(2008/06) June 2008

Hi Angel,

We go shopping but usually only during sale period.
We don't skimp and save on food and clothes though. We may not always buy branded stuff, but we make sure we get good quality.

Cactus:
You so nice!! HAahaa.. Prob cos my hubby not romantic kind and V day is one of the few times to force him to be romantic.. haahaaa.. so i must insist..

But i also think dun need to spend too much $$ lah.. One bouquet of flowers is like close to $100 loh.. I got 1 stalk of rose, good enough liao.. heehee..

angel_z,
I also hope my hb will become more romantic lor..hehe...

cactus,
wow, so nice leh...lucky you...me more envy of u liao..hee

cactus,
Lucky you.. I asked my hb about how we are gg to celebrate our wedding anniversary in April. I was half-hinting that we can book a hotel room and stuff, since we cant go overseas. In the end, he suggested that we knock off on time (weekday) and go for a dinner.. I almost faint on the spot. Haha. I dun even want to ask him about V day liao..

jkyeo,
You oso due in June? Actually, how much is the package that he is offering you huh? I followed him since fertility treatment. His package starts from the 20th week (I am only signing up during the next visit, i.e. 23rd week). Nobody recommended me and he is already giving me a 10% discount. I cant rem how much, need to go home and check. No problem with the recommendation.

True true.. But what i wan more is for him to show that i'm impt to him (oops.. show my needy side liao)

Same here.. Me n hubby have the same savings system as you: separate personal acc and 1 joint acc..

Forced savings but still won't save as much as you.. Sigh.. Every month jus few hundred only... Better change our lifestyle man.. Better save more $$ for new bb.. Cannot shortchange bb..

feifei,
Maybe you dun wait for hb. Planned something romantic and surprise him lor. Hehe.

Re: bb movement
I always feel my bb's kick in the lower abdominal. However, there was a few times that I tot I felt it around the belly button. Has our bb started to move upwards? Or that one not bb's movement?

Feifei:
We can only hope.. Sigh.. But think no chance la.. If they reali romantic, dun have to wait until now.. Think the most, improve a bit only loh.. Heehee..

angel_z,
My hb and I oso have personal account and a joint account. The only differnce is that we throw the majority of our $$ into the joint account and keep min to survive in our personal account.
It is a decision that we made before marriage. A big committment cos we can no longer tell how much is whose $$. But oso an indication that we dun want to split the $$ forever, hehe.

Zuen:
Icic.. We did the other way round eh.. We calculated every mth how much we need to survive then see how much we can put into the joint acc (which is not much usu)

Must go home and scold husband and get him to save more liao.. heehee.. =P

zuEn,
tink our hbs will find booking a hotel room too ex lor..hiaz, men..

I also wan to plan lor..hiaz...but he having flu now, we supposed to celebrate vday tmr de cos thurs hv to attend anental class..ask him go where eat, he say up to me cos those places he suggested cannot make it..hiaz..

My bb also sometimes kick at the belly button there..bery cute leh..

The importnat thing is to have proper and diligent budgeting ahead of spending. how much we can save is of secondary importance. of course, the more we save, the better lah.

angel_z,
I am usually the one who do the accounting and telling hb how much to save. He said that I am a poor accountant, especially when he has to put in ernomous amount into teh joint acc. ;p

Feifei,
Ya, not on V day. Gg to hotel on V day will sure cost a bomb. That's why I suggested during our wedding anni. I think we wun eat at fanciful places on V day too. Sure very crowded and kena chop de.
Oh, so that is bb kicking lah. I was wondering cos I noe that bb in the lower abdominal in the initial stage. Duno whether she has moved up already. My bb like to squeeze on my right side. I always feel the kicks on the right side.

Just got back from lunch and busy reading the posts. Got to go for meeting shortly.

Wah Cactus, your hubby's proposal is very sweet! And you are very thoughtful yourself.
I also like to write to hubby but that was during par-toh stage. Think I need to rekindle the passion, hahaha.

Regarding bb movement, I'm feeling punches towards my back and downwards also. these feel more un comfy cos I mostly feel strong ripples. I think the bb is quite strong. My hb's felt bb kicking my tummy many times since 18 weeks + just by putting his hand on my tummy. I'm feeling movements more and more often too. Last time only at night and early morning. Now during the day too! It's amazing!

Cactus,
Ya, we are like you & hb..
I managed to save quite abit before we got married. Hb tends to make unwise financial decision. Now, he has no choice cos bulk of his salary goes into the joint acc. I think it is good for him to learn how to spend within his means.

Hi ZuEn, I think where finances are concerned, for a married couple, it's best to have 2 heads. Cos decisions will impact the family. The couple and children. I hope our kids will learn financial prudence from us. My mom told me, no point only know how to earn. Must also learn how to save. And must learn when to spend. My uncle told me must differentiate between needs, wants and "can do with or without". I think these are very important lessons in life. These days, schools don't teach these things. Kids learn from us or the pple they spend most time with.

angel_z,
cactus is correct.. i dun really think it's for R(A) reason.. not sure if it's because hosp are worried that we might use them as evidence against anything, but i guess, it's about privacy issue too.

wah.. i can see some of u already hv plans for V-day
me also thinking what to do on V-Day... :p

as for PJ issue, try to get those with front button.. easier to BF bb. also, get the gown type instead of shirt and pants type.. coz it'll be uncomfy after delivery and wearing pants would be difficult too. front-button gown type is easier to wear and minimize movement and pain in the wounds

i got mine from chinatown shops.. u know the food centre next to OG people's park? there are many shops above the food centre. u can get the PG there. i went to many plcs to look for it... those sold in malls are ex and not so nice.. surprisingly, the ones sold @ chinatown were more affordable and nicer designs. can bargain a bit too :p

Me just back from company CNY celebration. Didn't win any lucky draw, sianz
somemore, buffet queue is so long, i didn't manage to eat a lot so i ended up eating a small bowl of noodles after eating some food at the buffet.

cactus,

Me same as u. me also not video person, i dun like to watch videos. I prefer to have photos and i look at photos more often too.

Btw lawry food is not v fantastic. Hb treated me once, we find the food not v nice and overpriced.

If u like japanese food, i suggest u can go to this Hokaido restaurant, it is just 2 floors above borders at Orchard. Price is pricey.. around $30 or above each person but the food is definitely worth the price.

My hb is also quite like yours. He always gave me a lot of flowers on occasions and during no-occasions also. There is some time when both of us spend too much on our presents to each other that i have to limit it by setting a maximum amount. I came up with an idea of not more than $xx, and flowers must not be more than xx flowers.

Nowadays for commercialise occasions like Valentine day, usually we will just dine out. I told hb that we save up our presents on V-day bec' need to save up more $$ for bb.

As for proposal ring, I think mine is also around your size but tink is around $3K cos hb wanted to choose a top grade for clarity and colour though the caret is not v big. Cos i dun like big diamond ring and he knew it. But didn't realise he still spent a lot on the ring.

cactus,
wah.. u can save 80% of ur salary!!! amazing!!! how do u do it huh? share share leh...

me oso save up.. but many other financial commitments, like car, petrol, nanny fees for my mum and SIL etc etc

cactus,

I went to that jap restaurant and eaten their cooked food and its v nice. Their menu got a lot of nice cooked food.

Or u can try the Shangrila hotel buffet, quite nice and not v crowded type.

If want to dine out then better book early lor, cos v-day always v crowded.

cactus,

Actually with both u and yr hb income, u 2 can get a nice house or HDB flat for you to stay. Best to settle the house soon so that u can have space for your growing bb.

If get HDB flat, the loan is not a lot and not so cash pinch cos its deducted from CPF.

Ellysia, Im' trying to avoid buffets! scared put on too much weight hard to lose leh!! But The Line is indeed very good! Very yummy and they have different spread every week. When bb is older, will bring him to The Line. I'm sure he'll love the ice-cream counter!!!

cactus,

Anyway proposal ring no need v big one. Cos we also dun always wear it. So far, i dare not wear it cos scare i lose the ring. I only wear during customary and for wedding photo shoot.

I am not v into diamonds, my hb does more research before he buy the ring so he told me blar blar etc when he propose to me. I cannot believe when he propose to me, i keep asking him is it crystal ring. So funny.

cactus,

Yup tats the name, forget wats the name of the place liao. The food is indeed nice and better quality, cos most buffets i find food quality not as good.

Buffets dun go Mandarin Orchard 333 restaurant cos their food really cannot make it..and still charge $40++.

So far i eaten best buffet is Chinese restaurant Tung Lok buffet. But it is chinese food.

Hi Ellysia,

At the moment, hb's career direction not clear. It'll be clearer by Nov this year. If he doesn't get his promotion, we are likely to go for resale HDB flat. That one, we can pay in full - no need loan. But if he gets his promotion, he will want private property. We will need to get help from my parents - definately.

We're aware that we need space for growing bb, but my parents' 5 room flat is quite big and we are comfortable there. at first, we said we'd move out by mid next year, but after renovating the place, we realised we can even have #2 at my parents' place.

We hope not to use CPF $ for housing unless it is private property.. cos when we repay the CPF $ when we sell the house, we need to repay with 2.5% interest. not little loh. we rather invest the CPF $ and get at least 2.5% for doing nothing. The longer we leave the CPF $ in our accounts, the longer they can help us accumulate interest.. so in the event we buy private property, at least not so heart pain. We've only been working for about 5, 6 years. NOt alot of CPF.

I went to Triple 3 before. It was ok, I thought. We had cheese with lobster. unlimited. and grilled upon order. But at that time, it was $68+++. It was about 3 years ago, I think. Feb 2005.

I've only been to try the buffet at The Paramount. It's a Tung Lok restaurant. It's good. Although it's mainly chinese, they have oysters with cheese (baked), and salmon sashimi + california maki. After I was pregnant, never go already. per adult, after taxes and other charges, just under $40. Think it's $32++.

cactus,

Me and hb also only worked 5-6 years, also not a lot of CPF. Plus i have pay freeze for 4 years when start work, cos property market no good that time. When we bot our flat in year 2005, our CPF and all used up just enuff for the downpayment.
But now i dun regret getting our own flat cos the prices are so high now! Our AMK flat is $300K, now ored shoot up to $600K.

If u want to get private property, suggest to get a good location (near MRT) so that can still maintain the market value. Also suggest to wait awhile for the price to drop first. Now still a bit overheated.

Ya the buffet restaurant i am saying is Paramount. It is indeed v good, if i want to eat buffet i also will want to go there.

The 333 is still same price but menu changed, I went last year. Food no longer nice.

hi ladies !!!
wow, the thread moves soooo fast ! have been really busy with work and trying to get things done so that i can leave work promptly at 630

My toddler is getting very clingy to me these days and wakes up at night even !!! (bad bad eyebags ...)

Video Cams/Digital Cam/DSLR - just get something which you are comfortable with - not too bulky - cuz your poor hubby also has to hold your hand during childbirth !!! But for convenience, i think a digital cam wld be best - small - can fit into shirt/trouser pocket and can delete pic if not nice !!!
I think u also have to ask your Obgyn if he/she allows you to film during the process - that's just being polite - cuz i've heard of some who dont allow. My previous Obgyn was pretty ok with it - my bro-in-law filmed my second neice being born !! My hubby forgot to charge our digital cam - thus no videos

plus we didnt bring our digi cam, so my girl's first few photos are taken with our mobile phones !!! thank goodness for photo taking function on the mobile !!!

Piyo : aiyo ! poor thing, i hope my office doens't bar access to this forum !! otherwise i'd be most depressed !!! heehee yes yes we sld have lunch again soon - Cactus sld be able to join us since she works in this area too right ??

Cactus : your proposal story is sooooo romantic !
what did you do with the "smaller" engagement ring then ??? sounds very much like my girlfriend - her bfriend bought a "inferior" ring initially, and he felt that she deserved a "better - ie, branded" ring, so bought the "branded" ring to replace the intital ring - and gave his mum the old ring !!!

heehee, on saving - i have to admit i'm a spendthrift :p i cant save to save myself !! it's terrible ... hubby doesn't mind, but i think i need to put a stop to my spending, since i spend on clothes/bags/shoes ... i sld take inspiration from you ladies and start saving !!! from March ! cuz i just maxed out my Feb CC :p
(ok ladies, pls pls start to nag at me !)

actually speaking of housing, I feel that normally, for a young singaporean couple, there are a couple of times a couple may move house.

1) When married, buy home
2) When bb born, move nearer IL/parents if not already near
3) when bb at preschool, move nearer school of choice to cut down on travelling time unless public transport is very efficient or someone can send child to school by car
4) when child is grown up, career more stable, upgrade if the present home is not the home of the dreams and if finances are more stable cos mid-life already
5) when child is married, downgrade if child is unlikely to continue living with us.

K_Ong,
at least you know you are spending alot
... there are people who do not know that they are spending alot..so it's harder to get them save....

cactus,
hehehehe.. can really see that you and ur hb are 'planners'.... kudos to u both

can i confess something to you ladies - my hubby bought our engagement ring when i was out of the country - and one day, i was bored, and rummaged thru his wallet and found the receipt for the ring !!! imagine my shock and surprise !!! heehee
so i knew he was going to propose but when/how/where was the surprise !!!
so notti right ? anyhows, he doesn;t know ... till this day, so keep this secret for me ok

*wink*

ppty prices : crazy - but if you need a place to stay, u cant not buy too ... as long as you're not buying for investment !
let's see how the US economy performs later this yr ...

Cactus : they wont think u've pawned it la !!! haahaa.
I do ... just that i need to take a step back and review my spending :p - i've been telling myself that but not doing it - so it's time to take action !!!
no nono , never go into CC debt !!! the banks are making too much money out of us already !!!

RE: PJs during hospital stay

Btw, my #1 in MEH. They provide PJs. It's a nursing wear. Very good. Cos I stained it quite a bit. So very happy no need to go home and wash.

TMC heard no PJs for mummies. But for babies going home, they do dress up bbs... so no need to bring set of clothes for bb.

Wow, so much talk on engagement rings and savings. hehe!

K Ong,
I'm like u, cannot save to save myself too! My mum and hubby have been constantly reminding me to save. I am trying...

Cactus,
You are right about the moving house part. I have moved house like 5 times (4 times with parents and 1 time to my own place) in my life. Hubby and I were also deciding between resale and private when I got married in 2005 and opted for the latter cos resale flat prices in Marine Parade were very high and we wanted to be near our ILs.

Piyoz : where is MEH ? do you mean MAH ?
i didnt get PJs when i delivered there in 2006 ...

Cactus : i only saw the receipt ! heehee, so i knew how much it cost - but no sigght of the ring !!

Tera : let;s encourage each other

Tera, I agree that being near parents is importnat. Best is to be near parents who have a car and who can still drive when our child(ren)start school.

Cactus,
Yah, but I think you have an advantage there cos your parents are younger than my ILs. My MIL is already in her 60s so by the time my child is in school, she might not be too steady to drive. Actually, I find it quite impt to consider staying near a relatively good school when the kids are older esp if you dun intend to send your child(ren) to your alma mata (forgot how to spell) :p

K Ong,
Yes, let's encourage each other. Maybe you can send me a spreadsheet of what you have been spending on each month and I will advise you?? :p Just kidding!!

k ong, cactus is right. I was referring to Mount Elizabeth =) MAH has that free pink bath tub, right? I got it from my cousin... very good size for new born.

cactus : For now, if your SIL sells, she can sell high - otherwise, if she waits till market drops to buy a new place, her existing place will also be worth less than at today's prices. Risky approach - sell high, wait till market drops then buy low - but what if market doesn't drop ??
Hubby and I sold our ppty last yr - but we also had to buy a replacement cuz we didnt wanna risk the market running faster than us !

on the issue of having grandparents sending kids to school - my parents help to send my toddler to playgp, but sometimes they complain that she's a handful and i totally understand ! she can be very notti and noisy in the car these days ...
am afraid she distracts my dad with her cries ..

Cactus,
So you will be moving to the east next year yah? I'm staying in the east now and so is K Ong.
Hmm, I think 30 min is still ok. My hubby who stayed in the east all his life also used to travel to North-East for his school and needless to say, he wants to send our son to his former primary school which is a good 20 to 30 min drive from the East. Yup, agree on the good school forming a good foundation.

piyoz,
yes, confirm TMC does not provide PJ, but they'll dress up the NB nice nice in TMC clothes when discharged :p

mummies can consider bringing some nursing pads along, in case your milk flow comes early and it'll be so leaky.. i din knw my milk came until i woke up, soaked wet and wet the bed (by BM) too! in the end, had to quickly go downstairs to those retail pharmacy to buy nursing pads, coz i wasn't prepared at all.

Tera : ok can, dont faint ok ?
heehee

Piyoz : ah i see ! i heard that SGH also has a cute nursing gown for patients !!!
yes i love that little tub - only it was GREEN in 2006 when i got mine ... haahaa, size PERFECT for newborn

Cactus : my parents are abt your age too, but i think cannot overload them with too much ferrying ard ... besides my parents also want their freedom to do their own stuff so cant rely soly on them - in fact, last mth, i specially got a Merc taxi to send my toddler for playgp ! so kiasu right ??? at least i trust that the driver is a safe driver and wont speed with my precious baby in the car !!!

i also love the east - lived there my whole life, then moved to Central when i got married cuz we got a teeny little apartment there. which part of the east are you at ? Tera is quite near me and we were saying we can have gossip sessons and playgps next time

For me and hb, both our parents stayed within 20min drive from our flat. We have planned to stay near parents when married. There is no way we can move to even nearer cos the resale flats near both parents are not desirable.

Plus my current flat is only 5min walk to AMK central, v convenient. And it is ored 5 room flat liao, we no need to upgrade further.

As for schools, our area also have a lot of good schools.

cactus,

Good school to start from is impt but not really v necessary to be top school.. tats my thinking lah but my hb is also like yr tinking.

Maybe bec i am from neighbourhood pri, sec, JC all along but i still make it to uni, so i dun see any difference since my uni classmates are from from SAP and top JCs.

Most impt actually is whether the school provide a good learning environment and principal and teachers are good or not.

Hi K Ong,

Getting a responsible, reliable taxi driver is also on my cards. My mom actually arranged for a taxi uncle to send me to kindergarten last time - that's how I got the idea... but my dad actually volunteered to ferry the child to and fro so I just plan to let him be. I've quite a few back up plans but my dad will be the first I'd approach. At the moment, my mom still wants to work to keep her mind active so my dad is quite lonely at home. That's why I think he's happy to be the driver.

My parents live at Tampines! Near central.

K Ong,
Actually, my ILs have suggested to us to sell off our Haig Road place and move to their aptm which they are renting out at Telok Kurau (same road as East Shore Hospital). Is your place near there or the other side? If that happens, we will be even closer!! Hehe. But hubby and I are very attached to our current place maybe cos its our first home tog so prolly will stay on a few more years before moving.

Hi Ellysia,

I think there is no top school lah if you want an all rounded child. best is to go back to our old schools. no stress about primary 1 registration esp if we are already alumni.

I think academically, there may not be a difference between neigherbourhood and branded schools, but I think there is a stark difference in the children there. If you look at schools like RGS, RI, ACS, CHIJ St Nics, they more or less churn out leaders, scholars, doctors, lawyers. Even if our child doesn't become any of these, the child will have friends who are. and that sort of networking may become important.

In the past, I used to laugh at my mom when she spoke with me about networking. But recently I realised the value of having friends high up in various places. It makes info getting easier. Easier to get help too. I've got friends high up at AVA, accounting firms, banks, legal & medical profession, even sporting arena (national level), MOE, NEA, IDA, too.

If you are thinking: just go to uni get any degree. Then any school is okay. depends on expectations.