(2008/06) June 2008

feifei,

Cannot eat too many curry cos of the "huang Jiang".. in our previous discussion got mention.
Tink u better cut down on curry stuff.

1st week of Jan go for another checkup with gynae. Detail scan is on 15 January.

Btw, on the TMC course at AMK hub, we have register but they have not inform on the schedule bec' they say can only start when got enough people.

Veniz,

Hard for me to take Vit C tablets, i end up heaty usually..

What i do is try to eat more apples.

can we eat watermelon, is it too cooling for pregnancy?

Ellysia, don't eat watermelon. Best is is not to eat. Water chestnuts also. The other day, I nibbled on water chestnuts, tummy started cramping up.

When I was 4 or 5 weeks pregnant, I drank coconut water (actual fruit) and ate watermelon (about 4 big slices) and experienced cramping also. However, I didn't know I was pregnant then.. I thought it was just PMT.

Tink too cooling - watermelon.

Not v sure what fruits to eat so i always eat honeydew & apples.

Oranges - may lead to cough
Pear - some old folks say is cooling
papaya - cannot eat during pregnancy

looks like v limited choice of fruits leh.

Hi Ellysia, I think the only thing with papaya is may lead to jaundice, but it's not scientifically proven. Papaya, carrots and other orange flesh fruit may lead to skin being yellow but that's the result of excess Vit A, and not jaundice. jaundice is yellowing of skin caused by liver unable to function well. Papaya does not cause our or bb's livers to not function well. It's like breast milk. But some doctors find it hard to differentiate between jaundice and normal yellow skin so they tell mothers not to breast feed for the time being. Like that, can also avoid blood test.

You can have other fruit like apricots, cherries, necterines, strawberries.. now in season!

cactus,

Understand tat Papaya will cause too much milk in our breast now and not recommended until we start BF.

Carrots is bec it has a lot of Vit A i tink, so cannot eat too much too.

i'm starting to cough too..... vomiting have gone worst too... vomited twice to thrice a day worst than my 1st pregnancy.

saw tat u all r talking abt maid issues.... I've got a maid too, she is already with me for a year, hired her when my boy is ard 4months cos i wanted badly to go back to work as i cant stand being a SAHM. She is an Indo with 4yrs experience in sin n malaysia. a young single lady. I can say she is very good in looking after my boy n even my nieces like her. she likes children la.... but when comes to housework she is not tat good.... not those who will wipe n wipe whenever they are free and also even she wipe also those type with attitude of got wipe can liao.... BUT my hubby n my priorties to her is looking after my boy very well so since she did a very good job n she is those very clever type so we still consider her a good maid. Most imptly she listen to me as i'm staying with my MIL n SIL. My MIL especially loves to give my boy weird food when he is younger so i did told my maid e seriousness of my boy taking certain food at such young age, therefore my maid will tell my MIL no no when she know certain food my boy cant take and she will also report to me things tat happen at home especially when MIL is not happy with her when she stop her from giving food to my boy. My MIL dont really like this maid too cos she listen to me more than her but i dont care n my maid knows who is her employer n who she is suppose to listen too so I really can put my mind at ease when i'm working. BUT one thing i'm glad abt MIL is tat at least got her at home then maid wont have a chance to go out without my knowledge. I never let my maid go downstairs to buy anything when i'm not at home. i think tat is very impt cos if they need to go marketing on their own every morning it will give them so so much opportunities to meet friends at e void deck.
For those who are looking for maid i find tat making sure someone is always at home with them is most impt n also try to do most of e marketing to our own is also impt. E lesser they go out e lesser they will turn bad. As for character of their honesty n hardworking we really have to try our luck.....n also dont expect too much from them.... must set priorities.....

hi elaine...

any more maid discipline to share?? i dunnoe if i can train the maid well... coz the initail period is very impt...if they know the do's and don'ts...then it wil be much better

Good morning gers,
I will be here until 1.30pm today. -.o"

Feifei,
Ya, 3pm on eve, even on CNY eve..
I get more pimples in my 2nd trimester. I seldom get pimples, maybe one or two during PMS. Now I already have 3 on the face and a few more on the back.

I oso love heaty food. Craving for fast food over everything else recently. Yday down with block nose & sore throat..

Tinyfeet,
Every strand of hair has a limited "life span". Before pregnancy, they will just drop when they are meant to expire. So, my theory: during pregnancy, bcos of hormonal changes, they tend to stay longer on the head. So, after delivery, those which are meant to drop will drop lor. So I dun think there is a way to stop them from dropping bah. Hehe.

Hi all mummy to be,

Have your start buying those baby staff, like, bed, pamper, bottles...etc...etc..

Me total lost in what should i start buying now...

Hey mum to be ! This is my first post in this forum. Actually I have been reading and following up the posts in this forum but have not been participanting actively. Really hope I am welcome here : ) This is my second baby and EDD is mid June. Today I just went for a scan and is really extremely disappointed because it is a gal again. My first baby is a gal. I am very confused and upset because I really hope to have a boy. I am not biased against gals but just wish to have one gal and one boy. I dunno if anyone here is in the same situation as me.

Hi pkdust,
Welcome.. I bet you are not the only one. I hope for 1 gal & boy too and I hope that this 1st one will be a boy to take some pressure off. In actual fact, nobody's giving me direct pressure (currently) on the bb's gender. I guessed it is basically Asians' conservative thinking, or maybe my mum's influence. She's baised and prefer boys. Hb actually prefer a gal. ;p

Shinely,
I am waiting for the detail scan. Have to make sure that everything is ok before doing the spurge. Just in case... (touch wood).

Lengleng,
The hair loss is so bad? -.o" I used to become paranoid when I see increased hair loss after shampoo. Botak?? Die liao..

ZuEn and Ellysia,

Sound logical, maybe i should wait for my detail scan too.Better don't be too "gan chong" to buy hor...maybe by later got baby sales liao..whoes know..hahaha..

Hi Ellysia and Elaine,

I am from the Aug 2008 MTB thread. I am coughing badly now and am worried that it might affect the young foetus which is only 6.5 weeks old. Did your gynae mention whether it would affect the baby? My gynae said it would not but I quite skeptical cos baby can hear our voice let alone bad coughing....take care!

Hi Ellysia and Elaine,

I am from the Aug 2008 MTB thread. I am coughing badly now and am worried that it might affect the young foetus which is only 6.5 weeks old. Did your gynae mention whether it would affect the baby? My gynae said it would not but I quite skeptical cos baby can hear our voice let alone bad coughing....take care!

Ellysia, will take a look at your travel blog. I love travelling too:)

Hi gers,
Merry Christmas!

I am still struggling with my blocked nose, dry cough and sneezing and the Company only releases at 3pm today. -.o" Luckily there's dept lunch and probably some games. Time should pass quickly.

May all of you enjoy great joy and love during this festive season ya.

Morning ladies....

MErry Xmas!

ZuEn,
Take care hor....must drink more water ya..

I went xmas shopping over e wkends, in e end, my calves pain and then tighs so aching..hiaz, tink now my legs can't really support my weigh tliao..hiaz...feel like an old lady lor =(.

Ellysia,
Nice blog leh =D...bery cold at TW?

shinely,
hehe, toking abt sprees on bb items...I started buying liao cos now 2nd trim, tink by 3rd trim, tummy will be more heavy, more difficult to walk lor...so now buy watever i can 1st...Went CK Tang to buy soem bb items, mittens, clothings cos wan to use up e vouchers...

All,
Oh ya, this thurs, ISetan is having a private sales for members leh....tink tehy hv this promotion on avent milk bottles...quite worth it leh..

Veniz,
Ya lor, even if its a small pc to satisfy our craving, we also feel shiok hor..hehe...I also went sushi tei for lunch on sat...but din take any raw things...just tempura and rice =D>

MERRY CHRISTMAS!!!!

ellysia, zuen, shinely,
Gynae should be able to confirm gender before the 20 week detailed scan.

Once baby decides to show, it's quite obvious. My sonagrapher always say "see this is the head, the spine, then see BOY......" few times once my #1 decided to reveal his gender. Detailed scan more for measuring baby's growth, eg, the head, various bones etc.

pkdust... welcome =)
this bb my #2 too.... my #1 boy, like you, I hope to get one boy one girl. So hoping this one girl.

don't be upset.... will affect baby. Another girl will be good companion for your first gal... also no need to go shopping all over once more. Know many friends with 2 or more babies of the same gender..... beginning disappointed. But when baby arrives, also v happy. Every individual baby is different.

btw, I have an elder sister, and I'm the #2 girl. My mum told me whole family was disappointed when I was borned. Some relatives even said very sacarstic remarks. I felt very sad when I found out about it. So told myself I must not be like that to my babies..... guess boy or girl, as long as healthy, they are your precious babies =)

Thanks zuen and piyoz....
Actually its not pressure from anyone. But I just hope for a boy. Because I will stop at two so hope for one gal and one boy. Three is too many for me. Somehow I dunno why the thought of abortion came in. I know its a sin and its really cruel to do that. But just cannot stop having this thought : (
When I went for the scan last Sat, I am only in my 14+ week and gynae is able to tell the gender. So no need to wake till detail scan on 20th week.

Actually its not pressure from anyone. But I just hope for a boy. Because I will stop at two so hope for one gal and one boy. Three is too many for me. Somehow I dunno why the thought of abortion came in. I know its a sin and its really cruel to do that. But just cannot stop having this thought : (
When I went for the scan last Sat, I am only in my 14+ week and gynae is able to tell the gender. So no need to wake till detail scan on 20th week.

haha.. congrats liew!
i hope to haf a ger too..

i have something interesting to share.. kekeke.. just for fun ok.. my frend's mil has a bery accurate method of knowing whether its a boy or ger.. the method is..

1. pregnant woman to grab a handful of rice.. (not a must to be full.. jus grab any amount)
2. start to pick 1 grain and said 'BOY' den another grain and said 'GER' - this process repeat.. till...
3. the very last grain! (u will haf a ger if the last grain is GER.. and vice versa..)

To my frend, this method is bery accurate.. so far the frends and relatives and siblings tried 100% rite.. if you tried for the 1st time and dun believe it.. u can try as many times as u wan.. it will still be the same ans.. (just take note dun miss count)

I tried this method.. i tried 3 times.. all BOY!! hahaha.. HAVE FUN!

pkdust,
Oh dear...dun tink this way hor....cheerup ya...Pls give up the idea of abortion cos i have seen some gers who try so hard to get preggi but couldn't , so bb is a gift from heaven, we must cherish lor...Be it boy or ger, its still our bb =)..

piyoz,
Good hor, u all so fast can see gender liao, mine still cannot lor, tink most likley a ger ger liao cos no "stick" in btw the legs lor...But hb and i keeping an open mind, =)...If really ger, then its good, if boy, even better =D...most important, bb mut be healthy, those shd hv one, must hv, those shouldn't have one, pls dun hv...hehe...at least now I know bb has 5fingers...hehe...

pkdust,
Oh dear...dun tink this way hor....cheerup ya...Pls give up the idea of abortion cos i have seen some gers who try so hard to get preggi but couldn't , so bb is a gift from heaven, we must cherish lor...Be it boy or ger, its still our bb =)..

piyoz,
Good hor, u all so fast can see gender liao, mine still cannot lor, tink most likley a ger ger liao cos no "stick" in btw the legs lor...But hb and i keeping an open mind, =)...If really ger, then its good, if boy, even better =D...most important, bb mut be healthy, those shd hv one, must hv, those shouldn't have one, pls dun hv...hehe...at least now I know bb has 5fingers...hehe...

Merry X'mas to everyone!!

Congrats on your darling princess, Liew.

BabyCupid,
My mum also made me do the rice-picking thingy, hehe. Apparently, very accurate. But my method slightly different. Grab a handful of rice and then start to seperate the grains, 2 by 2 and see in the end how many grain(s) left. If 1, it's boy and if 2, it's girl. As I grabbed too much rice the first round, I grabbed a second round and based on that, supposed to be girl.
Quite curious to see how accurate that is.

teragram..
haha.. really? its the same! mine oso 2 by 2 (cos BOY GER, BOY GER) left 1(BOY) Left 2(GER)
my 3 tries all left with 1.. kekeke..

Morning ladies!! Merry christmas in advance!!

It's really so exciting to findout whether it is boy or gal that we are carrying yah!! I'm getting infected liao... but probably won't know so soon. may only know during detailed scan cos my doctor unlikely to do scan at 16 weeks during consultation.

cheryl,
hahahahaha.. so urs is boy? kekeke.. for my side so far all tried all correct.. so quite amazing.. amazing part is no matter hw many times we tried.. oso same result

cheryl,
hahahahaha.. so urs is boy? kekeke.. for my side so far all tried all correct.. so quite amazing.. amazing part is no matter hw many times we tried.. oso same result

feifei,

Yup TW is cold now. I also feel legs more tired, cannot support weight whenever go shopping, now lazy to go shopping ored.

to the rest,

Merry Christmas!

Today got christmas lunch celebration, half day off.

Been feeling bloated recently, can't eat much. Now colleague say stomach small?! some cannot tell that i am preggy.. my stomach size reduce from 1st trim due to wind bloatness has reduced.

Have u all start eating for 2?

Merry Christmas!!

The kids are having a ball of time now in hubby's office.
3 consective days of partying and tomorrow still have.

Hi ellysia
Not recommended to eat for 2. And not necessary too. Just make sure your intake of calcium and iron is higher than normal and your meals are nutritional. Other than that, eating for 2 will only cause unnecessary increment of weight.

Merry Xmas to all the mummies here!
I'm a mother of a 21mths baby girl and currently preggie, due date at end of June.
Till now,sometimes i still feel nauseaus and vomitting. Anyone had the same symptom as me?

hi, sorry to interrupt... m from the dec 07 MTB thread...have e following to sell:

5 boxes (6 bttles/box) of Brand's Essence of Chicken, all expiring in yr 2010, selling @ $13/box

1 box (6 bttles) of Brand's Essence of chicken wif Tangkwei, expiring in 22/12/09. selling @ $14/box

1 box of (8 bttles) of New Moon Essence of fish with american ginseng, expiring in 30/03/10. selling @ $18/box

Mitup venues - TPY, Serangoon, Aljunied, shenton way... can b arranged. interested parites, pls pm o e-mail [email protected]. thanks

Hi felicia

Welcome.
Luckily, I have gone past the morning sickness phrase. But everyone is diff, so hopefully, yours will be ending soon?

Hello..

Long time nv logged in liao. Me juz back fr Korea last nite. So tired..

Weather cold..And lucky me..get to see snow on my 2nd day there..so beautiful..Me i reali can't get used to the food there..c oredi very 'fan wei'..

Luckily bb very co-operative..MS did nt act up..so this trip i feel very normal..And like Ellysia..i walk more than in S'pore..Haha..

I realise many MTBs coughing non-stop nowadays..Juz like me..i haf been coughing for months..But my cough have gradually subside and lesser..unless i take cold stuffs..

Maybe i can share my experience..For me..i realise is becoz of me staying in aircon area..i wil b coughing on-stop esp. when i am in office when the wind is blowing at me..

So i wear those socks for winter (normal sock dun work for me)..And i realise my cough haf reduce..maybe coz those 'cold wind' enter into my body fr my feet..

Maybe u all can try..try to waer socks and dun expose ur feet to the cold floors..My gynae oso ask me nt to slp in air-con areas..which i haf nt for some time..

Good morning gers..
Back to work after a good Christmas break.
Now, I am looking forward to my leave on Friday, then the New Year Day PH, hohoho..

All these talk about gender is getting me so excited. So looking forward to my doc appointment in 2 days' time.

My SIL gave birth to a 2nd pretty princess last Sat.. Then my mum hinted to my bro about trying for a 3rd one (for a boy). Faint.. I guessed the pressure will be less on me since I am a daughter. ;p

Twinky,
Korea??!!! That was my dream destination for 6 months. Now my hb forbid me to travel. Must be a super good holiday..

Morning ladies...

Twinky,
Welcoem bk...how was ur trip?so envy leh, can see snow there, must be a bery nice scene =).

ZuEn,
Morning....ya lor, really waiting to know my bb's gender lor...then we can start to update our list liao =)...heehee..

I also wanted to travel 1st cos wan to spend the last few mths of er ren shi jie, but hb dun allow me to fly...say dangerous...so no choice lor, got to guai guai stay in spore...heehee..

Long time no lo in liao...was unwell and too tight up wit many gatherings & events during these festive season!

Hi Pkdust,
Think positive its a gal again. I am also expecting 2nd one but gender unknown too. My 1st is a gal too. I have frd having 2 gals and get along well! Think this way, having 2 gals they can communicate well and share well too and if 1 boi & 1 gal, they may have diffcult communicate or evn girls talk right? I tel myself if a gal again i will accept it and will still close shop and Hb doesnt mind whether to try for a boy or not. All fated one okie so don think so much and wait for ur little one arrival and countdown to 2008!!!!

May all mummies wishes come true, stay healthy, stay beautiful for the upcoming 2008!!!