(2008/06) June 2008

roxy,

I am in 19 week on this week and next week will be 20 week ored.

Actually Feb is the best time for us i tink, but since no feb class, no choice but to take earlier one. At least i still have energy to attend now than few mths later.

i have many colleagues preggy. I always see them with big tummy and v difficult to move around etc, particular in 7-8th mth ored difficult to walk liao. Not to say water retention, leg cramps etc, which is v common in 3rd trim.

maybe I am a bit kiasu.. but i am not sure if late march will be too late for us.. by the time finish attending will be end April (i.e. 8-9mth).

Tera,

During Oscar scan, ored paid for detailed scan test. So if i apply FBI card now, still got discount or not?

Since u say ward A can have $100 discount, maybe it is quite worth bec' i most likely intend to take up ward A (single room).

nur,

correct me if i am wrong, you are detected with thala only during your 2nd pregnancy? if so, it means that you already have it all along, just that not detected thru any blood test. my best frd only discovered she got thala minor after we went to health screening a few years ago.

for my case i dun hv thala, but my hubby have thala minor. so the chances is 50% our kid will have thala minor. no guranette if 1st one dun have means 2nd one dun hv. for e.g. my FIL have thala minor MIL dun hv. end up my hubby inherited the thala minor from FIL, but my Brother IL dun have.

if only 1 parent has thala minor dun have to worry.. however if both parents got thala minor, then more risky.

for more detailed info, u check on this link:
http://www.kkh.com.sg/PatientHealthLibrary/ChildrensHealth/ChildhoodIllnesses/Thalassaemia.htm

Ellysia,
Do check with the counter lady, cos what happened was I applied for FBI after my OSCAR scan but on the same day, so she told me can go up and claim the discount. Just that in your case, already over by a few weeks so not sure can or not but no harm asking. :p I agree with Roxy it's quite worth it with all the discounts esp since you intending to go for 1-bedder. Oh, there's also a 6 mths free AXA insurance for your baby.

Roxy,
Oh, I keep thinking it's wed. Nvm, still near, after all it's this week!
Mine is 2.5 weeks away. Continue to keep your spirits up and I will keep you and Isaiah (correct?) in prayers.

Hi Tera,

I told my hb on the benefits but he still tink not worth to apply.

Anyway it is up to him since he is forking out all the bills and expenses for pregnancy and delivery at TMC.

HI ladies,

Btw, i walk past Spring on Sunday and they are having 20% discount on some clothes. Also, their new stock for CNY has arrived and i found some nice clothes. Bot some for CNY, quite costly but i tried to tink of it as investment. I planned for 2 sets of CNY clothes only cos no point buy too many maternity clothes.

Also, i dun intend to buy a lot of goodies during this CNY season cos i am having high sugar content on my last gynae check on last fri. So i guess i have to control my sugar intake.

Roxy,
I did some reading up yday and understand that there is something call FISH, which is a prelimary result for the amnio test, avail 3 days after the testing. I will be asking the nurse on that later. Not sure why the nurse kept telling me that 10 days is the earliest. Maybe results not as accurate or the FISH thingy is not applicable for my case (DS & NTD)? Anyway, will check up later. I think it will be a long wait at the clinic later. Will be leaving office via cab at 1pm today.. Gg to burn a big hole in my pocket.. Starting to feel unease liao.

Nur,
Your friend is so brave. We will really have to think carefully if things turned out -ve. Anyway, dun be too worry about the thalasemia thingy. Is your hb big size? I am oso suspected thalasemic, gg for blood test (again) later. If +ve, then hb must test oso. My gynae looked at my hb and said that he so big size, cannot be thalasemic. Haha, duno got theory one or not. ;p

Teragram,
2 weeks will pass very quickly. Your bb will be happily waiting for you.

Roxy,
Had been praying for you too. God has a reason for everything that He does. My hb used to believe that there is a God, but not his personal God. After so many things have happened, he will initiate to pray for the bb and he has come to acknowledge the God as his God. He will oso pray on things unrelated to the bb. This is already a great blessing to me.
I never expect to see such change in him.

Ellysia,
I am also not applying for the card. Maybe it is bcos I am probably not staying in a 1-bedder. So the discount amounts to nothing much eventually.. I oso too lazy to find out more about the card, haha.

ZuEn,

Most likely i be take 1-bedder but in the event of C-section or any other complications, maybe need to downgrade to other bed too. So have to see how.

Thanks Tera! Appreciate all these prayers
Am staying positive.Yes, if confirm Mickey, Isaiah he will be :p Your 2.5 weeks will be over soon. All this waiting is so agonising!

Ellysia, u are right. I also worry about early delivery. But I read early delivery bb (9 mths and beyond) needs NICU and bill can easily come up to ten/twenty grand to hundred grand. So I keep praying bb will be safe and only deliver at least from 9 mths onwards

juliet, im not sure whether will they backdate discount. I dun tink so ah....

muffin, me same as u.. No one can tell im pregnant too, unless I wear tight fitting clothes then can see a bulge there.. normal loose tshirts and clothes confirm cannot tell.. i'll go ask gynae this week why our tummies still so small...

Zuen, perhaps get a preliminary result first, to ease your mind then a more detailed result 2 weeks later? Think on bright side, ammio is more accurate than ultrasound scan to determine gender, this is the one good thing. I'm sure everything will be fine for you and baby. We are keeping you in our prayers so stay positive! And very impt, have ample bedrest after ammio.

er, roxy, if u want to appear preggy, one way i find out is to wear maternity top.

Some maternity top has flar out tat makes yr tummy look more obvious as preggy.

It really make a difference.

Zuen, that's great news! So happy for you, your hubby has received Him. My hubby will pray and believe there is a God etc, even go church with me but he die die dun want to receive Christ. I'm praying through bb, he will learn of God's goodness and receive him. Everything will be fine for you, stay strong!

Oh ya on the fish oil (DHA), if any of u cannot take Neurogain, can try other brands.

My gynae said she only have Neurogain fish oil so if i want other brands i can buy at outside pharmacy.

Anyway i dun take fish oil everyday, sometimes a few times per week only. As for multi-vit, gynae change to another brand for me, and its working better as this one dun have smell.

I found tat if i dun take calcium pill and multi-vit everyday, i will be more tired on tat day, dunno is it the same for u all.

ellysia,
my prenatal vit given my gynae is called pramilets by abbott. the pill super big so i dun like to take it. i also din take calcium pill but try to drink milk although i dislike milk too. now i try to take folic acid daily since it's so small no excuse dun take. i feel tired everyday ley.. wonder if it's really like wat u say, if dun take will feel tired?

luz,

Got a few days i didn't take calcium and my legs seems more tired and can't walk too long. And i can't take milk cos lactose-intolerant. So i can only take soy milk but the calcium will be lesser than milk.

On the days i didn't take prenatal vit (multi-vit), i will feel more tired than other days when i take the pill.

Maybe the vits gynae gave us really have to diligently eat them. Maybe u try to ask yr gynae whether got another brand u can take. Cos the previous multi-vit gynae gave me also super big and got a smell so i cannot take it (will vomit). So now she gave me this pink colour pills and seems ok so far.

If u take multi-vit, u dun need to take folic.

Roxy,
Ya, will ask about the FISH thingy. Aiyo, I got butterflies le. Leaving office soon.
Oh ya, my tummy grew very quickly recently leh. I can see a bulge even when I am wearing T-shirts. Those T-shirts used to be loose fitting de, now tummy area tight liao. But look more like fats than preggy tummy, haha.
My hb started to believe in Him when he sees our prayers answered. Have to keep encouraging them. They are adults liao, so not easy to influence them.

ellysia,
think i better buck up to eat diligently like wat you said hehe.. actually i din take earlier is bcos i always vomit, so i c no pt to waste the vit :p
i always listen to my body nowadays bcos got a lot of signals. like if i feel hungry i will eat. if i feel tired i will go rest on the bed. super tired try to take nap. i feel must pamper ourselves during these tiring period...luckily my hubby never say i am a pig hehee

Luz, Ellysia,
The pills that we take have such great impact? I feel the same leh. The only difference is that some vitamins actually helped me to go toilet more smoothly, haha.

Luz,
I am forever tired and sleepy. Went to bed at 9.30pm bcos eyes cannot open liao. ;p
After the abnormal marker was dectected, I realised that I actually start to pay more attention to wat I eat. I will think twice to see if wat I am eating is good for bb. Lat minute then panic, haha.

Hi Luz, for my 1st preg i went to another gynea..i wasnt told of anytin abt tis thalasaemia ting at all..which now my gynea is asking..he told me my red blood cell level is at te border line..not high and not low..jus wanto make sure my hubby dun hv lor..he said if my previous gynea didnt mention anytin..i prob dun hv..but to play safe..nd to take hubbys blood test lor...I'll think positive..no worries...

Zu En,
My hubby is indeed big size..hahah...hope yr doctors theory works..;P
u goin for the test later? me oso hving checkup later...cant wait liao...

for ammnio test.. there is a faster way to haf the result.. my sis took the test as well.. and did not wan to wait for so long.. so she paid another 300+ to speed up.. 3days can know already..

Zuen - Hang in there! Good luck with your test! I am sure you BB is OK. Think positive! Keeping you in my prayers.

Wah...I really do not think I can keep up with the posts here leh. Had to prepare Xmas makan, then ENT friends and relatives from outstation and overseas and suih-suih whole family fall sick on New Year Eve till now. Only now, am able to log-in and try to catch-up with the posts.

ZuEn and Luz,

Maybe becos i always dun have enuff calcium even before pregnant, always leg tired. Then if i take more calcium, condition will be better. After preggy esp during 2nd trim, start to get worse and i can feel that bb is taking my calcium so if dun take, may end up with depletion.

I read in pregnancy book, if there is not enuff nutrients in yr body, yr bb will extract watever nutrients in yr body, e.g. stored calcium in yr bones etc. So yr body will end up with depleted nutrients. Tats why taking such pills is more impt cos it will replendish our own nutrients too.

roxy,

Wah u are ready a staunch christian.
My hb is a christian but i am a buddhist. It wasn't easy for us initially when we found out abt each other religion but we manage to go around with the difference. Our kids will be free thinker, we decide to let him choose his own religion in future

Have u discuss with yr hb on the religion of yr kid?

ellysia... no, me totally not stauch at all.. am those "half bucket" christian.. dun attend church regularly and dun even go cell gp at all, only cry to God whenever im in trouble haiz... *ashamed* Bb come out will be christian, DH also agree on that liao...

Ellysia,

saw that u gals are talking about calcium, i was wondering if i had enuf calcium or not. Coz my gynae din prescribe me an calcium pill and only ask me to take the multiVit only. I remember during my 1st pregnancy, the gynae(diff gynae from this one) do give me folic asid, obimin & calcium thruout my pregnancy.
So, now bit worry if my calcium is enuf or not.

JP.. hope u are feeling better now... when are u going to see Uncle cheng?

felicia, my gynae also never give me calcium pills.. tink as long as we drink milk regularly, it should be enough...

babycupid... my gynae said multi vits are not really that impt, he actually dun want to give me de.. he said it's best if we have balanced diet then dun need all these.. so i guess if u are eating healthily.. it's ok

Hi gers

Just came back fr my morning regular gynae check n shopping at Novena. Today confirm that baby is Mickey tho' in OSCAR detected. He's 16 wks 5 days today.

This gynae really patient. When ask her to reconfirm for me, she really went all the way to find the birdie. And guess what, as advice, i purposely eat sweet n my naughty baby was so active that he did a headstand (with both legs Si Jiao Chao Tian). OMG!!

Gynae also count her fingers. Tho' the detailed scan is in 2 weeks time. Today, also received fr my nurse the so many goodies bags n stuff from all the milk sponsor. Nt sure wat's inside but heard has lots of form to complete for free sample.

TF - me no goodie bags or watsoever one! so sianz..

Those who r w/ ACJ clinic, any of you got any goodies when sign up for package? that day i went for check up, saw the nurse gave some goodie bag to some other ladies...

tinyfeet,
is a mickey or minnie? u stated mickey but ltr stated gynae count 'her' fingers.. kekeke..

roxy,
great.. cos i told my gynae too.. i said i have not been taking the multivits daily.. she ok with it.. but calcium and fishoil i will take everyday..

juliet,
i am with ACJ.. but no goodie bag wor.. Dr Wong gave me samples of milk powder for pregnancy.. tats all..

<font color="ff6000">Hi ladies, on leave these 2 days to send my #1 to her pre-nursery classes..

piyo~

i bot the Clarins Oil from Sasa just now after my ger's lesson
its $67.60
so lets arrange to meet up soon yeah.. </font>

babycupid - me got nothing! hahhhaa...maybe cos i always tell her i hate milk, so she also dun bother to give me milk powder samples! :p

Felicia and roxy,
For calcium, we preggies need 1000mg per day so try to drink at least 2 cups of milk per day. That should add up to about 800-900 mg, depending on brand and type. The rest can get from food eg tofu, ikan bilis etc.

TF,
Congrats on your Mickey!
Hehe, seems like most of our bbs like to do headstands, very active indeed.

BabyCupid
Sorry, grammar... its his fingers

Ya, today i took the package, maybe that's why they gv the goodie bag, Inside has baby bibs (fr cordlife n Nestle); 2 sling bags (fr Abbot n EnfaMama), Milk powder container fr Nestle, 2 testtube fr Wyeth - heard to put their umblical cord later.

roxy,

for this pregnancy, i really had problem in drinking milk. Sure will vomit after that.
Now even taking soya bean drink, will feel uneasy on my stomach. Maybe can eat more sardine to replenish my calcium level.

My collegues had been commenting that i had slim down compare to pre-preggie. Appetite still not improve much. Sigh.....

tinyfeet..
the goodie bag u haf is wat i received when i signed up for the FBI.. kekeke..

congrats on ur mickey!! alot of mickeys hor.. kekeke..

Teragram,
ya.. u r rite.. we nd 1000mg per day.. for the milk i taking.. is anmum packet milk.. i tink the calcium content is abt 600+ den with my 2 tablets 600mg its gd enuff.. but i nvr drink everyday.. kekeke..

Babycupid,
Yup, those anmum one has higher calcium content.
So with those just need 1 cup + calcium supplements. But the fat contents quite high so try to watch the intake, hee.

Leng Leng
Wow, u more happy than me. U can even think #2..haha..keke.. Ya, actually very happy each time after the scan when see them do funny things inside.

Leng Leng,

Currently i'm trying to take HL milk. But still cant take full cup, only take half cup else i'll ended up like 'merlion'.
Luckily ,before preggie, i use to drink HL milk quite often. Hopefully it do help lah.

Ya, do take the necessary supplements diligently. This is the only time n BEST time to build the health of the baby than even when they r born. If dun, like, go for alternatives. So far i find the pink calcium n pink Multivits given by gynae veri gd. Smooth when swallow. Read that its ok to stop the folic acid after the 1st trimester.

tinyfeet,
yup.. the pink calcium and the last time bright pink multi vits.. i have no prob too.. my gynae change to a lighter pink multi vits.. got a strong smell.. which i dun really like..

Birdnest Selection:
Y'day was shopping at Si Ma Lu (Bugis) n enquire, so tot share wif those interested in buying birdnest. U knw those that when we see at counter n they pack nicely in box that has the oval shaped like nest? Try nt to get those as they are nt the better part of the bird nest. Logically, bird nest do not come in that shaped. Those are the bits n piece that are mould to shape like a nest.

U can tell fr the very gd ones tat has a CONCAVE in shape, those would be of better grade and its soft n in thread-like form (nt pieces) when soaked. There are times where some shops has the gd quality but in scatter (nt perfect pieces) n they charge cheaper n yet u get better grade than the price for the OVAL shaped one.

Just some tips for u to qn the sales person when u wnt to buy. Cos today when i went to the Fu Hua that some of u mentioned abt buying 2 or 3 tile, get 1 tile free. With tat price n oval shape quality, better to pay for those gd ones (nt perfect) at 1 tile for abt $100-$140.