(2008/06) June 2008

THanks for brainstorming on the issue for me, Ellysia. My doctor wants me to do the detailed scan first before seeing him cos my triple screen test results aren't that good. He said he'll pop by during the detailed scan on 28 Jan but will want a more indepth chat with me on 4 Feb.... It's just a scheduling issue. quite irritating but guess no choice if can't see heart properly. just have to go down again lah. what to do right?

Re: Breast pump

I am considering whether to get the Medela PIS dual electric but it is really v expensive and i worried if my milk supply is not enuff then i waste money getting an exp pump. If milk supply is fine i definitely need an electric dual at office to save the time.

So TMC course can try on the equipment? Is it the pre-natal course or the bb course (which is given when deliver at TMC). Then maybe i wait until next mth for the 4th or 5th lesson on breastfeeding and pumping. But my class got a lot of people, dunno is it hygienic to test pumps with so many people leh.

Anyway, I'm logging off liao. going to pack and go home soon! See you all tomorrow!

pkdust - don't worry too much. if need be, just call your doctor again to ask about the test results.

cactus,

No choice but to follow yr gynae advice.

For me i actually dun want tat appt cos i am lazy but gynae want to see me as she feel more secure not to lapse too long in btw appts.

cactus,

Dun worry abt bb growth, maybe it will catch up soon in 20 weeks. i find tat 5 weeks is also ok just 1 week more than 1 mth anyway. When come to 3rd trim imagine we have to go every 2 weeks and every 1 week subsquently, can be so tiring.

Oh ya forget to ask u if u have bot the mozart CD which last time u been saying to get for "tai jiao". I noticed got some special CDs for pregnancy also, dunno is it better?

Hello TF,
I booked CX, leaving on 9 March and coming back on 12 March (that's the 1-week school hols, no choice :p). The timing is pretty good, 8am flight to HK and then coming back is a 8pm flight. Actually, UA is slightly cheaper than CX and has better morning flights so u may want to consider
(except that there was no more seats for 9 March). There is apparently a promotion on CX - i think some free tix to ocean park or something. The tix is around $505 per pax (inclusive of airport tax). Actually, Jetstar flies to HK too but in terms of price diff, it's not that much from CX. So really up to individual, I thot pay a bit more for comfort now that we preggie quite worth it la. ;)

Check out this website: www.airfares.com.sg which will give you the different airline rates.
Give the travel agent a call (they are fast to revert) and they will reserve the tix for u for 1 mth, as in u have 1 mth to decide whether u want the tix or not and can make payment anytime within the next 1 mth. Hope the above info helps!

Oh one last thing, Chan Bros having a free and easy pkg, travel by CX and accomodation around $608 per pax for 3 days 2 nites. Only thing is I heard that the hotel is a little cramped which is quite typical for HK hotels la, I think.

Tera
Thanks, informative. Ok, i will book n see if any other promo come along. Dates I'm flexible, just have to be back b4 the ante-natal class :p

Hi Ellysia,

I just logged on to read the posts, and saw your query about the mozart cd. Quick reply before I go for dinner.

It's not a specific mozart cd that I bought. Rather, I already had mozart symphonies (in a CD) before pregnancy so now just take them out.

HI All,

I would like to sell my Almost Brand New Avent Single Electric Breast pump (Used Only Once) together with a box of Brand New (Sealed) 10 Breastmilk Containers.
Retail Price :- abt $300/-

Here's the link:-
http://www.avent.philips.com/en_GB/products/SCF292_01.asp#features

I am willing to let go @ $220/-

I am Selling because my friend gave me her Dual Breast pump which I am using comfortably.

Interested parties, Please contact me at [email protected]. We will link up from there.

hi all.....

seeing my gynae tmr. Hoping to be able to tell boy or gal =) Then can start shopping!!!

RE: Applying of stretchmark cream.

A friend told me don't rub in circular motion. May cause contractions. So apply with hands rubbing sideways/ top-down.

Actually to know if you prone to stretchmarks, can just ask your mum. Most people say will be the same. If your mummy don't have, you probably don't have.

Ellysia,

Babies like classical music. Anyone will be good. But many people say Mozart more stimulating. Talking to baby yourself, or asking daddy to sign to baby also good. My hb sang quite a bit of Twinkle Twinkly Little Star to my #1 when he was in my tummy. When he was borned, can see that he like to listen to daddy's twinkle twinkle little star =)

Hi gers,
Morning.. I had some brown spotting last night and this morning. Just very little of it. Wondering if any MTBs experience spotting in the 2nd trimester (I tot only in 1st trimester?). Is it normal? I am worried that it might be related to my amnio test.
I am monitoring. Will be seeing my gynae if things dun improve. Aiyo.. how come my preggy crisis never end de..

Morning ladies...

Tell u all something scary yest nite which happen to me...After I came home frm my anental class, bathed, while I was going to sleep...suddenly my tummy felt contractions leh...It was so pain...It seems like alot of wind in my tummy...I went toilet, nothing much came out, then I vomited some gastic liquid too..

After that, the contractions went on and off for 1hr....I can't take it liao, almost wanted to ask hb to call for ambulance...Really so frightened, duno wat happen to my ger lor....then i broke in cold sweat...

My hb apply quite alot of ruyi oil onto my tummy to get rid of the wind, after awhile, can hear the wind sound lor, so much leh...Lucky the contractions went off after abt 30mins...I was crying in pain lor...This morning asked hb whether he has a fright, he said OF COS lor...tot something happen to our bb...hiaz...so scary leh...

TInk applying of ruyi oil won't affect bb de hor? cos i worried cos today haven felt her movements yet leh...haiz...

Regarding the class :-
Mrs Wong is really good! Her class was full, lucky I was there before 7pm so can get a good seat..Also managed to watch a video on breastfeeding...

She started off by introducing herself, then told us the differenet type of position of placentas...showed us using a demo baby..

Then we did some stretching exercise...Hbs also joined in lor...She did say that CANNOT apply stretchmark cream in circular movement. This will cause early contrations...Shd apply the cream frm bottom of ur tummy to upwards...

Regarding e tai jiao, she taught the daddies how to talk to bb, say cannot anyhow touch bb one, cos mayb bb won't like it...Asked the hbs to put their hands onto slightly below wife's chest there...If its soft, means bb like the touch, if its hard, means bb dun like the touch today de..

Taught us how to massage our legs to prevent cramps, taught hbs how to massage our hands for us...Taught us how to get up frm the bed, how to prevent indigestion etc...Lots to learn lor..

She also talked abt some chinese myths..=D..
Her class is really informative and fun, but her class ended at 9.30pm lor... =)..

Teragram,
Talking abt UA flights...I took UA last Sept when I went hkg...Not bad lor except u won't get an individual tv by urself lor...

ZuEn,
Dun worry ya...continue to monitor the spotting, meanwhile, mayb u shd ask ur gyane whether its normal or need to go see him...

MOrning ladies!

Zu En, I think you may want to call your doctor to ask about the spotting. 2nd trimester spotting is a bit unusual unless you have a low lying placenta. but since it is not bleeding or severe cramping, it's probably nothing to worry about.

Ellysia - Just to add on to my post last evening about Mozart. CHildren like repetition. That's why they like rhymes and like us to repeat the same things over and over again (words, music, etc). Most classical music are very repetitive, especially Mozart's. I think all classical music is ok for babies, but I believe that Mozart and Bach/Vivaldi music is the best cos they are the most repeitive.

HI feifei, my MIL applies ru yi oil to my 2 yr old nephew. I don't think it will harm bb if we apply it. But we must be careful before we apply things on ourselves now and on bb next time... cos I understand vicks or mopiko has camphor which may be toxic.

feifei,

ru yi oil should be fine. this morning how you feel? maybe your bb still sleeping, that's why no movement. May want to tap tap tummy a little. Don't worry, think at this stage, only need to feel baby movement within 10 hours. Nearer to delivery date, then must feel bb kick every 4 hours.

cactus,
you are right regarding vicks. Says not for children below 2. Also, insect repellent also can't use for young babies.

zuen,
I had spotting previously in my 2nd tri too. My hb called my gynae on the emergency no, cos it happened in the evening, after his consultation hours. Went and see him the next morning, don't really know why got spotting. But gynae did scan and saw that bb was ok. Understand your fear.... monitor and see your gynae if spotting persists.

feifei, you m ay want to drink something sweet, then lay still on your side on a bed for an hour and monitor for movements. Or else, press on your tummy a bit, like piyoz suggested.

cactus,
Tks for the infor ger =)...really got a scare yest..

piyoz,
tks ger...me felt abit of movement liao, tink bb woke up lor..hehe...Really bery scary yest nte for both of us....

ZuEn,
Dont worry so much on the spotting unless is bleeding. Coz me till now, still on and off will had brownish discharge. I remember during 1st trimester, my gynae scan and said inside my womb seems to be lot of blood discharge, so he said as long as is not bleeding then it wont be a big issue.

I've not felt my bb move yet... grin. Already coming to 18 weeks. Maybe it's the positioning of the placenta. My doctor considers me slim too.... and I keep feeling a lump of something very hard on the left side of my tummy.. not sure if it's psyhological.. or whether it's really the placenta. I'm told if placenta is in front, harder to feel bb. I've never asked where my placenta is though...

hi feifei,

the whole of my lower tummy from about 2 inches under my belly button to the pelvis is hard. I'm told that's where the uterus is. Baby is somewhere inside uterus. But when I lay flat on the bed, and tilt just a bit to the left, I will see my lower tummy move alot to the left, and it will seem like fats on the lower right of my tummy, and a hard thing on the lower left of my tummy. The left won't move. Since the beginning of pregnancy, I've felt more comfortable sleeping on my left. If I sleep on my right lt's like something is hanging somewhere inside..

Fei fei
Try recall if you have eaten or drank something too 'Liang'?

Talking abt it, do any of you knw if we can eat coconut fresh n water? I understand also that the Malays would usu consume somewhere before the last 2 mths to due so as to aid the delivery or sthg like tat.

piyoz,

Hard to get my hb to sing to bb. He feel it is v strange and hard to relate to bb when he is not born yet.

feifei,

Looks like Mrs Wong class is v informative. My 1st lesson our instructor is away at Scotland, so hopefully next mon i see whether she is good or not.

I cannot remember if i have apply the clarins oil in circular or any director but usu i avoid circular motion.

Yr pain may be due too much wind in yr stomach, may not be contractions or anyting. Ru Yi oil is ok to use, i use before in 1st trim too when too much wind. If ru yi oil works for u means most likely wind is the culprit for yr pain i guess.

Cactus
I do feel the little bump on my left side smtx if i wake up on my left. I tot its the baby tat slide to the corner. Then when i slowly touch n caress, it goes back. I just reach 18 weeks and smtx do start to feel the fluttering movts.

TF,
DONT'T ever drink coconut juice now. Else you'll had contractions. Is too cooling. Normally preggie lady will only consume about few weeks before EDD date. Hearsay this drink will help you dilate more smoothly.
Got a collegue of mine, about 2 weeks before due date, she drank up 2 coconut fresh juice within a day. And tat day she had contractions and delivered the next morning.
So, nos is still too early for us to drink this juice.

Zu En,

Make an appt with yr gynae straightaway.

When my spotting persist after a pause in 1st trim, i also called up gynae clinic and the nurse let me speak with her, then she tell me to immediately fix a fast appt to see her.

U can slot in appts in such case, just tell the nurse of yr problem and they will arrange for an earlier appt for u.

Hi TF,

I heard coconut water must be taken together with the flesh to prevent too cooling. It is usually taken during middle to end of 3rd trimester. Nearing EDD, can take up to 2 times per week. Before that, once a week. My SIL and an auntie did that.

Supposed to make bb's skin fair, and aid a "cleaner" delivery. I dun believe in this lah.. but I like coconut so will be taking it. actually, I took small amounst of coconut water and flesh during 1st and 2nd trimester. Had it about 4 times already. all the flesh and a few sips of the water. no probs so far.

Coconut water, i heard only take 2 mths before delivery. This is wat most of my colleagues said.

Watermelon, recently i will take 1-2 slices but not more than that. Seems ok.

Sleeping - yesterday i slept early at 10pm but i still feel tired bec' i have been turning from left to right, right to left and to and fro etc throughout sleep. Then bb also kick me in middle of sleep and wake me up.

Now i recall yest nite i was listening to mozart before i sleep, dunno is it bec over stimulating so bb is active.

Cactus,

I only feel bb movement in week 19. I feel strange slight pokes in week 18 but not sure if it is due to bb kicking or not. In week 19 i felt bb move and kick once/twice. Week 20 i felt bb kicks more often/significant.

Felicia, Cactus
Thanks. I also like coconut, 2 days ago my family having n i drool.. wait till my last months i will cheong ah..Yes, its sthg like the coconut helps to clean up the baby or delivery. Not sure if link to get rid of the craddle caps, etc.

Morning gals!!
Met such an unreasonable b*stard ydae.. spoil my day!!
My sis and I were driving on the main road, this car was on the small road wanting to filter out... we refused to give way to him and he die die want to come out.. end up our cars hit each other... he came out of his vehicle and started hollering at me.. b*stard! Say our fault etc, hello, we have the RIGHT of way! We ask him for compensation etc, he refuse to give us still dare to try claim our insurance! Wat an idiot. He can tell Im pregnant and not bothering about my condition, just stand there hollering at me when obviously it is his fault because small road must give way to main road. Worst thing is we cannot claim his insurance coz our car only small scratches, max $100 to spray paint.. but because he insist, I need to go down make an insurance report and waste time and $ to repaint car. IDIOT!!!

Is there any way I can shame him publicly?? Shame on him! His fault but still insist on hollering on a pregnant woman!

Hi Ellysia, I dun know about mozart stimulating bb but my SIL says bb queitens down when she plays familiar music to him. When he was born, he also quietened down when she played the same music to him.

Ellysia,
I still dun feel bb movements leh.
Hope Wk20 will feel something.

Feifei,
Must have been quite a bad scare for u and hubby last nite. But sounds like everything's ok now so don't worry.
Ya, I also heard UA is good but then timing not good leh. Actually TF told me SQ got good promotion but I checked and there was no more morning flights for the day I'm leaving so shall stick to CX. And oh ya, thanks for sharing the tips from class, i have been applying my stretchmark cream in circular motion..oops!

ZuEn,
Try and see gynae soon so that at least got ease of mind that everything's ok.
Hang in there.

Yesterday at Lau Pa sat a caucasian guy also knock me.

I tink most guys esp those not married type are insensitive to pregnant women.

U can post at straits times forum? i mean the website forum. I used to do tat before.

Hi Zuen and feifei
Sorry to hear about both your situations... I think it's safer to give both gynaes a call and let them know what happened. They will be able to give advice and also prescribe medicine if necessary... quick call both of them!!
Zuen, spotting is common but im also worried it could be due to your amnio... gynae might be able to give u duphaston to stop it...

feifei, better call gynae and tell him.. early contractions are no joke and medicine can be taken to stop it. But it sounds more like a tummy upset than contractions to me, but no matter wat, best to seek gynae opinion

cactus,

maybe playing mozart music has some effect for bb. Cos after i played the music for some weeks, can see on scans tat bb is getting more and more active and responsive.

feifei,

I agree with roxy tat it seems like stomach problem than contractions but if worried, do get an appt with gynae to check.

As for Zu En, do fix appt asap.. spotting is not something to be taken lightly.

ellysia,

hb felt strange singing to my belly button also... ha ha..... so he only sing once or twice every week. rest of the time, ask me to play CD to tummy. But when bb borned, he could response to daddy's voice.... so amazing!!!

feifei,
Must be glad to feel your little one's kicks =) She's telling you she's ok!!!

RE: Coconut water.

ya, don't take so early. Can start from week 32 onwards. By then we will feel really warm, so coconut juice is really very cooling!!! actually I only managed to take two coconuts, then bb deliver already. Whether it helps in less bloody delivery, quite hard to tell.

the idiot a**h*le spoil my weekend liao... regret not taking his hp number, should have taken then i can call him and give him a piece of my mind!

Thanks ellysia, i go try posting stomp or st forum...

cactus,

Maybe leh. But i played slow mozart yest nite. I only play the active mozart music during the day in office.

I guess playing the music now then got effect bec' only now bb can then listen to outside sounds.

roxy,

I wonder shd i go and post a forum posting on the crowded situation at SMRT and no consideration for pregnant women. Was even thinking to write an email to LTA on the poor public transport.

If my English is better, i will maybe write to newpaper.. really feel it is horrible the public transportation system and the taxi fare price increase.

Hi Ellysia, I read that different parts of the brain are stimulated when different music tempo is played. slow beat, faster beat. But the effects o nly last for about 15 minutes nad only show improved math and spatial skills in adults. for bbs, it is only proven that bbs calm down when they hear the same music played after their birth... maybe it's familiarity, like dad's voices!

feifei, me oso get pain on and off...shldn't worry too much abt applying ruyi oil cos i oso applied dat in 1st tri.

roxy, sorry to hear abt your encounter...i juz cant understand why these driver insist to cut into our lane when we refuse to give way! had a few encounters myself with such reckless driver and luckily i braked in time if not, would have hit each other too.

coconut water: i took one whole coconut a couple of weeks ago cos i was having a heaty cough...no problem at all! gynae told me can eat everything moderately and even pineapples and eating it wun cost misccarriage. for my #1, i abstained from all cooling stuff and only had coconut when i was 37 weeks. i personally dun think it helps in dilation or easy delivery. however, it is definitely true that bb will come out cleaner. my SIL who was previously a nurse at TMC helped bathed my bb when she was out and she told me that my bb is very clean and for the first time, she didnt have to use oil to clean the stains away on my daughter....so i guess the coconut helps....i drank quite alot as well and especially on my 40th week, i drank like almost everyday.