(2008/06) June 2008

Mog,
Enjoy your detailed scan later, things will be fine, don't worry.
Keep us posted!

Shycloud, I think you may want to bring some slices to a herbal shop to check if you want to be very sure. Maybe the lady I spoke to at yu ren sheng was very cautious... she just said red dates and wolfberries, but I know alot of ladies also take other herbs. I prefer not to. actually, my MIL doesn't know much about herbs and there was once she told me nan bei xing (almond seeds) are good.. but when I asked at yu ren sheng, they told me can cause miscarriage! So I told my MIL about it. From then on, she doesn't cook me anything with any herbs except red dates and wolfberries. I still take birds nest though. well cleaned type throughout pregnancy cos all my aunties and mom did the same.. and no problems also. my hb tell sme it's just protein and amino acids.. so it's okay to take. He doesn't know about chinese herbs though.

Hi Ellysia, our bb is supposed to be down at the pelvic bone to just under the belly button now.. so it shoudl be easy to feel the uterus (harder section of our tummy) there. Best time to feel is when we are lying on our backs first thing in morning. adn only if we are not constipated.. if not, whole tummy will also be hard.

Mog,

See the article i posted on ginseng? Pao sheng is ginseng i tink. But it says early pregnancy not 2nd trim lah.

cactus,

I find the hard part liao, top is quite hard.

TF,

I used double boil method but dunno is it correct or not. Bec i dun have any pot, i just claypot then put a bowl inside claypot to brew.

Ellysia
You can go to those Pasar Malam or shops that sell pots, they have small pots wif lids in various sizes (diameter around 10cm +/-). Cost around $1.50 to $3.50 range. Looks abit Japanese pink flower design. -- it shd look like u r serve wif Buddha Jump over the wall all by yourself (small pot wif all nutrients)

To double boil, put your herbs at the base of the small pot n then follow by the meat on top. Place the covered small pot in your bigger pot, having a small metal stand at the base (those metal stand that we use to prevent hot pot burning table).

Double boil shd nt be heaty cos it uses the internal circular steam to boil the tonic, not direct boil. Hope this helps

Wow , all these talks about ginseng. I am a bit worried because during the first tri, I drink ginseng tea (those in packets form) to feel better and reduce the symptoms of MS. Because I always feel very cold in my first tri so something hot and not sweet does help in a way. Lucky thing is , I did not take a lot. Maybe one day just one packet.

Luz,
Saw in your post that you and minnie also have hole in your heart. Is it VSD? Does yours close up over time? Because my first gal also have hole in the heart and I am hoping it will close up by itself in the next check up.

Ellysia,
I m experiencing constipation too. Had a hard time trying to go toilet.. Haiz..
My tummy is growing but appetite sometimes is good while other times not.

Catcus,
I think my tummy soft everywhere. I bet it is my own fats, haha. ;p

pkdust,
actually i got heart murmur aka hole in the heart - that's what the doc called it. for my case, overtime can close one, no need operation or medication. but every 6 mths i need to go checkup the heart lor.. by sec 2 close liao hehee i think if small hole can close quite fast depending of how many holes and size of the hole.
my minnie not confirmed yet; got to wait next month detailing scanning for more results, maybe be other complications.

Ellysia,
my tummy growing also.. suddenly very obvoius and all my colleague agreee too. About my appetite is increased too. one day abt 5 meals for me.

shycloud,
my mum oso told me to take gao li sheng.. but she said its bery heatyyy.. den today lunch i went to chinese medical hall to ask.. they told me not to take gao li sheng.. take pao sheng.. cos pao sheng not heaty.. so i bought the pao sheng instead.. $65 per liang.. buy 2 liang free 1 liang..
to my shock! the dong cong cao cost $750 per liang!! so EX!!

Hi BabyCupid, does it means that gao li ren sheng can be taken but it is too heaty for us?

I have a small bottle powder form from Korea, thinking of taking a pinch of it every now and then, but not sure if its fine for us to take or not. Tomorrow will be my first time to try cooking birdnest, hope i can do a good job in clearing the dirty away.

babycupid...
MIL brew very little portion for me... my body is "liang" in nature...so far not too heaty for me...*fingers crossed*

Yes babycupid... super expensive hor.. my MIL bought around that price too.. super small bundle also, i nearly faint when hear the price...
But now I also cannot eat :p Too heaty liao...

Zuen.. my tummy also very soft haha, must be my fats too.. but funny thing is i find it very stretched on the top part (above naval) where baby is not there.. but quite soft at bottom where baby is... if got constipation,eat more papaya..

Take more avocado too, i tink can make baby big big :p

luz,
Thanks for the info. Think my gal situation is the same as yours. Heart murmur aka hole in the heart. She has one hole and it is moderate according to the doc. But she is very active and likes to jump a lot. Doc told me she is growing well and the last time he listened through the scope, there does not seem to be any more murmur sound but he still needs to scan to confirm this. I just hope the hole can be close up within her first year of age. Luz, I wonder if this is inherit but me and hubby do not have this.

BabyCupid,
Wow, the dong cong cao is so EX. But I heard its really good. Whenever my mum made bird nest soup for me, she will put some gao li sheng. Heard its very good.

Hello Mummies!

I have a few <font color="0000ff">NUK Premium Choice Teats, BRAND NEW</font> (not opened yet and price tag intact!)
Willing to sell at discounted price.
They were bought at Robinsons at $8.70 for 1 pair (2 pcs).

1219764.jpg

- Size 1 (0-6mths), Large Hole (for thicker feeds) Silicone teats (2 pairs available)

- Size 2 (6-18mths), Large Hole (for thicker feeds) Silicone Teats (2 pairs available)

<font color="ff0000">If interested, email me at:
[email protected]</font>

veinz,
ya we can take gao li sheng.. my sis took.. my mum oso took when having us.. but the person frm the hall said not everyone can take.. cos its really heaty.. so he recommended me the pao sheng.. tats wat my sis told me too..

shycloud,
i am heaty type.. i cant take..

roxy,
ya lor.. i nearly fainted.. so EX leh...

pkdust,
icic.. we can put pao sheng too.. kekeke..

hey all...
i've been experiencing dizzyness lately...also sometimes when i stand up from sitting position my legs will go numb..i wonder y?

hey shycloud, drink lots of water. I experienced faintness a couple of weeks ago - as in really almost fainted and not just being dizzy. It's normal. alot of blood vessels are being formed to bring blood to bb... so the circulatory network is being expanded. A less common reason is a heartconditions that develops only during pregnancy to healthy women with healthy hearts. but the heart condition that develops is usually a murmur which is not harmful. You can check with your doctor about this and he'll take your pulse and hear your heart to exclude this.

cactus_79...
thanks for the info...sometimes when i'm resting i can suddenly feel tat my heart stops for tat 1-2 secs...scary!

TF,

Thanks, maybe i use the wrong method of cooking. I try again
This double boil method is like steaming right?

So the pot must be those pocelain or metal one can?

babycupid,

Yes dong cong cao is v ex. I bot mine, small bundle at $400 plus.

liew,

Same, my tummy also suddenly become obvious. Its strange only develop sudd in week 20 hor.

shycloud,

It is bec yr blood circulation.

According to pre-natal lesson, we should not stay in one position for too long. If u sit too long and suddenly stand up, u will get this problem i guess. When we change position, we are suppose to be slow. Dun do it too fast.

In addition to avoid numbness, leg cramps etc, pls take 1000-1200mg of calcium per day. My gynae said it can avoid leg cramp.

In addition, do massage on yr legs b4 sleeping.

don't worry, shycloud. Sometimes, caffeine, or stress or physical tiredness can cause our hearts to be a bit irregular. but it sholdn't be permenantly irregular. If you are concerned, do let your doctor know. as I mentioned, she'll just take your pulse for a couple of seconds and if it seems regular, you should be ok. She'll also hear your heart to see if there is any murmur (a loose heart valve that causes back flow of blood back into the heart - resulting in dizziness sometimes). but really, the most common reason is the circulatory network expanding.
Drinking lots of water, and keeping a healthy lifestyle will solve this issue.

I used to have temp irregular heartbeats when I just started work cos not used to the intensity of my job. very very stressful. But it was nothing to do with a heart problem. Also, my bp tends to be on the low side, usually 100/60... so I tend to feel dizzy easily esp when I stand up cos it takes time for the blood to reach the brain when i change positions. It is not harmful though - I just learnt to move much slower.

pkdust,
haha gd to hear your ger is doing very well. i am sure with what you've told me, you ger's hole should close very soon, without any medical intervention except just monitoring. as for inherited or not, i dun think it's inherited.. just then someting go wrong during the development of the heart in the womb. but also hard to pinpont whether it is mother eat wrongly or whatsoever. no point guessing hehe as long as your ger is like me can close completely, we should be very relieved :D

Anyone of you experience yellow discharge? I think I am getting quite a bit...

I just contacted my ex company receptionist because need to pass her something. To my dismay, she told me the management said they no longer required a receptionist and ask her to go. She will be due somewhere in March but they compensate her up to her confinement. How can the company do that? Its really terrible : (

wah Ellysia, your herbs very expensive ley.. hehe for me, i think the most i take bird nest. i think i can't bear to eat so exp herbs..CNY coming need to give angpow, so save the $ for angpow :p as for the pot used to do double boil. i use the claypot for both the inside small pot and outside big pot.

irregular heart beats could be bec' of heart paipation which is common in pregnancy.

I have irregular heart beats during 1st trim, now 2nd trim occasionally.

I asked gynae and she said to take a deep breath slowly in and out will help on the heart beat. It really works.

pkdust and luz,

I also dun tink such things are inherited.

luz,

Thanks. I ored have 1 claypot which MIL gave me.

In this case, i bot another small one, maybe covered one.

Ya v expensive. I bot 5 concentrated bird nest from ZTP and dong chong cao. Then my MIL bot me additional 5 bottled bird nest. If i know my MIL is going to give me bird nest, then i won't buy the bird nest and save on dong cong cao liao.
I also bot royal jelly but i dun take together with other herbs - alt days.

I think my bird nest can eat after birth also liao.. too many cannot finish, and also i dun want to eat too much during pregnancy too in case cause allegy to bb.

Dong cong cao i also tink will have left over after give birth, maybe i can eat to "bu" my body then if got spare maybe i cook for my mum and bro and hb lor.

No choice but to "bu" more cos i have a weak constitution and always get coldness, flu etc.

Ellysia, i have many bottled bird nest left over also cannot finish. hehee but i think if u clean the bird nest properly before cooking should be np. if u drink bottled one, most probably very clean liao. think your mickey come out fair fair one ley hehee

pkdust,

it seems more common now with this US economy going down its gonna affect us all too.

yellow discharge, i had it few days ago for 1-2 days and smell too. Then i drink chrysanthemum tea and many water and also i use femine wash to clean. Now seems okay liao.

It is not good to have yellow discharge during pregnancy, pls monitor it if it prolongs may be infection so see gynae soon.

luz,

When i know is mickey, i tink i may not have to take too much bird nest liao lor. Cos boy may not like to have fair complexion le.

If minnie hor, better take regularly

My royal jelly, i bot from GNC one big bottle. I even share with my mum and bro when they visit me.

some clothes can't wear anymore.due to my tummy getting bigger and new year coming soon.. tomorrow i may go amk and toa payoh for maternity clothes and pants liao. any other place to shop maternity shop? or any sales promotion?

Ellysia
The small pot is porcelain. You will need to gap the base of the small pot n big pot with low metal stand so the small pot does nt received the direct heat fr the fire. The small pot can submerge into the water in big pot, but nt too high in case the outside water enter the inside when boil. Hope u nt confuse :p

pkdust n luz
Ya, the hole in heart may nt be inherited. They are just baby hole in heart that are very commonly found in babies. Should be fine.

Hope my case didnt scare you cos my Mickey's is really Complex Heart Problem.

Shycloud
Try nt to apply the Axe oil cos think got Camphor. Just relax back. Last few days, i had dizzy spells too. See if u can raise up your foot higher for awhile.

shycloud,

Do u need iron tablets? seems like u got low BP?

TF,

Got it! Thanks

pkdust,

monitor for 3 days if conditon persist, see doc or gynae.

Sometimes is also due to heatiness/urine etc. So drink more water and fruits see if got improvement

liew,

AMK u can go hub, Spring got some clothes on sale.

U can also go This fashion for those babydoll tops.

TF,
huh cannot apply? Y? erm...i applied a few times though not using axe oil

ellysia,
ya me not enuff blood somemore a thal minor..

I think my discharge has been going on for quite sometime. And sometimes it smells as well. That time when I did my urine test, the nurse mention I seems to have some bateria infection. Maybe in my next visit I will check with my gynae. Hope its not serious .

Liew,
You can try perfect mum as well. Suntec seems to have a few other small shops selling maternity clothes near the Spring outlet. I will be getting some before CNY. Now still on normal baggy clothes but find that they are really becoming very tight. Think its time to switch to maternity wear.

Shycloud, do check the ingredients. quite alot of oils have camphor. it is easily absorbed through the skin. although there are suggestions taht the amounts are too low to do harm to bb, it's better not to take the risk. Try to wear loose fitting clothes esp the pants.

Another thing - low bp doesn't mean anaemia. Low bp is usually resolved by drinking alot of water and eat salty things. If it is anamia, then you willl need to eat food rich in iron. Take a mix of meat and dark green leafy veg together with vitamin C, and avoid caffeine for a couple of hours before and after.

pkdust, do check with your doctor. It is often mild but sometimes can be serious esp if it starts to hurt when you unrinate. please do not use vaginal washes less your doctor says it's okay to do so.

Cactus
Dun mind asking, r u a nurse or doc too? Your replies for us are very instant here n feels good that u r taking care of all of us