(2008/06) June 2008

Hello Ladies
I've nt been catching on the forum for last 4 days. However, did nt have good news too on my little prince. The detailed scan detected Fallot Tetralogy (Hole in Heart). Cried upon news n now much better. Will continue to keep baby n see him strongly thru wif faith.

shycloud,

Nonsense.. first one is gal how come 2nd one also gal..no logic lah.

Me eldest and i have a younger bro. MY mum also didn't give me a sister leh.

Maybe u can tell yr hb since gender is decided by him, he has to "work" hard lor :p

For me my hb has no preference on gender but i myself have the "old thinking" prefer to have a boy for 1st one, then i tell hb if it is gal i be disappointed my hb said i silly.

TF,

so sorry to hear about this. Be strong.
Have u find out whether there is any way to help bb on this problem when he is born? Maybe an operation or wat?

ellysia..
haha tat's my hb's theory..cos many frens and relatives around us all similar situations...so he deduced that the possibilities of 2nd child being a gal is pretty high....if the 1st is also a gal

i was telling him y i'm given a girl bcos i rule in our r/s, marriage etc...haha

TF,
dun worry too much.. my frend is oso a child born a hole in heart.. but it close when she grows older.. and another frend's kid oso hole in heart.. and it getting smaller each day.. so dun worry!

TF,
Sorry to hear that. Yes, please remain strong and continue to have faith in our Lord. Will be praying for you and your little one.

Felicia,

Okay
Maybe we can also order ourselves and share the shipping cost.

I am not sure on how to compute exchange rates etc or else i also dun mind organise spree. Lets wait and see, if march dun have then i discuss with u see how.

<font color="0077aa">shycloud~

maybe to ease ur mind slightly.. my MIL has a ger first den a boy and so did my sister and so did me
so the chances are very high too for u to have a boy

TF~

Stay strong for the little prince! Nowadays medical are very advanced so dun worry so much..</font>

shycloud,

I dun tink it has to do with the genes.

Anyway u see if the old folks method works? See yr kid when she is born, whether her hair orginates from sideway or in the centre, i.e. center parting or side parting. If centre parting, next one is same gender. Side parting, next one different gender.

morraine...
sounds like it runs in your family genes heh. the genes in my family tend to have more gals...but his sisters and brother all have boys with only 1 girl.

anyways we hope to have a boy for no.2...if not hb will keep bugging me, making me upset on his theory.

come to think of it...my mum and myself is born in june (1 day apart)...so its a 3-in-a-row geminis...grandma, mama and bb...

<font color="0077aa">shycloud~

genes.. erm ok la.. i have 6 siblings and first 2 are boys and rest are gers so we have alot of gers oso mah
den my hubby side is 2 boys and 2 gers so oso 50 50 chance

ur chance is high!</font>

Thanks girls
I'm ok nw. Monday was the detailed scan and when the sonagrapher found sthg unusual abt his heart, she arrange for the Head of Dept to come n do another time (Mr. Chang TC, the one who sign off in all your TMC detailed report). So Mr. Chang confirmed the scan n we went to see my gynae where she arrange for the baby cardiologist at Mt E, next day. Had another 45mins scan just on the heart n confirmed again everythg abt the Fallot.

Prof Wong (cardio) mentioned the baby shd be able to see thru till birth, cos baby relying on our placenta for growth. In mine case, its nt the common hole in heart in any of the 4 chambers which usually will close on its own thru time. Mine is the hole at the lower center that divides the right n left chamber. As a result, the hole also pushes the aorta and squeeze the pulmonary artery, causing narrow vessel to the pulmonary artery too. So its a 4-in-1 problem that makes the Fallot terms.

So only thing Prof says is depend on how baby develop over next 5 mths. And on birth, whether will he be blue or pink. If blue, immediate surgery to connect a pipe from tube to lungs to prevent lungs collapse. If pink, wait till 6mths to 1 year for major surgery to correct.

pkdust: actually when i 1st knew abt mine bb being a minnie, my reaction was exactly like yurs. i cried n yes, even contempted abortion too cos i very much wanted the 1st bb to be a boy as hb is the oni son in his family n i hate the pressure from ILs side. but hb gave me a real good lecture n said he preferes daughter to son after seeing how all his nephews behave (fyi-his family side no nieces, all boys). now i m a bit more stable. jus trying to psycho myself tat bb healthy is good enf, nothing is more impt than bb being healthy n gd...

TF: am so sorry to hear abt yur bb, do take care n i buzz u when i m back in town. if u need someone to talk to, feel free to email me in the meantime okie? do take care &amp; will keep u n yur bb in my prayers....

TF,
sorry to hear abt that...Did e gyane say anything?

Ellysia,
which disney clothings u tinking of organising? ;p

shycloud,
I also sad when I know my bb's gender, all along i felt it was a Mickey but yet turn out to be a Minnie...Guess its all fated de...Even if next one also a ger, also no choice cos gender is determine by hb and not by us...

when i'm preggie my #1 , i oso had the feeling of hvin boy 1st to avoid future pressure from ILs, though inside my heart i prefer girls. But as i mentioned before, i amos abort my ger when the gynae make the wrong diagnosis, bb gender become less important.
So, ladies, be glad as long as long our bb is healthy. But i still hoping for a mickey this round. Contradicting, rite? haha.....

Yes, we pray for miracle to hapen at his best. After we have accepted everything n read more info abt it, Mickey's daddy start to talk to Mickey in tummy for 1st time. I guess this makes us even more closer to Mickey now n longing to see him even more. His daddy n granny even say want to see how this naughty mickey is.

Mickey's daddy was in town n just flew off this morning. I was on way home fr airport today after seeing him n a taxi hit my car back in ECP while i was slowly for another dashing taxi cuming on my left slip rd to major rd. Lucky no big impact. So the back has to pay us small token. Be careful at ECP near airport. I often see lots of taxi speeding to rush for customer. They really drive like devils there.

feifei...
my hb insists to wait for the DS to cfm on the gender even though gynae confirms 90% a minnie...he was still hoping to see a "stick" in btw the legs...haha

hope u feeling better now abt the gender. It's not impt now...most impt is the health and the well being of bb when she grows up...dun you agree?

imagine if it's a boy...but gives u so much headache when growing up...would u think back and wished how it would be better if it was a gal?

things happen for a reason...

<font color="0077aa">TF~

glad onli the car was damaged and u are fine.. sometimes we are so careful while on the road but when u meet reckless drivers.. its unavoidable.. haiz</font>

crystal and feifei,
Aiya, for you gals its the first bb. So what is there to be upset about. Mine is the second bb leh. And also me and hb decided to stop at two. So for both of you, can try again for boys the next time round. Actually I prefer first one to be a gal. Because gals more guai and easier to take care. They will also care for their little di di next time. I got a fren who had first baby as boy and after that she had such a great phophia that she told me she never want a second one anymore. Her boy boy is extreme hyper active and very processive and naughty.

I think abortion is not an option because it is sinful for all religion and its also not good for the mother. So just have to psycho our mind to accept this.

Cactus
Thanks. Ya, these were all the tots tat came my mine too. Cos I was once in the insurance industry so i knw his insurance is going to be 100% loading. Yes, the surgery and everythg is going to cost us. In fact, when we went to see the cardio the next day, already cost me $300 for abt 45 mins. So far, all thru' out, i'm lucky in the sense my husband's Company will be paying for all the medical costs until birth. So we have nt started paying anythg yet. Next Tues, I will mtg my gynae n discuss the plan forward. I will be considering to do it in KK and I wonder how to go abt the transfer. Cos i heard if my gynae refer me to KK, will be more exp than I go thru a Poly like u mention. Does it work this way? Some of my friends say, as long as you already touch Pte, they will still charge a little premium even if u go KK, as compared to when u first go direct. Any idea?

To those who wants the gender but didn't turn to be

Thank Lord that its healthy n look forward to it. Cos this are all just our convenient wishes. This hapen to my hubby who wants a minnie so bad n he told me he still hope to see minnie in DS. When we discover the heart problem, I told him, maybe the baby did nt feel welcome by you. So now he treasure this little boy more n even look forward.

Hi TF,

Just to note- for H&amp;S policies which are payable with medishield, I believe they don't accept loading. And also, it is up to the insurer to decide whether or not to take up loading. If not, it will be an exclusion.

It is good that your hb's company is paying for everything up till birth - but do check if there is any limit. for me, hb's company pays 70% but only up to $550/year.

It is true that if you are a private referral to KK, it is expensive, cos you can only go to A or B1 ward, and your bb also can only go to A or B1 ward. the subsidy there is 0% for A class ward or only 20% for B1 ward. For outpatient, you will also be charged "private" rates. KK hospital charges "private" and "subsidised" rates. The only prob with "subsidied" patients is cannot choose doctor but for complicated cases, you will be assign an experienced doctor so not to worry.

I don't think it's true that when you already touched private, they will still charge you a little premium.

TF, your 3.09pm post brought tears to my eyes. Every child will bring joy to the hearts that they touch. Your bb will not be an exception.

Hi Cactus
It could be the explanation that u gv that we can only chose A or B1 since referred by pte, that my friend say still consider premium.

So if I go thru Polyclinic for referral, wld tat mean I can choose lower than B1? Am i allowed?

Its always nice to have someone like u who knws the medical side of things in tis forum n helping us on our Q&amp;A

Cactus
Ya, i almost teared when typing that too. But, i always feel tat all foetus are so helpless to say wat they want in this 9 mths.
When my hubby initial tot was to abort, i told him i'm nt going to cos every moment he still has a life in him until the day the baby proves otherwise. I'm prepared for the worst even if it means now, 5mths down, 1 year down, or even 10 years down. So why do we wnt to take their life away since the worst is prepared. Its all abt timing. Wat we just dun like to see is the inconveniences to ourselves only which is often our own selfish tots. Tat's just my view for a silent foetus.

TF,

If you are referred by polyclinic to KKH, and you don't choose any KKH doctor, or specify male/female doctor, and say you are prepared to deliver in B2 or C class ward, and be seen at the subsidized outpatient clinic at KKH, you will definately enjoy subsidized rates.

My suggestion is you don't go to polyclinic immediately saying you want to be subsidized patient at KKH. Just pretend to be "stupid" and "poor thing"... tell the doctor you were seeing private doctor but ran out of $.. really cannot continue seeing already.. and want the polyclinic to see you for your pregnancy at $12/visit. Polyclinic WILL NOT see you cos they are NOT supposed to see complicated cases. They will be forced to refer you to KKH as a subsidized patient. My concern is if you to polyclinic to ask for an outright referral to KKH, a stupid doctor may refuse.. cos sometimes, doctor may not want to "overload" the subsidized wing at KKH unless there is very good reason to refer.

My only concern is this - recently health minister mentioned something about means testing in hospitals... and there will be less subsidy for higher income groups opting to stay in lower wards at restructured hospitals. So do have that in mind. The current subsidy at B2 and C wards levels may not apply to your bb when the time comes. There will be a good subsidy but not the 80% at C class if you are a high income earner.

Cactus
Ok, got it. I think in the end, i will still meet the same Cardio Prof (Mt.E) in KK cos so far, he's been the one that see to all hole in heart babies, cos i tink he needs to be on standy-by if baby turn blue on delivery.

Hi TF,
I don't know much about fallot but i hope i can help regarding polyclinic referral. You can go to any polyclinic in Singapore and say that you are pregnant and wish to be referred to KK/nuh/sgh as a subsidised patient. tell them that during the detailed scan, your baby was found to have fallot.

As a subsidised patient, you can choose to be B2 or C class patient at the hospital.

TF,

Maybe the bad luck at the roads will bring u good luck soon. Dun worry.

As cactus have mentioned on the financial part, maybe do be more prepared and find out more info.

Morraine,

it is not only cars are chasing for time, also people walking too. Singapore is too crowded.

TF
I am very sorry to hear about your baby situation... You stay strong and positive toward baby. He can feel your feelings and be prompted to grow strong and healthy. Continue praying and trust God for a miracle. Our prayers are with you now.

Regarding gender, TF and cactus are right. Initially hubby also wanted a boy (easier for male bonding) but after all we went through, the bleeding, hospitalisation etc, we are just happy and contented that baby is healthy and gender doesnt matter anymore. Mummies, remember not to let your disappointment at the gender flow through to the baby. Coz babies are very sensitive and if they sense the disappointment, they might grow up with rejection in them. As long as our little ones are healthy, it's good enough
Every child is a gift from God

TF, some links to KKH for you to have a look if you've not already come across them:

On how to be a "subsidized" and "private" patient:
http://www.kkh.com.sg/ForPatientsnVisitors/HospitalChargesandServices/PrivateorSubsidised/

Outpatient charges for "subsidized" and "private" patient:
http://www.kkh.com.sg/ForPatientsnVisitors/HospitalChargesandServices/Outpatient/women.htm

On O&amp;G inpatient charges for you and bb:
http://www.kkh.com.sg/ForPatientsnVisitors/HospitalChargesandServices/Inpatient/women.htm

Just to let you know, at KKH, there are aircon rooms for B2 patients. it is called B2+ and it is considered "subsidized" class. If you would like aircon, you could consider opting for that class. It is a bit more expensive than B2.

TF,
Maybe I share my experience with you for my first gal. During the detailed scan,everything is fine. The 4 chambers of the heart are perfectly fine as well. After baby is born and during her first checkup, the doc heard an "extra" sound from the lungs and refer us to a cardiologist at KK. Through another scan, it was detected that my gal has a moderate hole in the heart (VSD) He mention that luckly the hole is not big and does not require for immediate attention. Depending on the situation, such holes might get smaller and eventually close up as the baby grow up. But if it does not close up, then there might be a need for medication or operation. Meantime we just have to monitor whether she is breathless and feeding well. Intiailly we bring her for checkup after her first month, then 3 months later and the last checkup we had is 6 months ago. My gal is now coming one year old and her next checkup is mid feb. During the last checkup, doc mention he can hardly heard any more sound from her lungs but they need to do a detail scan before finalising that the hole has completely closed up. I dunno whether my case is the same as yours but frankly speaking, there is no issue with my gal at all.In fact she is very active and is feeding well. So not to worry too much.

TF,

Now is ored 5mths and abortion also have a big risk for u too.

I think there are many kids around with this problem, it is not an uncommon problem. Sure to have some ways to solve the problem, maybe just need to do more op after birth and more care on the bb.

pkdust,

Detailed scan does not show everything, my gynae told me after detailed scan. So some holes at heart etc may not be able to be revealed during detailed scan. Detailed scan only pick up major &amp; obvious ones.

Cactus n Kylene
Thanks.. I will be blurr then.. anyway, i got no income. And my hubby income is nt track in S'pore. So shd be ok.

Cactus
Yes, i remember reading abt u n your final positive decision. For DS, there have been cases where baby diagnose wif DS born w/o. Just heard fr my mum days ago that my cousin went thru thinking DS but didnt turn to be. I'm sure Little Cactus will be fine.
Like initially, when i pass the OSCAR scan, we left a big load off our head cos we fear our risk is high due to age. Nvr did we realize DS is next hurdle.

I told my parents n parents-in-law. Even if baby did nt hv hole in heart, I always take it tat i must be prepared thru' out the 10 mths, ie. anything can hapen along the way even upon birth. So I hope all mothers enjoy your journey n stay happy n positive. Just be strong if anything strike (touch wood). Keep your faith.

TF, don't worry too much over your baby ok? I heard of such cases before also. Sometimes the hole will close up by itself.

STarmoon, count me in for the slimming belt(with magnet) and the uzap loh. let me know when you are collecting payment for that ok?

Any mummies wanna get uzap also? I heard my ex colleague said Uzap works, anyone here tried that?

TF,
if like cactus say, you really meet 1 of those weird drs who refuse to refer u, pls let me know. I know someone in the polyclinic and she'll definitlely refer u.

shycloud,
ya lor, come to tink of it, gers are better. Closer to parents and will take care of siblings =D...Hb was quite happy with Minnie also.me has learnt to take things as it is liao, as long as bb healthy, nothing matters =D..

pkdust,
ya lor, hope for a boy next time..hee...Ya lor, but hor, i still feel abortion not fair to bb de...

TF,
cheerup ya...must stay strong for Mickey k...

Ellysia,

Was rushing for some discussion just now and when back, there're so many posts to follow up. ABout the disney spree, no direct shipping to spore? Any idea how they do it via Vpost? Me nvr done any spree, not sure of the process.

My eyes was in tears when i read the posts. I feel there's care and support from this forum. All the mummies is not selfish at all to share their opinion and provide suggestions.
TF, with all the care and supports from the mummies in here, i'm sure your bb will be allright.
Be strong, TF!

It's so touching to see all your support here. Initially i duno wnt to let you gals knw cos dun wnt to affect so many mums. My hb will be very thankful for all your support if he reads. I thank u gals on behalf.

Kylene
Really thank u. I will let u knw on the poly side whn i do go to them.

Ellysia
Ha.. u said the same thing s my mum whn i return home. She immediately whispered to me, the bad luck is shooed away fr baby. I wnted to ask if any of u heard such things, but then tot was her only.

In my case, its nt the normal hole in heart chamber case. I've personally seen a gd friend of mine (my god-daughter's mother) going thru Fallot. Previously no scan so they can't tell. My friend only got the symptoms at 3 years old when she turn bluish. And went thru surgery then n the latest was just at 35 years to change the stent. She gave birth to her daughter who also have hole in heart but nw close. So I believe the child can lead a normal life. Just have to watch his breathing at early stages n calm the baby from crying too agony.

TF and Cactus,
I dunno if expecting does make a pregnant mother more emotional. But I am really on the verge of tears when I read through the post from TF, esp the one at around 309. Cactus, yeah, I am just like u, touched by TF's words. Stupid me to rush to the thoughts of abortion once I know about baby's gender. Think health of bb is the most important after we have gone through so much .

Felicia,
Yeah, its good to share our experience and the support from this forum is terrific. Think only those who are pregnant will know what we are going through.

TF,

Pls dun mope at home yrself.. share with us at this forum. Dun worry too much or it affect the bb too.

I dunno if u believe but this year has been a bad year for me bec i have 2 minor eye op on the same eye and that eye still does not function v well at times. It has been a bad time bec' at one time i am not sure i am able to work or see probably bec' the op has no guaranteed chance of success and can recur anytime. Even now is no guaranteed.
And i have to pray that it will not recur now bec' i won't be able to do any op during pregnancy neither can i do any eye checkups also bec' it require x-ray and is harmful to bb. Now my eye has not recovered 100% also, not sure if it will recur anytime bec' sometimes i still see black spots.

My colleague says though the eye problem is bad for me but pregnant is good news so maybe the bad did bring the good.

So i dunno whether this is true or not.

pkdust, I think we are more emotional now cos we can identify with TF, esp. for the mothers who had fleeting thoughts of abortion before...