(2008/06) June 2008

juliet,

bb will listen to us one. Last time i go for Oscar scan, i also ask bb to turn and bb then listen. my hb told bb to turn, bb dun listen leh.

ellysia, ya lor, bb listens leh...think bb buay tahan daddy n mummy keep nagging him to open legs for the whole week! haha...

me got a lot of hair on tummy leh..v. gross...haha..

Juliet08 - my bb aso dun want to open the legs during the last scan. My gynae took quite a long time catching. He din even tell me he is trying to catch the gender. My heart was pumping very fast, then he told me "Your bb's leg close"

Ellysia,
I was thinking of uploading the chart before I leave office today. Shall I put yours as boy?
Or you want to wait till detailed scan?

juliet,
Ok, starting tonite, I shall psycho bb to guai-guai co-operate on day of scanning. Keke.

roxy,

The mini fridge last time i ever got when i sign up for renovation loan. Not much use and take up space. After a short while, the fridge spoilt ored.

If the warranty is 1 year, then not v worth to sacrifice the warranty for $21 discount (if order from that website i provide price is only $320).

I consider with hb liao.. maybe we won't be going for the sales since warranty will be sacrified. Warranty is more impt i tink.

eh, ladies, what have you guys prepared for the coming of your bb huh? me TOTALLY haven't do anything leh...the designated bb room still in a mess (currently our "garbage" room...all the un-ironed clothes..)..*faints*...haven't research anything abt pumps, cots, strollers etc...i v. lazy hor??

juliet,

My designated bb room is also a mess. It is also our garbage room. same as u, put clothes, ironing board and some used mattress etc.

Yest i read forum postings on pump, cot and stroller. Roughly have some idea. But hb only intend to buy next mth or feb, when there may be post CNY sales etc.

I intend to go Ikea, Carrefour to look around for bb stuff. I read that Ikea bathtub for bb is cheap and good. My colleague recommend to get bb dresser from Carefour.

I dun intend to go bb hypermart becos its v far at Kaki bukit.

babycupid...
haha... yes... 1st time... actuali i had experienced a few little knocks for the past 1 week but i wasnt sure if those were movements or jus food digesting... but jus now that one was a real confirmed movement.

i was at suntec the other day to get maternity clothes...went to see storke (cross.com)...i love their stroller, but super duper ex leh! siao! 1.6k!!!

ellysia, so ur bb cot put in bb room? then put bb monitor? my MBR no space to put in bb cot leh..sianz...

soyabean,
icic.. haha.. ya.. my 1st feel is oso beryyy confirm movement.. kekeke.. after tat its quite mild..

Ellysia and Juliet,
My baby room is also currently like a store room, that's where we place our old newspapers and ironing board plus a sofa bed. In other words, it's in a mess.

I am taking over a baby cot from my bro. As for strollers, will prob check out kaki bukit. I am intending to place baby cot in MBR till baby's older than will shift to baby room cos thot it's easier to tend to baby at nites but not sure if baby will have problems adapting to change of room or not.

Think will start to get most of the stuff in Feb when gender's more or less confirmed.

babycupid...
haha... wait till baby gets bigger... will use fist and leg to punch... :p i still rembr when i had my boy he used to move and kick alot late at night... sometimes i cant sleep!

teragram - me also want to put bb cot in mbr but no space...dunno what to do sia..dun wanna sleep in seperate room from hb but dun wan to leave bb alone at nite too...headache...

n hor, confinement i may move back to my mum's...after i go back to work, mum will help take care bb..tat means a lot of things hv to buy 2 sets? $$$...

my gynae says that its 80% likely to be a girl!

she schedule me to see her in 3 weeks times but i cant wait! hahah..so it became 2 weeks to see her again to confirm the baby gender.

my hubby is thrilled as he wanted a girl as our first child..we even tot of a name for her already!

Hi Soyabean,
how many weeks are you now? Is it true that we would feel bb's movements if it's no.2?

Hi BabyJo,
I nearly sold off my PIS till a colliq told me to keep and amortise for no.2 then sell... heng I keep it.. although no warranty, PIS seems to last, I haf an ang moh colliq who uses her PIS for her 3 bbies within a span of 7 years!

Hi Teragram,
You received perfect xmas gifts! The maternity clothes came in time for you!

hi liew,
yup last year after giving birth, can claim $450 (if i rem correctly). just keep the receipt from gynae and give to the hospital admin staff, they can settle for you. no ley $1400 only inclusive of 2nd and 3rd trimester scanning. the delivery and doctor fees is seperately paid. think around $10k. but i used my medisave can claim up to $3000+

i dun think there's any package can include include delivery or vitamins ley...where got so gd hor..? heehe

juliet,
hehee u sound v excited ley, dun worry, now only begining of 2nd trimester, still got plenty of time to plan and think of what to buy. dun stress out

Piyo, i sold it away as i dun intend to have #3. so abit sayang lor.....but no choice lah since i fated with have #3.

Now intend to try out Ameda since alot of them say is lighter and more afforable. Moreover quality still the same as PIS. I agree PIS is very afforable if intend to breastfeed for long term. But very siong for me, bcos it was quite heavy when I carry to and fro from home and office.....

Teragram - didn't receive ur PM leh

<font color="ff6000">hmmm.. in regards to gynae fees.. mine oso started package after 16 weeks therefore my visit on last fri, i did not pay a single cent already and for my gynae practice is during 34 weeks or so den we pay him the $500 for the package and the rest to be calculated upon discharge after delivery

as for breast pump ~ i learnt my lesson from my first pregnancy.. just my personal point of view, dun buy any first coz *touch wood* u mite not noe if u have much supply or not.. coz in the beginning its best if u can latch the bb on direct oso to create more bonding time between the 2 of u.. den if ur milk supply is smooth den maybe can invest in one good pump..

p/s: just my personal point of view to share.. hope i dun offend anyone

everyone, it's really a great sale at robinson. today i got the ameda breast pump with the fridge at only 299 (up400+) and the avert sterliser at 139 (up 189).

think they still have quite a lot of avert sterliser. but do note that the price only for card member.

heard metro also sale...any good buy there?

Hi BabyJo,
Strange, I thought I managed to PM you successfully. Anyway, I've added you in MSN. It's ok, I will send you an email instead.

Piyo,
Hehe yeah, very apt x'mas presents, it was from my bro and SIL who knew about my pregnancy right from the start. They got me a set of maternity clothes. Sweet of them.

Juliet,
Regarding baby room arrangement, if really keen to have baby in MBR then see if there's anyway you can rearrange furniture to accomodate but do check with your mum or ILs first if ok to move furniture. Not sure if there's some pantang belief there cos I heard cannot paint and drill things at home when preggy. :p As for getting 2 sets of stuff, I guess it's inevitable but discuss with your mum what is required for eg my SIL's mum who takes care of my niece does not have a baby cot cos she lets my niece sleep in those sarong but things like shoes, toys and clothes, are found both at grandma's place and her own house.

morraine,
I think that's a valid point cos that's my worry too, on getting a pump now - may not have enough supply when the time comes.
I guess I will get the pump after I confirm that I have the supply. I guess one of the plus points in getting pump now is the savings cos of the ongoing sales.

I'm from Nov07 MTB thread.
I have Gina Ford's Contented Little Baby Book for sale. It's recommended by many mummies who want to establish a daily routine for baby.

Bought it at $28, will let go at $18. Good condition. Anyone interested?
Please email me at [email protected]

I agree with morraine, invest in the pump after bb comes, then won't waste $$$ (partly y i hinted on the warranty:p) sales are always ongoing... morraine, how long did you bf your 1st darling?

Babyjo,
Ya! I hate the part of bringing pump back n fro from office! very mah fun!

<font color="ff6000">teragram~

*phew* tat u and piyo dun find me being rude to interrupt all the mummies interest in getting the pump..

piyo~

aiya my little one arh.. i have milk supply but tat notti ger refuse to latch on me and oso refuse to drink though i pumped out for her!!!
so hopefully this 2nd one will appreciate my milk more wahahahaha</font>

ya, cos i intend to bf, so that's why i have gotten it. didn't really tot abt the supply issue. cos so far all my friends ard me r bf. thanks for ur advice.

Morraine,
I somehow get the feeling that boys drink more than gers.. my ger also a "soft latcher" right from beginning..come to the end of my bfg career, I am more on pumping than latching:p

<font color="ff6000">piyo~

isit?? my ger drinks quite alot of FM but simply refuse my BM
ok shall see how my #2 fair.. heh how many kids u have??

morraine,
Only 1 baobei :p you? are you the morraine from Oct 05 thread? you supplement FM from beginning? My ger on BM for 13 mths b4 I close milk factory to try for no.2:p

<font color="ff6000">yeah yeah of coz i can rem la.. hee.. scared u dun rem me onli arh.. ha ha..

no wor.. coz i tried giving her BM but she refuse to drink at all den we decided to try to give her FM and she finished quite a bit..

p/s: so when is ur edd for #2? and ur #1 is how old already?

hor, so u rem only keep quiet nia:p

if bb dun wanna drink, then bo bian.. maybe your no.2 will love your Bm better!

My no.2 EDD is 30 Jun, scan shows 23rd Jun though.. but I take it as 30 Jun still... My no.1 is 16mths only

<font color="ff6000">ha ha.. i scared u dun rem me den how wor.. paiseh wan leh *blush*

hopefully den.. skali this round i dun have much milk supply.. den becomes got demand no supply!! *faint*

WOW cool!! ur #1 baobei is a princess or prince?

wont lah! how can so short memory?!

I also worry this time no milk then die! haiz.. every pregnancy is dif!

you must be sleepy liao! I mentioned ger in 1 of the posts haha...

<font color="ff6000">ha ha excuse me pls!! im like updating my blog and reading the posts here.. confused!! mulit tasking!!

very hard to say leh.. some mummies here they buy and join spree and talk to so many diff ppl all the time so hard to recall most
and ya i agree every pregnancy is diff.. my #1 i had such a easy 9 months.. no MS no nothing.. this #2 wah lau like come bac for revenge.. MS very bad.. i nearly become the 2nd merlion of Singapore!!

p/s: i logging off soon so shall reply ur post when the next time i log in yeah... have a great weekend ahead and in advance Happy New Year!! take care &amp; good nite

with regards to brestmilk supply... u can boil fish bones with green papaya(unripe ones) u have to order fromt he fruit stall in advance and buy fish bones from the wet market..it will turn out to be milk and drink it like soup..it will increase yr milk supply.

that is after u gave birth.

this was advice from Father in law'a elder sis.

Yesterday nite went to Metro's sale. Brought some Avent milk bottle. Avent's product got 20% disc. As for medela had 15% disc only.

Think wont go down to buy Ameda pump now aft hearing all the mummies feedback. Anyhow, still can wait till June Motherhood's fair to see if got any promo. hopefully....

Hi Zuen
You very thoughtful... For me, I chose Victoria cos she is our Queen and I wish for her to be strong like the main character of the book I like. Xuan1 for gentleness to offset being too strong in her english name. :p

Dad is naming his son Maximus, cos it means greatness and his fave famous warrior character in Roman shows. Yi4 for perseverence.

Hi baby cupid,
hahahaha.... So far no female dog name yet leh....So we shld be expecting a lot of Mickeys and Minnies in our baby's school next time?

Hi Morraine
I agree, I had problem bf my girl too, end up the breast pump used less than 5 times. Luckily it was a hand me down manual pump.
How do you cope with sore nipples?

Hi soya
Very amazing to feel baby move right? Esp when it evolve from virtually nothing... Baby movements in us are actually what I missed most abt pregnancies.... It gets even better when baby is old, last time, my girl can respond to me (or at least I think so)...I talk to her and place my hand that tummy and shake her a little, she will move.
Sometimes her elbow or kneecap comes out and I will push her back in. She very good girl, only move along my left side...doc says cos my tummy small so she actually quite squeezy inside. haha

Felicia
Metro all stores have sales? Been trying to get the teats for my girl but OOS since Philips bought over Avent.
You can try seeing if there is anyone who can T-loan you a manual pump first then if your supply is good and you can bf for long, then invest in electrical pump?

Hi ladies...

Ellysia,
U also hv alot of hair on ur tummy? My gyane told me if hv alot of hair on tummy means could be expecting boy wor...but i see flat flat in btw my bb's legs..haha..

Juilet,
hehe..so cute, u nag at ur bb for 1wk? i still rem b4 I went for my oscar, tol dbb to guai guai open legs big big, then mummy n daddy can see ur gender and buy nice clothings for u..Bb open e legs super wide but see nothing, only flat flat..haha...

Teragram,Ellysia,
Talking abt bb's room, I hv one pink and one blue room, so gonna see which gender is it and then we will use e room lor..But the blur room is our study room now, with laptop,computer, spare mattress etc..hiaz..

I hv a passdown cot frm my hb's cousin, 2 new bathtubs, and some bb stuffs which we bot recently...all dumped into the other room...haha =)...so once gender cfm, will shift accordingly =)...

Heard that the taka bb's fair will be in feb or mar lor, by then woul dbe in my 6-7mths liao, tummy big big, duno how to squeeze into e crowds also...But heard frm my frenz that bb's fair hv good bargains all e time for sterilisers, pumps, cots etc...so now I am consolidating my taka vouchers liao..hee

hi liew, yeah my hubby burnt hole in pocket liao hehee i hope can do natural delivery so it will be cheaper. my no. 1 i dun have choice, must c-section. c-section delivery charges more ex bcos of operating theatre fees and extra one day stay at hospital. i think difference of around $2-3k in mount e hospital. but again can use medisave of $3k++, so end up cash pay around 6K++. this time round since i not working liao, i ask hubby to use his medisave help me pay.

feifei, i been to the taka baby fair a few times, end up i din buy. a lot of ppl long q. and i think not really save a lot.

juliet, me too all the baby stuff nobody passed down, have to start from scratch. but again, can choose what you like to buy hehee the shopping process really very rewarding.

teragram - my mbr super small...n I got king size bed w/ a v. broad boarder...my MBR v. squarish..so no matter how i shift, still can't put a cot in...my room only got one king size bed...no side tables or anything...hahaha...

my bb is first grandchild of both side...so nothing at all...my cousin's son still v. young also, so can't pass on much to me other than infant clothes etc...