(2008/06) June 2008

I told my hb that in motherhood forum, we even have summary of who due, whn due, etc.. summary (thanks to Tera) n 1 on Mickey n Minnie. So when he ask me why Mickey n Minnie, i say its mouse year mah.. then he say we really can...haha...

So those having Minnie, no nd scared next time no boyfriends (Mickey), more than enuf to choose.

Yeah I also think the theory on tummy is very true. I am making my observation and finds that it is almost 95% true. Also those carrying gals tend to look more "clumsy" while those carrying boys still got "nice body shape". But in terms of weight gain, I guess it still depends on individual.
Also dunno why ever since I got preg, I tend to sleep a lot. Now by 10pm, I am in bed getting ready to sleep and weekends I also take a nap. Last time use to tease my hb for being lazy bum. I think now I sleep more than him.

Got this info fr the Dr. Miriam Stoppard book for your reference:
Woman ought to gain an average of 10-13Kg in total 40 gestation. This allows 3-4kg for baby and abt 7-9 kg for baby's support system (comprising placenta, amniotic fluid, fat n breast tissue).

1st Tri -- Gain very little abt 1-2kg, if nausea hasnt been a problem. Of this 48g will be your baby. The rest is made up of the body's support system.

2nd Tri -- approx 6kg. 1kg for baby and the rest for system

3rd Tri -- abt 5kg. 3-4kg for baby.

pkdust,

Now feel more easily tired is normal. I can even nap at office. So i also try to sleep before 12am if possible during weekdays.

My mum told me is bec' boy and gal position is different during pregnancy so the shape will be different.

TF,

OIC. No wonder my colleague gain 18KG so worried.

I dunno how come old folks have a thinking that we must eat a lot during pregnancy.

I have a forum fren, i went to his bb first mth, he said not happy tat his wife eat a lot but bb end up v little then all fats gain goes to wife.

Seriously i dun tink tat it is possible to ctr the growth of our bb. Actually i tot the more impt is nutrients such as vits, calcium etc.

Then again if bb is too big, then cannot do natural birth etc will be out of option lor.

Ellysia

U r right, lots have the misconception that eating alot n grow bigger, better. Esp old folks. The real need is the nutrients, eg. proteins fr beef or other sources (shee kup-fr frog) if those who take, etc..

Nutrients very very impt. Wat u take nw will determine the health of your baby. Nthg aft birth can help to compensate your baby's health, besides breast milk la. Just keep diet balance wif fruits, water, calcium, proteins, minerals, vitamins. And if we talk our calcium n multi-vits faithfully. Shd b gd enuf. Unless we dun wnt our body shape later after birth, then hoh... go ahead n eat n eat..keke

Tat y dun hv the misconception of eating for 2. I am guilty myself of nt drinking enuf water :p

BTW, i only gain 1 kg so far when weigh today n the nurse already say very gd loh.

liew,
I had a hair colour, from mid brown to dark brown. Told and remind my friend who is the stylist 'Not to touch my scalp' and he and his assistance very kuai, no touch scalp. I chose dark brown as will not be visible of different colour when new hair grows.

Most impt is to listen to our body. It's amazing that God makes each of us unique. When your body has certain lack and u dun feel gd (signs of headache, giddy, etc..), u will crave for the food to get u right.

In my 1st trimester, I felt abit weak n giddy as the pregnancy n blood system changes. I was craving for bananas, glucose water, etc.. (sweet stuff) n each time i consume, i feel better. And when i'm nt lack, i dun hv that crave.

Haha, maybe that's how my Mickey came abt (fr bananas)...Haha...just a joke

Even in normal person, there are some who likes to eat more vegetables (usu the Blood A type) and some like more meat (the Blood B type). The reason traces back to our ancestors in ancient time. So if blood A is suitable to eat less meat, by eating more meat may cause future health problems than blood B people. So listen to your body.

Hi gers,
I am back from my amnio test. I managed to find out about this PCR thing, which is an extra $250 to get the results in 3 to 4 days time.
I oso did a detail scan. Measuring by LMP and doc's EDD, I should be week 18 now, but scan says that bb should oni be abt 17 weeks. Anyway, I noe that i ovulated late. Didnt get to see my doc after the scan but understand that the scan looks generally okie.

Will have to wait for my doc to look at the scan results and call me tomolo. Then have to wait for until Wed/Thus afternoon to get the amnio test results.

The bb's head was hiding in one corner just now. Had a hard time trying to make the bb change position in order to take measuring for the head. Except for the head, teh rest of the body's part very active. Likely to be a princess. Actually, I always feel that my bb will be a boy, so a little disappointed, but hb is happie (he wanted a ger). However, after all that we have gone thru', so long as the bb is healthy, nothing else matters.
Will know for rest when the amnio test result is out.

Thanks for all the prayers and encouragement, will rest well.

Wow.. seems like alot of Mickeys this year.. the May MTB also more Mickeys than Minnies... Minnies are so precious now

Ellysia... me same as u.. come to tink of it..my lower tummy from side view also abit pointed... perhaps that is y people say boy = pointed tummy, ger = big and round

Zuen.. Congrats on your princess!! Me kinda opp from u, hubby want boy, i want ger.I always felt I was carrying a princess so was quite surprised to see 'that' between his legs. Yes most impt is baby is healthy, gender does not matter. Glad to hear all went well... scan not that accurate lah, esp if u base on CRL coz bb all curled up. Most impt is bb is growing well. Now, have ample bedrest and do not worry. Bb will be fine and you will be in our prayers.

ZuEn,
Good to hear your amnio test went well plus u will be able to find out results earlier.
Now the most impt thing is to have a good rest. Keep us posted and oh yes, congrats on minnie! *envious* Hee!

Roxy,
Yeah, realised more Mickeys in May thread but for ours still too early to tell, hehe. Think we will have clearer pic in 3-4 weeks' time when most of us have had our detailed scans. I also think my tummy is more pointed then round.

Ellysia,
Sure, will share watever tips Mrs Wong taught us lor..hehe..

Wow, so chim leh...keke...me also duno my tumy pointed anot...

pkdust,
hmm...seems like not much diff leh...hehe

ZuEn,
Really happy that everything turns out well...dun worry, u will be getting the results soon =)..Wow, a princess =D...

Teragram,
Ya lor, tink in a few wks time, all the mickeys and minnies will be known..hee

<font color="0000ff">Hi all, I have an extra packet of Mommy Poko diapers, New Born size for sale. The packet is unopened and has 30 diapers in it.

Retail price is around $12. Selling for $10.

Pls PM me if you are interested.</font>

Hi gers,
Morning.. I am on MC today but hb brought me to bfast and get lunch before he left for work. So I am bright and early. Even earlier than usual workig days, haha. Nothing much to do today. Looks like I will be at the computer chatting the whole day.

Actually, I prefer boys to girls. I think I kana my mum's influence. She's biased towards boys, yet pretend that she isnt, haha. However, all that have happened just reinforces that a healthy bb is the most impt.
I will be looking at pretty gers' clothes, hehe..

Roxy,
The moment the person looked at the screen, she was very sure that bb wasnt 18 weeks. She commented that it is too small to be 18. Then she went on to take measurement and commented tat it is probably 17 (based on the head's size). I am not surprise, cos I ovulate late. Moreover, the sac wasnt detected in my 5th week (based on LMP).

As for the part on the gender, looks like it must be hb's fault. They are the ones who injec the sperms and decide the gender mah. No wonder bb listens to them. Haha. ;p

Teragram, feifei,
I am so glad that it is over. Now, only the results to wait for. The pain experience during the amnio test was bearable but uncomfortable. I think bb dun like the needle. When the needle was inserted. She looks as if she is kicking the needle away.. -.o"

ZuEn,

got some reports mentioned that if ejaculation was done before ovulation, high chance you'll get a 'ger'. But if it was on/after ovulation, then high chnace is boy.
Some maybe your case was before O. hehe...

btw, remember must rest well today. Dont move around too much.

Morning ladies...

Felicia,
I also heard abt that lor..so I guess mine shd be a ger ger then =D...

ZuEn,
Ur bb so cute, kick away the needle =D...clever girl...

Me same like u lor, prefer to have a boy 1st, but hor, most important bb must be healthy, gender nvm de...In fact gers are better cos they more closer to family and can take care of siblings ;p.

U were given 3 days mc?must rest well k, dun walk abt too much hor...so today guess we will see u here often..hee

Felicia,
I read about that too. I was on clomid when we were trying for bb. I can exactly pinpoint when is my ovulation. To maximise chances of conceiving, we just try extra hard before, during and after ovulation period. Moreoever, bb ZuEn was made in Koh Samui. Not much things to do and lots of time to make bbs then (shy..). So, I cant tell if she was conceived before or after ovulation. We were just overjoyed when we saw the +ve line on the pregnancy kit, hehe.

Feifei,
That's wat I say to comfort myself too. ;p Hb noes that I was a little disappointed and asked me if I will still love the bb as much. -.o" Of course lah, so hard then conceived wor. This bb makes me take many hormone pills and jabs, go thru' many crisis, so very precious wor.
I got 2 days MC niah. Yday &amp; today. Actually good oso. Lots of work in the office. Yday, I purposely put the amnio test in the afternoon so that I can still go back to office in the morning. I have a deadline to submit on wed, so just nice. Will try to walk lesser and not carry heavy stuff on wed.

FeiFei/ ZuEn,

For me i hope this will be a mickey as my 1st is a 'ger'. But last weekend, my 'ger' said she wanna a 'mei mei'. So dissappointed.
But as mentioned by you gals, as long as bb is healthy, then gender is not so important. Tell u i almost abort my 1st ger, so i know no matter what, bb health is most important.

Felicia,
does your girl looks/behaves like a boy?
There's a myth, if your girl looks/behaves like a boy,
2nd child will be a boy.

This is true in our case.

morning ladies!

ZuEn,
u have a good rest. I'm sure everything will be ok. It's really sweet of your hubby to buy bf for u.... if it were my hubby, he sure ask me to order Mac in.... haha...

ZuEn,
hehe....ya lor, soemtimes its a blessing to hv a bb liao, cos alot of ple try so long also dun hv lor so we msut really be grateful de =)...

So today u be aloen at home?

Felicia,
oh dear, how come almsot abort the 1st ger?

Leng Leng,

My ger look like my hubby.So she's boyish look. Since born till now, nobody said she look like me at all. Wondering if she really came out from my womb. hahaha......just joking.
Even her action is like a boy loh. Climb chair, climb gate, non stop.
In fact i had lot of symptoms that i'm preggie w a boy. But i keep my finger cross. Me afraid the highest my hope, the more dissappointment i get.

Morning Ladies...back from my checkup yesterday..now 17 wks liao..heheh..bb is so busi kickin and wrigglin..Doc says looks more like a Minnie ...

Took hubbys blood for Thallasaemia test..he says if he doesnt call me 2day..mean ting r fine..
hope he doesnt call ..hahah ;P
Felicia, Doc Ang has scheduled me for detail scan on the 15 Feb...detail scan shld be able to confirm the gender hor?!!

Zu En, Rest Well...tings will be fine..

feifei,
in fact i wrote my story on this forum under Year 2008 and later under subject of a gynae name. Is a neighbour gynae. To cut story short, he asked me to abort when i'm about 7weeks. He said he dont see the fetus is developing and no heart beat is detected. With my friends and family's advise i seek 2nd and 3rd opinion. Both gynae said my bb is developing well and they can detect her heart beat. If not coz of my family n friend's persistent i might abort coz i had suffer sleepness nite for weeks before that.
Now my ger oledi 22mths, a healthy bb!
Luckily....

lengleng, i heard abt the myth too...not sure how accurate. My girl oso look more like a boy and her actions oso. i oso heard dat pregnancy symptoms will be different if u r carrying different gender but i guess itz another myth? cos my fren who had terrible MS for both pregnancies, ended up with a girl and boy as well.

felicia, me oso keeping my fingers crossed...like u, i hope to get a boy this time round.
when i had my girl, my tummy was so sharp and those old folks thot i was carrying a boy! dis time tummy not big enuff to tell yet. how abt u? when u r carrying yr girl, was yr tummy sharp and pointed or round?

Morning all ladies!

Zuen... ur bb so cute! can kick the needle away :p LMP not accurate de lah.. last week I went for scan, by LMP Im 17weeks plus.. CRL shows 16+ coz bb curled up, waist measurement shows 17+ but head circumference shows 18+. Peng.. all these measurements not impt, most impt is bb is healthy and growing well can liao. These few days very impt, rem to have plenty of bedrest and try not to move about so much...

Nur,
Everything will be fine!
So, u had ur detail scan appointment! Aiya if urs was after CNY, then mine wont be so fast oso loh. I'm still thinking to ask him schedule b4 CNY for me, thinking to see bb gender faster mah. hehe....
So, the date was fixed by him? Are we able to choose the date?

starmoon! How are u? Long time no "see" you... When are you seeing Dr Cheng and going for detailed scan.. maybe we can bump into each other

Felicia, luckily u never abort...

Nur, grats on your minnie! Detailed scan should be able to confirm...

Hmm, seems like I'm the first to go for detailed scan this Thur... also tink my gynae too gan chiong, schedule me too early... will let u all know wat they do in the detailed scan :p

satrmoon, when carried my 1st ger, my tummy was pointed initially but when i'm in 2nd trimester, it started to grow to round shape.
For MS, this pregnancy is more serious that my 1st pregnancy loh. And last time i gained weight very fast. Total i gained 22kgs. Tats terrible weight gain.
This round, till todate i still hvnt gain any weight but losing weight.
Let us pray together hoping our wish come true~~~

hi roxy
me ok...been busy cos of all the festive seasons. think i asked u last week when u gg to see Dr Cheng for detailed scan....prob u missed my postings cos too many postings liao. hahahah....me seeing him on 19th for detailed scan. wow, yr detailed scan so early ah...mine will be next Sat.

hi felicia
oic. for mine, it was pointed all the way till delivery! My mom keep telling me maybe come out will be boy and i keep telling her impossible since detailed scan can see the 3 lines (which is bb's vagina!)....my mom crazy abt having a grandson...so now when i preggie, she keep telling me muz be a didi! faintz....
For MS, my current pregnancy is so much better....hardly have any MS whereas for my first one, i had MS from week 5 to week 20. My weight gain for #1 was abt 10kg in total and for this current one, so far i gained abt 1.5kg so prob will be somewhere similar? Yah, letz pray we both get mickeys this time.

Felicia,

How come tat gynae is so unprofessional? Can't detect heartbeat yet others can?

Looks like still better to spend more and get a pro gynae.

another way to detect yr next child gender. U can see the location of yr 1st child hair root. Meaning is the hair originates from a centre position of head or corner position. If corner means will be different gender. If centre means same gender.

My mum tok abt this method and seems to work.

Hi Nur,
COngrats on ur minnie =)...Tink mine 80% Minnie also...but hcv to cfm on mon again =)..keke...seems like this thread here quite alot of Minnies hor...hee... =)..

Felicia,
I see...heng lor, lucky u went for another opinion, if not, the poor ger...=)..Well sometimes gynae make this type of unpardonable mistake hor, then will make us regret de...But well, its a happy ending =D.

roxy,

For me i prefer a boy to be 1st child and gal to be 2nd child. Reason being me being eldest child and i find that boy being youngest tend to be more dependent, whereas gal being youngest tend to be dote by everyone as compared to being eldest. I will prefer boy to be independent and strong whereas gal to be gentle and cute.

Then even though both my mum and MIL never mention on gender preference, i still tink 1st one is boy will be better, can relieve any pressure from old thinkings relatives etc.

I not sure whether i ovulate before or after but suspect is after. Cos my period is not v accurate can range in 1-2 weeks time so ovulation period can fluctuate too. Didn't expect to get preggy so fast i originally plan to get preggy in year 2008. Then somemore we booked trip to china jiu Zhai Gou ored. So when period no come, i suspect preggy but hb dun believe cos every mth i been saying that before period comes. Then waited for few days still no period i buy kit and test then tell hb, we so excited.

End up i change my trip location to taiwan.. tats why we go taiwan

morning mummies to be

Felicia : are u still suffering from MS now ?
I'm in my 16th week and still puke every morning ! In fact, today, i puked in the car while driving ! ewwwww

Surprisingly, many of my colleagues dont seem to understand how serious MS can be in pregnancy - i feel very frustrated explaining to them.

Pregnancy weight : dont worry too much abt weight gain, it's how our body prepares for birth and bfeeding too ! I put on 18kg for my first child, and i think most of it went into good milk production, i had quite a bit of milk supply for her !

Gender: So exciting that many of us are able to tell the gender of the baby ! Time to start buying clothes !

Baby monitor : Does anyone have a good baby monitor to recommend ? it's actually for my 18mth old toddler - i need to set up a monitoring system for her at home.

Yest nite i have leg cramps in the middle of night. Then i try to sleep sideways cos i feel uncomfortable sleeping facing ceiling. One time when i sleep sideways and nearly sleep with face down, tummy sudd feel so uncomfy ( i tink i press on bb) and i sudd jerk up..

Today wake up whole back ache like anyting. Recently since last week i have been having more severe backache.

Thanks Ladies...my hubby is not so convinced even though doc says many times..its probably a gal, it looks more like a gal..it shld be a gal..he told me not to be too excited..till te detail scan...so hv to wait lor..if its a gal..factory can close liao..hahah...my 1st is a boy...;P

Felicia..ya i was given a few dates after CNY to choose..so i took Fri 15 Feb lor..after detail scan nd to see Dr Ang again..when is ur next apptmt wif him?see if u can get 15 Feb lor..so can meet u..hahahah

Ellysia,
Tat day morraine was teaching me another method by lookin at my ger nipple. SO tat nite after work, i 'molest' my ger. Then with ur method, tonite i'm going to 'harass' my ger again.Muahaha.....

about tat gynae, i'm not too sure why he said cant detect and see my bb not forming. My hubby said maybe tat day his machine spoilt. In fact i'm very angry with tat clinic but my hubby said as i was preggie so asked me to let the matter rest. And moreover thruout that pregnancy i keep worry if my ger will have any physical problem, luckily she's ok loh.

K Ong,

many colleagues esp those unmarried ones and male colleagues dun understand the trouble we go through during pregnancy.

My boss even ban me eating at my desk. So whenever i eat, i am under stress cos i have to hide my food around.

My appt for detailed scan has been decided by clinic one. I didn't even have the chance to change date or wat.

I tink for the coming gynae appts i need to change to sat morn though the queue on sat is horrendous. Cos been taking leave or MC last year until so bad that i dun have any leave and MC left. Then i got sick in late dec, i have to use unpaid leave to offset. I tink since i always get sick easily, i better keep all my MC and leave intact.

Next Mon i be going for the pre-natal class then Tue i be going for detailed scan.

Anyone know whether we need to bring anyting for prenatal class at TMC?

Felicia : perhaps it's the differnt machines that they use - some may not be that accurate in detecting a heartbeat - but thank goodness you sought a second opinion

babies are such a joy and blessing.

starmoon... sorry I missed ur posting... too many postings here...
Wow, he scheduled u for 19th ah.. I also find mine too early, somemore ur Edd and mine about the same also...duno y he so gan chiong and i tink it's too late for me to reschedule appt to later, must be fully booked already

ellysia, u are right, first child mickey will help to 'relieve' those old folks pressure.. but i cun help feeling that girls will take better care of family better than boys... hence it's also good if first is a gal, coz she can take care of family... actually now gender dun matter, as long as bb is healthy, we are more than happy
Actually if u have unbearable backache, can go for pre-natal massage liao. We can start from week 20 onwards...i might be going next week too...

K Ong,
My condition improved a lot fr last week. Just that i cant eat too heavy meal and cant take certain food, else i'll 'donate' to washroom again. During my 1st trimester, my collegue teased me as "merlion'. Btw, i find that i had difficulty to drive nowadays. Feel uneasy and wanna vomit. Anyhow, i seldom drive oso, most of the time take MRT. I remember during 1st tri, i always bring a plastic bag wherever i go.

Nur,
Dont think i can choose 15Feb as i'll only be bak to Spore by 16 Feb. So, u mean on the same day of details scan had to go bak to Dr Ang again? Thats mean whole day gone! Next time tell me ur next check up date and see if can arrange on same day. hehe...

Ellysia,
As it was very near to my house, so i think it wud be convenient. Moreover i saw many preggie women is visiting tat clinic oso.

roxy,

Yes it is true tat gal will take care of siblings more.. just like me.. but it is kindda v stressful for gal to be eldest and i will prefer daughter to be youngest so tat i can dote on her and she won't be like me so chiam. Last time when young i have to take care of brother from changing his nappies to teaching him for his studies etc so tedious.

Pre-natal massage, i dunno which one to go leh. Maybe tinking to try rustic nirvana seems like they are quite pro in pre and post natal massage.. but i am one who never gone to any massage before or such beauty services. In fact never go for any facial before too heee.

K Ong,

Ya my boss scolded me for spotting me eating at my desk. Told him i am preggy but he didn't say anyting. So nowadays if i eat heavy meals (such as soup or noodles watever), i will go to a corner near files section to eat (got table and chair) then if bread i will hide under my cubicle table and eat small slices when he didn't walk past. Somemore his room is just outside my cubicle. My other colleagues eat food all over their table also never get scolded by their superior but my boss is super niao.

Good morning everyone.

Zuen, Happy to hear that the process is smooth. Your ger is very smart, kick off the needle knwing its a threat. Good that they took near her leg area. Cos if near her face, the baby may feel even more threaten wif sthg foreign.

Ellysia
Backache?? Huh, I wnt to ask who start to have backache recently? Been experiencing it at my buttock area the ache, nt so much the back.

backache:
i also experience quite a bit recently. esp if i wake up from sleeping on my back....

have to get a proper support chair / back rest in office loh. hope can help with the pblm.

TF,

the backache is at my lower back. I read tat it is common from 20 weeks onwards to have backache at lower back. But becos i have a bad back problem so my upper back always ache sometimes, end up i have backache throughout. Lower back i normally dun have backache.

I ored sleep w/o air-con recently becos the weather is cool enuff. So i dun tink is the air-con.

Read in a forum thread can wear socks and do a short massage on leg to avoid leg cramps in middle of night.