(2008/06) June 2008

hi mummies-to-be !
TF : so sorry to hear about the news, pls do take care and stay strong ok ? it's great to have so much support on this forum !!
and thankgoodness you werent injured in the car accident !

feifei,
take care.. i oso flu since last fri.. till now.. recovering.. but slow.. cos i did not take medi.. let it recover by itself..

Hello morning mummies

Piyo, K Ong
Thank you. Mickey n me will be strong

Zuen
Yes gynae's machine also can do detailed scan. Its whether they want to spend more time seeing the organs. That's wat my sonagrapher told me. Tat y they send us to sonagrapher so tat gynae patient queue will nt be long. Mine is just one of the rare occurrence. Dun get scared ok
Everything will be fine.

feifei, pls take care. Drink more water and take vit. C. I've been taking chicken essence every morning and iron tablet every 3 days. The vit C. will help to get rid of the heatiness.

feifei,

The dong cong cao is too heaty? But I am told that it is neutral element. Maybe preggy women take will be too heaty.

Anyway i intend to take only once per mth, any left over can cook after giving birth also. Becos take too much bb can be v big also.

I also have flu for some time ored, but trying not to eat medicine until it worsen. Trying to eat many fruits and water.

Mog,

Vit C tablets when i took also cause heatyness, i heard from a doc vit c tablets can cause heaty too but vit c through fruits won't.

Heee ah morr... thanks for your help ... if can take tmr, i cya then.. anyway me no hurry also

zuen, im sure little zuen will be fine after all she went through.. so dun worry too much...

TF, stay strong, we are all praying for you here!!

Mogudog, let us know after your detailed scan later... you must be very excited now

hey gals...
have u taken chinese herbs : "gao li" before???
my mil has given me 3 times since preggy...supposed to give strength and "qi" to me.

i wonder how true it is?

Ellysia, i c. I took the 500mg one as advise by Dr Wong coz she gave me iron tablet for my giddy and fainting spells, she says iron tablet very heaty. I seldom take fruits except for apples

Mog,

Fruits has certain vits which tablets can't give and they help us to absorb calcium pills and other nutrients much better into our body. So dun forget fruits and dun over reply tablets.

Btw do u have constipation? since u take so many tablets.

Ellysia, ya. Sometimes loh, even before preggie I got constipation problem. Now with all the tablets make me worst man. At least the iron tablets helps a lot in my giddiness and fainting spells. Hope my condition improves and I don't have to reply on iron tablets so often.

Mog,

I will have constipation with calcium pill. Now almost everyday also constipation or near to it. Only when i drink 8 glasses of water and eat fruits then won't have.

Do u find yr appetite increase more nowadays?

I find my appetite seems to increase and tummy also increase liao.

hey shycloud, is the herb a type of ginseng? gao li shen? you may want to check with a herbal shop. My grandma told me to stay away from all types of ginseng, and some other herbs cos will make bb bigger... I checked with yu ren shen at Tampines branch.. they told me the safest herbs to take (then was during 1st trimester.. not sure if things have changed now that we are in our 2nd) are just wolfberries and red dates. If we are to take other herbs, we should check with a TCM doctor.

as for bigger tummy, yes.. cos bb is growing! But sometimes, bigger tummy is due to the food. One way to tell is to see if our tummy is round or flat on the top and when it reaches belly button it becomes harder. if it is hard throughout, then it's the food. If it only hard at the bottom, and soft at the top, then it's only bb.

Women should be cautious about using the herbal remedy ginseng in the early stages of pregnancy, say researchers.

A team from the Chinese University of Hong Kong has found evidence that one of the main active components of ginseng can cause abnormalities in rat embryos.

Lead researcher Dr Louis Chan said: 'Before more information in humans becomes available, women should be cautious about using ginseng in the first three months of pregnancy.'

The study is published in the journal Human Reproduction.

The researchers tested the effect of various concentrations of a compound called ginsenoside Rb1 on nine-day-old rats.

They found that embryos exposed to more than 30 micrograms per millilitre of ginsenoside Rb1 showed signs of significant developmental abnormalities, including problems with their heart, eyes and limbs.

At the highest dose of 50 micrograms the problems were even more pronounced. The embryos were significantly shorter in body length and had fewer immature muscle cells.

Dr Chan said the study provided strong evidence that ginsenoside was capable of causing malformations in rat embryos - known technically as a teratogenic effect.

It was also possible that lower doses of compound led to more minor developmental problems which would not always be picked up.

Relatively untested

He said: 'Although there are numerous reports in the literature concerning the potential benefit of ginseng, much less is know about the potential toxicity and there are no data about its potential effect on the developing human foetus.

'Yet a survey published in 2001 showed that over 9% of pregnant women report using herbal supplements, and in Asia up to 10% have taken ginseng during pregnancy.'

Dr Chan said that in many countries herbal medicines such as extract of ginseng are available over the counter. Manufacturers are not required to submit proof of safety and efficacy before marketing.

Ginsenoside Rb1 is only one of the ginsenosides in commercially available ginseng.

More than 20 have been identified and previous studies had shown that different ginsenosides might have different actions.

Dr Chan said: 'Although results from animal teratogenicity studies may not reflect the circumstances in humans, our findings suggest that further investigations and monitoring of embryonic effects of ginsenoside on human pregnancy are warranted.'

Ginseng is used to enhance stamina and the capacity to cope with fatigue and physical stress.

It is also believed to have an anti-cancer function and to improve cognitive and physical performance, and has shown potential as a treatment for diabetes and obesity.

Some people also recommend it as a treatment for morning sickness.

Dr Chun-Su Yuan, from the University of Chicago, has conducted experiments showing that an extract of ginseng can normalise blood sugar levels in mice bred to have diabetes.

He told BBC News Online: 'In general, I think that ginseng, like all other herbal medicines and dietary supplements, has both benefits and potential risks.

'Very likely, the risks could be dose related. The mentality that 'little is good, more is better' could encourage consumers to take a high dose of herbs in an environment with limited dosing guidelines.

'It is very import to address potential risks of any commonly used herbal medicines. However, to translate data from this in vitro animal study to human reproduction, many well-designed studies are needed.'

cactus,

My tummy seems to be soft throughout leh..

seems to be harder at the sides than on top.

Yup i get more hungry recently. Now i need to add $1 to my usual meal or eat a snack after meal. Even with the added $1, I still feel hungry later at 5plus and need to eat a piece of bread.

Ellysia,

yeah, appetite has increased.
i will def have a tea snack around 4plus or else cannot tahan till dinner.

i noticed my tummy is rather soft when i am seated down and then hard when standing up. hmm..

Hi Ellysia, our bb is supposed to be down at the pelvic bone to just under the belly button now.. so it shoudl be easy to feel the uterus (harder section of our tummy) there. Best time to feel is when we are lying on our backs first thing in morning. adn only if we are not constipated.. if not, whole tummy will also be hard.

Mog,

See the article i posted on ginseng? Pao sheng is ginseng i tink. But it says early pregnancy not 2nd trim lah.

cactus,

I find the hard part liao, top is quite hard.

TF,

I used double boil method but dunno is it correct or not. Bec i dun have any pot, i just claypot then put a bowl inside claypot to brew.

Ellysia
You can go to those Pasar Malam or shops that sell pots, they have small pots wif lids in various sizes (diameter around 10cm +/-). Cost around $1.50 to $3.50 range. Looks abit Japanese pink flower design. -- it shd look like u r serve wif Buddha Jump over the wall all by yourself (small pot wif all nutrients)

To double boil, put your herbs at the base of the small pot n then follow by the meat on top. Place the covered small pot in your bigger pot, having a small metal stand at the base (those metal stand that we use to prevent hot pot burning table).

Double boil shd nt be heaty cos it uses the internal circular steam to boil the tonic, not direct boil. Hope this helps

Wow , all these talks about ginseng. I am a bit worried because during the first tri, I drink ginseng tea (those in packets form) to feel better and reduce the symptoms of MS. Because I always feel very cold in my first tri so something hot and not sweet does help in a way. Lucky thing is , I did not take a lot. Maybe one day just one packet.

Luz,
Saw in your post that you and minnie also have hole in your heart. Is it VSD? Does yours close up over time? Because my first gal also have hole in the heart and I am hoping it will close up by itself in the next check up.

Ellysia,
I m experiencing constipation too. Had a hard time trying to go toilet.. Haiz..
My tummy is growing but appetite sometimes is good while other times not.

Catcus,
I think my tummy soft everywhere. I bet it is my own fats, haha. ;p

pkdust,
actually i got heart murmur aka hole in the heart - that's what the doc called it. for my case, overtime can close one, no need operation or medication. but every 6 mths i need to go checkup the heart lor.. by sec 2 close liao hehee i think if small hole can close quite fast depending of how many holes and size of the hole.
my minnie not confirmed yet; got to wait next month detailing scanning for more results, maybe be other complications.

Ellysia,
my tummy growing also.. suddenly very obvoius and all my colleague agreee too. About my appetite is increased too. one day abt 5 meals for me.

shycloud,
my mum oso told me to take gao li sheng.. but she said its bery heatyyy.. den today lunch i went to chinese medical hall to ask.. they told me not to take gao li sheng.. take pao sheng.. cos pao sheng not heaty.. so i bought the pao sheng instead.. $65 per liang.. buy 2 liang free 1 liang..
to my shock! the dong cong cao cost $750 per liang!! so EX!!

Hi BabyCupid, does it means that gao li ren sheng can be taken but it is too heaty for us?

I have a small bottle powder form from Korea, thinking of taking a pinch of it every now and then, but not sure if its fine for us to take or not. Tomorrow will be my first time to try cooking birdnest, hope i can do a good job in clearing the dirty away.

babycupid...
MIL brew very little portion for me... my body is "liang" in nature...so far not too heaty for me...*fingers crossed*

Yes babycupid... super expensive hor.. my MIL bought around that price too.. super small bundle also, i nearly faint when hear the price...
But now I also cannot eat :p Too heaty liao...

Zuen.. my tummy also very soft haha, must be my fats too.. but funny thing is i find it very stretched on the top part (above naval) where baby is not there.. but quite soft at bottom where baby is... if got constipation,eat more papaya..

Take more avocado too, i tink can make baby big big :p

luz,
Thanks for the info. Think my gal situation is the same as yours. Heart murmur aka hole in the heart. She has one hole and it is moderate according to the doc. But she is very active and likes to jump a lot. Doc told me she is growing well and the last time he listened through the scope, there does not seem to be any more murmur sound but he still needs to scan to confirm this. I just hope the hole can be close up within her first year of age. Luz, I wonder if this is inherit but me and hubby do not have this.

BabyCupid,
Wow, the dong cong cao is so EX. But I heard its really good. Whenever my mum made bird nest soup for me, she will put some gao li sheng. Heard its very good.

Hello Mummies!

I have a few <font color="0000ff">NUK Premium Choice Teats, BRAND NEW</font> (not opened yet and price tag intact!)
Willing to sell at discounted price.
They were bought at Robinsons at $8.70 for 1 pair (2 pcs).

1219764.jpg

- Size 1 (0-6mths), Large Hole (for thicker feeds) Silicone teats (2 pairs available)

- Size 2 (6-18mths), Large Hole (for thicker feeds) Silicone Teats (2 pairs available)

<font color="ff0000">If interested, email me at:
[email protected]</font>

veinz,
ya we can take gao li sheng.. my sis took.. my mum oso took when having us.. but the person frm the hall said not everyone can take.. cos its really heaty.. so he recommended me the pao sheng.. tats wat my sis told me too..

shycloud,
i am heaty type.. i cant take..

roxy,
ya lor.. i nearly fainted.. so EX leh...

pkdust,
icic.. we can put pao sheng too.. kekeke..

hey all...
i've been experiencing dizzyness lately...also sometimes when i stand up from sitting position my legs will go numb..i wonder y?

hey shycloud, drink lots of water. I experienced faintness a couple of weeks ago - as in really almost fainted and not just being dizzy. It's normal. alot of blood vessels are being formed to bring blood to bb... so the circulatory network is being expanded. A less common reason is a heartconditions that develops only during pregnancy to healthy women with healthy hearts. but the heart condition that develops is usually a murmur which is not harmful. You can check with your doctor about this and he'll take your pulse and hear your heart to exclude this.

cactus_79...
thanks for the info...sometimes when i'm resting i can suddenly feel tat my heart stops for tat 1-2 secs...scary!

TF,

Thanks, maybe i use the wrong method of cooking. I try again
This double boil method is like steaming right?

So the pot must be those pocelain or metal one can?

babycupid,

Yes dong cong cao is v ex. I bot mine, small bundle at $400 plus.

liew,

Same, my tummy also suddenly become obvious. Its strange only develop sudd in week 20 hor.

shycloud,

It is bec yr blood circulation.

According to pre-natal lesson, we should not stay in one position for too long. If u sit too long and suddenly stand up, u will get this problem i guess. When we change position, we are suppose to be slow. Dun do it too fast.

In addition to avoid numbness, leg cramps etc, pls take 1000-1200mg of calcium per day. My gynae said it can avoid leg cramp.

In addition, do massage on yr legs b4 sleeping.

don't worry, shycloud. Sometimes, caffeine, or stress or physical tiredness can cause our hearts to be a bit irregular. but it sholdn't be permenantly irregular. If you are concerned, do let your doctor know. as I mentioned, she'll just take your pulse for a couple of seconds and if it seems regular, you should be ok. She'll also hear your heart to see if there is any murmur (a loose heart valve that causes back flow of blood back into the heart - resulting in dizziness sometimes). but really, the most common reason is the circulatory network expanding.
Drinking lots of water, and keeping a healthy lifestyle will solve this issue.

I used to have temp irregular heartbeats when I just started work cos not used to the intensity of my job. very very stressful. But it was nothing to do with a heart problem. Also, my bp tends to be on the low side, usually 100/60... so I tend to feel dizzy easily esp when I stand up cos it takes time for the blood to reach the brain when i change positions. It is not harmful though - I just learnt to move much slower.