(2008/06) June 2008

anyone has any idea if how will the budget annoucement affect us?

I think they were saying the subsidy in hospitals will now vary, depending on income right? so does it mean that when we deliver, our room charges etc will be according to our salary? like that how we est the delivery charges???

Haha, I called auntie Su, n introduce who i m, the first thing she start laughing and say June mummy is it. She's jovial. Told me so many June. She told me she will accept me the last one. I told her TOTO day, like striking a prize. Then she say they malay cant buy, if we can buy for her..keke. She say she cant take in some more. Then i persuaded her can lah, late June still can accept some customer. So gd luck to late-June mummy. Mine was 15 June wh i told her.

Veniz,

I am tempted to get half day leave too, but my hb said no use to get leave bec the sale is for 3 weeks.

Ellysia, that time in November's young parents mag, they having promo like 5 time 1hr massages as I had mentioned, plus additional 5 time massages at their outlets (dunno each massage for how long), thus that time was like really interested, but now, doing up the maths, dun think worth it. You get ah mor recommendation can liao, pretty good price for 2hr massage leh. But hor, think that the massage lady said so many booked liao, i better source around.

<font color="0077aa">TF*

ha ha ha yeah she is super jovial one even in real person, she laughs alot

iamsnow,

I only know got income tax rebate. i haven't check the details yet.

TF,

So looks like she cannot accept any more bookings liao. My EDD is 3 June.

<font color="0077aa">ellysia*

erm.. dunno how to describe leh.. normal looking malay auntie? slightly plump? or shall i say big bone instead..</font>

feifei,

I be poping by JL tonight.

Yes it is avent bottle hee, and avent brochure also. Got 1 free pak of avent shampoo or something like tat.

I tink our doctor talk is different date. Mine is next Tuesday.

Ellysia
If u had called her just nw, u can sms her your address. She estimated from those of you who have called her, which so far were the early June ones right? Else she tot she got so many caller fr early June, yet did nt recd the address, due date, name.

TF,

She got ask me EDD. I didn't give her my name over phone, forget. So later i msg her my address and my name, EDD.

iamsnow, I think the hospital thing only applies to people who stay in subsidized wards at govt hosptials. those who go to private hospitals or A wards at govt hospitals still pay the same rate. There is less subsidy now to people who earn more than $3200/month who choose non-A wards at govt hospitals.

I called Aunty Su just now. Luckily i sms her earlier to book for pre natal massages. And my EDD is end of June. She was laughing throughout the call.

So, i was in her list! hehe....

Btw, she told me dont do prenatal massage now as i'm goin to Wk24 only. She asked me to wait till end of this month or early next month only start the massage. So, i had to wait for another 3-4 weeks before i can pamper myself.

Ellysia, ya lor, i very tempted. But as your hb mentioned, I scare later i go down on first day, then towards end they take out new mechandise to sell, then good things at the last, well, I just see how, coz I still have quite a few day ALs left from last yr, then this year with ML, can bring forward them to next yr.

hi iamsnow, I don't think there was ever a subsidy for A wards. I thought the debate was whether high income earners can stay in subsidized wards and if so, are they also entitled to subsidy.... I may be wrong. I didn't get this info from the budget annoucement though. It was debated many months ago... and this morning, I had a quick look at the papers.. chinese My Paper.. which suggested that income more than $3200 cannot enjoy (full?) subsidy

cactus,
hee hee, I never follow thru the articles. so dun know much on it. all along I thought govt hosp got subsidy for all wards.... haha.... blur me!

Ellyisa,
my doc's talk also on tues, 11th wor...=D...

Pls keep us updated on the JL sales cos mioght be going on thurs...tks ger...Just curious to know diapers 15%, then e rest of e brands 20% lor..THen if Robinson cardholder, hv extra rebates anot lor... =D>..

Felicia,
pls also update us hor..tks..

cactus,
Congrats =D.

Cactus
I believe yours will be normal. Dun think so much. Imagine you have to open your legs big big liao, then will come true..picture the scene everyday..keke

iamsnow, ai yoh!! Govt hospital not cheap if we stay A ward leh. you can get that info from MOH website!! Then you will know.... not cheap at all....

fei fei - thanks!!

TF - huh??!! Oopen legs big big?? My legs will ache leh...

Felicia, morraine,
So that's how the massage lady works.. I still felt very insecure after I sort of booked mine cos she like never confirm anything with me de. I think I better compiled my list.

Morraine,
I will give you my contact for massage lady after I find out for sure if she's giving 1 or 2 hr per session.

Roxy,
You stayed in JW oso? My massage lady is charging me $50 extra cos she stays far away. I might oso call up my SIL's massage lady. However, my SIL still got big tummy after delivering in Dec 07.. I wonder if her massage lady good, haha.

cactus,
i no choice leh. coz my gynae is at KK. then i can only choose either 1 bed or 4 bed. I think 4 bed too many pple liao. then visiting hrs very restricted. hubby want to stay with me also cannot. so hubby say 1st kid stay A ward to pamper myself. then subsequently if want then decide to stay at 4 bedder.... coz my mum side 1st grandchild, my mil side 1st grandchild daughter... so they might be visiting me quite often at non visiting hrs loh...

hey Ellysia, give yourself some time. as long as placenta not covering cervix, it's a good chance it will move up. my doctor didn't want to discuss location of placenta with me initially. He said at 13 weeks, it is low but said he will only confirm low lying placenta after 28 weeks so told me to wait. Yesterday's appointment was exactly 24 weeks and he told me it's moved up high already so no prob anymore. maybe you can ask your doctor at 28 weeks or after... don't stress okay?

Zuen, u booked Auntie Su? I think shd be ok if u have sms her your info. Guess she will note it down. Just tat nthg can cast in stone cos even we duno when exact due. Cos fr the way Auntie Su says she cant accept so many early-Jun, she sound responsible to pace her clients, rather than some just take take take, then no show.

cactus, I am not emergency c-sect case for #1, my boy was breech, so it was an elective c-sect. But my hb cousin is an emergency case, she is unable to dilute even 1 cm after a few hours of contraction, thus she monitored during her last few visits to gynae, and then decided to go for elective c-sect this 2nd round. But lots of pple out there told me not to waste more $$, should go for c-sect straight away.

Felicia, haha, you also stubborn like me. Yes, now seems early to talk about it. But still have to standby ourselves for any 'fact' changes.

ZuEn,

Morraine dont need any massage lady details since hers is so popular. hehe...
You PM me, so i can compile and send via email to you all.

iamsnow, I also had this concept last time, stay A ward (single bed) for #1, the subsequent #2 stay 2 bedded. But hor, now my #2 is coming, I opt for 1bedded. I never tell my hb about it, but he will be prepared to pay for me, since he was not around when I opt for the hospital and type of room.

Veniz, thanks for sharing. can I find out in your hb's cousin's case, when did her waterbag burst? I understand that there can be contractions for a long time - no need for c-section. only need c-section if bb is distressed (heart beat drops) or if waterbag had burst for more than 24 hours. I hope to find out if my understanding is correct.

Veniz,

Tats why i said now my problem is emergency charges. I'll check with my gynae maybe in later stage. If kena top up like >1k, might consider elective c-sec but will hear my gynae's advise as well before decide.

Veniz,
u opt for 1 bed for your #2? hee hee, as long as your hubby does not mind, I think should be ok lah. anyway, bulk of the amt can be deducted from medisave mah.....

Cactus, hers is like waterbag burst in morning, then by lunchtime she was in hospital in contraction for 8hrs, with her pelvic only opened only 1/2cm. Thus no choice, as too long hrs and only diluted so little, doc told her not to wait anymore, just go for c-sect. She wasted $$ on epidural already. Not sure the total duration since waterbag burst though.

Felicia, ya, for your case, you will have to monitor closely with your gynae, mine if elective c-sect sure top up 1k, but I dunno abt emergency c-sect rates, also not to forget if cannot tahan, need to use gas, epidural, etc, will be more exp. I already prepared my hubby liao.

My hb was very anxious about my re-detailed scan. But its just normal follow-up re-scan without additional charges. Reason being, I am still consider underweight (in preggie state) and his friend's wife had a case of complication with needed to deliver baby at 27th week, after delivery, baby unable to survive, he was scared by it, thus, asked to see my report and scans, and finally looked relieved that I and baby are fine.

iamsnow, ya, I never tell him that tis time will be 1bed also, coz he scolded me for not resting well during #1 delivery when I get to enjoy the 1bed stay and threatened that no more 1bed for me for next baby, well, dun care, anyway, he pay cash, medisave will be deducted from my own account.

Hi everyone, there will be a babycare festival 2008 happening at singapore expo hall 6B on the 21st - 23rd March .i'd probably look into the subscription offers of the Mother&amp;Baby magazine there to enjoy greater offers. Anyone else here going for TMC parentcraft antenatal classes starting 21st March fri?

TF,
No lah, I didnt book Auntie Su. I got a recommendation from another friend. Just that I first time call massage lady, oso duno wat to expect. Then she like never confirm with me, just ask me to call back after I deliver.

morriane, felicia,
oops, sorrie..

hi all...

so is there a verdict on which breast pump to buy??

im looking for sometime that is preferably electrical..i wouldnt be working for sometime..just to hope to express the milk so that the confinement lady can help me feed the baby at night and also prevent engorgement and maybe i can have a gd rest while the baby is bottle fed.

which has the best review and how much are they going for now??

Hello Mummies, no time to pop by JL during lunch time today, hopefully I can go after work if I am not too tired. I will update tonite if I go for the sale after work.

Hi tinyfeet,

From previous discussion, most mummies is looking at Medela PIS Advanced or Ameda. Medela PIS is sold at Mums &amp; Babes @ $688 now, while stocks last. Got free bb playpen or medela accessories to choose oso.
Then for Ameda sold at Mumsfairy @ $365 now.

So, it depend on invidual preference and budget as well.
Btw, just got news that Mumsfairy is carrying Medela PIS as well. Price not sure yet.