(2008/06) June 2008

cactus,

Another reason i dun want to use bags is bec' i worried my MIL dunno how to handle bags and bottle may be easier for her. scare bag flimsy wait she break it or wat.

TF,

Ya tats wat i understand from my colleague tat can just directly warm the storage bottle and can feed liao.

It be easier for my MIL bec' ored she find this transferring milk to and fro difficult to understand cos their generation never have pumping etc.

just to add on to TF's comment - if bb is not drinking 180ml or whatever the capacity of the storage bottle may be, it will be a waste if bb cannot completely finish the milk in 1 feed. Cos once thawed, it is recommended that the milk should be used up completely, and in any event, never re-chilled or re-frozen.

TF,

I may get the Similac milk for breastfeeding. If still dun work or got supply problem, then i will try fernugreek.

Cactus
i'm like u, spark ideas n do research. Hubby is the big picture type and only challenge me until i can answer all his qn, he gets convince, he follow me. But he nt the calculative type n i m, so initially married to him, he very scared of me handle his $, thinking tat i'll like those woman dat just spend $. Until when he shop wif me n see me so many times empty handed home, he nw fan xin n dun bother.

Also, remember must drink lots of water to increase your supply too.

I am planning that i will bring some frozen milk to MIL house on day before i start work, and also 1 bottle of fresh milk (just pump out). Frozen milk to store in her freezer for emergency. Fresh milk to put in her fridge normal section to feed bb on the next day when i go to work.

Then pump milk during work, then bring milk back to MIL house to keep for next day consumption. Then bring bb back home, cos hb intend to bring bb back home everyday.

If not possible to bring bb back home everyday, then will have to bring milk to freeze in her fridge liao.

TF,

To defreeze milk, we have to transfer to normal section overnight right? can we just directly put in warmer?

I'll try the unripe papaya soup n milk. Tink most impt is really relax n let our baby do the natural sucking to kick start the flow.. BF must be trilling..

Ellysia
Sori, i can't answer u cos never BF b4 leh, 1st time like u. See who can answer later on the defrosting BF.

Must the bottles/bag be totally dry to store milk? If some water due to washing is it ok?

TF,

OIC.

Wat i understand from colleague is tat after sterilise, drain the water off by pouring it out but a few droplets inside cannot be avoided.

Do not try to wipe the inside of the bottle with cloth or tissue as it defeat the purpose of sterilisation.

TF, the bags cannot be reused. they are pre-sterilized. the bottles must be sterilized after each use, then dried completely before using.

Ellysia, I read that we should defreeze in the fridge. not sure if it is okay to do it in warmer cos even for normal frozen food, it is recommended to defrost in fridge and not left at room temp in case of bacteria.

Cactus
Could it be due to lack of sugar? U muz listen to your body n see wat is lacking n mindful to consume so as to build your bp.

Yeah, gd in the sense we are in control. Not gd in the sense we do so much thinking n the work around. Almost every tour trip, i'm always the one tat plan the whole itinerary, tics, accomm, etc.. if F&E. Each time i ask hubby to do, he just say join package n settle. Aiyo. He always dun wnt me to go thru the trouble n will say as long as we can afford, nt expensive, pay. But i can't accept it one loh. Always remind myself to let go, else next time I suffer doing so many things. So if i wnt to do, i knw i mus nt complain n do willingly. keke

Ok just ask colleague liao.
She tried defroze milk directly at warmer during emergency, is okay lah. Then just change the cap to teats then can drink liao.

i tink play safe better defroze in fridge safer.But if no time or last min, then bo piang defroze in warmer.

Muffin
Ok, done. Cheers

I'm exploring the Database folder in the YahooGroup. Soon everyone of us can update our own details n baby info as n when available, so Tera can be relieve. Will let u gals knw.

cactus,
wah..twice a mth gd leh..hehe..my mum cooks dunno wat "pao shen" with chicken for me every week lah..no bird nest from her leh..

Ellysia
I take it everyday fr the bottle and at bimonthly interval will be the boiled ones.

Cactus
Ya F&E is gd. Can achieve alot more. I will always collect the itinerary fr travel to see the routes of the different packages and combine them to maximize the trip in as many days as possible in our own F&E. Then surf web for all the entrance tic px, accom, opening hours, etc.. to plan the route. But my hubby is better in geography n places, so i will consult him if worth to go those. So he will decide the big picture on the country to go, n must see spots, I will do the research behind. Maybe cos we dun stay tog so have to split work. He always promise me we will do tog if he stays wif me..so i still keeping tat HOPE up..hee. to see tat finally he sit on discussion table wif me, wh i tink he will lah.

bizznow, careful with pao shen. my grandma said believes it makes bb big.

TF,I agree with you on F&E. Our honeymoon was F&E. Fantastic!! We almost went packaged.

cactus,
is it?? but my mum said must stop when i reach 28weeks..

so far all our trips we F&E also..cos better..more relax..hehe..n i think slightly cheaper lor..

Cactus
Oh, where did u do your F&E honeymoon? We did our self drive fr Adelaide to Melbourne cos i was very familiar wif Mel. Almost wnted to do the Greece n Turkey F&E but they dun hv ferry in Dec winter. Really enjoyed our honeymoon cos along the way, we went supermkt to buy groceries to have BBQ at the park, etc..really memorable n exclusive

bizznow, that's what my grandma told me. but I know bbs become very big during 3rd trimester.. maybe that's why your mom said stop when you reach 28 weeks? Or maybe it's another reason. I don't take ginseng cos it's a stimulant. Already inthe past, if I drink coffee, I can't sleep. I can only drink tea before lunch hour. if not, cannot sleep. coke also cannot drink in excessive amounts.

TF, we went to Paris. spent 2 beautiful weeks there! Plan to go Prague next. Just prague alone probably or else, prague and austra.

cactus,
i also dunno the reason lah..let me ask her when i go back this wkend..hehe..i am immune to coffee 1..drink liao still can sleep but hor..i cant drink earl grey lor..drink liao confirm cant sleep..

Cactus, Hubby always tell me Prague is beautiful cos he went. Will hope to do one at Spain, Barcelona arena. Sigh, duno when will have tis couple opportunity again nw.

Today I feel my tummy so so tight for the whole day. Wat does it mean? I'm in Week 26.

ellysia,
my mum n mil wil 'tun' bird nest n last me everyday til e next round. so i jus take abit everyday lor, unless hungry then wil take more.

bizz/ cactus,

we are supposed to stop any chinese 'bu' when we are about a month before our EDD. Believe that those chinese 'bu' will stimulate blood flow. So, we might lost too much blood during delivery. And if too 'bu' will caused heaty as well. Tats why when almost EDD, preggie lady is advise to take coconut juice as it believe had cooling effect and as well as bb will comes out cleaner.

I try to boiled birdnest once forthnightly. But normally will boiled more, so that i can drink it for 2-3 days. Today just went to ZTP to replenish my stocks. They give me free 'pao sheng'

By now, most of you have sign up in the Yahoo.group:
http://asia.groups.yahoo.com/group/June08_Motherhood/

To navigate around, click the menu on the left:
Message - For email msg to all members
File - Files tat you want all to view
Photo - Create a folder for your name to archive any photos for members
Links - Share any useful weblinks
Database - Please update your details and your baby's info for the latest
Members - These are members who are in the Yahoo.group
Calendar - To input any upcoming events / reminders for benefit of all members

Look forward to your contributions and hope this serves as a useful site for all of us w/o losing any info.

nope. at home now. my last post at office was about 530pm. my first post at home was about 620pm.
don't have msn at office or home... firewall or some stupid security setting. hb's idea.

I feel the whole tummy hard n i nt so easy to sit n lie, n only today i have this feeling. Other days I still feel flexible to bend, or do things. Esp aft makan, even tighter, skin totally stretched feeling too.

Yoz, Back from a LONG day of shopping. Went to Taka early in the morning at 10.30am.
Finally, bought stroller for BB. Bought the Aprica, still think that its lighter to be carried ard when dealing with BB alone.
Am still thinking abt getting the Britax Car Seat. Most likely will get the $199 design. I think that is still more worth it, since BB is not going to be traveling in it everyday, the most is only 2-3days a week only.

Tinyfeet bought your stroller?

Morning ladies...

Ellysia,
just saw ur post this morning....So u managed to attend e talk yest? Dr Caroline Khi is my gynae lor =D...was really bery tired when we reach home yest...so sleepy today..hiaz..

Morning feifei..

Dan, Ellysia, Cactus,
I bought chocolate milk, soft toothbrush, oral B gum care toothpaste and made an appointment with the dentist last night. Guessed I still want to keep my teeth.. Hehe.
Oh ya, is it safe to visit the dentist in the 3rd trimester? Books often encourage preggy women to go for regular checkup during 2nd trimester.

Cactus,
I am aiming the ameda pump. I havent seen it anywhere. Heard that it is sold in Robinson and Mothercare. Most probably I will be ordering from Mumsfairy.

Re: Sterilising of pumps
How do we sterlise the pumps after use when we are in the office? Especially after expressing and intending to express again later in the day?

Morning Feifei/ ZuEn,

It was raining heavily when i walked out from my house. Really feel like lying on the bed today.

ZuEn,
Mumsfairy will had booth at BB festival, so you can go and take a look on the pump. Not too sure will they had special bundle on tat day or not...

Sterilising of pumps in office? Unless your office had the steriliser else normally BF mummy will sterilise at home. Maybe wait oth experience mummy told us how they do it at office for pumping more than once.

Hi felicia,
It wasnt raining in the West, but the floor was still wet. Same effect on me.. couldnt get out of bed. ;p
Oh, can we use the pump again later in the day to express milk again without having to clean/ sterilise after the 1st time use?
The bb festival is in expo huh? That's faaarrrrr from my place. Aiyo. Unless I can convince hb. Any idea when is the fair?

ZuEn,
hi ya...I also need to stock up some soya milk..My hand wrist there has been pain for many wks, gynae told me its due to poor blood circulation..hiaz..

I rem my fren was telling me, b4 she goes to work, she will sterlise her pump 1st, then put it in a ziplog bag to bring to office...Once she reach office, she will put e pump into the fridge wor...hmm...

ZuEn,

The bb festival is on 21-23 March, which 21 is Good Friday. I'm thinking to go on Good Friday , but sure very crowded as is Public holiday.
If not mistaken, i heard my collegue, they will sterilise at home, bring to office and pump the 1st time before noon, then wash but din sterilise again for 2nd times use. I heard my company nursing room got sterilise but hvnt go to take a look.

zuen,
my colleagues now have a tupperware to put the pumps in. then sterilise using hot water. some others use the sterilising pills to sterilise so they can reuse again in office. but bring home still sterilise again loh...

Morning gals!

Regarding the pump steriliser, heard Mrs Wong say put milk bottles etc into ziplock bags... but can these bags be reused? Eg,we put our pumps etc into the ziplock bags, can we re-use them?

ZuEn, my colleagues buy an extra set of funnels, pre-sterilized and kept in sterilized bags. They use a newly sterilized set for each pump. they sterlize them at home.

it's recommended to go to dentist regularly during pregnancy. Even my O&G doc encourages me to do it.
but I don't lah cos so far no prob with teeth or gums

All,
anyone feels their bb's hipcups? I hv been feeling my bb's hipcups these few days...so cute...Yest attended a talk, was told bb's hipcups is like heart pumping like that at lower tummy... =D...

roxy,

I was thinking if we cant reuse the ziplock bags, then wont it be so wasteful & not environmental friendly. But if we reuse, how to sterilise? Coz if we dont sterilise the bags, then we put in our sterilise bottles and pump, it defeat our purpose to do sterilising the pump initially.
Maybe can soak the bags with sterilise pills?

hi, just to share on sterilisng in office when u need to pump more than once. some colleagues just use hot water to rinse, while some use microwave steriliser. a few brands have this - avent, farlin, annaku. basically u just need to have a microwave in office then no problem. i bought annaku cos it's the cheapest, less than $20 plus if u can get at 20% discount sale even cheaper. i bought mine from john little the last time. it even comes with 2 bottles inside. hope this info helps.