(2008/06) June 2008

for disposable diapers, I started off with size s Drypers. Can fit 3 - 7kg. My #1 born 2.8kg, can fit him quite aright. Didn't buy NB. Don't buy so many packs of disposable diapers. My #1 can't even finish his first pack, then already outgrown. got to upgrade to M for second pack already.

iamsnow/ ellysia,
Another good points of cloth diaper is ,i believe it will not cause rashes on bb as we tend to change more often as we can feel the wetness. So, is better to standby both, just in case.

Ellysia - I bought my maternity pads from mothercare at centrepoint. not every outlet has them. best to call first to enquire. mothercare's website has local outlet info. I also plan to bathe and wash hair during confinement. have to maintain hygeine esp if breastfeeding. I don't know about closing all windows, but my MIL said she will boil ginger, something and soemthing leaves into a pail of water for me to bathe from that water and not the water from the tap.

piyoz- my SIL bougth newborn size for her boy! He was born at 3.4kg!!

piyoz, yeah!! that's why she was complainig she wasted lots of $$!! She told me to get cloth diapers first to stand by. Then buy disposables after bb is born - find out the size from the hospital.

cactus,

think most hospitals use NB pampers. But diapers very easy to get. Can just buy from NTUC, so no hurry.

Must get diaper barrier cream. Desitin Creamy is very good. Highly recommended by mummies here. my pd also recommend it.

disposable diaper: agree that shldnt buy too many newborn packs. Moreover, some relatives and friends might give you diaper as gift as well. Btw, mamy poko, the size is bigger than oth brand.And hospital will give you the unused diapers as well. So, no hurry to get it now.

Maternity pad : I dont plan to buy as i would use bak my normal nite wear sanitary pad. Same as diaper, hospital will give u the unused pad to take back home.

cactus,

Maybe i not clear in my previous posting. My mum said if i need her help, she has to come over to stay lor.

Ya i am planning to get her help to extend to 6mths but will see how things go during the 1st 3 mths.

Felicia,

The instructor from my pre-natal class keep saying that cannot use sanitary pad bec' will soak through, must get those Kotex brand maternity pad. Somemore must be tie string one, stick on is not thick enuff.

ellysia:

you mean first day of baby fair will have special promotion?

i thot they will usu leave it till the last day then got special promotion, esp for those extra stocks...

maternity pad:
how about the brand madame? the maternity pads with white packaging..

only sold at certain places..

heard some good reviews from the forum

June thread is moving really fast...

Ellysia,
Wah, so shoik ah, can get flats in AMK, your parents stay near u? 300k back than for AMK flats consider quite ex leh. For 4 or 5 rms? But now I think your flat is worth much more.

My new flat in Bedok, hubby get to get an agent to get a pricing for the flat, current now for valuation is 220k, meaning to say the value we got from HDB, 129k is quite worthwhile. Paper value, we save close to 100k. And no cash upfront also. But one shot they also drain our CPF. I was still thinking of investing part of my CPF so that they cannot drain all, but before I can do that, at HDB that day, they straight away drain it already.

Sanitary pad: From the feedback I got from others, those loop with strings one are more comfortable cos of the full cotton material. Compare to those stick-ons, alot of plastic, kinda warm down there when use. My friend gave me one big pack of the stick-ons cos after she used for 2 pieces, she gave up and went back to loop.

Plus anyone of you can share if their experience if the blood flow will be heavier for natural birth compared to those who had C-section?

MOrning ladies..

Ellysia,
Tinkw e can't drink water at all during confinement wor..hv to drink red dates water leh..

All,
Ask u all hor, do u all intend to bath in e hospital b4 u discharge?

Morning gers.. mid week.

Feifei,
I just finished reading the thread on red date water and hot milo and stuff. During confinement cannot bath, cannot wah air, must close window, cannot use fan... I wonder how to tahan how not to drink plain water. Now, I am always drinking cold water and soft drinks. My mum will nag whenever she sees.

Re: bb stuff
I am impressed by the research that you gers have done up. Realised that I am always one step slower. Hehe. Gg to bring my mum for shopping spree and just buy watever that she tells me necessary. ;p

Re: Bathing at hospital
I am those non-patang type. If too warm/ sticky. dirty, will bath in hospital. I am more worried that we will feel pain after delivery and nothing beats bathing at home.

Ellysia,

During my 1st pregnancy, hosp provide me those with strings, but maybe i'm not too sure how to tie, therefore i feel very uncomfortable. So when discharge, i used the Madame brand (which angel mentioned). Is quite thick and absord well, but again too thick that when i walk i was like robot.
So, i try to use my normal brand, Sofy nite used those 38 or 40cm type, it was ok for me. I think as long as we change frequently is shld be ok.

Kelcqi,
I think the delivery process does not affect the blood flow, it was very individual. For me, i consider heavy flow person even before preggie.
But i remember the flow stop after few days of discharge and for my case it came bak again after a month as i had stop BF.

if you afraid the blood will stain ur bedsheet you can buy those underpad from pharmacy to cover.

BP Soh,

welcome to join us! Maybe you can get Tera's help to update your info.

feifei,
If my mil know i bath at hosp, she'll kill me.

ZuEn,
Ya lor...hiaz, really hv to "suffer" during the confinement month lor, no choice...some ple say cannot wash hair until 1 wk later...i also duno true anot...

felicia,
morning...underpad is a plastic sheet?

Hi Roxy & somebody else (I cant rem, sorry),
I read from one of the threads on "High Blood Pressure in Pregancy" on how one MTB increased her amniotic fluid wor. I am not sure how to paste the link but copy the post.

"Yes , I was in the same situation. Drink lots of water, it really really helps. Mix your water with Gatorade or H2O . I usually mix 1/4 gatorade with rest plain water and drink throughout the day. i try to drink about 2-3 1.5 L of water. Remember to mix the drink as it contains salts or else your body will expereince water drunkardness which is bad. This remedy worked for me and my amnio fluid went from 5 to 10 in just 5 days. Even the doc was amazed that it went up so fast. And remember to
rest!!"

Maybe you want to try? But I am not sure if it is proven.

feifei,
The underpad i buy is blue color plastic with the upper layer is made from cotton/ paper material. So basically it'll absord the blood if it leak out and the blue plastic layer will prevent it from leaking to ur bedsheet.
There're few sizes of it as well. As i'm a heavy flow person, normally i'll use it on the 1st and 2nd day of my menstrual day.

morning ladies..
i'm in deep trouble. My aunt who supposed to help me do confinement told me she injured her back and leg.. oh my my.. no choice but to seek my parents-in-law help.. But hor.. they've no experience wor.. so worried..

Need your help to provide me more info on confinement. We may have to do it ourselves.. heard that most confinement ladies are booked in advance.

For confinement, besides the shower.. What about diet.. what do you eat for breakfast, lunch and dinner?

lala, do u intend to get a CL? i have sourced quite a few and shortlisted 2 which are avail during my EDD. I quite like her and she's used by my coll before. but my mil clash with her. so i decide to choose another one instead. if u need, i can recommend her to u.

feifei,

No worry, no noise. It was a soft plastics type. This was used in hospital as well after we been push to our ward.

Lala,
If you're not hiring a CL, maybe you want to booked a confinement catering. Me intend to do that though my mil had little experience after my 1st kid.

lala,
CL std is 28 days. she charge $1900.

she will take care of bb, take care of u, cook for u and your hubby, help u to wash clothes, simple cleaning etc. i think the chores can negotiate, depending on your needs.

Mornin Ladies..
Felicia / Fei.. the plastic sheets are similar to those used in hospitals rite??

Maternity Pads : I have tried 'pureen' brand i got it from kiddy palace..its says for maternity...not too sure still have a not...

Felicia,
Oic...tks for the infor...Tink i can get the plastic sheet frm pharmacy?

Do u know how much is it? selling by per packet?

<font color="ff0000">felicia*

hee i went to Macau &amp; HK during CNY holidays mah den after tat i was on leave till yesterday i returned to my workplace so was busy clearing work therefore did not log in yesterday
today work is abit more or less settled so come in to chat lor!</font>

morning ladies

yesterday after work see doctor and get MC for today....38deg fever, flu, sorethroat n baby no so active, doc told me to monitor bb movement...yes for check up i took annual leave but for these MC i will i try to claim fr my co...

<font color="ff0000">danryan*

take care and drink more water leh.. tat day brought my ger to the GP and oso GP commented that this festive period alot of ppl tend to have sore throat and fever and flu</font>

<font color="ff0000">feifei*

nah.. just bot 2 pairs of shoes for myself den some clothings for my ger only.. weather was darn cold there in Macau.. day time is like freaking 5 degrees onli!!! and im already so fat den adding on to those layered clothings and winter clothes.. gosh i look like a walking ba zhang!!!</font>

Hi Danryan...take lotsa fluid and lotsa rest!!
check up nd to take annual leave..then u will end up wif not much leave rite??..can ur company accept MC from gynea?

Lala,
Maybe can consider Confinement food catering?

Morr,
Welcome back!

Danryan,
Rest well and drink more water. Take more fruits too.

BP Soh,
You want to give me your details to update? (Age, EDD, Gynae, Hosp, Area Staying, # of child, BB's gender and BB's weight)

Riz,
Yup, same as the hospital one.

feifei,
I brought it from unity NTUC healthcare. Cant remember how much i brought but is less than $8 per pack which had around 6pcs. But the price vary with the size oso.

Morraine,
So nice. In fact me oso just bak to work on Monday. hehe...

Danryan,
Take care. I oso bit sore throat when wake up this morning then i quickly drink up one bottle of bird nest and now keep drinking water.

<font color="ff0000">tera*

i will be going for my detailed scan finally later in the day..

eh anyone of u did it in NUH? or wat is the pricing? i kinda of forgot liaoz..

felicia*

hee oso super long break for u yeah

morraine,

I almost dont want to come back to work. hehe...

Anyone is using OSIM weighing scale? Which model is good? I was looking at their website and found there's 4 models. Thinking to buy a new weighing scale as my old one was damaged as my #1 took it as her toy.

feifei,
i din bath at all for 4 days in hospital. wont feel dirty ley, maybe bcos got aircon and not out in the streets mah.

Ellysia,
the maternity pad (kotex loop) can be bought from guardian pharmacy and ntuc. i ever seen before these 2 places got sell. hehee i took strawberry &amp; apple fruit juice today :D

cacuts &amp; danryan,
take care, i oso fell sick a few days ago, see doc eat med sleep more recover in 1 day. so sleep &amp; rest v impt!

Felicia,
tks for e infor...diff sizes? we can just buy e biggest size lor..hee

morraine,
hehe..cold weather...got eat dimsum there? i missed their food..