(2008/06) June 2008

Hey gers,
Happie New Year!! Time passes so quickly. We only have 6 more months to go, hehe.

Soyabean,
A while ago, I was also craving for fast food. BK, Mac and long john silver drives me crazy. Haha. However, that craving seems to disappear liao.

Roxy,
Dun worry too much. Like the doc says, there is nothing to be done now. However, I understand that if the situation gets very bad, some doc might order admission to hospital and then lots of bedrest. Hmm.. so you might want to consider 2nd opinion subsequently. Your little one noes how much you have gone thru' for him.

Feifei,
Enjoy your anniversary ya.
Romantic, romantic alittle. ;p

I was just talking to SIL yesterday... learnt there is so much to buy for bb...
it's all the small small items that we didn't think about.

Hi cactus,
You are back.. Havent seen your post for awhile.

I should be gg for cruise in the middle of Jan 08. Initially, was hoping that bb will cooperate during the last doc apptm so that we could do some shopping when we stop over at KL.. Looks like my bb wants me to save some $$. Haha.
Anyway, my hb was asking me if it is okie to buy bb clothes and stuff from M'sia. You noe all those stories about lead content in bb's clothings/ toys in some countries. Hb is paranoid. -.o" Now best, bb refused to open legs, no need to buy liao.

Hi ZuEn!

I dno't know about lead content in bb's clothings! Geez!! I heard about the toys though. I was told the trick is to avoid China made brightly coloured toys... cos the brighter they are, the higher in lead content. Best is to go for wooden toys. all natural from germany... Tehre's a toy shop at Taka selling those... on the 4th floor. can't recall the name of the shop now though.

I think it's not so important where we buy the stuff from. Rather, we should see where the items are made. Alot of brand name toys bought in Singapore are made in China... actually, alot of children's items purchasable here are made in China, Thai, Indonesia. Only Tollyjoy made in Singapore? But Tollyjoy no toys leh. Fisher Price all China?

Happy New Year!!!

Regarding prices in Msia - Diapers not cheap, branded clothes ie pigeon, tollyjoy not cheap. Anaku, a msia brand is cheaper and quality also ok. Milk powder is cheaper. My girl is drinking Gain from Msia for abt 1 year, is abt $20 cheaper. For next baby, I will start from birth. hahahaha...

Hi Catcus
yes!! White turns yellow easily esp when have milk stains.
Actually hor, by the time you have second baby, you wont be as bothered abt colours matching gender liao. hahaha... So my boy will have a lot of pink stuff....kekekeke

Hi all, I am a Singaporean residing and working overseas. This will be our 1st child. Am 16 weeks and my EDD is June 12. Would love to make new friends with MTBs locally.

Morning all and Happy New Year!

Roxy,
Read about your visit and comment by gynae. This is not your regular gynae right? Rest as much as you can and keep your spirits up. Our babies are resilient beings.
When's your detailed scan?

Cactus,
Welcome back! Sounds like you had a fruitful trip to Batam with your purchases.

Hi Piyo,
Welcome! I am also in 16th week and it is also my first baby. So where are you currently based?

Happy New Year!

Teragram & Cactus: Thanks for the warm welcome. I am based in San Francisco. Planning to deliver here since I will be getting my medical care from here. Strangely, there is no such thing as engaging confinement lady here, so my mum will be helping me out when I give birth in June. *phew*. How are you gals feeling so far?

Thanks Zuen and Teragram... I'm going for detailed scan next Thur, will ask my regular gynae what he says then and maybe ask him can measure or not. Am praying and keeping my faith high.. 2008 is the year for all of us to receive many blessings! And if really Mickey, I can call him Isaiah liao :p

Thanks feifei... but the gynae not sure, will wait till detailed scan next week to see what happens. Dong Chong Zao (cordyceps) is good to bu both mother and child I heard. My MIL bought 1 liang for me...super small already cost $700! Faint. 1 liang ranges from $400 - $700 plus, I think. But must be careful coz heard some from China got alot of lead content or something, so buy from reputable shops. And heard prices are going to go up somemore.

Welcome abroad PIYO. So u are currently in the US? So planning to give birth in Singapore? This is my 3rd child.

Teragram - added u in my msn

Hi Piyo,
Oh it must be around 11 pm over there in SF ya?
Are you going to be based there permanently? Are you working? How's the medical care like? Do you go for scans often? Hehe, sorry for the many questions, just curious. Good to hear your mum is going over to help you, that's what my fren's mum did as well when she delivered in Feb this year. My fren's based in Denmark.

As for preggy feelings, am feeling better now in second trim. Had ms in first trim and was feeling very lethargic but now more energetic.
How about you? Did you have ms (morning sickness) in first trim? Are you able to tell the gender of your bb yet?

Feifei,
Before I forget, happy wedding anniversary!

Cactus,
Ya, actually many things in Sgp oso make in China. Lol! However, if buy in Sgp and anything happens (touch wood), possible and easier to claim for damage bah. Hehe. Anyway, have to wait for my detail scan on 25th Jan.

Roxy,
Isaiah, he will be.

Linda,
You do research liao. Hehe. My friend who just gave birth actually did an excel spreadsheet to compare pxs of diff diapers brand in Sgp. However, her bb ended up semi-golden butt, must wear good quality diapers. Haha. I oni concern about buying bb clothes now. ;p

hi ZuEn, actually product liability is very seldom admitted in Singapore. Only in US. If we buy anything and if something happens, unlikely we can claim for damage, esp if it is to do with lead poisoning ... Unless you are talking about a manufactured product which is defective and causes harm to the child... like they sell a slide, and when used properly, the slide falls apart and a child is hurt in the process. If it is less obvious, it isvery very very hard to claim in Singapore. Besides, we won't only claim against the company importing the toy. We will have to claim against the company making the toy... if we can't establish that the manufacturer is wrong, we can't establish that the importer is wrong...

Hi Piyo,

I'm feeling much better now. had ms during 1st trimester. now at 15 weeks.

Yeah! In the west, no such thing as confinement. I think cos it is very expensive to hire domestic worker.. so mothers there just give up their jobs to have kids. also, western meals are much easier to prepare than asian meals. Think a sandwhich, a salad, a soup. even a steak is usually grilled in the oven. Unlike all the frying, etc. Think jamie oliver versus martin yan.

Good to hear both are doing well, Teragram and Cactus.

Teragram:Yeah, sort of.Still don't really know my long term plans yet but I've been working here for 4 yrs. Medical care here has been good for me so far cos we are covered by insurance. I only need to pay a $10 copayment fee each visit and hospitalization and delivery cost will all be covered by insurance. Guess its time for us to benefit after paying so much taxes. I am thinking of going for screening test to make sure my baby is healthy and think shd be able to tell gender by mid Jan. Heehee..so far, surprisingly, I have no morning sickness. I try to eat more and drink milk but life is still the same. Do you know your baby's gender already?

Cactus: I agree with you! The cost of living here is very high and sometimes, it doesnt' make sense for the mother to work anymore if majority of income goes to the nanny. It is also rare to live close to your family as most travel all over the country or their parents would move out of state to retire in a quiet countryside with lower cost of living. So, must roll up sleeves themselves. I am still very confused what I need to do when the baby is born. Yeah, western home meals are much easier to prepare and less grease too (if you stay away from fastfood). Kitchen is not so oily too..heehee...

hi piyo, some of my friends/relatives who delivered in western countries, requested their moms to go over to do confinement for them and subsequently, arranged for their moms to look after their kids for them. Other variations would be to have sisters, aunts, MILs to fly over to look after.

Happy 2008 to all the MTB/ mummies!

was a very exhausted nite for me as my company New Year event ended at 4am plus....
By the time i got home is 5am+ .
And now i down with bit flu, hopefully will get better by tomorrow.

Talked about milk powder,i found it wud be cheaper at Msia. So i had supply from Msia for my 1st baby.My girl is having progress gold now and can save about SGD7+ each.

Hi gers,
Good morning.. starting work in a new year doesnt at all feel good/ exciting. Haha.

Cactus,
I still tot that we are very protected in Sgp. Lol! Or at least if something major happens (touch wood), probably more protected? Hehe. Or maybe my wishful thinking. ;p

Felicia,
You managed to tahan until 5+am? Wow, I had a hard time keeping my eyes opened beyond midnight. Struggled until 12 mn, say "happie new year" to hb then hit the pillow liao. Haha.

Happy New Year to all MTB / mummies !

Wow ZuEn, you are early bird

feifei, my MS will act up even after I eat, don't think too hungry coz I already try to eat every 2 to 3 hours, haiz.

<font color="ff6000">mogudog~

dun feel bad abt ur MS.. to comfort u abit.. im still vomitting at least 3 times per day now oso

roxy~

cool~~~ meaning 2 mickeys will be expected in our blk in June!! *heh*</font>

<font color="119911">Hi Mummies,</font>

I am quite new here and may not spoken to many of you.. Wishing all of you a Happy 2008! This will be an exciting year for us

Anyone having heartburns? I have it whole night last night

Can I ask if you have booked any massage lady? Do you haf any to recommend? If yes, how much and how many sessions?

<font color="119911">Hi Mogudog,</font>
I am into my 14th week, tot MS will leave me liao but I just had a whole day of MS ytd too

<font color="119911">Hi Teragram,</font>
can add me oso?
EDD : 30 June 08
Hospital : Gleneagles
Gynae : Dr Fong Chuan Wee
Area : Telok Blangah
Child # : 2

Many Thanks!!

ZuEn,
I din know the event will ended so late. But is a miracle i can tahan till tat late coz normally i sleep around 9pm plus(when i'm preggie lah). But i'm still suffering now, head feel heavy and had bit sore throat. Now no mood to work at all. If still like this by noon, maybe will took MC.

Mogudog,
Are you vomitting something like acid juice? Coz i'm still occasionally had this problem. Think my digestion system is hvin problem.

Morning ladies....

ZuEn,
haha, romantic? no leh, spent whole day at home writting down wat needs to be bought for e whole pregnancy lor...adds up to a big sum of $$....everythign is $$$$...

Roxy,
=)..ya lor, e dong zhong cai bery ex de...hiaz, but no choice cos need to bu lor...Just throw one or two pcs into the soup ?

Piyo,
Massage lady for pre-natal or post natal? In fact i'm looking for pre-natal massage lady. Found some info, i think the price is about $ 75-90 for some prestige massage centre.
Anyhow, got another contact for a malay massage lady whom charge $50 for post natal. Have yet call her and ask if she do pre-natal oso.

Mornin Mums..
Hi Felicia.. goin for next checkup is always a long wat lor..cant wait to see the progress..:p
hv not scheduled any detail scan yet..tis 7th Jan nd to take hubbys blood for the Thallasmia test..

Funny how..during my first boy..i didnt hv any detailed scan..tats with another gynea..not sure if tis time will hv..

Dr Ang has talked to u abt the detail scan.?

<font color="ff6000">felicia~

apparently i at times oso vomit those acid juices which makes my whole mouth so acidic feel after puking
and at times even worse.. white foam.. haiz..</font>

nur,
dun worry, everything will be fine... as for my case.. they took my hubby 1st and found out he is alpha thalassamia and i need to go for the test asap and could not wait till my oscar test.. lucky that i am not a carrier..

feifei... im not sure, as i was suffering from flu these few weeks, MIL dun dare to cook for me yet... tink just throw a little bit and cook with either chicken or lean pork...

Btw gals, any of your tummy showing yet ah? Me 18 weeks already but still not much sign of tummy, cannot even tell I'm pregnant... I remember my friend was so heavily pregnant looking at week 18 already....

Felicia,
me looking at both, am trying Grace who advertised in the biz thread but wanna try others as well b4 confirming anyone for pre/post natal package :p

How much is the malay lasy charging for prenatal and what's the duration?

roxy,
my tummy alrready showing.. everyone koes i am preg.. esp thru my facial look.. aiyo.. really bery BOY symptons..

<font color="ff6000">roxy~

dun have to worry on the tummy coz for my #1 my tummy was quite visible from 4th month onwards but this #2 it seems to be like wat u say.. some ppl oso dunno im preggy yet but as long as bb is growing well inside den its good

roxy,
my tummy very big already. can easily tell I'm pregnant. I wonder how come mine so big. my coll who is 6 mths pregnant is smaller than mine... I think I will have a lot of exercise to do after givign birth

piyo,
i also looking at pre/post natal package. i think the price range around 70/80 plus per session

in fact, I'm also looking at CL. kenna rejected by one CL coz she fully booked. aiyo. headache leh....

Babycupid,
how many weeks are you now?

Hi iamsnow,
Grace was having a promo of $38 for 90mins prenatal massage so I tot of trying her out and doing some comparisons with others b4 confirming. Her prenatal package is $380 for 10 sessions like quite worth..

Think you got to cfm Cl fast cos good ones are reserved very early..My hubby called the CL who did for me the 1st time just after we know I am pregnant. I just placed my deposit with her last week to confirm confirm her:p

Nur,
dont worry so much. Evrything will be fine. Yup, he did roughly said that after my next check up w him, will need to do detail scan at TMC. I'm just afraid the detail scan fall during CNY, then is very inconvenient for me. Have you start your package? how much u pay?

Morraine,
I had the same problem as u. Yes, white foam. Can understand ur feeling as i felt really terrible of it. I even ask my gynae, he said too much gastric juice inside but b4 preggie i dont had any gastric problem. Even my 1st pregnancy MS was not so terrible compare this this 2nd. Till today my weight din increase at all. I even lose some weight.

Piyo,
i hvnt called the malay lady as i saw lot of comment that pre natal massage shld be done after 20 weeks, tats why i hvnt call her. U want the contact? i can PM you.

<font color="ff6000">piyo~

ur massage lady seems cheap for pre-natal massage package leh.. any contact no to share?

felicia~

same lor.. my #1 was such a easy pregnancy.. no MS no nothing.. this #2 is driving me nuts!!!</font>

Hi roxy,

I bot cordyceps using my own money (IL not so willing to buy for me due to cost) abt $400plus from Long Biao shop.

ZTP cordyceps are also quite reasonable. Eu Ren Sheng one is too expensive.

I am also wearing maternity bottoms, been wearing as early as 10th week. Stomach is showing but not v obvious, some male colleagues cannot tell tat i am preggy. However if i wear maternity top, most people can tell that i am preggy. Suggest tat u wear preggy top as it really makes a difference.

Hi babycupid,
me wearing maternity bottoms too.. hope can dun wear tops so fast cos haf not told colliqs my status yet :p

Hi morraine,
Pm you liao, you received?

felicia,

if it is gastric air causing u problem, trying drinking Eno.

I have air problem last week and cannot eat properly (will sometimes vomit out vitamins and undigested food), take Eno and seems better.

Thanks morraine... mine not obvious at all... cun tell pregnant, but gynae told me my baby is big... tink his head length is 4.4cm liao, wondering how he hide inside and my tummy still so small...

iamsnow and babycupid.. that's good! I'm so envious of people whose tummy show liao... i see people whose tummy are so big at week 20 liao and I wish mine can show more too!

ellysia, im not sure where my IL bought the cordyceps from too.. never ask but we said we'll pay them back, they said never mind :p have u started eating?

piyo, wah, she seems to be very popular. her post natal is fully booked up till june 08!!!! can't book anymore since my EDD is early june.