(2008/06) June 2008

Yeah tera and mogudog.. we are in same class!

Juliet and TF, if plan to book, try booking same class also.. so we can all go together

Veniz and K Ong,

I have a colleague who will have MS up to 7mth or beyond. So my colleagues are used to it actually.

For me my MS cease around week 11 then stop around week 13.

Kelcqi, yes, we can. but the remaining is best kept within a certain limit of hours (I forgot liao, I am sure can check in books or prenatal courses). As my milk flow very very low, thus I always let my boy finish the freshly pumped milk, thus never keep overnight.

Any experienced ladies can help Kelcqi on this topic? Thanks

liew,

My urine also yellow colour. Only on days when i drink 8 glasses of water, it will turn ok colour later.

roxy, u blurr already. i also same class as all of u..keke..nevermind, some preggie very blurr one. I realise tat abt myself. So far 4 of us. If Juliet confirm, then 5. Lets see anymore cuming..

pkdust,
last time they ask my hubby for the blood test too. they'll take 1-2 days will give u the result. if negative means no problem.

Hi ladies, I donated my #2 cord blood to SCBB. As for #1, there was no such thing available that time. #3 most probably will donate to SCBB again

Actually it is me who gonna attend the class first, but mine is not Mrs Wong class.

feifei,

U know wat to bring during 1st lesson?

Ellysia, at least they used to it. In my office, I am the only female here. Everything have to do, then they anything dunno also ask me. I scare if I on M leave, I will keep getting calls from office, cannot rest well (coz during that time, also have to assist in audit of Year End Account).

Not only the above, as I am going to try for breastfeeding, if back into office, dunno where I can pump out my milk as all doors are glass/transparent. Worst come to worst, buy wire extension and lock myself in toilet to pump liao.

Hi babyjo,
Any reason y you not keeping any of your babies' cord blood?

Hi Veniz & Kelcqi,
EBM can store in fridge for max 7days and 6mths if in freezer. EBM in fridge can be moved to store in freezer after max 24hrs.

Veniz,

If no place to bf, then really have to bf at toilet liao. See if the pump comes with battery.

My office recently renovated with a bf corner but is at another floor. If need to bf will go to another floor to do. My colleagues also went there to bf. Last time they used to do at an executive toilet (that has a key) but they complain quite stuffy inside.

pkdust,
nope. i'm in low risk. my hubby is negative. so both no problem. if positive meaning you've thalassemia.i heard u said you're in low risk rite? so they only need to chk ur hubby whether he have thalassemia or not. no worry..lol

Ellysia, first two lessons will most probably be exercise. So just where pants and blouse, nothing fanciful so you can learn the exercises in more comfort. I am sure they will inform you what to wear for first lesson bah, coz last time (yr 2004) I received the confirmation telling me to wear for exercises. Or you can call parentcraft to check it out.

pkdust,
i heard from gynae told me only those if both parents got thalassemia then in future their child can't live more than 2 years old. that the why this test quite important.

Veniz,

OIC. Cos i booked the course v last min, so there is no letter yet. Hb just went to make payment today, he booked yest.

Just checked with hb and he said they gave him a letter ored. i will read and see wat to bring.

liew,
The nurse just told me my blood count is low and my husband to go and take the test in case there is thalassemia.
I just pray hard that everything will be fine. Will go with my hubby for the test this coming sat.

Ellysia, ya, hopefully the guys keep the toilet clean (I only have a cleaner who comes in once a week to clean up). My Medela minipump I dun think have compactment for battery operation. Have to check it out as its currently not with me.

piyo(secretgarden), thanks for the advice.

Veniz,

Cos not all toilets have electrical access. So maybe get one tat has battery cum electrical. Though i understand battery one is not so long lasting in power but better than u cannot use at office.

Piyo, the chances for the kid and sibling to use the cord blood is very low. If let say *choy choy* something do happen to the kid, he/she cannot use his/her own cord blood to save himseld/herself, likewise to his/her other sibling. Most disesase that cord blood can treat are related to genetic blood order.

You can read from the link that you provided for mummies here.

My rationale is if everyone is keeping their children cord blood with private bank, other children who is currently suffering from blood disorder will have lesser chance to get a sutiable cord blood to save their life. If more people are willing to donate, then public banking will have more chances to find a suitable donors for patient.

If public banking have more donors, the chances for our children to find a match (choy choy if something do happen) will also be higher. With one cord blood, you will never know how many life you can save.

If i remember correctly, cord blood cannot be store for life. There is a limit of 10 years only. Storing a cord blood is simply another method of buying an insurance coverage.

These are my hb and my opinion and final decision to donate our bb cord blood. You can save someone life today, but you never know the one you saved will save you in future.

pkdust,

How come now then u do blood test?

My hb done the blood test for thalassemia on our 2nd gynae appt, way before i done mine together with Oscar test. Becos my hb done the test earlier and is ok, i didn't worry abt the test results when it is my turn.

pkdust,
don't worry. the worst case scenario if both parents are found to be thalassemia minors (both u and hubby can't be majors cos we won't have survived till now), there is a 25% chance your child will be a thalassemia major (i.e need frequent blood transfusions etc) and 75% chance of a thalassemia minor (which usu does not cause any long term problems). and if either you or your hubby is free from it, then your bb will def not be at risk of a thalassemia major. hope that helps.

Veniz : oh, dont say that !!! every pregnancy is a blessing and is differnt (i am so trying to be positive here !)
totally understand how you feel ... i tot my MS will subside after the 14th or 15th week ... but NO !!! Hrmp.
We will be strong and overcome this ok ??
Most websites state that 70% of women suffer from MS, so we're not alone !
Apparently my boss doesnt see how MS can be so severe as to render me unable to work ... so i have to handle that part of office stress as well as emotional stress from all that vomiting

But we will get better !!!
*positive vibes****

pkdust,
no worry.. evrything sure going smooth.. actually you can ask ur hubby whether last time did went for any blood test or not (the result may shown thalassemia result). but i suggest let them to chk again for sure.

Lunch time give in to craving, i eat claypot laksa. I tink they put too many msg, now i still feel thirsty even though drink a lot of water liao.

K Ong,

Yr boss must be a male right?

Just like my boss cannot understand why need to eat a few times during a day. He keep saying i can just eat my breakfast at home and lunch eat more then dun have to eat later.

Babyjo

I like the Blood Bank donation logic truth tat u put it. The more we give, the earlier whoever in the Q gets it to better use. Than to wait till the day we nd to use ourselves n even then the matching is low too. Whn we really nd 1 day (touch wood) just pray that some kind souls pay it forward, like wat we do today.

Ellysia,
I did triple test and not Oscar test which is done in the 15th week onwards . Hence the results is much later.

Thanks Teragram. Yeah your explaination does help.

pkdust,

I see, but my clinic also offer to do the test alone separate from Oscar/triple test.

Anyway i heard tat it is a v rare case to have a kid tat has it. So dun worry so much.

pkdust

If your hubby has recent thorough blood test result, can use. In my case, we told our gynae that my hubby did his 2-3 years back, n she say its ok to rely on previous result cos guys blood test dun change much over years. For woman, must take latest after pregnant

K Ong,

Heee.. i tried to curb it, will only eat once a mth or 2 mths.

Now is quite worrying bec' having high sugar content, dunno how to reduce intake except avoid soft drinks and carbonated drinks.

Hi pkdust, My hubby jus had his blood test taken yesterday...cos doc say i oso hv tis low blood ting...result shld be out today...but doc says if he doesnt call me..means everitin is ok..i hv been prayin so hard tat he doesnt call..;P
Quite worrying rite...shld be fine..don worry ok..

Hi gers,
Had a good cry and a long 3-hrs sleep. Didnt want to stay awake and corrupt my tots. I feel very numb now. Hb still at work. He is trying to rush back but stuck in office. He is just as helpless as me. Nothing we can do now, just waiting for the amnio test results that will be out tomorrow or Thursday afternoon. After so many bad news, I am really dread calling the clinic for the outcome liao. Wonder how to handle the news when I am in the office.

Tinyfeet,
I was more hopeful yday. I read about that statistics also. After hearing the news from the nurse today, I started to wonder if I am that 1 or 2..

Teragram,
Nope, the gynae didnt call me. I called up the clinic instead and the nurse was the one who told me about some NT thickness, which I still cannot understand wat it stands for. She sounds uncomfortable and just said to wait for the amnio test results. I guessed amnio results is the most accurate, so the gynae dun see any point to alert me on wat was detected on the detail scan bah.

pkdust,
I am oso suspected thalasemic bcos of my super low iron count/ red blood count or something. However, it could oso be iron deficiency. Yday just drew blood to test for thalasemia again. if I am +ve, then hb has to do blood test liao. However, I just did a amnio test, so I think they can test the fluid directly to check if there's anything wrong with the bb bah.

Ha.. i had my 1st Katong laksa at Holland V 1 mth back whn hubby eat. Cant resist. Whn tat bowl in front of me, i still hesitate to eat, afraid of the coconut milk gives stomach wind. End up, e'thg ok :p

K Ong,

I had a friend oso hvin MS till she give birth. Her MS is really terrible, tat she vomitted a few times into her office dustbin and even dirtied the carpet. She said the urge of vomit just came and she dont had time to rush to washroom. Her boss, a male was so unhappy with her.
Just cannot understand why all this bosses cannot understand. Who wud want to do such embarrassing act if we had a choice?

pkdust, nur,
I think many women are thalessemic, while most guys are not. So dun have to wirry too much. Jia you. I am trying to jia you too.

K Ong, Felicia,
I am oso worried that my boss cannot understand. My boss = lady in her early 30s and she is a super workaholic. As a result, she expects her subordinates to put in the same amount as her. She is that kind who can work 24 hours if there's is a deadline to meet.
I feel super pai seh to have to take MC yday & today cos it is peak period now. At first, I was quite glad to go back to work tomorrow cos I have a deadline to rush. Now, I am wondering how to survive until the amnio result is out.
Was comtemplating to take leave on Thurs just in case bad news..

Ellysia : no ! my bosses are females !!

Felicia : yah, i have a little puke pail next to my work desk - in case i cant run to the toilet in time. As if we want to puke - it's the most horrible feeling !!! worse than giving birth in my opinion :pPPP

Male boss just simply dun understand.

My male boss can even comment people take maternity leave 3 mths v shiok can enjoy life at home.

I guess bec he is rich and has maid at home, probably he dun understand the problem of taking care of a kid.

If lady boss is married with kids one, usu more understanding.

if those not married type or dun have kids type, sometimes may be jealous of subordinates with kids and will give prob.

I know another team female boss will give exception and subordinates can take time off for gynae appts even if they have no time off entitlement.

I know my male boss is v kiam, somemore his ex-subordinates never have any preggy one. So he canot understand preggy and kids committment. Thus i didn't even ask for his permission for tat exception but i quietly take MC/leave.

But now since i always easily fall sick, i tink i better keep my MC and leave for urgent use.

ZuEn : pls do be positive

best to wait for the results and let the DOC (and not the nurse) tell you the news ok ??

yah, some women bosses may have had easy pregnancies (or maybe they also had MS but forgot !! heehee)

Ellysia : actually, i tot males will be more understanding, cuz they cant go thru pregnancy and wont realise how it feels like. Unlike women, who may have gone thru pregnancy and child birth, they have that "been theere and done that" attitute and cant understand why some other women have it worse than themselves ?

For example, my ObGyn whois a male is so much more understanding and caring than my old ObGyn who is female. I feel more at ease under his care.
This pregnancy, my MS is 10 times worse than my previous pregnancy, and my ObGyn ran tests to ensure that there was nothing else causing the MS.
For my first pregnancy, my Obgyn just said "oh, that's normal" and didnt really reassure me.

Nur,
Looks like there's nothing much I can do but to continue to trust in God. Trying very hard to remain hopeful.

K Ong,
Normally when I call the clinic, I wun get to speak to the doc. If bad news, then the nurse will ask us to go down to see the doc for explanation. The nurses will not reveal details and dun want to reveal such details over the phone. That was wat happened when I got my triple test results. The period after the phone call until the gynea visit was horrendous. I sit inside my office and dazed..

I supposed the same thing should happen for my amnio test results bah. If bad news, then they will call me (or tell me when I call) to go see doc for explanation. Aiyo, I get kan cheong just by talking about it. Haha.

K Ong,

My male boss is a super niao boss. He is like a women character in a male body. Always pick on small small things one.

bec of the eating food issue, i shouted at him and we didn't tok for few days. And i really feel he is unreasonable and petty on such a small issue. So normally when i go travel i will buy stuff for him, this time round i go travel i dun bother liao. In fact, if i am not preggy i may consider to resign just bec' of this matter.

After give birth, i tink i have to monitor and see if he is understanding enuff. If not pro-family, will have to see can switch job or not lor. Although my company is v pro-family but if boss is not, how to survive.

I am a bit worried that when i need to bf a few times in office, dunno whether he will complain tat i am not at my desk or not.

Last time i want to study for masters, but the timing is early so i want to ask for exception to go off 30mins earlier and come in earlier. He told me if i got night meetings, i must cancel all classes and attend to work first. I haven't even start and he ored say until like tat. End up i didn't take up the chance to study masters.