(2008/06) June 2008

felicia, i think she put together w/ the paosheng to sit leh..coz when she put it in to boil, she didn't add rock sugar liao...i'll check it out again next week when she does it again..haha

Re birdnest,

I am eating the dry pieces one from hock hua. by rite should be using the double boiler to boil for 1.5 hours. but lay chay and i lazy, so i use the small slow cooker, just add water, red dates and a bit of pao sheng (my mil say must put the pao sheng if not will get stroke later? i am not very sure abt tat thought)and voila....usually i dun add sugar, cos the sweetness from the red dates is more than enough. so concentrated bottles ones, do they contain sugar? or plain? i scared the sugar contents maybe too high leh

anw, i heard the bird nest is best consumed empty stomach, meaning either in the morning or before sleep. usually i eat before sleep. and cannot eat fruits after tat cos hubby say sour things will spoil the effect.

the mil say from 4th months onwards, eat once every two weeks. then after tat increase the frequency to one a week. then the baby will be born with very fair skin.

hi ellysia,
yeahloh u target the brand and model, at least u tired can ask your hb get it for u. gd idea.

i bought the kiddy palace discount card at $10 valid for one year. so each time buy things from kiddy palace got 10% discount, no need to wait for sale. i usually buy small ticket items like clothings, pacifier, bottles, teats from them. kiddy palace got the once a year 20% sale, but normally for those big ticket item like breast pump stroller not applicable...

~cooking bird nest~
actually preparing bird nest is not difficult at all. last time i also gong gong, but i ask around and it's very easy.

Re:birdnest
I was told to eat birdnest 2x a week, not too much wait overdosage and bb will haf phlegm or something.. I did that for my ger that time..

Morraine,
3x a week plus weekend a bit too much bo?

<font color="ff6000">yanling~

nowadays those concentrated ones comes in diff forms.. some low sugar, some sugarless

juliet~

ha ha its tat old uncle with no hair one rite??!!! coz i oso went to JP one!!

piyo~

for my #1 time.. i oso ate daily.. its ok coz i took concentrated ones so the amt is under control.. and abt phelgm is not proven to be caused by birds nest but more on fruits like grapes, oranges and bananas ate during pregnancy time</font>

For those who have not bought milk bottles, do consider buying bottles that are bisphenol-a free. Its a hormone-disrupting chemical present in many popular brand of milk bottles. I feel that with multiple sterilisation of milk bottles, we cannot prevent the leaching of this chemical into our babies' milk. Can read more at these websites

http://www.parenting.com/parenting/article/0,19840,1649564,00.html

http://www.environmentcalifornia.org/reports/environmental-health/environmental-health-reports/toxic-baby-bottles

luz,

Ya me also intend to get the discount card.

Really lazy to squeeze in sales. I used to like sales before pregnancy but really hate crowds nowadays, cos have to be v careful on people who cheong and knock around.

Just this morn, i was nearly jam by office lift when the lift door close while i was crossing halfway through lift door, dunno whoever why never press button

The other day, i was knocked by a person dashing by my right then another by left at same time at Raffles MRT while going home. Raffles place is a hectic place indeed..

morraine - ya la! haahahahahahah............

yanling - bottled ones from EYS got low sugar ones..

piyo - me also told to take twice a week...too frequent prob can't absorb??

i intend to take birdnest every 10 days. actually about the myth of taking birdnest, soya bean milk then baby will have fair skin. and taking coffee baby will have kopi skin, i dun really believe ley. i am a heavy coffee drinker (i know it's a sin!) i drink at least 1 cup of kopithiam strong kopi (limit myself to 2 cups per day), then my son come out also very fair. my hubby is baba dark color one, but my complexion also fair, so i think it's gentic. before my son come out i also imagine him dark dark hehee but come out opposite

hi ellyisa,
me too! i hated crowded place and sales must squeeze with ppl i headache. last time me also like to squeeze in sales, but no anymore now. must be careful in crowd.

pao sheng - i think got 2 major types. One is for 'bu qi' and another is for cooling. So my collegue told me i must take the 'bu qi' coz preggie cant take cooling one.

about bb skin, i got another recipe. Anyone heard of 'fu zhu yi mee' dessert? Is a kind of dessert which had barley, 'fu zhu'(bean curd skin),'pak guo'(cant remember the english name, white color) with egg dessert.Heard that this will help ur bb to be born with fair smooth skin. I drink a lot in my 1st pregnancy, so bb skin is quite fair.

morraine and yanling,

Yup the concentrated one have v low sugar. Tats why better than brands small bottle ones.

piyo,

If want to avoid phlem, maybe dun eat bird nest when coughing. Else i tink shd be fine.

ellysia - last nite my dog got v. excited when playing w/ my hb n kinda took a step on my stomach! so scared will affect bb...coz the last time i went gynae, doc tapped her fingers on my stomach during scan (to give me some orientation) n can see bb head bounce a bit...

Felicia,
I took that dessert at least 2x a week when I was preggie that time.. and yes my ger has fair skin.. but this time I hate it lei.. jia lat, must force myself to eat.. they say this is the cheaper version of bird nest

Re: Concentrated bird nest

I dunno, i took everyday but in small quantity. However i stopped last mth due to travelling and coughing.

Intend to resume after cough completely stop.

When i first took, my skin become more "got colour", before that always pale pale and 1st trim get so pale tat colleague tot i gonna faint.

After i stop last mth, colour went back to pale look liao.

piyo - lol. dun waste the bird's nest! jin expensive leh! mwahhaha...i didn't want to buy actually, but ganna cornered into EYS by my mom...mwhahahahah

<font color="ff6000">piyo &amp; felicia~

yeah heard before this dessert is good for bb and mom but i dun like the taste personally leh
oso heard before eating black sesame oso bb have black nice hair and oso eating beef oso bb have more hair..

juliet,

AIYO! Must have give u a scare!

Last mth i have so bad cough i keep coughing, and poor bb has to suffer with me...

piyo,
i took it alternate week as i'm taking bird nest as well. So if this week on bird nest, then next week will be on tat dessert. This round, i had my mil cook the dessert for me, so easier. hehe....

i think preggie woman really had lot of tonic to take lah. Sometime i oso confuse which shld i take.

Felicia,

I only take bird nest leh.. got so many tonics to take??

I dare not take ginseng bec' i read in a website that ginseng is proven to cause miscarriages due to an element within.. thus i also dare not take pao sheng.

During my travel to Taiwan, i heard from tour guide that Royal jelly (honey) is v good for bb brain development.

Dunno how true, i wanna ask gynae whether safe to take or not.

Hi Roxy, Muffin, felicia
Cordyceps is good for building up "qi", energy, good for men and women. It is not worms. It is actually a plant, a sort of fungus which "invade" the sleeping bodies of the worm during winter (hence the name Dong1 as in winter), leaving only behind the outer shell. Very ex and only buy from reputable stores cos a lot of fakes out there esp when you travel to overseas. Hmm... according to what I understand, it is a balance herb, not heaty or cooling. Very good for those who is easily tired, work very late, sleep little kind of people.

On birdnest - bottled ones is convenient. But same thing, we also dunno how clean is their birdnest before they throw in into the cooker right?
Raw ones taste better to me lah... haha... I never pick (or clean), I just soak into a bowl of hot water, and then throw into slow cooker.

Hi Morraine
Pao sheng is to ti2 sheng2. I remember when during exams, mum used to force me to put one under my tongue when I wake up. My ex colleague swear by it during pregnancy, she says she dun feel so tired after that. Its advantages similar to cordyceps but of course not as good hence it is much cheaper. It is diff from ginseng.

Hi Ellysia
To me, I think the most ex is milk powder... 900g, $32.00 each, one week one can. That's why my girl's full mth, I requested for milk &amp; diapers instead of gifts from my frens. hahaha...

But then again, there are some who spend $300 on a pram. IMO, if you want to get around malls, shops easily, get a smaller lighter stroller, esp if one doesnt drive, lighter = easier to carry up public transport.

I hate it when some parents push their giant pram in crowded malls and some are very careless and end up bumping into young children. I got a hand me down pram (fully recline) which was very heavy and bulky and used it sparingly only for 3mths. This is so cos during 3 mths, i normally enjoy carrying the baby or slinging her. The pram end up become trolley when shopping. Then I got a combi umbrella stoller from my bro for my girl's full mth. Super light and compact, I can carry my girl, the stoller, the usual bag of milk, diapers, water etc to board the bus and go shopping on my own on Saturdays.

Bottles - think I mentioned before, dun buy too many at first, cos I know of babies who refused to take to the particular brand of teats you got. My fren got 6 Avent botts, end up her girl refused to suck and she got to change all to Nuk. I was lucky cos I didnt know and got 6 avent botts but my girl was ok. But she outgrew the infant teats pretty fast, so it was a change of 6 teats at one time lor. But no regrets cos I was taking care of my girl at night myself, so I didnt have to wash botts thruout the night. Just sterilise all 6 and used them, wash only in the morning.

Feliicia, Morraine and Ellysia,
I took a lot of that dessert and bird nest every week and on top of that took beef.. they say with beef n bird nest, bb more hair.. sesame dessert is also for calcium!

Morraine,
In fact i dont like to take sweet dessert , but no choice for bb sake, had to take loh. I'm quite dark skin, so when i know my 1st bb is a 'ger', i'm very 'gan cheong', coz dont want her to had dark skin like me.

Ellysia,
For 1st trimester i dont take much tonic etc except bird nest as is the most critical period. From now onwards, beside bird nest i, i take the dessert i mentioned , then occaionally wil drink pao sheng and oso red dates with longan.
Later stage, i'll start my black chicken soup etc.
For pao sheng, tats why i said must buy those for 'bu qi', dont buy for cooling one coz this will cause miscarriage at earlier stage. But pao sheng n ginseng dont take too much.

morraine, Leng Leng: Thank you for your response! Looks like both of you are opposite. hmmm...so I guess it really depends on individual mothers. I'm so curious to find out the gender...hahaha.

Leng Leng: So u have same symptoms regardless of boy and girl huh? Did other ppl try to guess the gender of ur baby?

ellysia...
me check with my gynae on royal jelly...he was advising not to take it as there are some studies that RJ may cause allergies...

but i think its really up to individual lor..but since he say it..i will listen to him ;p

<font color="ff6000">piyo~

wahahahaha i oso took alot of beef and birds nest during my #1 time..

ellysia~

true.. the most ex is MILK POWDER!!! my #1 now is like every 2 weeks one big tin of 1.8Kg and its freaking $47 bucks! and heard its going to further increase wef 2008!! so really can breastfeed is the best! hahaha save $$, more bonding, bb stronger they say, mum LOSE WEIGHT FASTER!!!

lizzy~

yeah true.. its very individual

ooo...you all talking abt the fu zhu dessert...I wanna drool!!!
Actually another source of very good plant protein would be white fungus. So sometimes I also cook it as dessert. It is said to be the poor man's version of birdnest.

Ellysia,
So u oso brought the royal jelly from Taiwan? I brought it during my last trip. Quite ex actually! But i dont dare to take, as the smell too strong for me.
But tell u the truth, the oth day, we are sharing about the taiwan trip among our collegues, we had the feeling like kena con by the taiwan shop. We realised we had been to the same shop though we went at diff period and by diff agency. We dont mean the product is not good but just felt with tat amt of money we can buy more. On impulse i had brought 2 big bottles of that royal jelly. Now still at my freezer.

morraine,
how big is your #1. you using GAIN IQ too? my #1 is 14 months and HB call him milk king bcos he dun like to eat and drink a lot of milk. luckily he never waste the milk bcos really ex hahaa

Hi morraine,
Yeah, tell me abt it. The milk prices are scary nowadays. The last I noticed my girl's milk cost $50 per 1.8kg!!! It was an increase of abt $10!! I hadnt been buying from Singapore for a period of time and was shocked to see that!

morraine and luz,
do u take beef fully cooked? I took medium rare...

I feel bfg really saves a lot of $$$ I save 1yr plus of milk ss! now every time I buy FM, I sim tia! $50/bottle of GAIN IQ last for 2 weeks only!

after my MS improves.. my appetite increase, now every 2.5 to 3 hours i feel hungry
sometimes also run out of idea dunno what to eat bcos i stay at home. last time working easier to buy hot snacks to standby at office table. now is cracking head what to cook. so i stock up limited tibits (bcos unhealthy so dun wan to buy a lot).

me lately in luv with waffles topped with ice-cream. now going to make spring roll liao...

<font color="ff6000">luz~

ha ha i mention the price den u noe its Gain IQ.. clever!
my #1 is 24 months now.. at least urs dun like to eat and drink milk so can justify leh... mine eating proper meals now and stil loves to drink milk and cannot dun give her mah.. imagine she can have lunch at 12pm den 12.30 ask for 240ml of MILK!!!

piyo~

i always love my beef to be medium rare

linda~

wow price increased liaoz arh.. haven go and check yet..</font>

hey!! Luz, morraine, our kids all on Gain?
I buy from Msia. Around $30 per 1.8kg

Morraine, yes!!! Makes me feeling like cooking some this weekend. Add some longans into for sweetness also can!!

Linda,

Ya i heard on the milk bottle teats. So considering to buy different brands teats and bottles just in case.

piyo(secret garden),

I cannot take beef, me is buddhist

<font color="ff6000">linda~

ha ha so qiao!!! wow the price diff from Msia so much??!!

pls dun tempt me on the dessert!! its not lunch time yet!!! *SOB*</font>

linda,
yeah ntuc selling $48 for 1.8kg. nowadays i dun buy the 900g liao bcos can save a bit by buying the big 1.8kg. this small amt also must save bcos milk is on-going neccessity.

piyo,
no ley i dun cook beef at home bcos hubby dun take beef religion bah.. if can BF is the best, but needs a lot of determination from mummy
i hope i can succeed this time with my #2.

Felicia,

I tink it is the same shop, near the sun moon lake one right?

i didn't buy any, cos i also suspect its a bit over-rated. Plus i dare not take anyting until i check with gynae. I intend to check with gynae before i purchase any from GNC which i tink is more trusted source.

Babycupid,
Others are fretting over the lack of weight gain. We opposite.. Haha.

Re: Tonics
I totally hate such food. Until now, I avoid bird nest at all cost. Other than fair and smooth skin, wat other benefits huh? Looks like many MTBs are gg the extra mile to stomach good food for their bbs. I feel a little guilty. My poor bb havent got much chance to enjoy such food.
My appetite is quite bad now. I cannot picture myself drinking milk, no soya bean, no milo. Most of my food intake are not very healthy. I am just eating watever that I feel like eating now. Oh gosh.. how huh?

<font color="ff6000">zuen~

dun feel bad
my food intake is oso base on wat i love to eat oso therefore healthy is definitely not the word to best describe the food i have been eating
i oso indeed feel abit guilty abt #2 coz during my #1 time.. no experience den scared this scared tat so i eat with caution oso but this one i oso drink cold water, skip vits intake but no choice oso coz MS is the main factor therefore.. ultimately cannot blame me!! haha

just think differently.. last time the old ppl oso cannot afford any tonics nor eat good food but kids all grew up healthily

Felicia,

I tink if bb is gal, must really take a lot of bird nest..

if boy, maybe just agar agar can liao..

Morraine,
Hehe, thanks for comforting. I just had Mac for diner yday. Today hoping to eat meatballs from Ikea. See.. haiz.. poor bb.

Ellysia,
Very funny leh. Then I hope that my bb is a boy, so can skip the bird nest. To me, bird nest really taste like weird tasting agar agar.. haha.

Morraine,
same here! I like it medium rare...

Linda,
Buy from Malaysia so cheap! but safe?

Ellysia and Luz,
We are buddhist too but pure buddhist dun restrict taking beef, only taoist...but we normally take it in restaurants cos dunno how to cook haha