(2008/06) June 2008

TF, Felicia, roxy, iamsnow,

Ya i finally make the decision to buy the pump, dun want to keep thinking about it and worrying abt the choice.

Mum & babes staff even teach me how to open the bag and will help me to send the warranty.

I bot from AMK hub.

Overall,the freebies worth around $50 including a $10 voucher from mum & babes.

There are 2 package deals for choice, the other package deal is a baby playpen but can only sleep for few mths and is v small, so not v ideal. So i took the other package deal which give milkbags, breastpads & voucher which i tink more practical.

I planned if in worst scenerio that dun have milk or cannot breastfeed, then i will sell the pump brand new.. cos i tink at least Medela brand more people are willing to buy also. If it is good, i will keep for no 2 as investment.

<font color="0077aa">felicia*

lol ours never tried on the sofa before leh.. she seems to noe so wat happened was always on the floor only.. we have to watch out for tell tale signs like my ger she refuse to don on her diapers and kip removing it so we knew and sense it was a signal to us from her tat she wants the diaper out..</font>

okok. thks all. wil take note!

<font color="0077aa">babycupid*

for me i started with 4 small bottles coz in the beginning.. we wun need those 250ml bottles at all.. and i have one bottle specially for plain water drinking purpose only and 3 bottles to rotate for milk purpose</font>

roxy,
yes. tomorow OG will open for member sales i intend to buy pigeon steam sterilizer at only 97.90 dollar come with one pigeons wipes and 2pc of bottle milk. and Tollyjoy elec food warmer only 36.90dollar.

Veniz,

Its like tat one.. guys like to calculate and estimate whether good or not.

My hb also laidback one.. he keep saying it is 3 mths so got enuff time etc. I told him to disregard the last mth bec' delivery can happen anything from week 37 onwards. He doesn't believe until the pre-natal class instructor also say the same thing and must prepare early in advance. So now we are actively buying stuff liao.

Hi Ellysia, good for you! I think you must be very relieved that you have come to a decision. I'm still deciding between PIS original and PIS advanced... :p

Felicia,
I see..so 1 packet for each day...wash hair also need to use this herbs? can use normal warm water?

liew,
i see..tks tks...so the herbs just put in e fridge its okie de hor? i know Hock Hua sells the herbs too..

feifei,

my mil insist must wash hair with herbs. During previous confinement she said cannot wash hair for a mth leh, then i use powder shampoo but i find very messy and still dirty. Then this times i nego with her and blah blah with her till she agree but must use the herb loh.

dont need to put in fridge lah. Imagine u had so many things to keep in fridge alredy, so not neccessary to keep the herb in it.

Felicia,
I think bo bian one. Mummy will normally form a stronger bond with the eldest bcos 1st child, new experience, whereas Daddy with the youngest. So lor, 2 kids just nice. I grew up with middle child syndrome. It impacted me very greatly, more cons than pros.

feifei,
I can foresee that hb and I will work hard during weekdays, then weekends become slave to the bb. ;p Then need to bring the kid to PILs' place during weekend for them to spend time and bond with the kid. I already see the routine before the bb is out. -.o"

Veinz,
Can see dentist, I think can fill and extract teeth too. No extract can liao. I am suffering from bleeding gums. Everytime I brush my teeth, sure bleed like mad. -.o" But I hate dentist.

Dan,
I am keen to buy the pump cos hope to store up ss before gg back to work. My office super non-family friendly and my boss already outright tell me to take only 2.5mths ML.

Liew
Wat's the difference for Member n public sale in OG?

Luz
Ok, ok. U mean Isetan so fast display the sale items already in Scotts?

Cactus
I guess shd b alright abt the plates. Think too much wait also headache. Unless u wait till after birth n milk supply overflow, then during GSS, get hubby to get it. Cos beginning, we still nd to latch baby to stimulate the supply.

Krispy
Let me knw again if u still didnt get the Yahoo.

I tink the herbs can be put in dry place.

cactus,

Yes i am relieved now, dun want to re-tink or worry again since i ored bot the pump.

My tinking is if the face plate is a problem, it may not affect the pumping that bad..

Actually i wanted to buy in April due to warranty, but i also dun want to miss the promo price so i buy it yesterday after hb told me he will help in sharing part of the cost. But a bit guility to use hb money, then he said since ored bot liao dun tink so much if utimately cannot use also dun worry so much liao lor.

ZuEn,

Now with 1 kid, i oledi 'peng' especially my girl like to 'sa jiau'. She keep want me to carry her. I told her when i delivered 'mei mei' i cannot carry her, but she said i must carry her and let daddy carry 'mei mei'.
Just hope she can be more obedient when #2 comes.

ok, goin for my lunch. Chat later.

Zu En,

I also have bleeding gums at times while brushing, but i read that it is common during pregnancy to bleed when brushing teeth. Though maybe not so good if everyday bleed lah.

TF, Ellysia:

I'm still feeling uneasy about the faceplates. cos according to reviews, it results in poor suction.. it is a design defect. Medela didn't recall those affected units. Not sure those sold in Singapore are old stock unsold in the US? I'm trying to get info on the defective faceplates now.. will prob buy Advanaced on Thursday if Isetan is not selling the old stock. If not, will prob get original from moms and babes.

My boss used PIS original instead of latching on bb cos her bbs were all jaundiced and in hospital. she said PIS original is fantastic.

hi ZuEn, Ellysia, yeah. I'm told pregnancy hormones make our gums more sensitive. I saw a dentist just before I was pregnant.. so a bit thankful I don't need to go for routine scaling now. actually my dentise told me to return after 6 months for routine S&amp;P but I'm not going to incase it causes my gums to bleed. so far my gums are okay.. I find that using oral B's gum care toothpaste is quite good.

zuen
i only have 2 mths ML....frm my experiences for the 1st few wks when i came back to work....i have to rush and took taxi back home to breastfeed my son...if my mom call me bb keep crying.....or else at 5pm sharp ii straightaway go back home while my bb waiting for me to breastfeed...

ellysia/cactus
u r right....

zuen
i have sensitive teeth also during pregnancy but its normal coz bb need more calcium like us....so the medication which gynea give it to us especially calcium...u n bb are figthing who get the most hahahahha....so drink more milk too

Cactus
In beginning when i was comparing the Medela, I've make up my mind to get the ORIGINAL only. Cos the Advanced was slightly exp and like u mentioned, the plates issue.. I read those problem in website mostly in Year 2005-2007 comments. Just came across that there's 2008 Advanced model, did u see? Check if S'pore's is the latest? I tink the 08 model has lighter adapter n hope they improve on the plates. http://www.baby-wise.com/medela-2008-pump-in-style-vehicle-adapter.html

Cos nw I have 2 hands me down Electric Mini, so i got no hurry to get the PIS yet until later decision. If u really wnt to borrow one mini fr me, let me knw, just tat u nd to sterilize or change the parts (eg.tubes,etc) b4 use.

Hi TF,

Thanks so much for the link!!! It's hard to check if Singapore is the latest cos I don't think the shops know for sure! Original is selling at Mums and Babes at $599, still cheaper than Advanced. but I did hear that Advanced can express more milk in shorter time and that is very important for me.

TF, the link you provided is really useful! At least, I have a picture in hand when I go to Isetan!!
I'm planning to go before work.. 830am... may be a little late at work but I think never mind. My boss knows I'm going to buy pump.. haha. we were talking about pumps over breakfast this morning.

Thanks for your offer, but no need for the mini electric. my SIL also passed me 1 mini electric and 1 avent manual but I don't feel comfy using them (really fussy hor?!!!). I'm in a hurry to get a PIS cos want to build up milk supply within first 3 months or so....

My boss used PIS original to build up supply (over supply actually) when she was on maternity leave. She managed to provide 10 months worth of breast milk in total... excessive pumping for 2 months, then moderate pumping for another 5 months. finally tapered off for the rest of the 3 months.

Ellysia, cactus,
I already have bleeding gums problem before preggy and I hate the dentist. Now the problem has worsen. Maybe I should change my toothpaste..

Dan,
I realised about the calcium part. Haiz.. I think I had been a lazy mummy. I am gg to buy chocloate milk tonight. I can only stomach chocolate milk, but too much oso means weight gain and heatiness.

zuen
u can drink in the morning and b4 go to bed ma.....i can't drink annmum or milk for preggy mum or warm milk....i prefer HL milk.....

looks like raining whole day...still haven't decide wat to eat...

i hate to go dentist....since my school time

ZuEn, I highly recommend Oral B toothpaste. I'm presently using gum care. So far no problems but I'm not sure if it's cos previous I had okay teeth and gums. My dentist used to tell me to go back once a year, instead of once every 6 months for routine cleaning. but when I was pregnant, he told me to go back after 6 months for monitoring of gums - but I dun think I will loh... cos so far no prob.

I'm starting to drink milk also. important to keep up calcium intake cos I'm not taking any supplements either. But drinking fresh milk.. scared choc/banana/strawberry milk too sweet.

Zu En,

Maybe your gums are infected tats why. I have bleeding gums problem for some time but has resolved it after seeing dentist more frequently and brushing with electric toothbrush. Electric toothbrush is more clean, can clean off dirt better and at hard to reach corners.

Is yr gums big? Cos if infected it may be bigger than yr teeth.

I have been taking calcium pills since 2nd trim when gynae gave me. Then on top i will drink milk or take nutrisoy. Previously i always feel weak legs but after taking more calcium, the situation seems to improve.

Cactus
No wonder u r inspired by your boss experience in the storage. Will u be using the Medela BM storage bottle or bags or which type?
Huh, u not taking supplements (Omega, Calcium n Multivits) all this while?

Dan,
Me too. The dentist pluck out my decayed tooth when I was in Pri 1 and I hate the dentist since. I am that kind who wun see dentist unless absolutely necessary. I think I have to pay the dentist a visit liao before entering the 3rd trimester (which is 2 weeks from now??). I see picture the dentist shaking his head while looking at the condition of my teeth/ gum. Haiz..

Cactus,
Okie, I will go search for Oral B gum care tonight and buy milk.

Ellysia,
Not painful leh, just that it will bleed when I brush my teeth lor. Then I can see that the places where it normally bleed has turned raw, but still not painful. Aiyo, in short, I need to see dentist liao. -.o" I hope my bb not as afraid of the dentist as me.

ZuEn, an alternative to milk is Nutrisoy's soy milk. go for reduced or no sugar. I used to drink the omega 3 no sugar. It's very high in calcium. higher than even HL milk. Think it's 450mg of calcium per serving vs HL milkl's 300mg of calcium per serving.

tinyfeet,
For non-member the pigeon steam sterilizer at 137.60 dollar (member is 97.60dollar)come with one pigeons wipes and 2pc of bottle milk.Tollyjoy elec food warmer for non-member is 53.50dollar (member is 36.70dollar)...

cactus/TF,

can explain to me whats the diff between PIS and original? Coz i'm considering between medela PIS and ameda. But if original is cheaper , then might take it. Last time when i went to Mums &amp; babes, i asked the salesgirl about original and she just told me original is old version of PIS and din elaborate more.

wow, cactus yr meals r super healthy leh..
when i tink of wat to eat, rely a headache.. always at least 1 junk meal per day. tats y i need supplements.
during half of my 1st tri, i had milk alot but when MS strike, all supply of milk stopped. doc gave me calcium frm 1st tri liao. recently has been takin soya n occasionally milk as add. calcium.

rdg dentist issue, i went b4 CNY for routine check n let e dentist noe im pregnant. she asked me to return after CNY for gums protection treatment cos preggy always got gums problem, but i kept delaying wo. i figured as long as i dun hav much prob in my mouth, i wun be seein her til end of yr liao. heehee...

cactus,

Nutrisoy calcium per serving is more bec' i tink the per serving amt is much more than HL milk. The box is bigger. Anyway it is true if drink 1 box of nutrisoy do get more calcium than 1 box of HL milk.

The Omega no sugar one, dun have small box. Only big one.

And i dunno is it too popular or not popular, many time i cannot locate at NTUC and 7-eleven dun sell. So only get the reduced sugar one.

Hi Ellysia,

I don't think the nutrisoy box is bigger. I'm comparing the 1litre pack of both HL and Nutrisoy. I only buy the 1 litre pack.. not the small pack. I always manage to get Nutrisoy no sugar from Tampines NTUC. I think you can try to get from NTUC AMK hub cos you stay in the north. That's huge!

Ellysia,

Thanks. But most probably i'll only get it aft delivery as currently i still had 2 manual pump to standby. Just hopefully by then still had stocks, else will just get Ameda.

Felicia,

Original is a old version of Advanced. that's true.

Original - don't have 2 phase expression. mother must control speed and suction herself. My boss's original last her 6 years.. still working!! But I'm sure the Original sold today is not manufactured the same time as hers.

Advanced - the backpack looks the same but material is less stylish and more cheapo. has 2 phase suction which imitates bb's sucking. beware not to buy the version (older versions) with defective faceplate.

Personally, I think advanced is a better buy. It is on discount now but original is not on discount. (Isetan members get it at about $658 - $679 still have 3% discount and free infant pillow!) Original selling at $599 at Mums and Babes. it's new technology but do take care not to buy the defective faceplate.

Felicia, the breastfeeding support group in Sngapore advised me to consider Ameda Lactaline as a cheaper alternative to PIS. Is that the Ameda model you are considering?

Are your refering to the instant mix with water type of nutrisoy ? Is the taste nice, as i dare not drink milk so thinking can try this.