much weight, roughly this is wat i eat:-

1) 2 portions of meal for lunch and dinner each. If i eat noodles, i will eat 2 bowls. If i eat rice, i will add rice and meat.

2) Fast food almost everyday. Macnuggets and coke, ice-lemon tea.

3) Ice-cream cones - around 2-3 per week

4) Chocolate - some pieces

5) CNY goodies - few boxes

Then cos gynae ask me to cut down diet, i gain only 1KG over 1 month checkup. Then this month i gain 0.5KG over 1 month checkup.

Basically this is wat i cut down:-

1) Meals - i cut down to normal portions but for noodles cos i always feel hungry faster, i add 0.50 or $1 to normal portion. But i dun eat 2 portions.

2) Fast food - i cut down to once per week.

3) Coke - no more coke

4) Ice lemon tea - 1 per month

5) Ice-cream - none in that month

6) Tidbits - some peanuts but no chocolates

Roughly this is how i change my weight gain.. maybe u all can use as a gauge.

been a while since i logged in, hope everyone's doing fine. TGIF!

ellysia,
congrats on the results.

TF,
many thanks on creating the database. ;)

Can anyone share if putting on 8kg at 26weeks is too much?I am already on the heavy side before pregnancy, so afraid I will put on too much when time to pop.

ellysia,

I'm not sure how much weight my bb gain so far as my check is on next Thursday. But for myself i had put on 2.5kgs within this 3 weeks, total increase is about 4.5kg
But i feel bit guilty over the durians i ate last weekend.

Ellysia, don't worry abt starving bb during 1st few days. it is normal for bb to lose weight for first couple of days. bb only needs colostrum. actually don't need even formula milk. but if it makes you feel better, go ahead to supplement. If your PD is pro breastfeeding, you're likely to get alot of support subsequently for breast feeding.

actually i didn't keep track on my diet for this pregnancy....but i gained only 1 kilo fr my last check up....

JP
thanks for the useful list....

Hi Fennie,
If I recall correctly, your EDD is 15 June? Cos so is mine and I am in my 26th week as well. I have also already put on 8kg and according to my gynae it is ok (cos during my last visit abt a mth ago, I have already gained 6kg) and she said it was ok to put on another 2kg in the next mth. Target total wt gain for whole pregnancy is 14kg. Hope that helps.
Actually hor, I may have put on more cos I ate quite a bit when I was in HK. :p Will know next week on my next visit.

JP,
Hiya!

ellysia,
i envy u leh..after cut down ur diet..weight gain reduced significantly..for me it's really different story lor..since my last appt 4weeks ago till now..i oredi gain 3kg..n i dun even take fast food like u do leh..lunch i eat eiither yong tau foo or fish soup lor..all single portion..

ellysia,

Thanks for your details diet explanation. I think my weight gain more due to my intake of food.
Started from 2 weeks ago, i keep feeling hungry. And i still take my normal 3 meals as usual, then plus tea break and supper

Over the past few weeks,2 times, i suddenly feel hungry about 8pm plus, then i request my hubby accompany me to mcdonald, in the end i eat up one burger meal plus fries. Maybe this is the reason. I think i really shld cut down my fast food.

felicia,
don't feel guilty for ate durian. i'm also looking Durian now.. lots of ppl ask me go for eat durian now cos its good for bb health..