(2008/06) June 2008

veniz,
i noe..hehe..normally i try to eat max 2 bak zhang in a day..or else super fattening also..n difficult to digest..

bizznow,
i aso considerin abt e cord blood. its not cheap leh. n i wana noe the life span of e storage. i read their website but din mention e actual life span. if max can keep til 18yrs then i might not consider. but they said its recommended for 1st child to keep e cord blood.

tf,
i dunno leh..still trying to weigh the advantages..cos i hv history of leukaemia in my family..both my elder bro n youngest sis were diagnosed with leukaemia when they were young..so this kind of things is in the genes..since cord blood can help i really thinking wanna store anot lor..juz in case next time touch wood hor..anything happen mah..

bizznow, ya lor, I miss my aunt's mother inlaw's bean bak zhang. Now I am no longer a little gal and dun even have the chance to go her hse, I can't eat it. Hmm, maybe can ask my aunt to get her make some for me. Heehee.

bizznow
The other factor to consider is the matching chances too, so due to so many variable: matching, lifespan on storage and cost, i opting out loh. How did your bro n sis overcome the transfusion currently? Really hope in this world more donate and people like your bro n sis can benefit fr it. Say for eg. Can your baby cord blood help your bro n sis's leukaemia, tho knowing the chances will be slim?

Cactus
Then in olden days, the woman will "tie the tube" wat is tat abt? Also insertion?

<font color="0077aa">TF*

same here.. i dun place my bags on the floor outside and i disallow my maid or my hubby to do so.. heh

crystal*

maybe first child so i was super on the ball? i bet my second one i will be like this.. haha</font>

hi all....
leaving office now... going for my checkup....
cant wait to see how my gal has grown.

btw, i jus got this link from a fren... apparently some brands of bottles are not suitable for use with warmers... so u girls may wanna read abt it.

http://www.chej.org/BPA_Website.htm

TF,

"tie the tube" is ligation. There was an article in yesterday's edition of Today on ligation. Quite an interesting read. you may want to check it out on the archive section of Today online.

bizznow,
I am intending to store the cord blood too, though I noe that there might not be a need for it and medically may not be that advanced now. Like cactus say, like buy insurance lor. Maybe I more kiasu.. Anyway, some a MTB (sorry, I cannot rem who liao) referred me to Stemcord before and somebody did call up. I am waiting for them to send me information.

feifei, felicia... yeah loh.. if we re-use the bags, like defeat the purpose of sterilising.. and if we use lock and lock, the boxes also not sterilised and we prob cun sterilise them too coz they are plastic... hmm

feifei.. i only gelt bb hiccups once last week.. very funny, keep thud thud once every second, i thot it was my heartbeat :p

tf,
my bro n sis recover liao lor..no transfusion lah..they used chemo lor..last time dun hv cord blood mah..

I'm a silent reader most of the time. Just wanna contribute what I know about storing of cord blood from the questions I asked Stemcord recently.

Found out that they measure how effective the collection has been based on the volume of the cord blood collected and the count of the stem cells. I understand from the Stemcord representative that the average stem cell count is from 400,000 - 600,000 although there has been cases of cell counts of up to 1,000,000. If the cell count is 200,000 and below, it's not considered a successful collection and the mother is allowed to pull out from the programme.

The count of stem cells is very important cos it will determine how effective treatment is when it is later used for the child. The Stemcord representative said that in general, it is about 100,000 cell counts to 10kg in a persons weight. So assuming, they only collected 500,000 cell counts, it can only be used to treat a person of up to 50kg.

There is ongoing research on replication of stem cells but it's still not finalized. Also, heard from the rep that research was only carried out on stem cells of up to 15 years of age cos the researcher stopped his research after that. Beyond that, she cannot guarantee that the stem cells will still be usable. However, they will still continue to store it as long as you are willing to pay the annual fees.

Danryan, Cactus
Thanks for the ligation info. Huh, ligation requires operation. I tot just a process during the delivery of the last child.

Zuen, Bizznow
I think Felicia can do the referral cos she's a member

TF, ligation can be done at the same time as a c-section. Alternatively, it can be done through keyhole surgery if not done during the delivery of a child.

Jesslyn
R u in our June Yahoo? Just last week we discuss abt it n Felicia assisted to summarize all the Massage Ladies contact n rates in the File there.

one thought about cordblood storage.

Even if we can successfully store cord blood for the use of our child (touch wood), what about the cost of actually utilising that cord blood? I think the best thing parents can do is to donate cord blood to a public bank.. let the state maintain the cost. For those who had donated previously, if they subsequently require cordblood, they will have priority over their donated cord blood or else if that's already used, have priority to use other donated cord blood over parents who didn't donate.

Hi tinyfeet.i seldom log in due to my job quite late then reach hme..me todae off so i would like to check more abt the rates?where to find the files?

TF,

You really had good memory! hehe....
can still remember that i'm member of the stemcord.

ZuEn,
I'm the one refer you to Stemcord lah. So, they did called you? In fact if you din mentioned, i oso forgot about it.

As for donation to singapore cord blood bank, the procedure is bit long, as you'll need to spend maybe few hours at their place to be interview. I think i ever post up the reply that cord blood bank on this thread. Maybe will try to search my email again on the donation procedure in case some of the mummies here is interested to donate.

Mogudog
Is it a 20% storewide disc? Ok, 2mrw shall do Isetan cum OG shopg :p

Cactus
Ok, just pop the contraceptive qn to my hubby n see wat he say. Man usu dun discuss all these, again hv to be the initiator. Woman's topic always around family matters. Gd tat u have a doctor husband, least he participate proactively in medical n health side.

Felicia
Ya, will always remember just in case one day, i can let u hv the referral..haha. Maybe post in the yahoo then nxt time no nd to kp searching for that email.

Found my email on the donation of cord blood. Bit long. Pls read only if you're interested to donate.

Thank you for your interest and support for the Singapore Cord Blood Bank.

We are pleased that you and your husband are interested to come forward as cord blood donors. Our list of participating hospitals are:-

1) East Shore Hospital (ESH)
2) KK Women’s &amp; Children’s Hospital (KKH)
3) Gleneagles Hospital (GEH)
4) Mount Alvernia Hospital (MAH)
5) Mount Elizabeth Hospital (MEH)
6) National University Hospital (NUH)
7) Raffles Hospital (RH)
8) Singapore General Hospital (SGH)
9) Thomson Medical Centre (TMC)

You may also wish to express your intention for donation to your attending doctor, as the cord blood after the delivery of your baby will be collected by your OG.

The Singapore Cord Blood Bank is a public bank initiated by Singapore Health Services (SingHealth), the National Health Care Group (NHG), the Children's Cancer Foundation, Club Rainbow (Singapore) and other charitable donations. We do not charge for the collection and processing of donated cord blood units, however, not all cord blood units can be stored due to our stringent storage criteria. The donated cord blood unit is also not reserved for the specific family or individual's usage. Our standards are based on international public cord blood banking protocols where the highest and strictest standards are used, as these units are made available to the individual requiring a life-saving stem cell transplant. As such not all collected cord blood units would meet these stringent criteria.

We have also strict criteria for donation to ensure that all units collected can meet safe medical standards for transplants. Our consents from mother and family are obtained from the 32nd week of gestation and before admission to the hospital for delivery. The process could take 45 mins – 1 hour, inclusive of a detailed and sensitive medical history questionnaire. This questionnaire includes lifestyle, sexual history and family medical history of both baby's mother and father. The process would be required to done in a quiet area, away from the public to ensure confidentiality for yourself and your family. We are also unable to conduct home visits due to the sensitivity of donation. We have also addressed your questions indicated in blue below.

If there are any other queries or need for clarification, please do not hesitate to contact me. Alternatively, you may wish to contact our coordinators at 6394-5012 for an appointment or you may wish to provide us with your contact for us to contact you.

2nd part on the donation of cord blood on my Q&amp;A sessions.

TF, ok, i'll compile it into microsft word and post in the yahoo group.

1) i'll deliver my child in Thomson Medical Centre, so can my gynae help to
carry out the cord blood collection?
Your attending OG will be the person that will be collecting the cord blood on behalf of the Singapore Cord Blood Bank. Thus, it would be very much appreciated if you could speak with your OG on your intention for donation.

2) do i need to go to cord blood bank to collect the storage container and
sign any document or your personnel can come to meet us?
The Consent Form and the Medical History Questionnaire should be completed with our SCBB Coordinator after 32 weeks of gestation. The appointment can be arranged by calling our hotline at 6394 5011. This process must be completed before you go into labour.

The SCBB's cord blood collection kits are already at each participating hospital, as such, it does not need to be sent or collected by you or your family.

Details are also mentioned above.

3) will there be any charges like extra gynae fee if i opt to donate the
cord blood?
This is between the patient and your OG. Thus, we encourage you to discuss this with your OG. The Singapore Cord Blood Bank do not reward the people involved in the collection process monetarily. This should be an altruistic act by all involved in the process.

4) as a donor, will we be in the priority list if one of the day we need to
had cord blood tranfusion?
We do not reserve any cord blood unit for the child or a specific family’s usage. If the donated cord blood unit meets the criteria for banking, and is still in SCBB at that time, the unit would be made available for the patient who would benefit most from it, this could be the donor or another recipient. Research has shown that there is an extremely low probability that the donor should ever need or benefit from his/her own cord blood unit. Transplant physicians may not feel that the patient’s own cord blood unit is the best choice as it may already carry the genetic abnormality that led to the blood disorder or immune system failure.

The CBU will be released based on the following:-
1. CBU met SCBB’s stringent banking criteria, and was banked
2. CBU available in SCBB at the time of request
3. CBU is to be used and/or released to the donor upon advice of the Transplant Physician.

Upon meeting the above three criteria, the CBU will be released to the donor for FREE upon direction of the transplant physician if he/she feels that it is the unit most beneficial to the donor.

Thanks for posting the info... I think the public cord blood bank would be more popular if it is like the organ donation bank.. priority to those who donate...

bizz,
i'm not going down also.. but i already ask my colleagues help me to buy the elec warmer cum milk bottles and steam steriliser cum free gift..

Need to knw if i send u invitation to join our Yahoo? If not, can i have ur email, then u can sign in and see under the "File" folder. At same time, to go "Database" folder to put you n your baby details.

TF, I not sure is it storewide, too many people till I can't be bothered to even walk near the crowd, the queue was terrible.

Cactus, wif 1st child, i already cuming 36 loh. So ya, very most can either pop 1 or 2 more next 2 years. I agree on no no for the hormonal, pills, etc.. else will opt natural family planning like u say. Actually in Catholic, we were told to practice family planning as a couple. The intend is tat the husband has to be supportive to knw the wife's cycle n learn to "tahan" until non-peak. Nt always to meet their own satisfaction only..heehee. So during peak period, they shd spend quality intimacy time wif no sex, which is wat woman wld always wish for, cos some husband only treat their wife close/nice when they wnt sex.

Also in Catholic, they encourage procreation, so u may find quite few of these families have > than 5 kids. They belief in life-giving.

hi TF, are you Catholic? Just wondering.
I'm not catholic but christian. beware about natural family planning k. It's not 100% safe. it's infact more unsafe than condom if condom is used properly.

just to add, my hb's friend (not catholic) married a catholic gal. they practised natural family planning. 6 months after wedding, she conceived. go wonder...

Sorry to repeat this msg for those who miss reading it this morning.

You can now DIY (do-it-yourself) the latest update of your contacts n baby's info in the Yahoo. Just follow the link below and go to "Database":
http://asia.groups.yahoo.com/group/June08_Motherhood/

To navigate around, click the menu on the left:
Message - For email msg to all members
File - Files tat you want all to view
Photo - Create a folder for your name to archive any photos for members
Links - Share any useful weblinks
Database - Please update your details and your baby's info for the latest
Members - These are members who are in the Yahoo.group
Calendar - To input any upcoming events / reminders for benefit of all members

Look forward to your contributions and hope this serves as a useful site for all of us w/o losing any info. Let me know your email if you have not join so i can invite u. Thanks

cactus/ TF,

I'm considering on the contraceptive methods oso as will close shop after this. But i wont opt for hormonal pills oso, but if need op, i oso bit reluctant.
As for condom, honest speaking all this while, hubby n me dont really use it coz i feel very painful. So, i had been calculating my peak period and will avoid it. I know is not 100% secure, tats why thinking to get more secure method.

Cactus
Ya, me catholic, bt nt staunch lah. Yes, NFP is nt safe for sure. Tat's y if kena, accept it, until wif more than 5 children, tat's the encouragement in Catholic family, maybe like the Malays.

Felicia
Yah, i have nt tried condom so far. :p So wonder hw uncomfortable it wld be.

Felicia, condom painful? Maybe you can try another brand? Alternatively, you can buy a lubricant. easier. try to use condom with spermicide + calculation. much safer.

Cactus
U r right. They r nt allowed to use any form of contraceptive, nt even condom, cos they cannot prevent pro-creation. Hee.. ya, likely i will adopt like the method u decide, condom n spermicide + calculation. Cos so far, we dun use cos all this while we wnted to hv kids for last 3 yrs.

morraine,
yah man..i am also yawning while typing this msg..haha.. n my back a bit sore lah..makes things worse..

cactus,

ehh... can i know wat is condom with spermicide? Sorry, i'm bit dumb on this. In fact i think my hubby brought 2 type(brand) of condom before. He even buy those to said very thin coz i complain pain when we try the 1st time. But still cannot. Then we give up and i think the unused condom still keep nice in our drawer for many many yrs.

Cactus
Wooo...didnt knw u went thru all these. I knw wat u mean when so many things uncertain n unsettled. Tat's human, the more we plan, the more things dun turn the way we wnt, yet if he just let it be, eventually all will settle in nw, slowly n surely, yet smtx even better than wat we plan.

Ha..Ladies
Wakey, wakey... I knw its been raining heavily..