(2008/06) June 2008

Hi feifei,
Think yur minnie’s wtg is jus nice cos my gynae did mention tat mine is consider as “petite”, kinda on the small end of the scale type but she said since it is going to be a ger, so ok to be “petite”, so I think yur Minnie is doing jus fine.
I was shocked cos I wasn’t prepared for so much of the increase in her wtg in so short a time. Another gf of mine, her Minnie is oreadi 1.1kg & my gf edd is on 15th may, tat’s like 2 wks ahead of us.

Hi morrine,
Accepted yur request on facebook oreadi…

Hi ellysia,
Mine bb oni response to hard rock or techno music. Forget abt classical, Mozart, Chinese pop whatsoever cos she will jus fall asleep. My hb got a kick out of teasing our bb oreadi abt tis. Remember I mentioned b4 tat while sweets n orange juice work for u gers during DS, it didn’t work for mine even though I tried, she jus remains very quiet or sleep thru’out? Tis time round, I played techno music while on my way to my mthly visit in hb’s car n she was tapping her feet n clenching her hands during the scan. Wow! Anyway, we found out tat she is stimulated by hard rock n techno oni by chance recently but tat is another story oreadi…
okie, I can save $ on Mozart liao or maybe buy one on standby to put her to bed when she arrives.

Felicia...i came to know abt Doc.Ang from many recommendations..didnt hear any bad stuffs abt him leh..jus tat he is beri busi and spends little time wif his patients..and of cos the long waitg time lor..its true oso if everytings ok ..he is quite a gd doc ba.my 1st one was Dr. Hii jus opposite my block..he is oso not detailed..package is $900 exclude vitamins..too ex...I'll still go wif Doc Ang lor.

Riz,
I had bad experience with Dr Hii. I mentioned in this thread before. He asked me to abort my 1st pregnancy when he cant detect her heartbeat, which i'm lucky i din do it.
Tats why i had been very careful when choosing gynae for my 2nd one. Even before conceive, i had oledi survey around. Dr Ang was oso recomended by my another friend.
So, in my opinion it depend on luck if we are able to meet the right gynae. He might be a good gynae to one person but might not be a good one to another patient. So, depend on luck.

hi gers, check tis out: -

RE: An alternative to traditional herbal baths
http://www.littledreamers.com.sg/
I am intending to head down to their warehouse tis sat to make some purchase cos find the boiling n cooking of the Chinese herbal during confinement too troublesome. A fren of mine had use these items before during her confinement n she was full of praise for these shower foams n shampoo.

RE: Baby wipes
My cousin-in-law had just alerted me to a sale going on at Watson outlet frm last wk till 27th feb on the baby wipes. She herself apparently had switched her kids (2yrs n 4yrs) to this brand – Komodo, of baby wipes from Johnson’s base on the texture, sensitiveness to kids skin, etc. Watson is selling per pack @ $1.95 & for every 10 packs purchased, you will get 1 free pack. My concern was tat by getting tis item so early, would the moisture dry up? But she assured me tat so long we leave the seal intact n keep the stock in a cool place, the moisture will be retained. She said tat tis baby wipes is very impt n will cost us lots of $$ when bb is borne cos we need it for wiping the bb’s butts, etc etc. I’ve checked tat NTUC is selling the similar brand n pack @ $8.80 for every 3 packs. Huge savings on getting from Watson now for 11 packs @ $19.50. FYI I jus got 11 packs tis am myself. Intending to buy more tomorrow cos too heavy to carry all in one shopping trip.

Felicia,

A lot of gynae all have many patients.

My gynae also a lot of patients. I also cannot ask her many questions, dun tink she got time to answer them all.

I normally wait for half an hr to 1 hr. If weekend may be 1.5 hr or longer.

crystal,

I got 2 mozart CD. My bb respond more to 1 CD which has faster pieces. The other CD with slow piece will put my bb to sleep. So i put the slow pieces CD if i dun want bb to move too much and disturb my work.

Playing Pop songs have not much effect on my bb so far. Occasionally he will move but not v reactive.

hey ladies..
my gynae also super busy...even i'm the first for appt..plus he comes in half hr after opening hrs. i will usually have to be placed the 5th onwards to see gynae...reason being they will give priority to new visits and those emergency cases..i will have to wait ard 1-1.5 hrs each time to see him...bearing in mind tat im with appt...sigh...

shinely,
I think Cactus mentioned before that the dating scan taken during the 7th/ 8th week is the most accurate, then after that, different bb will grow at different rate, so the Edd will shift here and there. Moreover, Edd further changes cos some doc based on LMP. Anyway, I think the docs are not concern about Edd. It is only a guage to them. Only the MTBs like us are concern, counting down with each passing day, hehe.

Roxy,
Oh, there are cots that can be converted to bed.. I supposed those are the wooden ones then. Maybe that's why the plastic ones are so cheap. I was thinking of getting a cheap one cos tot will keep in store room after 1 year, hehe.

shycloud,

How come new visits w/o appt can go in earlier?

For my gynae if my appt is first one, they will give me unless i am late myself. But if i come in late, they will still give me first priority.

But if emergency or last minute squeeze in appt, usu they give me last few.

Zu En,

Gynae will be concern abt EDD bec they need to judge whether need to induce or not etc if due date is delayed. My gynae is v concern on my EDD when the date is uncertain after my Oscar scan.

If u get big cot, bb can actually sleep up to 2 years or more.

hi roxy
yah i did change to dr chang and saw him when i was still breastfeeding cos i wanted to check if i was ovulating while breastfeeding. Then something happened to my SIL during her delivery and i got scared after hearing abt her incident so i decided to change back to uncle cheng cos oso after thinking since i had experience wif uncle cheng and i feel comfortable with him so better stick back to him lor. will pm u the story cos think not nice to talk abt it here.

Re waiting time
Hmm, no complaints about waiting time for my gynae. I am usu able to see her on time (max waiting time is 20min) and for the few times that my apptm was at 8.30am, she is at the clinic by 8.30am.
I guess like what Felicia said, there's a certain premium to pay for the more popular gynaes (long waiting time and shorter consultation time).

Crystal,
11 packs of baby wipes for $19.50 is cheap, cos I was at Tangs on sat and saw that the Pigeon wipes were going at around $10.10 for 3 packs (something like that).

iamsnow,
I also haven't started shopping for bb stuff yet. Maybe this coming weekend. So far only bought 3 rompers for my bb lor. :p Oh and just took from a fren, her baby carrier, to place bb in till he's about 3 mths old.

Roxy,
Will update on my visit. You too ok?

ellysia...
u see hor..cos they (newcomers) came in rite @ the point when they open the clinic...so generally they will give a no. to them before us.
btw, they go by queue sytem. so we end up after them...sigh!

Ellysia,

I have no choice. Cos Open-market flats are so expensive. They're asking for 20-50k cash upfront. So hubby and I tried for balloting.

And ballot we always no luck, so last mth we went to the MP and told them we need a flat urgently and ask for help, so this mth we managed to get to choose a flat over the ballot. So just take now, stay for 5 yrs then move back AMK loh. I also quite sad to be away from my parents...

hey tera,
yup think u saw rite cos for the same komodo brand tat watson is having on offer now, ntuc across the road near my hse is selling them for packs of 3 at $8.80.

baby stuff:
I had some comment on the johnson baby shampoo which is yellow color bottle. My girl keep scratching her head when i use it on her. Then i heard from my collegues, they oso had the same problem when using it on their bb. The prob might not lies with all the babies but i wud advise try using the sample bottle 1st before you decide to purchase it for long term use.

Hello MTBs
I've been so busy since CNY and at same time went to stay at in-law side when hubby back in town. Yet no network for access. So have missed lots of thread for me to catch up, just some glimpse. Pardon me if i may have miss some msg to me.

Kelqi
I empathize hw you feel over moving to a place when u r so used to the North. I used to stay in East so much tat aft my marriage, i have to move to West (which i tot i once swear i will nt work n stay West). I had to adapt to taking MRT fr Lakeside, etc.. really its abt adaptation. The gd thing is u r staying wif your hubby n looking forward to your new nest. Back then, I was staying wif in-law w/o hubby in town some more. So can't be tat bad

Starmoon
Yes, ha.. u also waiting huh.. aiyo, been very long wait already..we just hope by Dec-08 or early 09 can be ready. Hope they dun wait till Dec-09 cos that's the final legal date. I've got Block D, 35th floor, facing north. Wat abt u? So gd to knw u as my first neighbour!!

Luz
Ha, so how is life being in Cantonment since u been there?

Tera
I've changed to KKH for my delivery. So nt sure if i can attend the antenatal class in TMC.

Kylene and all
Kylene, thank you so much for your immediate offer for me to meet your Polyclinic friend.

Ladies, Kylene was kind to assist me to meet up wif her friend at Jurong poly during the CNY last week. Everything was so fast n smooth tat I was referred to KKH within last week too (instead of the one month waiting time). It all owe to the "High Risk" status tat Kylene's friend classified for me for my baby's Fallot Tetralogy (Heart) case. At KKH, I met up wif the Senior Trainee Consultant n they scheduled me the next day for a detailed scan. 2mrw, I will need to go KKH again to see the Cardiac Pediatrician for the Echo baby heart scan and then Thursday to meet the Fetal Assessment team. As I am walking the public subsidize path, i do nt have a fixed gynae at this moment. Even then, so far, KKH has been very good in getting the necessary dept to work on my case. I've also return to my TMC gynae last week and shared with her on my path via KKH. My TMC gynae, Adelina, was very supportive throughout. She told me that she is very happy that i chosen this path as she deems if it would be her, she would do the same to KKH. So suggested to refund me the remaining of my package and I redeem it with mostly supplements for my next few months. When I updated Adelina on by appts in KKH, she was glad to see that the team in KKH are working together n assured me that tho' i'm under the subsidized fee, the same attention n care has been given to my case. Just tat i will nt have the same gynae every nw n then.

Hence, for last week and this week, I've to redo Detailed scan, Echo scan, etc.. cos it is the KKH policy to keep their own records, also as a process to get the latest update.

My hubby and I are still keeping every hopes high on the best of our baby progress thru prayers. In fact, he was so touch n thankful to all you mothers here when during the CNY, he went thru the June thread and read abt your wishes and prayers for us. Thank you.

Papaya: I've also been taking papaya once a week. Initially i was worried abt jaundice, but later read in web that shd be alright as long as it is ripe. The unripe one will cause contraction, so avoid. In fact, was suggested that on the last week towards delivery, if we eat the unripe papaya soup, it can help with easier contraction and also the start of production of milk supply.

TF, you mean all these while your hubby not in town and you stay with your PILs? If my hubby not in town, I sure move home one.

I dun have much friends in the East. My friends either stay Bukit Panjang, Central or North area. Only my boss stay in the East, which I intend to leave after my delivery. DUnno what will it be like if I bump into him in Bedok next time...

Hi gers,
I am super early today cos hb needs to be at work earlier.
Went for my appointment yday and saw my bb. The doc says that she is growing well, but was unable to estimate her weight due to her awkward position (she was facing up). I had my detail scan at week 17, so missed out on the heart and facial development. The doc says that her heart seems alright, but unable to see her lips as she was sucking her fingers. Hehe. My next apptm is 4 weeks down the road, in my 27th week. Wat a long wait...

Re: Blood pressure
I noticed that my blood pressure has been climbing and I am very concerned. Yday, I measured 139/91, which is considered as high. When I took my own blood pressure at home, it is slightly on the high side too, but not as high as 139/91. The doc says that it could be work stress and all the activity before the blood pressure take. Thus, he was not overly concern. Any MTBs experience the same? I noe exercise and diet can help but not sure where to start. Haiz.. Any advise?

Morning ZuEn,

About blood pressure, mine seems to be rising as well compare to my 1st pregnancy. During my 1st pregnancy my blood pressure can go as low as 100/65. But this round my blood pressure keep rising out form my normal blood pressure, i asked my gynae he said is normal for preggie lady to get such high blood pressure.
If ur gynae din said anything about it, then it shld be ok. Coz i know for preggie lady the level of blood pressure will be diff from normal range.

morning ladies...

ZuEn,
so far, my blood pressure is ok lor...I tink it could b due to ur work stress.4 wks bery fast de...

TF,
Jiayou ya...REally glad everything is workign well for u ...

crystal,
hehe..ya lor, felt so relived after wat i heard frm u =D...i also worry abt the labour pain now cos heard frm my coll that even though she took epidural , she can still feel e intense contraction pain, epi only help to mantain this pain and not really reduce it...I hear liao also feel scare...

The kodomo bb wipes so cheap? All watson have?

Mornin Ladies,
Felicia, Dr Hii didnt gif me real bad experience..jus tat canot tahan the $$..spend on alot of unneccessary stuffs..plus i don not hv detail scan & oni get to hear bbs heartbeat the week b4 i go for delivery..i had to request if not he oso don mention anytin...
Many of my colleagues is under Doc Ang..so far so good lor..

hi, i went to watsons at sun plaza yesterday. the wipes is sold out. but i think the wipes is 20pc per packet. is it considered cheap? sorry, i have no idea whether it is cheap or not coz no experience in buying such things...

Riz,
I din 'survive' under Dr Hii till his package so not too sure if his is real ex. But my gynae after Dr Hii oso charge very ex. I spent about total $6k-7k (c-sec) in cash for my 1st pregnancy. And the gynae was not very professional in my opinion as he's too self confident. Thats why my friend recommended me Dr Ang as he's popular with reasonable package.
Even tat friend of mine whom 'suffer' under him oso told me Dr Ang wont simply charge unreasonable, just her luck to met such incident under him. But as this round i hope to opt for VBAC, tats why i'm bit 'gan cheong' oso whenever i heard something bad.

Kelcqi,

So sad, i can understand.

I am lucky to get a new AMK flat through WIS in year 2005. My flat is left over-sales after en-bloc so HDB only release few flats. But cos they release the sale together with other popular estates like queenstown and redhill, so many people didn't notice the few flats release for AMK. Our queue number is 80 plus but still manage to get the flat at AMK.

Afterwhich, the chinese quota is closed. But the new flat opp to my unit (last unit at my block) was release for sale for 2 years and no sales. Later I tink HDB give up and they sell to a Chinese couple. The couple told us bec' HDB couldn't get other race to buy so they give up and sell to Chinese even though chinese quota ored max.

TF,

Glad for u that yr transfer to KKH is smooth. Hope everything be alright for u. Dun worry we be here for ya, if anyting stress tok to us.

Hi Zu En,

I not sure abt my own blood pressure. Usu measure at gynae office but i never check with her. If it is high or abnormal i guess gynae will mention to me.

Re: Baby wipes

Is these wipes come with any liquid or chemical? Cos i tot we can just wipe with water for poo poo using cotton buds will do.

Ellysia,
u were very lucky to get AMK flat. that time i went to ballot for amk flat, under near parents scheme. but did not managed to get any queue no at all! in the end, i had to go for WIS at sembawang. the redhill, amk WIS was after i got my sembawang flat.... quite a pity.

iamsnow,
Me and hb parents houses have no room for us to stay so we have to buy a new house or we cannot get married.

We went ballot for Pinnacle in year 2003, manage to get a good queue number but then we give up bec' realise the TOP date is v late.

Then we went ballot for AMK Ave 1 new flats, cannot get queue number.

Then we ballot for Toa Payoh Central new flats, also cannot get queue number.

In the end, we give up on new flats so we ROM in year 2005 thinking that we will get resale flats.
Straight after we ROM, 1 month later we got the new flat at AMK through WIS. hb dash down to HDB to queue and we got the last flat offered to chinese.

Our new flat also not cheap, cost $300K though is low floor. Swipe away our CPF at one shot for the downpayment. We manage to pay without using cash, phew.

Ya happy to get a AMK flat and so near to central too. If not, most likely we be on resale flat i tink. Back in year 2005 resale are also cheaper.

anyone have any idea where to get cheap baby clothes? i heard that amk central and sima lu temple there got cheap ones. but not sure where is the exact address.

i must start sourcing liao. else tummy too big cannot go and buy already....

ellysia,
whao. really lucky. glad u managed to get a flat. i think now supply of flats has dropped. my friend who was intending to get married could not get any flats under several ballot. then under the WIS, all are low floors. in the end they went to buy condo....

iamsnow,

AMK shop is opp to polyclinic. Just ask people where is the polyclinic can liao. I forget the block number.

Si Ma Lu one is just opp to temple, near a corner.

My hb and me dun intend to get nicer bb clothes from Kiddy Palace. hb said he dun like those neighbourhood ones.

iamsnow,

My flat also low floor but lucky got park & greenery nearby which block the MRT track so no noise also. Nice scenery then nearby to MRT.

Now price has shoot up to $600K but we won't be selling even after 5 year i guess, no point.

wat is recommended for detergent use for baby clothings.. i have alot of passed down clothes from my frend and sis.. need to wash them mayb near to my delivery.. thanks!

Hi All MTBs,

I'm intending to order some products from
http://www.littledreamers.com.sg

Any MTB is interested to join in the spree so that we can save on the delivery charges? Minimum order of $150 then there will be free delivery.
Please PM me if anyone is interesed. Will place order on 29th Feb 08. Will receive items in 1st week of Mar 08.