(2008/06) June 2008

Morning girls,
Aargh, just want to complain. This colleague sitting directly infront of me who just came back from a business trip is coughing and sneezing away.
why can't she take the time to rest instead of spreading the germs around!

hi iamsnow, try not to go for foot massages unless it is by a therapist who is specialised in massages for pregnant women. I regularly went for massages before pregnancy, like once a month, but after knew was pregnant, the lady didn't want to do for me. Said if it's my first pregnancy, she can only do for me with safe essential oils during my 3rd trimester and she has to avoid the soles of my foot and tummy and lower back to avoid preg complications. She said if it's subsequent pregnancies, can massage limited areas with reduced pressure from 2nd trimester onwards.

But if you go for a place for pregnant women, then it should be safe.

iamsnow,
do go to experience foot massagers,
cause there's a lot of "xue dao" on our feet.

Have you been taking cooling stuffs?
E.g. Cold drinks, chilled drinks, cold food,
cucumber, bitter groud, cabbage, coconut stuffs, curry, etc...

Are your feet cold at night,
do u cover with blanket or wear socks?

I second Leng Leng. My grandma has been telling me sleep with socks and sleep with long pants (those that cover the knee). I wear the slightly furry sort of of long track pants (all the way to feet) to sleep (adidas) so dun need to cover with blanket. but when I wear the most plastic/cloth/thinner type of pants, I need to cover with blanket. My IL's place flooring is marble so sometimes, I even wear bedroom slippers when I walk about in the day (no socks lah).

babycupid,
it won't happen to MTBs who have warm body & feet.

enjoy our "honeymoon" now,
in April-June, our weather's going to be HOT HOT HOT!!!

lengleng..
ya i supposed i have to munch on sthg to "feed" the baby..

cactus79/iamsnow...
seems like my MS is more serious than the 1st trimester..maybe due to lack of more small meals.

lengleng,

i think the cold food i take are in moderation. some chiiled drinks, sometimes cabbage, curry. but food are all warm....

i always cover my feet with blanket leh....

shycloud,
snack, SNACK, we have all the excueses to snack now,
but do choose healthy ones.

iamsnow,
cabbage & coconut are chilling food, irregardless if they are taken hot or cold.

Maybe u can 'experiment",
stop all cold, cool, chilling food for a week,
see if the cramps stops.

lengleng,
abt snacking..wat does preggy mum usually snack on? i dun have a habit of munching during pre-preggy days...in case i start eating all the supposedly junk food.

lengleng,
thanks for the advise. let me try out to see if it helps....

shycloud, i snack on biscuits, raisins, prunes. sometimes chips and gummy to indulge.... haha...

shycloud,
Low salt/sugar dried fruits - high in fiber
Wholemeal sliced bread
Anmum Milk
Fruits like apple, banana
Low salt/sugar nuts
High Calcium biscuits

HTHs.

if you are feeling fainting,
do not drink water hor...

1. Unless water is warm, else it may bring our blood pressure lower.
2. If we really faint, we may choke on the water.

Just sit down & take deep breath,
if u r standing, grab to something firmly & take deep breath.

shycloud,

My last visit was in my 12th week, so I have to wait for 4+ weeks to see my bb again. So torturing.

iamsnow,

I read somewhere that beauty salon has started massage courses for pre & post pregnancy bcos of the increasing demand. It is supposed to help to relax the body and also to help the body get back to shape after giving birth. But cant remember which salon(s) provide such services. I suppose they are not cheap either..

Hi Ladies.. i am selling pigeon empty container at $3.50 each. (kiddy palace selling at 7.20 wif 82's wipes.) if u are interested can sms me at 97979554.

hi gers, had craving for fast food lately, so jus grab a bandito set from kfc. so satisfying....

jus realise tat i had been taking more n more junk food lately, my usual healthy diet of salads n greens jus simply dun appeal to me anymore... it's always mac, kfc, laksa, fried kway tiao, etc....yeeeks. hope i dun put on too much unhealthy weight..

Massage:
Be arranging for one massure to do for me at home after delivery next yr.

crystal,
I've also been eating unhealthy food lately... haha...

cactus,
i really long for a good massage. but my normal massage place does not cater for pregnancy massage. i'm trying to find some affordable place... or those which can come to my hse....

cactus,
very chiam hor? aiyo, my shoulders and feet are aching. want to massage to loosen up a bit also cannot... sianz....

now starting to experience back ache sometimes also. coz of my sleeping position. sometimes i sleep on my back. not sure how come i turn to my back. then wake up backache... aiyo...

jamsnow, m now drowning myself wif ice mountain dew, was pepsi yd. *chiam* if at wk like tat, nxt yr, not wking n con't to eat like tis, i sure put on lots of wtg. x-fingers hope it wun come true...kekeke...

on the massage, my colleague will be introducing hers to me later on. but she said this massure lady oni can speak malay cos she is from indonesia. m still trying to figure out how to converse wif her. if u r keen, when i get the contacts n all, i can pass to u.

on backaches, i m not much better, been grumbling to hb abt my back aching like hell for the last wk or so. even yoko yoko dun help.

crystal,
i drink 100 plus. coz i think soda drinks a bit sweet. i scared wait i diabetics. sometimes share soda drinks with my hubby, so not so guilty... haha....

malay? alamak. i dunno how to communicate....

I think pain is "sakit" in malay??

Anyway, for post-delivery massages, what's the usual arragenemtn? do we need to pre-book? Is it better to go for by word of mouth or can book through agencies?

Cactus, Yes Pain in Malay is 'sakit'.
I had my massage 4 days after my normal delivery..shldnt wait to long as they believe too much 'wind' will get into our body...
for c-sect you can oni start massaging after aweek or two..all depends on ur wound...
if ur're lookg for malay massage..its better to pre booked...usualli their schedules are beri full..like mine i booked her 6mths in advance...heheh

Hi Nur Atiqah, can I find out from you where I can get the contacts from? From this forum? Or is there a central agency/database that I can source from? Also, if we don't know when we are going to deliver, how should we tell them?

I started on 3rd day,
due to engorgement...

My massage lady is also malay,
I don't have to book her,
just call & ask her schedule,
we're home anyway, so fit her timings lor.

Hi Cactus,
I got to know my massage lady from a close fren..thus i hv recommended her to alot of my frens...& they like her..i can gif u her no. if u wan..jus tell her ur estimated due date and u wanto booked her lor..can negotiate the price ..usualli its a 1 week massage...she is a beri nice lady..don worry..u wan her no.?

thanks gers.
yup, my colleague also advice i book the massage now. kinda of like pre-empt her of the delivery date. as my will be a c-sec, i prob ve my massage like 2 wks after delivery.

Hi Nur Atiqah, Leng Leng,

can you please pm me your massage lady's number and name, and usually how many sessions, how long per session, individual session price, any package price? Many thanks!

cactus_79,
too early for bookings lah,
do be careful of confinement ladies & massage ladies recommandations in the forum,
there's lots of bad comments.

There's some who ask for deposit & run away...

Anyway, mine was $45 a session, about 1-1.5 hour.

Ai yoh, Leng Leng. Now you are making me worried. how to tell which is good, which is bad? My SIL had a malay lady. that was 2 years ago. She said so -so. My MIL is quite a boastful lady... she keeps saying the malay lady is very very good... so I can't really tell if she is truly good or not... also dun know how her skills are like now.

of cos its up to u on whether 2 trust recommendations on forum lor..for me..my massage lady is usually on beri packed schedule..each session is abt an hr..she oso helped to massage my baby...i tink $45-50 is the market price...

Yup,
malay auntie, she comes to our home,
but need to purchase a binding cloth from her,
don't worry about massage now lah,
we still have 5-6 months to go...

Hello... everyone. Rest till back ache liao. Talking about massage lady? I would still prefer to stick to agency's recommendations.. e.g. golden wellness. Though it's more expensive.. at least I need not be afraid that she'll run away with my deposits! And if they're not doing a good job, I know how and where to give feedback... - Never trust freelancing job!I've learnt the hard way

Hi gers,
Good morning.. A rainy morning. Had a hard time trying to yank myself out of the bed this morning.

Last nite, I was trying the method recommended here to feel bb's movement.. Nothing leh.. I think my bb sleepyhead like me. This morning, I tried again but still nothing leh. I think weather too nice, bb dun want to wake up. ;p

Crystal, iamsnow,
I got backache last nite too. Went for double dosage of the yoko yoko.. I wonder if it has anything to do with the weather. Toss and turn for awhile to find a good position to sleep in.

Hi priscilla,

Welcome..

Morning ladies!! Yeah!! raining nonstop lately hor! I almost couldn't get out of bed too! Last night I also tried to feel bb, but nothing. Think bb is still too small (me at 12 weeks +)...

Welcome Priscilla! First child?