(2008/06) June 2008

think i'm down with a mild flu =( kept sneezing!!!! sneeze so much some time pee comes out ....

Which reminds me to start kegal exercises.... important for mummies..... MUST DO! MUST DO!

Take care, Piyoz.

I am not feeling too well today myself, feeling nauseous again and feel like puking.
I am praying real hard it's a one-time thing cos it was such a joy to shake off the MS for the past 2 weeks!

ZuEn,
Cheer up! Hubby has good intentions. Bintan is a nice resorty place so prob can go there to relax and chill out.

thanks juliet, teragram,

Have been drinking lots of water, and taking lots of orange and orange juice for that extra vitamin C. But this runny nose plus the cold weather makes me so sleepy!!!!

you ladies take good care too!!!

mogudog,
water-soluble lubricant is use to help reduce friction during sexual intercourse,
after we gave birth & if we're breast-feeding,
we'll have low levels of estrogen during the postpartum period,
and that can make vaginal tissue thinner and drier,
this may hurt us & affect our sexual life after child birth.

thanks for all your well wishes, I think my hubby will be discharged today.

babyjo
when's your next appt? I will be seeing Dr Adrian again on Fri.

roxy
gynae didn't say caused by what only said it is common

juliet,
envy you... since last fri i'm heavy flu till now... and now coughing somemore.. truely worry my bb..

liew, me also started coughing...but dunno whether it's real cough or allergic cough...coz that was this whole yr i cough n cough, only to realise it's coz my dog sleeps w/ me at nite in the room...i found out the reason behind the cough by chance coz i kick my dog out to sleep after i know i preggie...these days i didn't on a/c so he comes back in the room to sleep w/ us...

eat more apples! may help...tat's wat i did...ate 2 apples on sunday n by monday am better already...:p

Check up at Gynae yesterday revealed that i am expecting a boy. My ILs are over the moon (my hubby only son) and my mom too (cos she thinks I have 'answered' to HB's family line liao). Me and hubby are kind of disappointed though cos we prefer girls. I had questioned abt the accuracy of the scan but gynae pointed out the fingers and toes and umbilical cord (or anything else that could look like a penis) were elsewhere but THERE.

But nevertheless, was glad he is healthy, "structurely sound" hahaha like building... with fully formed limbs and fingers and toes, brain, stomach, kidney also nicely formed already. he looks very long and I think he is going to be taller than my girl at birth. Sucking his thumb when the gynae took a photo of him and of course the all impt penis. hahaha...

Congrats Linda, on your baby prince!
Actually, 1 boy and 1 girl is good leh, forms a "hao" character. Yay, I can start updating the gender column in the MTB chart. Hee!

Hi Linda

what are the symptoms you have for having a bb boy? any difference compared to the first u had a ger?

Hi teragram,
Yah, so everyone says... esp when I already have a girl... Still... but fated lah, only scare boys very noti. :p I already noticed there arent as many choices for boys compared to baby girls.... Less money spend on shopping liao. But hor, all my pretty cute dresses and halters from my girl got to go liao. SOB SOB.... she has so many still so new.

Hi babycupid,
I am 15weeks + now. My girl, we confirmed 100% gender slightly later at 16+ weeks.

Hi shufen
Hmm... i dunno if the diff is due to fatigue (cos I still have to care for my girl when expecting whereas I could fall asleep once I am home when expecting the first) or weakened body (they say 2nd pregnancy not as strong) or due to diff in gender.

But I feel this time I had skin problems in early pregnancy, I feel MS more. Other than that, not much changes.

babycupid and linda,
I am also having skin problems - breakouts on my face and body. wonder if it is a boy?? hehe, well, guess only time will tell.

linda,
Yup, it's fated.
maybe you can pass the cute dresses to your neices (if any) or #3? hehe.

babycupid,

My colleague is almost probably to 18 ~ 20 weeks liao. High time to see gender.

It is so good to be able to share the highs and lows with you gers.

Teragram,
I noe that my hb meant well. However, I prefer a shopping spree or sightseeing anytime. The last time I went Bintan, it was during the monsoon period. That was this flag to inform tourists if it is safe to swim in the beach. Throughout the few days that we were there, it was constantly shouting "danger". -.o"

Congrats Linda! Will be having my scan on wk 18. Hope to know it's gender.

Tera, I also having skin problems. Dryness, breakouts and bad MS.

ZuEn,
Hehe, guess what, I also went to Bintan during the time when it was not safe to swim in the beach. So quite sian hor, cos cannot even go down to the beach. Hmm, is there room for negotiation with hubby? How about somewhere near eg BKK or HK? 2/4hrs flight plus shopping spree?
Plus *touchwood*, these countries are medically advanced so should be safe. Actually,I am thinking of going to HK in Feb. :p

Sharon,
How many weeks are you in? Yah, been quite depressed to look into the mirror and see my face. Speaking of MS, I am still having it today. Been feeling nauseous since breakfast.

Sharon,
I think by your next visit, your gynae should try to scan the gender for you.

cactus,
Did you check with Dr Dev abt the scan, as in will there be scan during every visit? Just wondering if you can request for the scan.

cactus,
Yes, I get what you mean.
Hmm, I think there will prob be a scan as part of the routine, cos scans are like the best way to check if bb is doing ok or not right? That's just my layman's thinking lah.

Yup, agree on the medical advancement.
During our mothers' time, they hardly saw the gynae (prob only at points of detection and delivery) and no scans as well. Things are soo different now.

it's demand fuelling the supply, I feel. Like, MTBs like us are so curious about the little one inside us. That we want every chance to see him/her... go for 3 d scans, 4 d scans..

cactus,
I also read about debates on the effect of scans on the bb. However, the ability to see my bb greatly assures me. Since it is not proven that scans are bad, I think I am glad to get scans during visits.

Linda

I know how you feel when you got to know it's a boy and both of you wish for a girl.. hee. My husband n me also wish to have girls and the only reason we want a boy will be becos of the older folks. I recently gone for my 13 week OSCAR scan and the doctor told me likely a boy cos found the little penis. But she told me don't confirm until later stage n not to buy any clothes. On hearing, I feel so mix. On one hand, i please the older folks (esp. the in-laws since my husband is the oldest son in the family line) on the other hand both my hubby n my dreams diminish. Though nothing is confirm, i'm learning to adapt the fact that it's going to be a boy.

Today, I went to Les Enphants warehouse sale at Paya Lebar to chance on cheap baby clothes. I kept telling my mum, "see, boys got nt much choice and yet the girls clothings are so pretty n sweet".

Sigh... like my Sis-in-law says, least the next baby, i dun have to feel the pressure if the 1st is boy -- the sweetest console that i receive

Tinyfeet,
I guessed this is a stage that all MTBs have to go thru'. I have been constantly debating with myself about prefering a boy or ger. We are afterall Asians with conversative parents.
Anyway, each little bundle of joy is a gift from God; a blessing. Whenever I tink about the difficult time that my hb and I had trying to conceive. I tell myself that t doesnt matters anymore.

Take comfort that you have "fulfill" your responsibilities.

Morning girls.

Am on leave today and fri. Woke up early cos was feeling very hungry. Hehe. Counting down to my next visit in another 2 more weeks.

Btw, just a gentle reminder to those of you who are intending to get CLs, you may want to start booking if you have not already done so. The CL I contacted yesterday has been approached for May cases so I think the time is about right for us to book them.

Have a great day ahead!

Morning ladies....

Tinyfeet,
Its the truth lor..if 1st one is boy, then won;t be stressed over e 2nd one lor, thats y i hope its a boy that i am expecting...but I dun pin too much hope cos din see e stick during the scan last week....=)

feifei, how many weeks were you when you went for ur scan last wk? was it a detailed scan?
for me, my hb say he is fine with either boy or ger but it is me who feels the pressure to have a boy as my hb is the only son! but deep down i also feel guilty if my bb turns out to be a ger and she can somehow feel that mommy actually prefer a boy than a ger.

Hee..its the boy/girl guessing time now huh.
If any of you want to buy Les Enphant baby clothes, they are having a sale at Shaw Rd (Paya Lebar). There's a banner outside the building. The last day of sale is 23rd Dec. I went y'day. Rompers are going at $5, tops and bottoms are at 3 for $10. I guess we may be able to get this 3 for $10 price outside in many kiddy store, but this Les Enphant carries their own brand and the Mickey Mouse series. There are more varieties of girls outfit than boys though.

shufen,
I was in my 16th week when i went for my scan...hee..Not detailed scan yet..My detailed scan next mth =D, really looking forward...

True lor, i can understand ur stress...My hbis the eldest lor, though my mil says it doesn't matter boy or ger, most important, but i still feel that i must "jiao dai" lor..hehe...but watever it is, hv to leave it to fate lor...Most important, bb must be healthy =D...

How many weeks u in now?

feifei

i am now in my 15 weeks and i am seeing my gynae next week.so i am hoping gynae can reveal the gender then since i will be 16 weeks le. i heard from many pple those having boys usu have skin breakout or bigger nose, both of which i dun have. wat abt u? but then again my sister also dun have these symptoms yet she had a boy

shufen

Yes, when i was 2mths pregnant, my nose appears bigger, my mum suspect its a boy. And true that face breakout makes me so ugly here n there. Tho at 13 week, doc saw the protruding birdie, still waiting for confirmation in next scan.

Smtx I also think all depends on the genes in the family. Maybe your mum may nt have these symptoms (if you have a brother) and so you sis wun too.

feifei

Read abt you being nun and so am i here. BTW, what makes you decide to choose Mt A? I'm still torn betwn Mt A and TMC, tho gynae in TMC. The only reason i wnt to choose Mt A is religion. Else, if TMC wld be the brighter ambiance and gynae there for emergency if any. I have toured Mt A, nt TMC yet.

shufen,
hmm...tink if boy, shd be able to see lor..but hor, also dpeends on bb...=D...

as for outbreaks and bigger nose, tink not true also leh, cos my fren's nose red and big when she was expecting her ger...tink it depends on individual lor...

Im going for my blood test today...and able to see my bb again..so excited...
I never do oscar, so doing the tuple test for down's syndrome. Any of ur done that? how is the procedure like? Pls advice...many thanks...

Tinyfeet,
Wow, so happy for u leh..at least u see the birdie lor...hehe...tink mine most likely a princess =D...

I intend to deliver at TMC wor...cos my gynae's clinic is there, so its more convenient.Btw, i hv abt 4 frenz who gave birth at TMC last yr, all gave good comments so I also wan to try lor..hee...

Ya lor, a nun for now...tink will be a nun for 9mths...hehe...actually hor, tink also no mood to do cos worry abt bb, sometimes experience poking feeling at my pelvic bone also, then i will tell bb to be guai guai, dun poke mummy...so til now, no more pokingl iao....

Hello everyone!

I am back from my taiwan trip. Quite nice trip except for a few uncomfortable times.

Firstly, I had a terrible travel bus that keep bumping throughout so to avoid vomitting, I keep sucking vitamin C sweet (it really helps in reducing urge to vomit). I also avoid eating fish oil tablets as it is a main source of my urge to vomit during morning (cos i won't have MS if i dun take these vit tablets..tried before).

Secondly, several times quite risky. Once or twice need to race across road bec' the traffic is really terrok. Cars dun wait for people.
Then got once need to take another bus up to a place, the bus is so crowded and i have no place to sit, then bus datona down the steep mountain hills.. quite scary and i have to hang on for dear life.

Thirdly, squeezy night markets! Interesting and i wanna try the food but can't walk too much cos too many people and tired.

Nonetheless, i guess i am the most energetic during this trip, walk more than in singapore haaa.. have a good break nontheless.

Bad thing is i caught cold at Taipei and suffer from cough. Today is on MC.. been coughing.

shinely,
I didnt do Oscar too. My next appointment is on 28th Dec, which is my 16th, gg 17th week. During then, I will be doing the triple test and also all the rest of the blood test. If I am not wrong, only draw blood niah, then used the blood to do all the different tests including triple tests.

But I think the results for tripple test will take longer to reveal as compared to Oscar scan (which is immediate).

My doc encouraged me to do triple instead of Oscar. He said that based on his experience, the accuracy is about the same, so no point spending more on Oscar. However, there were times that I regret cos Oscar result more immediate and can see bb.

yeh ZuEn,
Same as my side advice, they say Oscar is just an advance equipment... so i save $$ on that scan too. chat with your again when i back home...

Ellysia,
Your trip sound so interesting. Me after birth sure wanna visit Taiwan. Heard there are alots of interesting food... yeh... yummy yummy...

yeah yeah.. i went taipei in 2006.. bery fun.. nice.. buy alot of things and eat alot.. kekeke..
i am goin to see my bb soon~ 29 dec.. another 10days!! counting down..

hey ladies...
just came back from MC yesterday...sore throat..GP gave me antibiotics and some lozenges..took a good rest..now feeling better.

i want to complain!!!
my office has just announced that there will be a shutdown during the eves of christmas and new year...darn it

i'm only left with 2 precious days of AL left and they have to take it away from me..by force...sob sob