(2008/06) June 2008

ellysia,
i very scared to go these maternity shops cos i am afraid i will end up spending alot. :p u know the few pieces i bgt from Gap and Old Navy, they were actuali sale items and each piece is usu oni abt S$20-30 after conversion. Looks like i will popby Perfect Mum to take a look.

I have ordered 1 top from the gap spree, haven't receive the item.

The top i order from CTC fashion has already arrived, looks ok but not sure can wear or not.

I bot 1 babydoll top at Taiwan though.

Hi ellysia
My gynae also charge $900 since 3 years ago leh, never raise price. My first birth at Mt E, after medisave claim, only had to pay $1300+ cash for double room free upgrade to single room. No need to pay my gyane le. Ex mah? I also dunno leh...

Hi soyabean
I am also not big enough for my Gap and ON pants/jeans. Their cutting seems to be bigger. Last pregnancy, I only wore them at abt 5-6mths. Now I wear a lot of spring maternity pants and mostly dresses. I enjoy wearing the now trendy oversize tunis with tights or baby doll dresses.
And I get all sorts of oversize tunics/ dresses from This Fashion. Cheap and good enough.

As long baby is healthy, how much the mum put on doesnt really matter. Among my 4 frens who delivered 3 mths apart each (for my first kid), I put on the least at 10kg and had the smallest tummy while my girl was borned the heaviest at 3.38kg

shycloud...
me too... i oso had to agar agar gauge... :p i'm usu a size L person... so when i buy their stuff, i go for M, for their sizes are bigger.

ellysia,
haha... i'm now looking at Gap sale... saw a top already... will go see if there are any gap spree going on... :p

hey linda...
same same! i was buying alot of tunics early this yr too... dats why up to now i can still wear them without affording to buy any maternity tops...

Zuen - I am same like u. Eat like a pig prev mths and eat like a mouse now.

at least now i noe i am not the only person suffering from loss of appetite. :)

ellysia - I think not only calcium that we are talking bout. I just force myself to drink carrot juice and so many other healthy things that I hardly touch. All for the sake of the baby... Must preservere....

Linda - U start to think of name? I dun even noe its boy or girl and maybe we will keep it a surprise till birth.

Roxy and shycloud - I am in the same situation that u r facing too! Sometimes, I get shocked by the color. Is it normal?!!!

Anyone start their prenatal education now?

how have u been....i have been quite busy and tired. have been feeling very restless. now in my starting of my 15 weeks...haven't feel my baby movement yet but my tummy is already out. thought i didn't really eat much cos not much appetite.

btw, i saw in the newspaper that there's robinson sale and heard that there's always quite a lot of good buy. but not sure what to buy now cos haven't know the gender. will only be going for my next scan on 9 jan. doc say 30 jan will check the gender. still quite far ...have anyone sign up for any pre natal classes? i am thinking of going for the kk one next yr. any one interested?

Hi all, hoping to make new mum to be friends from my home country. Am 15 weeks and my due date is about June 12.

My pregnancy so far has been pretty good but I think I look very small, nobody can tell that I am pregnant. Anyone having the same issue?

linda...
hvnt thot of names yet...
wan to wait until we know gender first...

jenny,
the price is in USD. to convert to SGD, multiply the price by abt 1.55.

got some question on breast pump. I failed to breastfeed during my 1st pregnancy and wanna try again for this 2nd one. But i'm in dilemma whether to buy the electric breastpump now or later.

During my 1st pregnancy , i use manual pump, ended up i give up as really tiring. So now thinking to get a electric pump. What you think, so i get it before delivery or after? Any brand to recommend?

morning ladies! It's Fri once again!!!
My last day @ work today cos next mon be on leave. then i will be a SAHM till at least end 2008 / Jan 2009....

hi felicia,
i know how u feel... the feeling of failure after spending such $ on an electric pump... why not get a second-hand electric pump as it will be cheaper? or a single electric pump? some women find that they are able get more from electric pump than a manual one. most pple recommend medela.

Yes crystal TGIF!!

Star, I'm not sure also.. but going to see another gynae on Mon, will ask him whether it's normal or not... green poop eeks

Soyabean, perfect mum now having sale... I went there last week, bought 2 top and 1 legging, only $120, quite worth it, $40 per piece, perhaps only $10 more per piece as compared to the toa payoh shop but the designs are so much more nicer...

Btw, talking about robinsons sale, has anyone heard of or used Ameda Lactaline dual pump before? Robinsons having promo now, $299 with a free fridge-to-go. Is it good?

Morning ladies..

Linda,
Yup, already tot of english names for my bb but still tinking of chinese name =)...hee

star,
Ya, i started singing to my bb nursery songs, playing cds loud loud lor...duno if he/she can hear but just wan to start early lor..keke...ks hor....wanted to get soem books to read to them but duno wat type of books to buy leh...any idea?

roxy...
thanks! any idea when the sale will end? i may not hv time to popby until mon i think...
oh... green poop... issit due to the multi-vits u are taking? cos on my bottle of multi-vits, it does state that stools may turn dark.

linda, hb n me ve a boy & ger name in mind respectively oreadi, so depending on gender, we will just use the name accordingly lor. however, the chinese name, hb wan to get pple to count strokes type, so tat will ve to do done only after bb is born rite?

Hi gers,
I am on leave today.. gg to see my bb in the afternoon.

Roxy,
I had green poo when I was on iron pills. It became normal after I finished the pills. Are you on iron pills too?

Ellysia,
I totally agreed. My SIL just gave birth and she can eat a cow before delivery. After giving birth, the baby was barely 2.5kg, but my SIL's tummy still look as if she's heavily preggy!!!

Linda,
Actually, ZuEn will be my bb's name, regardless of gender. We had that name for him/her even before the bb was conceived bcos we were trying pretty hard and long. ZuEn means God's grace. Hehe. If ZuEn is a boy, then he will be called "Samuel", meaning "God gave him to me". We havent decided on a ger's name. Waiting for that "feeling", haha.

Feifei,
The apptm is at 2.30pm. But sure long wait. -.o"
I am hovering between excitment, anticipation & anxiety..
Ya,ya,ya.. if ger, then need to think of English name for her liao.

hey ladies...
talk abt bb names...my hb has conveniently suggested he had tot of a unisex name for our bb...so be it boy or girl...the name will be suitable

he refused to disclose the name but has hinted its one of the calendar months. ie between January to December

aiyo how lame it is...duh! not unique and no creativity lor...i almost fainted.

haha.. talk abt names.. my hubby even tell me.. if BOY, we will call him Mickey.. if GER, we will call her Minnie! cos is born in the year of mouse! duh..

Zuen, no, never take any iron pills. But taking multi vits.. dun tink it's due to multi vits

soyabean, I tink the perfect mum sale is quite long, not sure till when, but Im sure it wouldnt end by next Mon. Normally one top is 49.90. Now got 15% discount, some have up to 50% discount. Spring also haveing sale, havent gone down to see yet...

Speaking about names, we thought if boy call him Isaiah (coz this chapter has been comforting me alot suring my pregnancy) gal - call her Ariel (lioness of God!) But I like Natalie also leh...

Aiyoh, the Ameda pump super hot at Robinsons.. 9.30am special, now only left 11 sets!! If i go down buy tomorrow, sure all gone...

babycupid...
haha... some of my colleagues in office are oso now taking bets on me and taking sides for mickey and minnie... =P
and oh... good idea... when we all start to know our babies' gender, we can update the listing by stating Mickey or Minnie! rather than the boring Boy or Girl... keke...

roxy...
good... i'll popby on mon then... hehe...

zuEn,
hehe...bery fast de =)...Do keep us updated hor =)..hee

roxy,
Heard Amenda pump bery good wor...how much are they selling now?

Morning girls,

Have been on bedrest the past few days cos got fresh bleeding last sat nite but it has stopped on sun but nonetheless made full use of the 5 days mc issued by KKH. :p

Am back in office today and office is like only one-third full. Wished I was at home or shopping. Well, TIGF!

Re BB Name,
Hubby and I already have a unisex name in mind.

Roxy,
My hubby likes the name Isaiah as well.
But it's already taken by one of my nephews.

BabyCupid and ZuEn,
Hope you will be able to find out the gender soon. Do keep us posted! Can't wait to put up the updated chart with gender, hehe.
So far, I think I only have 2 babies with known gender, Linda's and Belsi's. Did I miss out anyone else?

soyabean,
saw comment by some mum, medela mini is noisy and slow. But my problem is more to wasted $$ if i fail again. Sigh.....

roxy,
which robinson branch got the Ameda pump sale? all branches? when the sale ended? Got good feedback about this pump. I done a research, the cheapest i can find for this pump is $320.. So $299 worth buying plus free mini fridge cost about $49.90.

feifei and felicia...
Tink all robinson branch got sell ( centrepoint and raffles).. now $299 but tink selling like hotcakes, im going down tmr, not sure if still available... just now should have asked my friend to buy just now...
$299 with free mini fridge.. If I go down tmr, any mtb want me to help them buy?

teragram, how come u got bleeding? Did u ask gynae what happened?
If not, can take isaac? It means laughter, very nice name too....

Me going to pay another gynae unscheduled visit next mon,coz cannot bear to wait 2 more weeks for my detailed scan... so happy can see baby then. Hope everything is fine.

roxy,
thinking to go down tomolo oso. But thinking had to squeeze among the crowd with my big tummy, queue for cashier really make me 'sian'.
Hopefully by the time we are there, still had stocks.

Roxy,
Isaiah is a very strong name. I like strong names. I think it is very impt. Give the person confidence as well. I had been trying to look for a ger's name but nothing touch our heart like Samuel. If it is a ger, I want to find her something as strong as Samuel, with a meaning too. Then we can tell her why we pick that name for her when she grows up. ;p

I also tot of gg for an unscheduled apptm while waiting for today's apptm (4+ weeks' wait). However, I am oso worried that too much scans may not be good for bb. Bcos I was very unstable in the beginning, I had lots of scan in my 1st trimester. Since doc seems so confident that things will be fine, I try to calm myself and wait lor.

Feifei,
The tot that we will be able to see bb in the afternoon and maybe even see the gender is super exciting, hehehe..

Teregram,
How come that's bleeding again? Take care and rest plenty ya.

Oh ya, it is okie to use a 2nd hand breast pump? Afterall, we can't tell for sure if we will get enuff breast milk for the bb.
I have a friend who bought an eletrical pump just a few months ago with the intention to even express milk after gg back to work. So, she even purchase the entire set of bags and stuff. However, bb not cooperative and the milk supply dries up soon after the full month bash.
I tot of buying over the pump from her wor. Should I?

ZuEn, yes names are very impt for our babies. Isaiah is prophet of God. If not you can try Gabrielle? Female version of Gabriel, means God is my salvation, what a nice meaning too

Hopefully too much scan will not hurt baby too much... but jsut the thot can see baby again really makes our day hor? Hope u can see gender later!!

felicia, I duno my hubby allow me to go down tmr or not.. i try psycho him... my tummy not showing yet.. so not too bad.. but then people duno im pregnant, hope they dun jostle me..

Mind if I join in? Have been reading the thread as my no.2 is due on 30th June. Just cleared my Oscar test
My no.1 is a ger and born in Aug last year.

Hi feifei, felicia and roxy,
I used Ameda (gift from my friend), Medela PIS Advance and Avent when breastfeeding my ger. All are quite good but PIS is the best as you get multiple letdowns within a shorter period of time and it empties your breasts.

You may need to change the valves of the Ameda pump after some time as they are quite delicate.

Btw, dun haf to get the pump too early unless the retailer allows the warranty to start running from the birth of your bb else by the time we use, the warranty gonna expire very soon

2nd hand pumps are equally good.. I took over a friend's PIS since I am 4mths in bfg.. planning to use this for no.2

my 2cents worth

Hi felicia
I am caught in the same situation. Will like to bf for my 2nd when I failed for the first. But I do not want to invest so heavily on a electrical pump without confirming if I can bf this round as my failure was due to medical reasons.
Furthermore, those whom I know bf for years never had electrical pumps. They go direct and manual. I also understand that Ameda is better than Medela Mini.

Is there anyone whom you can borrow the pump from first? I might try asking my fren for hers if she is willing to loan to me cos she "close shop" liao.

Hi Piyo
First pregnancy right? I was reading thru my old scrapbook when expecting my girl... Apparently, the tummy only really obvious in my 6mths. Before that I only looked fat.
I conceived in May and only in Nov that people offered me seats in MRT. hahaha.... So dun worry if you look small.
This second one faster, I think I look pregnant but my frens I only looked fat though.

Hi Baby cupid
very funny... mickey and minnie.
Born in year of chicken be called donald and daisy?

Hi Zuen
I see...
Very meaningful name. Is there a similar name for girls alike Samuel?

Hi Crystal
Yes, cos the fortune teller normally wants to know his time and date of birth before deciding a good name for your baby.

On names... the reason why I asked was cos HB has decided a name (last time we agreed that if girl i decide and boy he decide), and I am finding it hard to keep to this promise. hahaha... He decided on both english and chinese names based on meaning already.

roxy,
Er, the bleeding was due to sexual activity.
Hubby was quite freaked out by the incident esp scared that bb will be hurt, so I dun think we will be attempting any more for the rest of this pregnancy. The doc on duty at KKH 24 hrs clinic, did a scan of the baby and luckily it was fine. Couldn't resist asking if she could tell the gender but she laughed and said no. At least I tried. Hee.

We are quite similar in our liking of names, cos I like Isaac too!
But my best fren's son is called that.

Can understand your anxiety, I am also going insane waiting for next wed's apptm cos it's been almost a month since last visit. Ironically, was really happy to see baby last sat nite. Don't worry too much, 2.5 more days and u will see ur baby again!

Linda,
I think there is a female version to Samuel, but I am still trying to "hear" something specific. Oso not good to tell my ger that we chose her name bcos it is a female version of "Samuel" and it was originally intended for a boy. -.o" Hehe.

Roxy,
Ya, I am getting more and more excited. I had been praying and talking to my bb this morning. Ask him/her to be healthy, be active and dance a bit for us to see. Oh ya, open the legs too. ;p
I learn from a friend that our blessings to our bb are very powerful. So put your/hb hand on your womb and bless the baby.

Teregram,
I was oso very worried when my hb and I have sex for the 1st time after preggy. Nothing unusual after that but I no urge since then until now. Haha.

roxy,
in fact me oso need to psycho my hubby if i really wanna to go down. He hate me goin to crowded place when i'm preggie. Moreover, i'm still unsure if i'm really goin to purchase it. Worst is i'm anemic, wait fainted in robinsons. haha....

Linda,
me oso thinking to rent pump 1st after delivery, test test water if can succed in BF before invest in the pump. But on the oth hand, afraid by then no more promo liao.

Re: Breast Pumps
hmm during my no. 1 i bought my pump and used only for 2 months before i stopped. felt wasted of $ ($799), luckily now got no. 2 can use again.

rental is a quite a gd idea. if buy expensive pump, cannot BF for long waste $.

ZuEn,
After the bleeding incident, I also not much urge. :p Samuel is the name of my Personal Trainer (pre-preggy days) and he's a very very nice guy so I have v good impression of ppl with that name, haha. My hubby's a teacher and he's already told me certain names to avoid, cos all his students with that name all very naughty but it could be pure coincidence la. Have fun at your apptm later!

Felicia,
I think better avoid the crowds la. I've read in the other threads that there are lots of crowds and queues at all these dept stores having post christmas sales. But if really want to go, best to go with hubby, at least got someone around if u don't feel well. *touchwood*

i noticed a lot mummies already signed up package before 20th week. my gynae only allow me to sign up at 20th week, so late...

Piyo,
my gynae is dr chew at mt e. last year 2006 i paid $1200. every year pricing go up by $100. so i expect this year i will pay $1400 ley. my gynae only allow to sign after the detailed scanning is OK. i think that's his pattern bah..

Juliet,
congrats ah u sound so happy to have a boy hehee I hope for a ger this time round