(2008/06) June 2008

piyoz,
U mean you only bath every 2 to 3days? For me, i bath with herb everyday. And sometimes,i'll request to bath again in the evening but must with herb lah. I got one x-collgue bath with ginger leh. Really cannot imagine the 'hot' after the ginger bath.
Btw, preparing the herb bath oso not easy loh. Imagine had to boil the herb with water and then pour into pail and let it cool before bath. Normally had to boil 3-4 big kettle in order to fill up the bath tub.

Yaloh meals must eat hot hot. Sometimes i'm not hungry but as the food is ready and must take it hot hot.

piyoz,
So it was a antiseptic solution, but does it help to ease the pain below? Coz what i heard is a kind of spray. I was trying to find more info on this in case i success normal delivery, can get hubby to buy for me.
Nowadays the things that i might need to get but not now like breast pump, i always take the picture. Then in case i'm not able to go to buy or was in confinement can ask hubby go to buy. I'm sure without picture, he sure get the wrong item.

crystal,

I be at home this sat. Wat time u going down to warehouse? I be busy at home during evening though, cos my mum is coming over and i cooking dinner for her.

U msg me on the costing once u buy it. I can meet u at AMK MRT.

feifei,

Yes new place got 1 toilet for MTB only, hb cannot use.

My lesson for bb is next lesson. I tink my lesson is 1 week later than yours, cos yest is only my 3rd lesson.

hi I am from March 2008 thread.

I have excess Nappy liners which I want to let go.

1) Gerber Nappy Liners 2 boxes (SGD5.00 per box)

Please PM me if you all are interested

piyoz,
tks lor =D....

Felicia,
tink my mil also say can wash hair aft 2wks lor..somemroe i just cut my hair short b4 cny..tink shd be okie de..

But hor, like washign hands, wash cup, aft toilet wash hands, must use boiled water?

felicia,

ya lor, only once 2 or 3 days. my mum say already very kind to me =(

Normal delivery usually the pain heals quite quickly. Also using maternity pad, so the cushioning is there. The antiseptic solution more of keeping the area clean. I remembered I can get up and walk around after 3 or 4 days.

your hb so good, can buy for you. I plan to get all I need myself before I deliver. He sure get the wrong one if ask him to buy.

Felicia,

Not sure whether guardian got sell, i no see b4. I wonder do mothercare such shops got sell or not.

Tonight i am going to spring AMK to reckee more bras, i may check out mum & babes. If i see such pdt, i let u know.

feifei,

My mum also tell me she has been told by old folks that must used boiled water for everything. including brush teeth etc.

My mum encounter a bad exp when she drink cold water during her confinement.

So i tink i will oso drink warm water, dare not drink cold water.

For bathing water, can we mix water heater water with boiled water? so it can be faster than boiling few kettles?

Boiling kettle is v slow, i wonder can i buy those electric water boiler (the one we used to boil water for drinking) then mix with the pot with herbs. faster.

feifei,

how i wish i can cut my hair short short, but cannot leh, coz my face not suitable for short hair, moreover, i had thick hair. So if cut short sure will be more messy during confinement.

Nope only brush teeth, rinsing the mouth, i use boiled water (again insisted by my mil), but she had been asking me avoid washing hand unneccessary. So, i din wash cup, plate or anything. So, i'll use wet tissue to wipe hand if not so dirty since i din do much thing oso.

And oso my mil oso insist me wear slipper at home during confinement avoid too much contact with the floor.

boo hoo... my tummy is to tight & hard...
BB's expanding...

ellysia,

ya, my hb's duty is to go with me to help me carry the items =) So I'll choose and buy myself.

my mum don't allow me to drink water. Can only drink the longan + red date water. Starts straight after delivery. She and my mil came to visit me at hospital each with one big thermo flask of longan red date water. So strange to eat the vitamins, pain killer and other pills with longan water.

Felicia,

Wear slipper during confinement tat one i heard b4 from my mum too.

I oso won't be cutting hair short bec' my face not suited for short hair.

I heard from mum tat wash hand can but must use warm boiled water.

ellysia,
Ok, pls let me know if you saw the spray there.

I nvr drink any plain water during confinement leh. All i drink is the red date, tang shen plus longan drink. My mil only allow me to drink plain water after one mth.
For bathing water, no, we cant use water heater, all must be boiled.

piyoz,

My mum even more strange. told me her confinement she can only drink HOT MILO. And it must be hot milo all the way.

I tink i will drink warm boiled water. else cannot quench the thirst.

Felicia,

In this case i may as well buy another electric water boiler ( i ored got 1 at home). Then i can boil water faster, then top it up with the pot with boiled herb water.

Longan + red date water? It be like soup right?

ellysia, not certain on the exact time which i be down at the warehouse but will call u when done to arrange. i will try to avoid yur evening time lar.

Ellysia,

Last time, i use 2 kettles to boil at the same time. My mil even use those big pot to boil water oso.

longan + tang sheng + red date /black date + little bit of rock sugar= daily drink. Like wat piyoz said, is funny loh to swallow the pills with this drink. Somemore must drink warm, so it'll be keep in the flask (2 big flask) , so that it was warm when i want to drink.

Felicia,

OIC. In tat case i get another electric kettle, faster ba.

The chinese herbs just brew in pot until boiling then can liao right?

Usually how long u have to wait until the boiled water cool enuff to bathe?

I just woke up from a nap! Catching up with the posts!

Piyoz - I think the chinese do confinment for 28 days. the malays do it for 40 days or 40+ days. I forget now.

Ellysia - Your mom is right. it's not fun to wash cloth diapers loh.. even with thel iner, there may be poo stains on the cloth diapers. I'm planning to buy the normal type - already bouught the napkin pins. Planning to buy 2 packs. I think 1 pack is 10 or 12. Think 2 packs is sufficient if wash every day. Assume bb pees/poos once every 2 hours. Still have anothoer 8 to 12 pieces on standby.

cactus,

Yah my mum said last time she use cloth diapers until she give up, use disposable for my brother. I tink for me, is all along cloth cos tat time dun have disposable diapers.

cactus,
u so shiok.... just woke up.........

i cannot imagine having to wash the diapers... wah, one whole pail of diapers!! haha.... i going to hire maid, will get maid to wash... hee hee

Ellysia,

I'm not too sure how long my mil brew the herb leh. Coz normally she'll start boil before i wake up. I think maybe few mins kua till the water become dark color coz of the herb color. As for the cooling i think take quite long time ( if not mistaken might need an hour) to reach the level that i can bath w it.

felicia,

my mil has this old kettle which all the woman in the family (from the time my hb bb) uses for confinement bath water..... so just use that to boil.

ellysia,
must still bath warm. So as long as you can take the heat, then ok. But can't be too cold, if not will have to boil again.

cactus,
oh, the days is according to race? My friend scold me for doing so short. She did hers full 40 days. I took a good shower and went shopping on the 29th day =) FREEDOM!!!

bb usually poo 2 or 3 times at beginning, after few weeks will be once a day, or once every few days. As for pee, can be as frequent as once every 15 min!!! but 2 packs is enough =)

Felicia,

WAH 1 HR so long!

Piang i intend to bathe when i came home from hospital leh.. imagine have to wait for 1 hr for water to cool.. unless i get mum to do for me before i came home.

no.... during working days.

i understand our monthly check up cannot claim but these one MC cause sick leh....

gtg gals...off duty cannot tahan shivering n non-stop tap water came out fr my nose....

will read the post tonite

Dan,

U mean during pregnancy?

Of course can claim but provided your company allow lor. My company only allow if i see company doctor.

Take care, drink more water.

Ellysia,

For whole big bath tub to cool down is not easy leh. Somemore the water was boiled. In fact i keep stir the water in the tub so it can cool faster. hehe....

Felicia,

OIC very long..
OK i discuss with mum see how, dun tink i can wait so long.

No wonder my colleague use water heater water to supplement, i tink cool faster.

iamsnow - I'm sick lah. 2 days mc. tomorrow going back to work. :p

Ellysia - yeah, it's not going to be easy to look after a baby, and do tedious housework like washing diapers. At first, my MIL said ok to looking after our bb, then SIL now pregnant - 2 months.. so cannot look after long term. I'm getting my dad to look after now. getting a maid for him. Then I'm working part time after bb arrives. Paycut but what to do? Sigh...

Piyoz - I read somewhere taht the malays do their confinmenet longer than chinese. 40 or 40 plus days! But chinese is 28 days exactly.
Good hor!

Dan - Yeah, I agree with Ellysia. depends company to company. My company doesn't allow me to use MC to cover my check ups. i am forced to use my annual leave....

cactus,

Recently my MIL also mention may not be able to take care full term too, cos she having some health probs, scare she cannot take good care of bb.

My mum health also not v good. Then if want to get my mum, my mum want to come to my house instead of i go over cos my parents house neighbourhood not v good (noisy) and undergoing lift renovation so v messy.

Those MC that gynae gave me, I submit to company leh and acceptable so far. But cannot claim cost lah, only can accept MC.

ellysia,
ya, think have to at least rinse clean first before accumulating enough to machine wash.... else will have stains one....

cactus,
u sick? aiyo, better rest well.....

For confinement practices i tink i can i can discuss with my mum, some if i dun want to do tink my mum will accede. But i want to know if useful or not, if good then no harm following.
But my hb "jia gan dang" lah, he keep saying Caucasians dun practice these "wind" or no "wind" then they also no get wind then why we chinese must follow etc etc.

I tink maybe confinement he may be more pek chey than me.

ellysia,
If use liner, the poo poo wont kana too much on the cloth diaper loh.
Last time, my mil will use tap water to wash it away and then throw the cloth into the soak pail as well.
Maybe you just buy 2 packs 1st and try out, if ok, cant use cloth diaper longer, else just switch to disposable type loh.

But i had to admit that disposable diaper, of course is much much easy, just throw away!

ellysia,
after my 1st delivery, i do somehow believe certain practise of the chinese confinement practise. For caucasians maybe their environment, food intake , genes is diff from us, tats why this kind of confinement dont work on them.

actually i had been following tis thread but din sign in til now. can i stil join tis thread?

my EDD is 30 june 08, expecting minnie.

iamsnow - thanks, am feeling better now. just a very sore throat still.

Ellysia, although I've not had a bb before, I agree with felicia that there are some practices which are work keeping. Like don't leave our hair wet - just hair dry or rub wine over our scalp.

Gee... didn't realise I wasn't alone in problems with baby care arrangements...

Hi Felicia,

I will buy 2 types of diapers. May buy 1 pack of cloth then 1 pack of disposable. See which one works better.

I oso believe caucasian genes a bit different, and moreover they may use their own herbs which may still work the same way just tat we dunno.

ladies, if you plan to buy disposable, my suggestion is not to buy first. my nephew was born so huge he couldn't fit into the smallest size! I feel best is to buy some cloth to stand by cos bb will always be able to fit into it. It's a good idea to just use the pieces hospital give us. Check the size then go and buy. it won't be too late cos bb will be in hospital for at least 1 day. enough time to buy extra packs. thats the same for maternity pads too. I just bought a pack of 48 pieces from mothercare. it's supposed to only last me 1 week but I am not going to buy more. If really need more, will ask my SIL to help me buy... she's female mah! :p

cactus,

I intend to bathe and wash my hair during confinement..

Heard tat have to close all windows when bathing. Then hair when finish washing, must wrapped with towel, quickly dressed, then dry hair.