(2008/06) June 2008

morraine,

Those glass bottles use to store can be use to direct feed or not??

I am tinking of every morning bring over 1 day supply to MIL house. Since EBM can be kept in fridge for 1 day, so shd be fine? Cos my MIL house fridge also contain a lot of food, dun tink can keep so many EBM.

pkdust,

yup same tinking, i tot once reach 3mths shd be safe liao, dun have to worry so much. Then didn't know 2nd trim also got things to worry.

k ong, if u r planning to visit US, then best dat u carry it back yourself to save on shipping cos it is quite heavy leh so shipping might be costly! but itz a very long trip so it may not be comfortable on the plane especially we got tummy now! if u have frens or anyone gg, then maybe see if can ask them to help u bring back.

tinyfeet, i got the PIS Advanced and so did my SIL. So far, no complaints from both of us leh. I have it for 2 years now and it still serves me well. As for SIL, she bought it here in SG for abt $500+ during promo and she has been using for 3 months now and oso no problems. What kinda problem did u hear it has?

In addition, my urine test also reveal that i may have bacteria infection...what does it mean..aiyah need to go down for the re-test ie. extra $$$ sigh

morraine,

Like this how to carry to MIL house? Cos i am not sure if MIL know how to use sterlisier etc etc, last time they never have this kind of bf pumping method etc. If too complicated dunno she know how to use or not.

Or can i sterilise milk bottles in the morning, pour EBM to them and carry them over to MIL house? EBM in milk bottles can be kept for 1 day in fridge right? no need freezer if i am not wrong..

<font color="ff6000">ellysia~

the steriliser actually very easy to use, jus place water den on swtich only
but if she cannot manage den ask her to do the old school method by buying a new pot jus for sterilising den place all bottles inside with sufficient water level to cover all bottles den on fire and boil only</font>

ellysia,
Glass bottles that are used to store EBM can use to direct feed bbies.., just rem to get the new teats for the glass bottles from the hospital when you discharged.

starmoon : yah, dont wanna trouble my friends la, cuz i know it's heavy !!
i went to New York earlier this yr - direct flt from Singapore and it was really comfortable !!

Actually, i used the Avent Isis Uno for my first kid and it's really good, but battery very weak, and hard to use at work as i dont have a power point near my pumping station. So thinking of getting the Medela PIS as the battery-power is supposed to be good right ?

piyo(secret garden),

So i can buy glass bottles, store EBM in my own freezer, then carry over to MIL house each morn. She just put in teats and direct feed (after warming) right?

I am tinking if can avoid MIL sterilising will be easier for her. Then we maybe just need to get a warmer for her will do. She just take the bottles from fridge, warm up and feed can liao.

iamsnow,
The nurse also say something like I got low blood count and there is a risk of Thalassaemia .But I dunno if I am a carrier. So also ask my hubby to go for blood test. My appointment is schedule on 14th Jan.When is urs ?

Morraine : yes it is ! let's go there next time

Ellysia : re bottle feeds at your MIL's place.
what i did for my #1, was to prepare 3 bottles for her day feeds (she used to take 200ml every 4 hours) which meant i'd have to sterilise the bottles in the morning and fill them before i leave for work, then leave it to the care-giver to feed.

I think it's better to do the sterilisation yourself, to avoid any problems with the gadgets and with the filling of the milk. I know i got very irritated whenever my hubby spilt any of my precious B milk !!! This way, you're in control and responsible for baby's daily feed !

Ellysia,

yes you can do that BUT the antibodies in the BM may be lost if stored in glass bottles compared to plastic bottles/milk bags..

I dun get another steriliser at my mum's place.. I asked them use primitive mtd, hot boiling water sterilise.. ok de

PIS is packed in a havasack, very easy to carry lei.. and it works to maintain ss.. I also haf no complains about it plus mine is a 2nd hand one! still working very well

<font color="ff6000">ellysia~

but the storing place in the fridge for ur BM must oso be careful leh.. cannot be storing with her those uncooked items wor..

K Ong~

sure!!

<font color="ff0000">raffles mummies ~ so how?? game for lunch next week?</font>

pkdust,
i never arrange for this test. coz i think be it carrier or not carrier, i don't think i will abort the bb because of this.... so no point do this test. will it be a determining factor for u?

Hi gers,
Came in for a breather, then have to continue to rush for work..
The clinic didnt call me today. I think it is bcos the amnio result is not out yet. Which oso mean that it should be out tomolo.. -.o" panic, panic..

piyo
Oh, hw come antibodies will be lost in glass than plastic? I tot glass always better than plastic as no matter wat, plastic has chemical

shycloud,
during my 1st pregnancy, i oso been detected having bacteria infection. Then my gynae prescribe me some pills. Aft finish the course, i din take any test. And after delivery, i dont had any infection as well.
So, get some pills from your gynae, shld be a minor issue.

<font color="ff6000">K Ong~

great!

TF~

ha ha haven tot of the food leh.. wat is appetizing enuff to lure u here?? *grin*</font>

<font color="ff0000">~lunch date on 14/01/08 (mon) @ Raffles area~

- piyo
- K Ong
- morr
- Juliet
- ellysia?

iamsnow,
Of course its a determining factor for me. If baby is really a Thalassaemia major , then no point giving birth right. Because the baby will suffer when she was born.

Are here all working mothers? Sometimes I feel its hard to be pregnant and working at the same time. Can be stressful . I feel that I cannot perform as well compared to pre-pregnant days.Get tired easily and go to toilet more freq. Also need to eat/snack after 3 /4 hours. Do you all share the same sentiments as well?

pkdust - dun think can confirm bb will be major when still in womb (if found out both u n hb r carriers)...so it's just a risk to take...

pkdust,
if it's a determining factor for u, then u should get it tested. but don't worry too much. I read that the risk of major is quite low.

~lunch date on 14/01/08 (mon) @ Raffles area~

<font color="119911">- piyo -cfm</font>
- K Ong
- morr
- Juliet
- ellysia?

eh, but I dun take spicy foods.. if you all go beppa, got non-spicy? cos I like ramen too! haha

<font color="ff6000">piyo &amp; TF~

dun need confirm for u la.. i placed u under CONFIRMED list liaoz wahahhaha.. got got they have non spicy food and rice oso if u want

felicia...
tks, ya i supposed so...that's what the nurse reassured me on...a minor prob, take medication will be fine..

<font color="ff6000">TF~

our list getting longer wor..
will give u the address and directions soon
u coming down by train or car?</font>

<font color="ff0000">~lunch date on 14/01/08 (mon) @ Raffles area @ Beppu Japanese Restaurant~

- piyo
- K Ong
- morr
- Juliet
- TF
- ellysia?

Car? my parking fee + CBD add to my noodle loh...haha..I cum by train, then later i can shop around RP. Just let me knw the address can already. Remember to make reservation if nd to.

TF : come come !
heehee
which ramen place are we going to then ?

Piyo : u have an office nursing room ?!!!
I wanna join your establishment !!!

Ya, the after work for all is a gd one!! Nd me to help, let me knw. Then next time we gather all the Mickies n Minnies for a children party. Yeah

<font color="ff6000">felicia~

never mind la.. we can eat again next time!

liew~

no prob as long as got ppl join, im fine with organising
*ehem* i dare not use 'sexy' to describe myself.. 'clumsy' more like it

TF~

den i can meet u first to walk tare together if u want
and thanks for offering to help oso for future gatherings!

shycloud~

dun like this la.. u can join us next round with liew and all</font>