(2008/06) June 2008

ND's girl..
u also ar?...sian rite? somemore so last min...i want to arrange my sch also tough...my big boss maybe not in good mood when announced this. Heard from colleagues last year not like tat one leh...it was more like unofficial half day off
...better mah!

or must be some stupid idiotic colleagues got too much leave cannot clear finish...tats y must go on compulsory leave!

argh...i hate it!!!

shycloud
dun angry lah no choice lor we are only 'da gong zai' my colleague also told my GM that i have no leave liao still want to force leave? His answer even more idiot he say she like to take unpaid mah...faint!

Hi shinly
I am at 15 wks 3 days at my scan on monday when doc saw the gender. My girl's gender was seen at 16weeks. Both were given to me as 100% confirmation.

Hi TF,
Yesterday I was clearing all my old baby stuff... so sad and a little emotional having to give/throw away my girl's old cute pink tiny rompers. I ask my hb if he wants another one after this, he just say keep lor. :p But I think not lah. kekeke.... Just emotional.

Hi catcus,
There has been debate if ultrasounds are 100% safe for baby and if they are necesssary at every visit. Concerns are raised if the sound waves bouncing off the foetus are good. But at the same time, there are also been rebukes abt this theory.
If one will keep the baby no matter what happens, then perhaps ultrasounds are not necessary. But ultrasounds have proven to be very effective in picking up abnormalities and have let parents have choices or preparation in keeping the baby. A medical team will also be on hand at point of birth if any signs of emergency is picked up while baby is in womb.

Hi Linda, thanks for the info about ultrasounds! I agree that ultrasounds are more beneficial than harmful if used to ascertain abnormalities and risk. I was just wondering if I should request for an extra scan to tell bb's gender.. guess won't do that after all.

Hi Shinely,
You prob missed my post earlier on CLs.
It's a good time to book now cos the CL I called already has been approached by May 08 MTB so I think it is a good time to call now.

Har so fast... thanks Teragram.
As me still can't decide to let MIL do my confirment or hire a CL will be better.
As i beleive they are more experience and their cooking style sure better than my MIL.
Teragram, u hire ur CL already har. Hw much does it cost? It not cheap right...

hi shinely, ive booked my CL already... it will be big trouble if i cant find one in time if i leave it to a later date to decide. ive also engaged a maid and hopefully she can come in singapore by the end of this year (due to new maid's insurance ruling) and i can see if she is suitable n use the time till june to train her in hsework before she can adapt to look after the baby as well. there is gonna be lots of changes in our lives in 2008!!

im now in my 12th week and i hope to start to do some light swimming from 13th-14th week...just to be safe that im officially over my first trimester...

i will be signing up my antenatal package which is at $600 and i will add on another $300 for unlimited ultrasound scan package. i think i will probably forgo the "real time 3D" scan. coz afterall, it depends if the baby cooperates to show his/her face.

im having a lot..and i mean a lot...of pimples from the front and back of my shoulders mostly above the bra line. i never use to have them before my pregnacy... is there something we can do abt it? i tot of see a skin doctor...worried of scars(of coz will inform him that im preggy before his prescribe any medication.

i went for a shampoo at the salon and the hairdresser told me that im starting to have some dranduff!! which i dun ve either during my non-preggy days!

as these all due to hormones changes or what?

No prob, Shinely.

Ya, I booked my CL already. I see, so you have not really decided yet if you getting CL or your MIL will do for you. You are right, it is not cheap, the CL quoted me $1900. For me, my MIL is not possible cos she has no experience at all (looking after baby + cooking). My mum offered but as she is working, I think it will be too tiring for her so decided CL is the best option. If you can tahan your MIL cooking hehe plus she can look after baby, then it may be a good idea to let her do it cos CL really not cheap.

Hi tinyfeet,

me too wanted to try swimming, but thinking of getting the swim suite was a headach,maybe i too lazy la...the most go beach, can wear T-shirt and short down the water.

Me used to have sensitive skin, was taking the evening primerose oil till pregnacy i stop, so rushes start again...so sad.
Me keep having hair drop, worst tha u lah...sian liao...Think should be our hormones changes that cause all this problem.

Hi teragram,

MIL experience and cooking i was so doubt, that why so confusing to hire a CL or not loh...
So now is $$ vis the food...hai..Will discusse with my HB again on this.

Hi TinyFeet,
I think the pimples are mainly caused by hormonal changes. I also have quite a lot of pimples on my face and chest. If it is really bothering you, I think a visit to a dermatologist might help but I believe this is a temporary thing so just got to bear with it.
Same with the hair, I read on the internet diff ppl will experience different changes in their hair condition during pregnancy eg straight hair becoming wavy or dry hair becoming shinier. Prob monitor and see if the dandruff problem persists, if it does, maybe can control using shampoo.

shinely,
Yah, have a talk with hb on CL issue and try to sort it out soon cos will need to book soon.

hi tinyfeet,
yeah... the pimples shld be caused by hormonal changes. do let dr yang know abt this prob the next time u see her. hormones can change our hair condition as well. some women find that their hair become oilier or drier during pregnancy. if u can, switch to another shampoo, one which can help alleviate your dandruff condition. for me, i hv been having more breakouts on my face than pre-preggy.

i jus had my checkup a few days ago and hv signed up the $600+300 package too. now 13weeks plus already. tried to see gender the other day but wasnt reali clear, so prob hv to wait till next visit.

Morning ladies...

Everyone on leave today?

Me in e office today...

tinyfeet,
I also hv some pimples outbreak at my chin area lor...nowhere but chin area...haiz..i guess becos hormones changes and also din drink herbal tea lor...

As for hair, my hair is getting oiler....face also esp the T-zone...hiaz...Kept on telling my hb, see, expecting liao , these are all the sacrafics....ask him to buy me a gift for being so xinku...hee =).

Hi tinyfeet & shinely,
I went swimming the other day but only for 6 laps. ;p It will be good for MTBs to exercise. However, I get much more tired than I used to. Probably bcos of the lack of exercise for so long and we get breathless more easily now. Have to go easy at 1st.
I didnt really care. Still don my 2-piece and jumped into the water. But go with your hb, you will feel that at least somebody else (your hb) noes that you are not fat, but pregnant. Hehe.

Oh ya, I read that hormonal changes will help to keep the hair on our head for a longer time wor. As such, it appeared as if we have more hair (for now). Those that are meant to drop who still drop.. maybe after delivery?

hi morning...
i am here in office too...

zuen...
u r right... :p many women will drop their hair abt 2-3 mths after they deliver. i experienced that wif my first kid too. at that time, my boy was oso shedding hair to make way for new hair to grow out... so mummy and baby were shedding hair tog at the same time... :p

Hi morning,

Me SAHM, so boring...later going out to shop for Christmas present...kekeke last mins shopping...

Zuen,
Why i now i already start experience hair dropping, don't know why like that...

I'm on leave today,
it's our son's 2nd Birthday,
there's going to be a little celebration at his child care center later.

Looks like many are on leave today, so quiet..

Fei fei,
Me full day too and have to work tomolo, Christmas Eve only release at 3pm. Haiz.. I worked in a male dominated environment, so not family friendly..

Shinely,
Dun worry too much. Different persons react differently. Maybe you will have a full head of shining hair when the rest of us are shedding. ;p

Cactus,
On leave until 3 Jan!??!! I drooling.. I will not be gg on leave (except 28th for medical appointment). I only have 18 days per year and have gone for a few trips this year, so...

hi ladies. m staying at hm today too....clearing my annual leave...be back to office oni on next wed, then wk for 3 days, clear leave again till 31st dec, then dun need to wk liao....kekekkkee...

Hi Cactus,
After discussing and persuading, hb agree to go cruise with me in late Jan 08. Those 3D2N cruise. Hopefully I will noe the gender before the cruise, den I can do some shopping in KL when the cruise berth at some port near KL. Hehehe..

Havent book. Will book after my appointment on 28th to get doc's ok, make sure blood and triple test okie and to make sure that it doesnt crash with detail scan.

tinyfeet, you already engaged a maid, that is fast! I am pondering on the maid issue as my hubby wants nannies(MIl for 1st son - $500.00 & Nanny for 2nd child - $550.00, monthly basis), I might as well go for maid, who can also help me with hsework, etc, at around half the price as state above. Now headache over this as I yet to write a proposal to hubby on pros, cons and the amount we will save if we get maid.

CL, I already engaged, but mine is at 1.4k. Heard she is not bad. Just cross my fingers.

feifei, I am also working today. Manage to fight for pre-holiday halfday off with my mgr just now for Christmas and New Year eve. I even ask him to give us 1 full day for Chinese New Year Eve which he agreed, haha. So happy.

ZuEn, good leh, u going for cruise. Till date, I have yet to go overseas trips with my hubby (not even honeymood). Guess I will only get to when my head is full of white hair.

Getting maid also got own set of problems as well. Been through it there and then. Thank goodness I have good family (mum & dad) support to look after my youngest one while I put my older 2 in childcare. Much more expensive but headache free plus my older kids get to enrich their days instead of 'wasting' away with the maid. Just my 2 cents worth.

I have bad cough too. Will be due in June as well? Sonographer during my NT mention that mine will be a girl but not sure.

abt the hair thingy...i know we will experience some/a lot of hair fall after we deliver the baby... is there nothing we can do about it? like is there something we can do...or not do when we are pregnant to reduce the seriousness of the hairfall??

or we can do nothing till "they drop til they are happy!" then stop??

Me also not working today... took MC, too much phlegm, flu and cough... so decided to stay home and rest..

Regarding CL, tink must book now if not all taken up already. I also booked a CL already highly recommended by my relative..she was already booked for mid july so our Edd just nice...

Re: pimples

The pimples may go off when u enter 2nd trim. I understand somewhere that our complexion will improve during 2nd trim.

I dunno is it bec now is 2nd trim (i am in my 15th week) or is it bec of the bird nest i taken, pimples have gone off.

hi tin yfeet, one of my friends told me to rub ginger on the parts of the head where the hair tends to fall out from. Old ginger. something about the ginger juice. I'm going to cut my hair this weekend.. so hopefully hair won't drop out too much. so far still the usual hairloss.

Cos my MIL is helping me look after bb, she's also doing confinement for me. Short term arrangement. we will be reviewing it 3 months at a time...

there are good maids around still...

of coz, we have heard horrid stories of maids who steal...unhygenic... lazy...lie...flirting with foreign male workers etc.

it all really depend on the maid's character and how we communicate with them. after all they came from humble background and singapore would be like a big wonderland to them. since we choose the maid based on their photograph and their unrealiable profile, it all depends on the maid if she is serious abt working here.

thats why my huuby wanted to get a maid now n use this 6 mths to train or test if she is suitable..if not..we got to change..tis 6 mths would be a buffer period before the arrival of the baby.

due to the nature of my job, and my husband, fater in law and brother in law all in the same company and industry with me...i can afford to work from home, doing paper work and they can help me with my client's claims and other matters of their policies. so i will be staying home with the baby for sometime and take care of the baby personally...so the maid will come in handy to help me with washing of baby clothes and hanging of laundry...sterilizing bottles... boiling hot water for baby's bath etc..so that i can concentrate on caring for the baby then doing the little errands that will tire me out.

ellysia... same here, my complexion has also improved significantly... gone are the ugly big pimples... makes me wonder whether we are carrying gals coz by right carry gal will have good complexion... but urs is a prince right?

hi tinyfeet,I dun know about that you k now.... I've not tried ginger juice. it's just something someone told me. I dun have a prob with dropping hair yet though... going to cut hair shorter to pre-empt the prob or stave off the prob for a bit longer!

ellysia,
hows your coughing? recover yet? i'm just recover bit from coughing and heavy flu since last week. i avoid take any medicine from GP so take long time to recover...

tinyfeet,
for me, i didnt do much except tried switching to a prevent hair loss shampoo. but i hv to say the hairloss wasnt bad until will get bald spots and stuff. and it oni lasted for a mth plus or so. after that, it was back to normal already.

roxy,

My complexion is really bad during 1st trim.

liew,

My coughing is bad. I been coughing so much during the night that i dun have a good rest and feel so tired now.

Took the medicine but they seems to be make me cough more.

ellysia,
me too... during monday and tues nite, i can't even turn in too.. feeling very terrible.. so i even stop drink yakult, orange and apple.. and even spicy food. force myself to drink warm water..

liew,

I even have to stop eating some pregnancy vitamins because the vitamins always make me nausea.

Just now i took all vitamins (except fish oil), then dunno is it bec' the breakfast i ate is not clean or doesn't settle well, i drink cough medicine (1 hour after vitamins) and vomit the cough medicine + some food residue.

The multi-vitamin and fish oil always cause the nausea. I tink i better ask gynae on next appt to see if got another brand or not. In particular the fish oil, it gave me so bad experience that I have phobia of eating fish now (whenever fish smell too much i will want to vomit).

Really suay that we happen to meet this season of flu/cough. Our body now is more vulnerable and medicine is weaker, very hard to recover.

I dunno why keep falling sick and the worst is, harder to recover as compared to before pregnancy.

Some nights i cough so hard that my womb feel painful and i feel heart pain for bb.. hope he is ok.

Sharon, I wish to put my son in childcare centre. But my husband and mother in law are both against it, so I can't do much, only let him go nursery classes and other enrichment classes.

As for maid, there are good and bad. All depends on luck, as what tinyfeet mentioned. I had been thinking about it for sometime as well. Also, good thing, they can help with hsework, not that I will get her to do everything, I will help her as when I am free also. I also believe, if you are good to them, they in turn will be good to the employers.

Ellysia, you coughing for so long? Maybe can go see your GP again tell him/her the medic does not work with you? For me, its rather cold these few raining days so I get a lot internal cold, have to wrap myself in sweater and blanket. Machiam feel like in winter country which is even better coz can wear thermal clothes, haha. You take care ya, coz I want all of us to enjoy this coming Christmas holiday (I myself still having MS till now, hope it goes away fast fast).

ellysia,
hope you get well soon.. i feel heart pain for ur baby too. remember last time i mentioned to you i will vomit out the fish oil vitamin? then that smell truely truely smell fishy and even will make me feel vomit more.but after that while my weeks 14 plus almost weeks 15 finally i stop vomit nausea for after i take the all vitamins..

ellysia,
I remember my gynae told me all pregnant woman their immune lower than usual woman (non-pregnant).. so he ask me must eat well, rest well.. i believe maybe due to last week you'd been at oversea and never rest well enough so that you are getting weak... so hope this long weekend you can rest well lo...

I think is because i drink less water during the trip cos need to visit toilet often and it will be inconvenient if on the way. Urine is all yellow.

My tour guide and tour group people are all quite helpful to me when they know i am preggy and got 1 lady always give up seat to me.

During trip i am still fine except last stop at Taipei, i underestimate the weather so wear the wrong jacket, end up catch cold. Then i feel cold air goes into my lungs, shiver all over due to coldness and strong wind, i know sure jiat lat liao.

I always get sick easily last time but is always flu because i have sensitive nose. Now sickness even worst.. sianz. I am worried that will affect bb with so many medicine i eat and his immunity will be low like me

liew,

Ya lor the fish smell is horrible! I also vomit out the fish oil the last time and it cause me a phobia of fish since then.

Veniz,

My cough just started i guess, it was mild during last 2 days of trip. When come back to singapore suddenly worsen so i quickly go see doctor. It has been 1 week already.

Actually i dunno why my cough will become v terok during the night when i sleep. Keep coughing many many times until phlem come out then can settle down to sleep. Maybe bec the medicine is weaker (doc say will give me weak medicine) so hard to cough out phlem.

Roxy,Ellysia,
I still hv pimples for this trim lor..duno is it I love to take those heaty stuffs...hee =D...craving for potatoes all e time..curry potatoes, curry puffs etc....

Ellysia,
U must take care wor..drink lots of water ya...When are u going for e detailed scan?

ZuEn,
Oh dear...eve hv to work til 3pm?

Veniz,
Wow, ya lor, this type of thing hor, soemtimes we must fight for it one lor...so good lor, cny eve off =D.

Ellysia, if you feel cold and cough too much at night, apply vicks to your throat. At least can ease your coughing. Wear warm clothes at home also, avoid direct cool air from aircon/fan. As fei fei said, drink more water or vit C drinks/ tablet to build up your immune system now.

feifei, I also craving for curry, 1st preg and this one also, but this one the urge not so great. Only crave more for grilled makeral fish (japanese saba). Tuesday night went to have eel rice but i took half of my husband's saba to eat. He ordered sashimi when i edged him to (coz such a waste to dine at this restaurant without having their thick slices of sashimi even though I am not eating). He tempted me by asking I not taking a pc to eat? so I took a small pc, very satifying...

For pre-holiday offdays hor, my company small, so easy to fight for it and discuss with mgr. If foreign director asks, will tell him normally most co here offer halfdays or 1 full day and shutdown period (UK shutdown for going to two weeks leh) so we also follow suit, but on minimum basis lor, at least they also know that we happy with such arrangements (staff welfare). He will agree coz he always tell me I must be happy working in this company.