(2008/06) June 2008

ellysia,
did not show lor.. even detailed scanning.. sad lor..
btw.. my wedding i did not ask kids to jump on my bed too.. kekeke

re: detailed scans, they only check for obvious abnormalities. There are some which cannot be detected till after bb is born. also, even if go for amnio,although it is 100% accurate, there is still a % of false negatives.. the only way to diagnose DS is to do a blood test after bb's birth. As for heart.. that's the last organ to develop, and the most complex and the most problematic. DS bbs usually have heart problems. That was my fear .. cos I did Ddetailed scan at 19 weeks.. was very worried heart had not been developed sufficiently for visualisation. but luckily was able to be seen.

actually, I';d been thinking. So what if bb is normal? Bb may still have a premature or low quality life if bb subsequently contracts another incurable disease right? Most important is to be strong and continue loving bb no matter what. maybe it's easy for me to say this, cos so far my bb is okay...

cactus,
yes.. but it will be bery bery sad to koe after bb born especially goin thru the checks and told ur bb is normal n healthy.. and suddenly jus gif u a shock.. not mentally prepared.. lost..

Piang just now when coming back from lunch, halfway cough a bit then wet my panties a bit also.. sianz

<font color="ff0000">angelz*

hee coz i oso searching for such a website myself

babycupid*

gosh.. it must be double attack for the poor couple

tera*

thanks for updating the chart!

ellysia*

aiya i oso kena before like u la!! i wore panty liner oso no use lor..</font>

Morraine,
Ya hor...so envy leh, can go hk for holiday..

Lengleng,
really?meaning hv to get bb clothes frm someone, then sleep with it? ;p

K Ong,
Congrats on ur mickey...

so guess mickeys are catching up =D.

Felicia,
I always take my fish oil together with my calcium and multi-vit after bf in e morning lor..

Babycupid,
Really bery sad hor..hiaz...

feifei,
so hardworking n obedient.. kekeke.. i skip my multi vits totally.. mayb long long one time i will take.. only take calcium n fish oil.. kekeke..

Cactus,
Yeah agree with you that the most problematic one is the heart. But my gynae told me even if bb has hole in the heart , its still not easy to detect until bb is borned. Unless the hole is big or some obvious heart problem.

BabyCupid,
You mean the test show no problem but in the end still detect DS? But I thought detail scan should show something like the bb is not developing well or something like that.

seems like most of u had been diligently taking teh supplements, except me. During my #1 pregnancy i oso very hardworking take all supplements after my breakfast.
But this 2nd one, i had problem in swallowing pills during 1st trimester. Even now, cant swallow so many pills at one go, else sure puked.

felicia,
i am not one of those.. haha.. b4 i preg.. i cant swallow pills.. even when i am sick.. i dun take medicine.. so after i preg have to take all these.. i cant tahan.. so i taking fishoil morning.. calcium noon..

Hi BabyCupid, Yeah.. it's sad to know that a couple had been told that detailed scan is normal, yet bb was born with hole in the heart and is DS too. Maybe the doctor didn't properly counsel the couple, telling them at the triple screen test is only 90% accurate with false positives/negatives.. and the detailed scan can only pick up obvious abnormalities at the time the scan was performed?

Actually, one consoling way to think about the whole issue is, if it happened to us, if we KNEW bb would be abnormal, would be abort before bb was born? If the answer is no, then it's not that bad to have the baby born right? In fact, it's better not to know so that bb woul dbe happier in the womb cos when moms are happier, their bbs can sense it too. There are no studies to suggest that downs babies cannot be happy.

Pkdust, the detailed scan can only tell if there is an obvious abnormality at the time of the scan... actually, medical science is very limited still.

liew

haha me too...now office only got 4 people working...totally no mood

re: bb born with DS

seems all these tests not accurate leh then i wonder why we still bother to do them?

morraine,

Very diu lian hor. I didn't wear panty liner cos heard that panty liner may cause infection.
But i guess maybe that only apply to people who dun change their panty liner often.

babycupid,

me always pop pills cos always get sick, pre-pregnancy. So eat pills is v common to me.

But i dun like the taste of fish oil really. Somemore will vomit fish oil smell sometimes.

Nowadays I can feel my bb's movement more frequently and stronger. Sometimes it seems like bb suddenly "Jump" inside the womb. The kick is rather powerful.

Anyone knows if there is still anymore test to go after triple and DS?

liew,

me no mood to work since yesterday....... looking forward to the long holiday.... yeah!!!

babycupid,
the parents must really be strong for the baby. Special needs babies need more love and care!!!

<font color="ff0000">ellysia*

infection u mean? yeah i think as long as u take care of the hygiene shld be ok ba.. i cannot dun wear leh.. </font>

Hi ND's girl, I believe the reason why we go for these tests is because last time, these tests were not available. now they are available, so we just go for them. Doctors also encourage us or tell us about those tests because it is to our benefit for us to know and be aware. But all these tests are not 100% accurate with no false positives/false negatives. Actually, the doctor who brought the triple screen test into Singapore NOW regrets it... because he acknowledges there is alot of anxiety associated with it. My doctor told me a crucial factor in doing the triple scrren test and the accuracy of this test is the actual age of the fetus. So for those who are unsure of their fertilization date, it can be an inaccurate test result anyway. Note that fertilization can take place within 36 hours of the time sperm meets egg.. most of us don't have clockwork menstrual periods... even if we know the date which we did the Act, we may be 1.5days apart from the actual fertilization which the triple screen test depends on for accuracy!!

Pkdust - the most accurate test is to do the amnio now. 100% accurate but about 4% false positive. I can't recall the % of false negative. The doctor who brought in the triple screen test into Singapore has a genetic screening scan which can be done. He has the machine there and the expertise to do it. He used to charge $300/scan, but not sure if it is the same charge. he claims it's as accurate as Amino without the risk. He's practising at Camden now. But my suggestion is don't do more tests unless you know what you want to do if bb is abnormal.. and know that all tests will have a risk of inaccurate. Actually, detailed scan is operator dependent. If it is someone who is careless or inexperienced, obvious abnormalities may not be picked up too.

Talk about hole in bb heart, tat day when i'm doing DS, i was quite worry when the sonographer told me she not able to detect the blood flow of my bb as her position is not favourable for scanning. Then she asked me to take a walk outside.
After back from the walk, she's able to detect clearly on my bb heart, though she said everything is normal, but i find the time she spend on looking at the blood flow is not very long. I remember during my #1, my gynae scan and monitor the longest timing is on the bb heart.
Anyhow, i try not to think much oso as the more i think ,the more i got worried.

I had my DS scan last Saturday. Baby is doing well and I’m having a boy!

Tera, could you help me update the following details into the chart please?
Mickey
250g (@ 19+ weeks)

Kylene &amp; Cactus,
No prob.

morr,
You are most welcome!

liew,
i also no mood to work, office v quiet and i feel like sleeping. :p

Babycupid,
Very sad to hear such cases.

<font color="ff0000">im stil contemplating on whether to take leave tmr or not.. office is closed @ 1pm though..

i stil haven bao those APs, haven packed my luggage, haven packed for my ger's luggage too.. *faint*</font>

<font color="ff0000">felicia*

erm dunno leh if u dun change regularly den dunno wat wil be a good breeding place for bacteria lor..

*morr waves to iamsnow*</font>

me oso counting down now!
Actually i had to back up 2 collegues today as one is on MC, another on leave, but i'm in no mood to work. hehe...

morr, u flying liao still so many things haven do???? but u tom take leave considered 1 day or 1/2 day? our office tom take leave is considered 1 day leh....

u tonite bao AP. bao AP very fast one lah. then pack a little today, the rest pack tom loh...

Hello MTBs

Here's wishing all of you Happy Lunar New Year before you go for your holidays.

LUNAR NEW YEAR GATHERING on 15 Feb @ ard 7:00 - 7:30pm

As promise to organise and with the poll survey that many prefer a weekend. Shall we have the gathering on 15 Feb @ ard 7:00pm (for those that can arrive early).

The venue shall be around town area in one of the Crystal Jade or Tung Luk restaurant.

Kindly reply me if you are joining the gathering cos this was requested by many who wanted to meet each other.

Gong Xi Fa Cai!!

<font color="ff0000">iamsnow*

wah dun make me gan cheong leh.. u noe i settling the maid issue lately so where got time to do all this misc things wor..

tmr if i take leave is considered full day leave leh.. so abit not worth it lor..

yeah tonight HAVE to bao liaoz.. but tonight going to do mani &amp; pedi after work leh.. wahahahhaa</font>

felicia, morr is right. it's a good breeding ground for bacteria. so must change regularly loh. else easy to get infection.....

*iamsnow waves back to morr*

iamsnow,
Congrats on Mickey! No prob, I will update the chart with your details.

morr,
So good, can go off at 1pm. I think my company will only release us at 3pm...aargh.

morraine,

how many times will you consider as regularly? Me will change twice a day loh, once in the morning and another evening after bak from office.
But during my 1st trimester, when i had spotting, i do change more often lah.

morr, u think u got a lot of time left huh. still want to do mani &amp; pedi.... *faint*

dun take leave lah. not worth it. 1 day leave leh.... tonite hardworking a bit, bao your AP. then pack a little. tom continue....

anyway, why do u need to bao AP since u flying??? u can come back and bao wat.....

During this few days keep eating lots of new year cookies... now bit heaty and sore throat also. drink lots water.... scary...

today last day, tomorrow onward my company will shut down for new year till next wed...

<font color="ff0000">tera*

good meh.. i rather they declare office closed! haha

felicia*

hmmm i dun count the no of times i change per day but i got one packet in office so i change every now and then when i see its 'full' ha ha ha

iamsnow*

i leaving on Chu 2 leh.. so Chu 1 still around and its the MAJOR AP giving out day.. haiz..

aiya must stil look pretty mah though preggy now ha ha ha..

tera*

dun scared iamsnow hor.. she jin guai eating bird nest since she knew she is expecting a minnie already so she wil not take be able to take the shock if hers turn out to be a mickey!! ha ha

tera* &amp; iamsnow*

ha ha to take leave tmr is coz IM LAZY to come in to work for that fw hours.. let me think about it til close of business today..</font>

felicia,

The sonographer also look at my bb heart flow v long, so long that i feel v uncomfy.

Book says wear panty liner during pregnancy may cause infection. But didn't say why.

morraine,

I haven't pack AP too, u going trip over CNY?

ellysia,
my friends also told me when pregnant try don wear panty liner also.. so i stop wear it since i pregnant..

cactus

i guess in a way doing these tests also give us another chance to see our bb on screen keke

morraine

i also cannot dun use panty liners cos seems this pregnancy i have lots of discharge...yucks. I change it very often and i have to replenish my supplies very often too. haha my colleagues also see me going to buy panty liners.

i also haven't bao angbaos! Maybe do it tmr hehe