(2008/06) June 2008

pkdust,
does the food come warm? coz last time i try newbaby, the food is oso quite nice with soup and longan drink.

btw, in fact any idea whther the confinement catering food is suitable for c-sec woman? In fact what kind of food shld be avoided if c-sec? Last time, my mil forbid me from drinking dome, no chicken, no egg for the 1st 2 weeks. Not too sure if there's oth food ned to avoid.
But hopefully this round i dont hv to be c-sec.

pkdust,
i tink really depends on individual.. for me i have a bery bad outbreak since i am preg.. nvr ending.. even i go facial.. its useless.. and i am having a boy..

happy new yr! this thread is reali going too fast for me.

my boy started nursery yest... i'm so proud of him cos he didnt cry at all...

felicia...
not sure abt wat food u cant take, but i know there is a fish essence which u can take, its supposedly to help wounds heal faster.

Felicia,
Yes the food come warm. Esp the soup which they put in a special porceline kind of container. They serve with rice and longan drink as well.

Babycupid,
My complexion also suffer like hell. esp near the jaw area. But I try to stick to the basic skincare because I am afraid it will affect the baby. They mentioned that preg ladies had a kind of glow on their face...but too bad it does not apply for me : (
I am now waiting for the results of my triple tests...has anyone know the results already?

pkdust,
icic.. kekeke.. i so hate my look now.. so envy those pregnant till pretty pretty.. haha.. not for me too.. i did the oscar test on my 12wks.. so result ok for me..

My gynae schedule me for the Detailed scan on 21st Jan and I have another gynae normal appt on 7th Jan, any advice if I should go for the 7th Jan even, since in 2 weeks time, the detailed scan visit gonna take place? Do any of u encounter this?

BabyCupid,
Yeah I dare not look at myself much in the mirror nowadays. Then my figure is like go haywired. Previously can see the waistline but now there is a bulging stomach. Look clumsy but dun look like pregnant.
I skip the oscar test as advised by the gynae and went straight to the triple test. It is this triple test which bring me great fear in my first pregnancy. The results show false positive and it deduce that my baby might be adnormal. So after a period of sleepless nights and worries, I went for the animo test and it confirmed that it is a false alarm. Thats why I ask if any MTB has got the results of the triple test already.

TF,
are you on a package?if yes..it doesn't matter since you have already paid for it. cos in another 2 wks after ur detailed scan will be ur next appt where your gynae will explain the details of the scan to you.

hi soyabean,
How old is your boy and which school did you send him to? is he on full day? I am still contemplating to send my ger to playgroup 3mths b3 I popped...

Hi babyjo,
Good luck and may your wish come true! update us ya?

Hi mogudog,
so good on leave at home! I am back from long leave...*sianz*

Hi Soyabean, my boy also started his nursery yesterday. He went to MIL house with me happily as he knew he is starting new sch and then after the class, he ran out from classroom and told my MIL he never cry, but other kids did. So funny.

I am going for my next scan next sat, also hopefully can know the gender of baby. For me, I dun wish for boy or gal, but feel this time is another boy again as the kicks bb gives me are rather hard and strong, cum quite frequent.

Gals, can anyone advice me on night mosturizers? I am facing dhydration and dry skin, tend to get red and cracked skin on both sides of my cheeks near the nose area. As skin base is normal/oily, i need to look for oil free night mosturizer. Any recommendations?

Shycloud

I'm nt in package yet but gynae did mentioned that on 7th Jan will start my package. Yet on 21st Jan, after my scan, i still have appt to see my gynae. Do u see your gynae aft scan on same day?
Previously also like this, after the OSCAR scan, I continue wif the gynae appt on same day n ask everythg ok, any qn, i say no. Then she say wait for her call in aftn whn she reveal my OSCAR result.
BTW, do u still take folic acid? Since aft the OSCAR, i only nd to take MultiVit n Calcium that gynae prescribe. I heard some say must take folic thru' out. But my gynae say the prenatal Multivit has folic already, its ok

<font color="ff6000">TF~

my gynae encourages me to eat thru out the pregnancy lor.. he say no harm.. den he say #2 must eat the calcium pills impt coz body depleting it already since used up for #1 liaoz.. </font>

Hi Veniz,
How old is your boy? you can try demalogica?

have you felt your bb movements? How many weeks was that? I seem to have felt it ytd but still not sure..esp when I felt them at 20 weeks when I was carrying my ger.. dunno if I am imagining things..

pkdust,
oh ok.. ya.. i heard it always like tat.. esp taking triple test.. my sis too.. false alarm.. but during my sis time no oscar test yet.. if not she will go to oscar instead..
so ur bb is ger or boy?

TF/ Morraine,

My gynae oso told me to take multiVit, no ned to take folic asid, but i still taking the folic loh.
My 1st pregnancy i take folic thruout the pregnancy.
I even brought a bottle of EPO myself. But i'm not as 'hardworking' as my 1st pregnancy where i'll sure take all the supplement everyday w/o fail. This round, sometime i'll skip loh.

TF,
I am not taking seperate folic acid cos gynae told me the multivit I am taking already contains the required dosage.

Morraine,
You are right abt the calcium cos yest the gynae reminded me to maintain calcium intake to make sure i have enough. Can see bb's spine and ribs and calcium is required to make sure all these are developing properly.

*piyo*
Got to check the milk carton label. I think average 1 cup is around 350 to 450mg? Like the magnolia one i am drinking, 1 cup has around 400mg of calcium then plus the supplements (600mg), I will have 1000mg which is the required daily intake for pregnant ppl. Of course, other foods you eat in the day are also source of calcium eg cheese, yoghurt, ikan bilis etc.

<font color="ff6000">felicia~

hee.. me oso this round i skip at times oso especially during the beginning when my MS was real bad coz i did not want anything to be down my throat at all.. felt so guilty..

teragram~

ya lor den i oso heard bb wil take everything from us so end up suffer one is ourselves so better arm ourselves with sufficient calcium if not next time old already.. den bones here break tare break wahahha..</font>

morraine,
haha, har loh, we better take more now.
like i see my mum now, her legs not so strong as last time, think becos last time never drink enough milk (cos not much $$).
so have been buying her calcium supplements to take, hope can help.

hi piyo...
my boy turns 4 this yr. i send him to a Pap nursery near my mum.
nursery classes are 3 hrs daily.

its a good idea to start ur girl much earlier b4 u pop. cos if too near ur due date, she may feel u dun wan her. kids are very sensitive to these.

hi veniz...
haha... ur boy is so cute. according to my mum, quite a few kids cried today. but my boy said he didnt cry., dunno true or not. haha...

as for night moisturisor, i hv been using biotherm products for yrs and i love them. for night, i use Line Peel. my complexion is oso combination... but i like it alot...

felicia,
do check the dosage of the folic acid on your multivit. if its 500mg, then u can stop taking the folic acid on its own, as u will be getting enuf from ur multivit leh...

Hi Morraine and Teragram,
Me taking Anmum, anyone taking? But I also lazy to take daily supplements, got skip sometimes.. so now I put them at the bedside so that wont forget...

babyCupid,
The gynae says mine is a gal because nothing protrude out at my 14th week. She never said how many percent confident but I am still hoping for miracles that it will be a Mickey. My hubby got no preference as long as it is a healthy baby.
So I feel that those who got one gal and one boy is really very lucky loh.

Shycloud,
Is yours a minnie or Mickey?

I think from now onwards must make it a point to drink milk. I dunno why I really drag drinking milk but I know the calcium pill is just not sufficient.

The thread move so fast!!
Personal experience - skin, tummy shape, not true for me. My first girl, my tummy so high and pointed and 10 out of 10 (even old folks) say BOY and my gynae see wrongly. This round, it looks as if it is wider and rounder and I am expecting a boy leh. Skin, both times quite alright.

Hi verniz, soya
hahaha...Hi 5!! My girl also started nursery at new school yesterday.
But she is a happy girl since young, never cry before even at 2 years attending playgroup.
I was the one crying lor!!! :p i told my hubby (daddy also very emotional) since when my little girl grow up till now? So independent, so adult like with her uniform and 2 pony tails...
So fast the 4 years zoom past us.

pkdust,
I was a teeny bit disappointed mine is most likely a Mickey cos I wanted a Minnie, hubby also. :p I have 2 nieces (age gap of slightly less than 2 years) and I always feel that girls are easier to bond as mentioned by *piyo*. Actually 14th week may be a little early to tell, hope I am not getting your hopes up too high.

If you don't really like drinking milk, then try making milo instead and add more milk? Just a suggestion.

<font color="ff6000">piyo~

i never take anmum coz cannot tahan the taste of milk powder *yucks*

TF~

im taking fish oil bot from my gynae one coz he say fish oil dun anyhow buy off shelf outside coz of e content</font>

soyabean,
jus check the contain of the multiVit, only 1mg for the folic asic, so i think shld be ok for me to take xtra folic asic.

morraine,
the fish oil i take was recommended by my ex-gynae. Cant remember the brand name, only remember got a pregnant lady picture on the label.

Morraine, I'm waiting for my gynae to give me too but she dun wnt to prescribe me until 20 wks. So bo pian, wait loh.

2day, i surf the U.S websites (BabyCenter, Hackleyhme, Amazon, Ebay, ToysRUs) and compare all the prices for Medela breast pump. If any of u keen to buy n ship fr U.S, the cheapest site is ... www.Hackleyhme.com

The Medela PIS Advance is US$230 n free shipment within U.S if u have relatives / friends to brg back for u. I tot wif the U.S exchange dropg, its still cheaper than our S$700++

Let me knw if any of u come across even cheaper sites.

Felicia,
The fish oil you mentioned is prolly the same one I am taking - Neurogain. Recommended by my gynae and can be bought at pharmacy.

Piyo, Soyabean, my boy also turn 4 this year oct. I told him yesterday he is already 4 yrs old but he claimed he is only 3 (due to the fact he is later born in 2004). He also attending PAP Nur, but at clementi ave 4. Yesterday I woke him up quite early for his milk and traveling by public transports to MIL hse, he woke up, smiled and straight away greeted me good morning. This morning also, seems like new year, new begining and new early morning greeting.

Linda, aiyo, you still cry leh. Best dun tell your gal or else she may say mummy shame shame. My boy will say this to me if I cry coz I always scold him shame shame when he cried for little matters. This morning, I got to see an auntie who previously took same MRT with me to clementi. She smiled at me (I forgotten her liao) then when we are alighting, she told me my son grows so big now, he was still a tiny-weeny who needed to be carried around two yrs ago. I smiled at her, and say ya, kids really grow up fast.

Soyabean, I never use biotherm products before leh. I know they are more water based. I am thinking of Estee as now using their idealist, but i see from mags theirs are mostly creamy type, really dunno what to get for face, scare later skin sensitive. Maybe can give biotherm a try.

Teragram,
Yayaya! Neurogain. Yes, i'm taking this brand. The price increase a lot compare to 2 yrs ago. But no choice, still had to take for bb sake.

hi linda...
haha... ur girl must look v cute in her ponytails! can post a pic?

piyo...
i'm not taking annum. i took it when i had my boy and i believe it accounted for a bulk of my weight gain! :p

Teragram

Ha, me too. Hubby n me disappointed wif Mickey when i knw during OSCAR, unless otherwise during Detailed scan. Then everyone around scared i feel down, start telling me gd to hv Mickey or Minnie as long as healthy. Same feeling, girls can "teh" wif Daddy tat why both of us prefer Minnie.

<font color="ff6000">TF~

abt having a ger will 'teh' with the daddy is jin true lor.. my ger.. aiyo.. ma chiam super glue to the daddy

Hi Teragram,
So your first one is a gal gal? and now this second one most likely a Mickey?

Hi Babycupid,
I did the ammino test in my first pregnancy because of the false positive result of the triple test.

The fish oil prescribed by my gynae is damn ex leh..cost $60 for 30 caps. Each one cost $2. But my gynae told me it is very concentrated. Think its also with a pregnant lady in the packaging and the box is silvery orange . cannot remember the brand.

<font color="ff6000">the fish oil i took is oso $60 for 60 caps.. its called ProLacta with DHA for Mother den have one baby on the white and purple cover.. my first pregnancy i oso took neurogain</font>

TF,
Wah, you so fast during OSCAR can tell already. I rem asking the sonographer then and she said cannot tell. Hehe, I also like girls cos they are more manja ("teh"). :p I see how my 2 nieces "teh" with my bro and I think my hubby also wanted that, haha. But like what you said, most impt is healthy bb.

Hi Piyo(SecretGarden), my prenatal vits are from the hospital where I visit my gynae and labelled with the hospital name. But I know that GNC also has prenatal vits. Often, those prenatal vits makes mothers feel sick cos they taste and smell bad. But some are ok, no smell, easy to swallow. I love prenatal vits over normal multivits cos they contain more *power* that we need for the baby.

Heehee, yeah, i modified my nick a little by adding SF in front to avoid confusion. =)

TF,

My gynae also schedule me an appt tmr and my detailed scan is on 15 Jan. She said she want to see me before then cos my last appt is 1 December and she said to wait until 15 Jan is too long so we fix another appt which is tmr.

pkdust,
this is my first baby.
if circumstances permit, i hope to try for #2 and hopefully then it's a girl. in fact, both girls would be nice! but that's prolly not likely.

piyo, think must drink 2 cups of milk a day then will hv enuff calcium...am not a milk person so ask gynae give me calcium pills...