(2008/06) June 2008

Hi Cactus, no problem. You can gather the cases and discuss with your hb, since he is also a doctor, it is good to know more. But all are individual case to case, thus the percentile of another person (besides own same blood family members) of getting the same case(s) will be low. Just hope all of us trying for normal will have our wishes come true.

Felicia, isit? Mumsfairy is carrying Medela PIS? I am thinking of using my single medela electric pump first, and if sucessful in pumping out milk (or breast feeding) then I will get the Ameda Ultimate kit.

BTW, is there any of you who has Medela pumps and is planning to get the spare parts like the valves,vents,etc (the one sold in 1pack with six sets @ around $30.00plus)? If you are, I am thinking of getting a pack then we can split the cost. My poor pump had been circulating around these 3yrs thus the vent and valve is already old, so have to change. Anyone interested do let me know, thanks.

veniz,

Yes. The news was posted on this forum by mumsfairy. She just replied my post, their bundle price not yet up. She'll update me once she got the bundle confirmed. Btw, she'll sold the Medela PIS and Ameda at Baby Festival fair. So, can go there and take a look.

hey ellysia,
i sms her my address liao..but forgot to sms her my EDD..hehe..i only told her it's end of june.. juz sent her another sms to inform her that..but she said she can do for me in end june over the phone..

felicia,
i told aunty su dat this week is my 24th week..she said can do leh..hehe..so i guess i will try 1st then let u noe lah..but provided she free tis weekend lah..she said will sms me to confirm..

Felicia, ya lor, no complications, save $$, and heal fast. Also, wish we have a lot of milk to provide to our babies. Just wonder, would you all want to get milk from your own relatives if you are unable to produce milk but they are (I mean if they are also giving birth around same time as you)?

Also another thing I came across is, one of my relative family, my 3 female cousins follow the footsteps of their mum. Their mum had easy deliveries with all her babies, thus these cousins, when they are in delivery wards, they delivered very fast and smooth, within 1hr or 2, babies out liao. So there is a saying that we may follow our mums' footsteps. If I normal delivery, I may have to have contraction of up to around 8hrs before give birth, since mummy took long time to deliver me.

haiz i jsut called auntie su... she dun accept me liao.. say my edd early june, calsh with a few of the mummies here... sob sob
Got anyone else got massage lady to recommend?

haiz i jsut called auntie su... she dun accept me liao.. say my edd early june, clash with a few of the mummies here... sob sob
Got anyone else got massage lady to recommend?

hi TF

yup... im an agent and my husband is my agency manager.. my brother-in-law and my father-in-law all are working togther in AIA..

so i have plenty of help to service my clients as all our clinets know all of us... thats why my client said that buy one policy got 4 agents to service them!

i hope to stay home to help with paperwork while the 3 of them will run errands at hospitals and office..so my job is very mummy friendly for the first yr i think!

bizznow,

O..really? When is ur EDD? Mine is on 26. She told me is better wait for another few more weeks before start massaging. I think she was confused by all the June mummies liao. haha...

Roxy,
I'm compiling the massage lady's list. Will send to you gals once got more details.

Ladies, anymore recommend massage lady can share? Pls PM me okie?! Thks

Veniz,

I dont think i'll accept oth relatives milk loh. I found it to be 'weird' to give to my own baby leh. Tats my feeling lah. But i do heard some ppl will give their baby oth mummy's breast milk when they cant BF.

Bizznow,
Ya, is was more cheaper but need to become member. Cant remember how much is their membership.

felicia,
mine only a few days earlier than u leh.. my EDD is sometime between 23 - 25th june..but i this week 24th week liao..she said can do..i also dunno lah..but not confirm leh..all depends on her schedule this week lor..

Roxy
Can try the famous mdm naini (94562817), she did for zoe tay, but her rates are v ex. $450 for 6 sessions, each abt 45mins. I find she is quite effective as my gynae commented that my tummy shrink back very fast. But be warned that she is very talkative and will answer HP while massaging for you. That part I find disturbing. And her massage dun really last 45mins.
I wont be using her this time round, using morraine's recommendation instead.

my frend recommended me this lady.. mdm sadiah hp 97724579. She can start massage after 10june.. her charges is ard 47bucks per session.. 1 half hr to 2hrs.. depends..

thank you so much felicia, it summaries my doubts!

a frn offered me her breast pump but is it weird to use someone else's breast pump for sanitary reasons??

is $688 a extravangant price to pay? what's the good that the medela PIS could bring that ameda couldnt??

i read books and they mention abt "nipple confusion" where the baby is switched between a bottle teat n a human nipple. is there anyone going fully on breast day n night and only introduce pumped milk much much later??

Veniz,

Just forward you an email on medela accessories. So coincidence that i just saw this email was on my email inbox. I'm not related to the mailer. You might want to compare her price with oth source before decided.

Veniz,

If follow mother footstep then just jiat lat lor, my mum took v long to deliver me, by the time i come i am ored blue blue face (out of air).

But my mum said may be different bec' she is short(she is only 150cm tall) whereas i am 18cm taller than her.. so she say body is different.

i read from this forum but cant remember which thread that there are comments abt either madam sadiah or naini lah..something like dat..saying dat she very terrible..ask for advance payment then after ppl paid liao hor..nvr come on time for the appt n sometimes nvr even turn up..so better becareful lor..

hi bizznow, I bought my carseat from kiddypalace - no brand one. called Baby First or Safety First. From newborn to 4 years old/18kg only $140. Very cheap. :p

Ellysia - don't worry about placenta. still early to tell. ask your doctor again at week 28 or after. my doctor said once it is above bb's head, very good already.

tinyfeet, I think it's ok to use breastpumps from others as long as you sterilize the parts very well before use and if parts are old, replace them. If previous user had bleeding, maybe better not use in case have contamination. I'm planning to feed bb directly for first 8 weeks if possible. will start expressing to build up milk supply from 6 weeks but will use manual pump, cos I can't completely sterilize all the parts of a motorized pump.... my SIL offered both to me. once I go back to work, won't express already.

bizznow, got to warn you about the carseat. it is not fantastic.. the carseat. very very basic. padded but not the luxury type of padding. we chose it cos we only plan to have bb in a car twice a week.. each ride only half hour at most (between our parents' places)....

bizzsnow, Felicia and Roxy,

My EDD is 3 June, maybe cos she is referring to me when she say got people book her in early June. But she told me she ored got people book her in early June so i am the last one she can add for early June.

bizznow,

Non-member price is roughly the same as outside retail price. But like musfairy, they give free delivery for breast pump, but for breastfeeding website i'm not too sure gor free delivery or not.

tinyfeet,

To avoid nipple confusion, offer yr breastmilk in feeding cups or spoon feeding. During yr stay in hospital, u can request nurse to teach u how to spoon feed and use feeding cup.

bizznow,
Really?? For my case, mdm naini din collect any deposit. I m quite chin chai, as long as my tummy shrink back, she is effective. Only thing is that she talk alot (friendly), which I find that some mummies like me might not like it. Oh and she very 'chop chop' like always rushing somewhere.

cactus, nvr mind..i go check it out 1st..my travelling i think will be slightly more than u lah..maybe daily go my in-laws place..which is only less than 10mins from my place..but to my parents' place a bit far lah..in boon lay lor..

oorh..baby kingdom ah..not kiddy palace huh..ok..ok..hehe..

Thanks felicia... now getting depressed coz no massage lady, how to gain back figure haiz...

babycupid, my friend also recommended me sadiah too, i called her and she's free but she will be away from 10th june onwards from her daughter wedding for 1 week... and she charges $50 per session for 1hr 15min.. which is pretty exp

Thanks muffin, I went to read the thread on massage ladies too.. seems like this naini quite good but so expensive, plus she's over chatty... haiz, if really no massage lady, i'll just exercise more to lose weight

Morraine, felicia,

For those post-natal massage, if halfway during massage bb want feeding then how? U stop massage halfway? Cos i am tinking breastfeeding then if i tink if bb halfway cry for milk then how.. shd express milk out in advance of the appt?

ya, i think got someone is asking me about medela pump @ $688 . Too many posts out of sudden, make me confuse. hehe....
Saw from many sources, i think lot of mummies recommend on Medela PIS for heavy user. And it was said to be the most quiet pump. But of course the price is quite ex. Normal retail price is about $730.

Not only susi.. i tink another lady call Rainy is also blacklisted.. also collect money but didn't come.

I prefer to pay after each session lor.. cos anytime then we can stop the service. I also dun like to sign package, bec' if halfway dun like then force to complete package will end up not happy.

ellysia,

Is better to feed bb before massage start, u oso dont want ur milk to flow out during massage, rite? You can choose to express out before that.

<font color="0077aa">ellysia*

i will advise yesh u pump out first or try to schedule it at timing when bb is sleeping like early am?</font>

<font color="0077aa">and yesh i agree i prefer like Aunty Su's style, come finish den pay up den she dun owe us nor we owe them</font>

ladies, decided i shall go try posting in those earlier MTB thread and ask whether they got any one to recommend or lobang or not... since they already delivered...... :p if got then i pm felicia

morraine and felicia,

oic.. in this case i have to monitor bb trend after come back frm hospital then call auntie su to confirm time liao.

My colleague say her breastmilk keep flowing out during massage, she got to use a cloth to keep wiping.

yah lor..i also dun feel easy if need to pay advance or sign up package..if do halfway dun like also cant refund..waste $$$...

eh ellysia, if milk keep flowing out a bit paisay rite..juz imagine the moment the lady press on u..the milk flow out..so comical lor..haha..

Roxy
Dun give up, why not we list who are those that have given names to Auntie Su and our dates so that we knw wat other dates available. Also, this is on the assumption that we do natural delivery, if c-sect, will delay by 1 more week. I think 1 day she can do 2 massage bah, cos she did preempt me she may come in afternoon.
1) 3 Jun - Ellysia
2) 15 Jun - TF

For those who are looking for breast pumps, I suggest that perhaps you shd wait till you give birth or even if possible rent one 1st. For my case, being 1st time mummy, I bought medela PIS advance, but I juz couldnt pump more than 3 oz each time and was v discouraged. But lucky I am a SAHM and my gal latched on well so I ended up latching her for 10-12 months without any FM. On and off I would still try to pump but without much sucess.